5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

onelove89
post Sep 17 2007, 06:59 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

limeuu the expenses are not that horrifying as u think. in total of fees i calculated is around half a million malaysian ringgit, not including expenses that is and yes, its hard to get in, i din say its a direct entry xD thats why i'm going to work my head off next yr. try my best to get into monash, I dun wan to waste 3 yrs in biomedic in melb U, stupid melb U change plans to get more money.@@
onelove89
post Sep 17 2007, 06:41 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Sep 17 2007, 09:23 AM)
Feel free to ask me about UNSW medicine...

preferably send emails to me at pangping1510athotmaildotcom
I'll email u on UNSW regarding on medic soon thanks.

QUOTE(jiahuilee @ Sep 17 2007, 10:27 AM)
HEY how come no1 wants to come UWA!!!!! hahah i think UWA is a nice UNI ler... (haha)
UWA is a nicer place, i might try to apply for medicine there too.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 17 2007, 01:12 PM)
monash fees mbbs: a$42,300/year X 5 years = a$211,500 = rm634,000

fees increases yearly at between 5-10% depending on inflation, so expect to pay eventually more.

http://www.monash.edu.au/study/coursefinder/course/0040/

melbourne u fees a$33,580/year X6 years = a$327,640 =rm969,000

nb: figure don't tally, because the yearly fee is based on the first 3 years, the clinical years fees is more then a$50K

http://www.futurestudents.unimelb.edu.au/i...2008/ugrad.html
sry, din know prices will jack up so high >.< dang, things are tight now.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 17 2007, 05:28 PM)
correction............you do NOT graduate in "neurology" at undergraduate level.........one gets a general basic degree of mbbs or mb.chb in uk.........

neurology is a subspeciality in medicine, and to become a neurologist, one needs to complete the foundation years (2 years), pass the mrcp (usually 2-3 years later), and complete a semi structured training, and obtain a cst (certificate of specialist training)............the whole process usually takes 7 years minimum, and longer........
I think his sis has finished up postgraduate? O.o specialist as in.
onelove89
post Sep 18 2007, 08:09 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

>.< gosh, chill guys xD we're here to chat bout schls and studies ^^ not to start a bushfire xD
onelove89
post Sep 19 2007, 07:23 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

heard adelaide is quite a nice place ^^
onelove89
post Sep 21 2007, 09:34 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

btw, do i need to take maths up compulsory in trinity... it says that chemistry is compulsory for medicine rite? and the rest is based on any subj u take?
onelove89
post Sep 22 2007, 02:32 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 22 2007, 01:22 PM)
You need to include in your best 4 for medicine
1. English (Literature+drama)
2. Chemistry
3. Maths 1A/Maths 1B OR Maths 2 OR Physics
4. Any other

You need maths or physics or you can't take medicine. But, maths is easy to score, you should be able to get like 98-100% and chem is also around there. It is literature that usually pulls people down.
ah, thanks for the enlightening. I'm going for physics, as i love physics too ^^ not much of maths, literature kills? Aw.. i'm going to work harder for tat.

so i think i'll take:
compulsory: english and HOI
selectives: chem, bio and phys

is tat ok? I dont mind extra practicals.
onelove89
post Sep 22 2007, 03:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

sooner or later the TER for medicine will reach 100 xD
onelove89
post Sep 23 2007, 09:29 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 23 2007, 07:32 AM)
I wouldn't recommend 3 science subjects. The 9 hours of practicals is very stressful. You need to prepare in advance for every practical. Chemistry requires you to write-up till the results page, with the tables ready before your practical, while everyone does different practicals in physics each week, so your practical won't be the same as your other friends. So, everyone will be fighting for the demonstrators. I'm nt familiar with bio, so I don't know.

I'm taking both chem, physics, maths 1 and maths 2. And I find the stress especially from the science subjects as a killer.

But, anyway, its up to you really. I'm just advising that you should perhaps swap physics for maths 1 since you said that your maths is not very good. But, with help from the tutors, you can score a good grade. But, once you arrive in Trinity, you can seek advice from the lecturers in charge.

If you want, I'll show you some past year physics papers.
thanks, its either maths1 or physics then. My maths are still ok, not the super good type, but i think my physics is better though. thanks again, i'll see what to take up when i get there =)
onelove89
post Sep 23 2007, 11:34 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I better work really hard next yr then. xD limit myself to online at nights only.
onelove89
post Sep 24 2007, 02:32 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 24 2007, 09:30 AM)
You don't have to be too hard on yourself. I'm go online A LOT, especially in between class breaks (in the computer lab) and I'm getting quite good marks. Just make sure you spend some time studying and doing assignments, but not ALL the time.  biggrin.gif
thanks.. I'll need some breaks too xD Need to use night time to chat with my gf here in msia. =) btw, wanna ask is there any orchestra in trinity xD I wanna join one.
onelove89
post Sep 24 2007, 09:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yeah, i'm going to do medicine if possible in 2009. btw, anyone living in arrow on swanston? wanna ask upon the internet thingy there, dont understand. Do I get free internet broadband access? XD
onelove89
post Sep 25 2007, 09:25 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

