MSI Gaming Notebook Thread V3

miong93
post Jan 25 2015, 01:32 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(singkwong @ Jan 25 2015, 01:01 PM)
Hi guy,

I need to know for this model
GE62 2QF Apache Pro

Black / 15.6" UHD, (3840*2160) 4K IPS / nVidia Geforce GTX 970M, 3GB GDDR5 / i7-4720HQ+HM87 / DDR III 8GB ram/  1TB (SATA) 7200rpm- 1 bay "3 slots (M.2)" / Super Multi (9.5mm)/  Intel 7260 Wilkins Peak 2 (2x2 802.11 ac)+BT4.0 M.2 type/ Win8.1 Single Language / 6 cell  battery
Price - RM 5499

the 4k IPS is matte or glossy ? the Panel from Samsung PLS or Sharp IGZO notworthy.gif
Most probably is Matte and PLS.. Sharp IGZO is damn exp..
miong93
post Feb 22 2015, 09:51 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(crankyjackie @ Feb 18 2015, 01:06 AM)
Regarding GE62 2QF Apache Pro, is it true IPS panel?and i heard the refresh rate is is capped at 40(?) during 4K. if i run games on 1080p, can i have atleast 60hz?
also any user experience regarding heat, keyboard, trackpad quality? smile.gif
going to buy after cny
I think you will still get 40hz even on 1080p. Cause the refresh rate for the screen is capped at 40

QUOTE(tabs @ Feb 18 2015, 01:17 AM)
I tried myself with Ge70 and Ge62. demo unit play. Ge62 much cool compare to GE70 as got turbo fan inside
Well it should be cooler since it is using dual heatpipe + fan biggrin.gif
miong93
post Mar 4 2015, 11:09 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Zackwan10 @ Mar 4 2015, 10:53 PM)
Only 40hz... Can somebody explain me in details what diff 40hz and 60hz, its affected gaming experience.
Do we really need more hz in display???
Any sifus... please enlightened me.. So noob on this hz???
It means how smooth the transition or movement you see of the object on the screen. The higher the response time, the more frame it generates per second. Correct me if I'm wrong.
If you enabled v-sync in your game settings, the MOST you can get is 40 fps, since your screen response time 40hz. You CAN'T go beyond it.
So assuming you got a high end GPU (gtx980m), when v-sync is on, you still get 40 fps.
Note that some game if you didn't on v-sync, you may see screen tearing.

I personally won't get an laptop with poor display, especially it is 40hz. The minimum should be 60hz for me.

You still can use an external monitor though, so you can still get 60hz on 1080p, but only 30hz on 4k due to hdmi 1.4 only support 30hz on 4k.
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 12:10 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Zackwan10 @ Mar 4 2015, 11:21 PM)
Thanks miong93, why gaming laptop have this lower hz on their line of model.. Still didnt get.. Erm
Cut cost ? I can't give you an exact answer as I'm not the manufacturer.
But what I personally think is maybe it is cheaper, and most conventional user won't notice it initially. Even they discovered it, it will most probably be after the purchase and the manufacturer can clearly tell them it is like that by default, so consumer can't do anything about it.

For 4k resolution, if I'm not mistaken, there isn't any 60hz screen yet, correct me if I'm wrong, but for full hd, there definitely is.
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 12:32 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 5 2015, 12:13 AM)
60fps is what a lot of hardcore gamers (totalbiscuit) would require though many games nowadays have their fps capped at 30 (mainly multiplatforms).
It is really crucial if your games depend on frames such as fighting games, FPS etc to have 60fps

