5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

zltan
post Aug 16 2007, 09:59 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 16 2007, 07:22 PM)
hey guys, i'm off to aus next yr, mayb melb to study foundation.

then i have a few choice, cos i wanna take medicine, i might go into monash or come bak. but medicine in aus is hard to go in right? >.< anyone studying medicine in aus here?
Trinity foundation? Monash foundation?

Monash university requires international students to take ISAT before applying to medicine. Melbourne University(through Trinity) does not require ISAT or UMAT, but there isn't Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery/Bachelor of Medical Science in 2009 due to the Melbourne Model. Although, Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery is still offered(2009 being the last year as undergraduate). 2009 is also the last year Bachelor of Dental science in Melbourne University.

The score for Medicine and Dentistry for Melbourne Uni through trinity is 98% average. Yes, it is tough you virtually cannot afford to lose any marks. But, Trinity is a very good course, I've learnt a lot here. I am planning for Bachelor of Dental Science next year in 2008.
zltan
post Aug 18 2007, 06:00 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Aug 16 2007, 11:18 PM)
sorry for sounding like a noob...can someone enlightened me on Melbourne Model??
Melbourne University's melbourne model introduces 6 new generation undergraduate degrees in 2008. (Bachelor of Commerce, Music, Science, Arts, Environments and Biomedicine)

After taking the courses for 3 years, you can start going into the graduate programmes such as Medicine, Law, Architecture, Dental Science, Vet Science...etc.

zltan
post Aug 22 2007, 10:36 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 22 2007, 06:51 PM)
all the best mate, i'm off to trinity (confirm) next yr. and I'll do my best to go into monash U in medicine =) wanna be a great doctor in teh future.
You could actually enter Melbourne Uni for medicine. If you get an average of 98% in English, Chemistry, Maths 1 or 2 or physics and one other subject(total 4), you'll be guaranteed a place.

Take 3 years biomedicine and 4 years medicine(no need to attend interview for the graduate medicine programme, other hassle, automatically enter since you are a trinity student, as long as you pass all your biomedicine subjects)

zltan
post Aug 24 2007, 07:41 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 24 2007, 08:49 AM)
oh sweet! thanks, i tot its 6 yrs >.< i'll consider going into melb U then.
Yup, thats the best thing to do smile.gif Trinity prepares people mainly to Melbourne Uni. We've just finished our 2nd and final HOI essay today! biggrin.gif
zltan
post Sep 2 2007, 05:08 PM

695 posts

Its best that you stay at Carlton. You could try Albert House, all meals provided except sundays. If you are willing to cook yourself, College Square, CMC, Arrow on Swanston are popular areas. CMC is very near to the Swanston Street Trinity Building, just 1 minute walk away...lol. Plus, its right on top of KFC!

The smart gang will mostly be staying at Albert House. Cost for a month is about $1000 AUD in Carlton. Don't go to the suburbs, or you'll regret it in terms 3 and 4 when you have drama practice with your groupmates during after-hours.
zltan
post Sep 7 2007, 04:30 PM

695 posts

Those people passing out the flyers of the student union election are irritating. Keep bumping into them every time in Union House.
zltan
post Sep 9 2007, 06:30 PM

695 posts

Summer will only last for a month or so, then you'll enter the great yellowness in autumn and darkness in winter...*Evil laugh*

Have you thought of what subjects you are going to take in Trinity yet?
zltan
post Sep 9 2007, 10:05 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 9 2007, 07:45 PM)
english, history of ideas is a must right? and then i needa choose 3 electives? If 3 electives then maths A/B, chemistry and biology. but if i can take 4, then physics too.
Are you serious? Chem, Bio and physics?!?

You can take 4 electives but they won't allow you to take chem, bio and physics together, there won't enough time.

You have 4 periods a day, lasting 1.5 hours each.