arrrow looks ok, well, thru the internet xD as long I can stay there and study for 1 yr its quite ok. plus victoria market is around rite? so dont think its a prob.
onelove89
post Sep 27 2007, 08:42 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I wanna ask whether the foundation that is offered by taylor throughout australia can be used in any uni in aus? or isit limited only? like i study in perth campus and i only can go UWA? or limited to the 4 uni bond to taylor
onelove89
post Sep 27 2007, 02:07 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

no i'm actually asking isit possible to use a taylor foundation college cert to apply for other uni other than their own bonding unis. say I did my foudnation in perth taylor and wanna go to melb U or UNSW, will they accept?
onelove89
post Sep 27 2007, 09:01 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Sep 27 2007, 02:28 PM)
is there any taylor`s in Perth?
so far i know is canning college and the other dunno what..
both bond with UWA and Curtin
actually as long your result good i don't think there is rules where you can go.
im sure u r pretty okay one coz u come from chunghua le, elite student.?
I'm not so elite la =D I'm ex chunghua current riam. Hmm... Cant consider myself elite, though i'm in top 5 in class.
onelove89
post Oct 1 2007, 04:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

anyone here from perth? ^^ I'm thinking of changing to perth since its cheaper. Most prob Taylor. Just tat dunno is there any cheaper accomodation there. Currie Hall has 3 meals a day and is around 275$ (asian chef xD *drool) for me its kinda ok, but needa save more money. >.<
onelove89
post Oct 1 2007, 09:26 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 1 2007, 05:40 PM)
you seem determined to do medicine, i would suggest then, NOT to look towards oz, but to uk.........

medical places for international students in oz is going to get fewer, as more universities go graduate entry........and there are VERY few places available, and many taken by foundation students, or malaysian scholarship students on a gov to gov basis..........

i would recommend then to take a-levels, and target uk med schools, there are a lot more places available.........up to 10% of the total 7000 yearly undergraduate med school intake may be full fees paying international students..........cost wise, it works out about the same as a 6 year oz programe.

you can take the a-levels locally, there are lots of colleges doing it, or in one of the many preparatory schoola or colleges in uk.........concorde college has a very successful record of getting students into oxbridge and med schools, except you are now too late for the Dec 2007, and even 2008 entry...........but there are lots others............and it is EASIER to get in, as even if they give you a provisional offer of AAA, it is easier to get that, as the equivalent in oz ter system could be as low as 75 only...........

alternatively, the a-levels will also get you into any of the ipts med schools, like imu, pmc, monash, manipal, aimst etc..........
I'll try my best to go in auz medicine. I'm considering A lvl too but 2 yrs is wasting. I'm thinking of IMU to go twinning too. hi hi. Does A lvl waste time in your opinion? its cheaper by alot. though pampered by parents, I still have the motive to strive =D And yes, I'm pretty determined to study medicine. Its one heck of an ambition but I wanna serve society. ^^
onelove89
post Oct 2 2007, 07:51 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yes, but i'm not intending to go UK, and A lvl is 1.5 yr i know. some uni only takes jan intake for medicine, so the 1/2 yr is wasted. thats why i say its 2 yrs.
onelove89
post Oct 3 2007, 05:09 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 3 2007, 04:28 PM)
guys, which is the cheap airline to fly from kl to melb return and which agent recommended in kl, pj ?
try brunei airline, its cheaper.

Um, interms of overall pricing, studying in aus or studying in UK is cheaper(converted to RM)? cos if studying in UK is omost the same as aus I mind as well go there, I dont mind the 8 hours apart though =) btw in terms of medicine course.

I'm quite in a dilemma now. I've a choice of going to perth for foundation then do medic there or do Alvl here in my hometown and go Brunei U for medic. Cos Brunei U offers up twinning prog to Aus and UK. I dont mind time though, I'm 18 this yr though, 1 yr of difference in terms of course completion doesnt bother me much. =D Most imp for me is to save up some money for my family, as you know medic is quite exp, plus my sis is doing pharmacy course in aus too >.< so it'll be a big burden for my parents if I dont save some.

advices given are greatly appreciated.
onelove89
post Oct 3 2007, 07:59 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

well academic is still ok, just thinking of places and recognition of the uni. I'm thinking of doing twining prog since your cert will be the last uni you'll be doing. so going to UK or Aus will be ok. doing my first 2-3 yrs in msia for me should be ok (since its not clinical). for aus you need UMAT and oso the interview which i'm kinda afraid of. This lowers the gaurentee to enter medicine, which was previously very hard. So I'm finding something easier and cheaper, on the other hand, the cert will be recognised by everyone over the world. =)

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:00 AM