Thus, there is are gamers on a budget who rather get cheaper 60fps TN panels than similarly priced cheap IPS that could not reach 60fps
Okay noted, new knowledge for me today. Can you give me some example of game capped at 30 fps ?
So far the game I played with v-sync on all capped at 60fps (my screen response time).
Didn't encountered 30 or less.
But to tell the truth, 30fps and 60fps has quite a significant differences to me, you can clearly see the different in smoothness with these 2 different fps.
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 10:08 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 5 2015, 12:58 AM)
The most recent one that caused a big headline is the Evil Within. A lot of the multiplatform games are capped.
There are a lot of issues about this including request for the 30fps cap and you will find TB ranting it often on Twitter/ Youtube about it lol.
I see. Lucky the game I played mostly is ported nicely from Console. Like Battlefield, COD, Diablo 3 etc.
Well except those, I played online game and those are mostly not capped at 30fps though. So far I didn't encountered any of the issue. Even on Watch Dogs, Shadow of Mordor and DI
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 08:36 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(evum seu @ Mar 5 2015, 08:10 PM)
gtx 860m can handle watch dog?
Nop. I lowered my resolution to 768p or 720p. with all low settings to get 60fps. That game is so damn not optimized like AC doh.gif
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 08:49 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(evum seu @ Mar 5 2015, 08:46 PM)
AC is assasin creep? gtx 860m can play also?
Yes you can play it, but not on 1080p high settings
miong93
post Mar 26 2015, 12:36 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 26 2015, 12:11 AM)
the thing is dell just take another refurbished part and replace for you , very rare case they replace your parts with a new parts...
Really ? Well I didn't encounter this before. My sister old XPS mobo spoiled, they replaced it with a new one in front of us. (the new mobo is sealed, with the original sticker)
miong93
post Mar 26 2015, 07:11 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Mar 26 2015, 06:59 PM)
Hi, just wanna know, are msi laptops gpu ugradeable such as the graphic card??
Only GT series has MXM slot.
miong93
post Mar 27 2015, 11:09 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Mar 27 2015, 10:41 AM)
yes for the 1st year when the model is still new in market they do this as the spare is new..towards the end of 2nd year or 3rd year when they have exhausted their new spares they will use their refurbished spares. this is based on my experience using alienware.
I see. But I think I'm lucky enough ? Cause when my sister claim for a new mobo it is already after 5/6 years after the release of her XPS (we get extended warranty).
miong93
post Apr 3 2015, 01:25 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 3 2015, 04:52 AM)
Hi, I just got my MSI GE72-2QE for near 3 weeks.l Starting a week ago, when i play games, i realized that the LEFT FAN is the only fan spinning fast and loud (audible spinning fan sound from my seat) but the RIGHT FAN isn't spinning at all (cant hear spinning sound even i put my ear on the vent or any air output).

I have my SHIFT gear always at 'GREEN'. I rebooted my PC before.

So is this indicating a faulty fan hardware? How long does it takes for the fix if I bring it to MSI service centre? within few hours or need to leave it there (which i dont hope so for minor fix)?
Have you tried to switch on the so called "turbo boost cooler" ? Both should be spinning. For your case, I think one of the fan is not spinning because only the gpu/cpu is heating up ? Most game utilize gpu more and won't use up much of cpu so maybe that's the reason only one of the fan is spinning only.
miong93
post Apr 4 2015, 11:39 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Apr 4 2015, 11:37 AM)
How do I check if a certain dealer from LYN is authorized? I've read some post in the LYN dispute corners that even some of those big stores (don't wanna say name) can con people when it comes to warranty information and about them being authorized dealers.
If you got a catalog from MSI, behind there is a list of authorized dealer from MSI.
miong93
post Apr 4 2015, 11:50 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

You need to contact MSI to know about this. If it is not authorized seller, most probably the services provided is by the shop itself lo.
miong93
post Apr 6 2015, 06:44 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Apr 6 2015, 05:08 PM)
SSD is so worth it. I have my ssd sony laptop that is 7 years ago and its running faster than my 3 year old HDD Alienware .

Naturally I got a GS60 with SSD.
Wait until you're using PCIE slot SSD with RAID. You will realize convention SSD is too slow. haha
miong93
post Apr 7 2015, 12:34 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Apr 6 2015, 10:38 PM)
Too expansive now. By the way, some company managed to make 10TB SSD. We should be getting cheaper SSD soon. Then ill do the Raid config.
I think that one is business grade SSD ? I don't think SSD will be cheaper soon, especially GST had already arrived. haha
miong93
post Apr 8 2015, 01:44 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Apr 7 2015, 10:03 PM)
It doesnt matter boys. Coming from 5200RPM to SSD already feels like I'm moving from a bicycle to a ferrari haha.

Quite impressed by how sturdy the design is, but IDK which bloatware to remove and what not ):
BTW I can't seem to be able to change my backlight, steel series engine says that that my GE62 isn't connected... although I'm typing with it right now
It matters boy. If it is business grade SSD, it won't affect the price of consumer grade SSD. Those are two different categories I believe.
Business grade will cost more than consumer grade. So if there are 10tb of it, it will still cost quite a lot. Not to mention convention user will most likely not be buying it.
miong93
post Apr 9 2015, 03:14 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 9 2015, 02:49 PM)
Yea so, I'm asking this thread whether any current/upcoming MSI laptops can support GTA V on 60fps med-high graphics setting? Any recommendation(s) please?
If you want to play intense high demanding game on ultra settings 1080p, you need to have at least gtx970m. If you want to "future proof", then either 980m or you are really rich you can go for gtx970m or gtx980m SLI.
I personally won't suggest GS series as it will be hot when the laptop is under load, especially you're gaming on ultra settings 1080p on high demanding game like Witcher 3, Star Citizen etc etc.
Get GT series, that is the only MSI series I will recommend for games like GTA V and similar high demanding game.
GE62 and GE72 may not be as good as GT series.
I will highly encourage you to go for single gtx980m if you got the budget, SLI if you have a lot of $, but bear in mind not much games have full support on SLI.

P/S: I WON'T recommend 4k display, because it is a very bad screen IMO, it is just 48hz. And single gpu can't support 4k gaming also. SLI can get you a decent fps, but mostly not on ultra settings with x8 SMAA or higher
miong93
post Apr 19 2015, 11:02 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Apr 19 2015, 10:19 PM)

I think there is no point in starting the argument again regarding 4k screen. Do note I mentioned IMO aka In My Opinion. You can disregard it if you feels that it is wrong. I didn't said things like 4k is useless, I just don't recommend it currently. The technology will probably matured in 2-3 years time, and IMHO during that time, you will most likely change a new laptop already. During that time a better screen will be available. It is my opinion, you can disregard it if you don't like it.

Regarding FPS, you will realize on some game you're forced to use v-sync due to screen tearing. Yes you can still go beyond it w/o v-sync. This also means your screen respond time is significantly lesser compared to other screen. More resolution doesn't mean better image quality. You still need to take into account about the color vibrant, density etc etc. I believe the current 4k screen can't be compared to a good FHD IPS screen. Yet again it is my own opinion so disregard it if you feel it is wrong.

Yes I know 4k screen is the future tech, no need to keep emphasizing it. Since you use a car example, I will also use similar example to explain my opinion. Driverless car / autonomous car is the future, and it already has a working prototype available in the market. Why not just purchase it instead of conventional car since it is the future tech ? There exists a reason why it is not suitable to buy it now right ?

Regarding games, I do mention High Demanding Game aka GPU Power Hungry Game. Maybe I didn't explicitly mention it, but since the topic is discussing about GTA V which is a high demanding game, you can implicitly guess the type of games I'm referring to right ? If not I apologize for not making myself clear. Sorry about that. I believe those strategy game you mentioned is not high demanding game. (Popular games =/= high demanding game)

It is a proven fact that single GPU can't support 4k gaming (high demanding game) on ultra settings with x8 SMAA or AA on. Even GTX Titan X can barely hit 60fps in benchmark, so mobile GPU is 100% not able to handle it. Only option currently is SLI. I also did mention games like Star Citizen and Witcher, which is the high demanding upcoming games. Those games looks ridiculously good in FHD, and the gpu now barely can get a good FPS with x8 SMAA, so I can't imagine how it looks like when it is 4k.

Yes you can always tune down. I will not say it again that it defeat the purpose of purchasing a 4k screen since you already mention it yourself. You are emphasizing on the price of the 4k model vs the fhd model. But you realize there is no more promotion ongoing already right ? During that time it may be a good choice, but it may not be now. You also need to take note that if the user plays a lot of high demanding game, it is like telling them to purchase a 4k screen and play it at 1080p every time. Yes no all game is so demanding, but you also need to take into account that future game may be more demanding/gpu power hungry. You keep emphasizing on future, but you forget to take into account about future game will be more demanding and it will stress single gpu more. 1080p will be no problem, but 4k will most likely have issue.

Well cheers. I respect your opinion. We just have different view on 4k screen smile.gif

P.S: GTA V requirement is low. When you're playing at lowest settings, the graphic just looks like CS 1.6. But when you're playing at ultra settings, it is a whole different story.

This post has been edited by miong93: Apr 19 2015, 11:03 PM
miong93
post Apr 19 2015, 11:36 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(MP9090 @ Apr 19 2015, 11:21 PM)
hi guys. reagarding the msi ge60 2qe. they kb gt multiple colour one or nt?
It should be customizable.

QUOTE(BLjack @ Apr 19 2015, 11:31 PM)
Bro, you know what? Illegear Z5 is the BEST, they used the best screen instead of 4K.  rclxms.gif
Not sure you're trolling or.. hmm.gif
Z5 screen is not the best. The IPS panel is using AHVA. There exist better IPS panel out there like Samsung PLS or LG IPS.

0.0610sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:39 AM