Literature, HOI, Maths 1 takes up 3 hours( 1 lecture and 1 tute) each
Drama takes up 1.5 hours
EAP takes up 3 hours a week
Chem takes 4.5 hours(2 lectures and 1 tute) and 3 hour practical every alternate week
Bio and physics takes up 3 hours(1 lec, 1 tute) and 3 hour practicals every alternate week

That makes up 24 hours of lectures and tutorials every week and 9 hours of practical every alternate week. That is called suicide.

This is still possible, but you'll end up with only 2 free periods every alternate week. And, practicals ARE very stressful. In terms 2+3, the HOI essays come in and you are required to research on the topics in the libraries.

Below is the list of assignments throughout the year:
Term 1-nothing
Term 2-HOI essay(1200 words, 20%, due in week 6), Drama monologue presentation(10% of English mark, due in week 7), EAP essay(5%, due in week 5)
Term 3-HOI essay(1500 words, 30%, due in week 6), Drama group performance(10% of English, due in week 7), EAP essay(5%, week 5), Chemistry presentation(10%, week 7)+winter
Term 4-Drama group performance(10% of English, week 7), EAP presentation(25%, due in week 2)

As you can see, term 3 is hell term. tongue.gif

If you want 4 electives, take 2 sciences, maths 1 and one other.

This post has been edited by zltan: Sep 9 2007, 10:12 PM
zltan
post Sep 16 2007, 06:20 PM

695 posts

The max is still about 20 degrees, the wind is annoying. And I have exams tomorrow! *Cries*
zltan
post Sep 16 2007, 09:40 PM

695 posts

Trinity is the easiest way to get into medicine if you want to take it, provided you have the $$$$ and brains. And Melbourne Uni has one of the best medical schools in the world too.

*Starts counting how many marks left for the guaranteed score...*
zltan
post Sep 17 2007, 11:05 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 16 2007, 10:20 PM)
you have all missed the boat..........trinity will not directly enable you to do medicine in mu, the last intake is next year, and if you do the foundation next year, you will enter in 2009, which means mu medicine will be postgraduate entry...........ie you need to do a 3 year 1st degree (likely biomedicine), and then compete somemore to get into the graduate programme..........

i like the optimism of youth..........medicine is highly competitive (both for locals and international students), and hugely expensive............eg, adelaide has 500+ international applications for some 16 places...........and unsw 600+ for 50 places............

note that at current fees level, it will cost about a$250k-300K just in fees alone...........about rm750-900K.............living expenses will add another a$60-80K, or rm180K-240K, making a total course cost of rm0.9-1.1 million................you all that rich meh?........ rclxub.gif
Melbourne University guarantees you a place in medicine post-grad if you obtain 98% average in Trinity and pass all your biomedicine subjects. Therefore, NO interview, NO hassles, NO referees needed which makes it an easy path in.

On side note, I AM in trinity right now, even though I'm borned in 1990. So, it does not apply to me and I can still get into the undergraduate medicine.

No comment on the cost.

Onelove89, if you are aiming for Monash medicine, then go and do MUFY instead. Monash Uni gives preference to those from their foundation year, such as Melbourne Uni gives preferences to those from Trinity. Like jonathan said, you need 97% average for Monash but 98% average for Trinity.

Lets say 10 people from MUFY get 97% and 10 people get 98% from Trinity (I know the numbers are rather impossible, but you never know). And lets say Monash Uni only takes in 15 students from these foundation programmes. Thus, they will take all 10 from MUFY and only 5 from Trinity, eventhough Trinity's standard is higher.

Think carefully, if you want Medicine and Trinity, work for 98% and go into Biomedicine and then Medicine.
zltan
post Sep 18 2007, 05:51 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(Shugan @ Sep 18 2007, 12:10 AM)
Erm.. But I heard UWA is more expensive that other Universities in OZ.. And the cost of living over there is quite high too.. How did u get to join there? A Levels? STPM? Foundation? U went there with a scholarship?  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think Melbourne is the most expensive uni in Australia.
zltan
post Sep 18 2007, 02:39 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2007, 12:47 PM)
correct..........

which is why i think mel u is not value for money for international students.........
But, I'll say their undergraduate degree for medicine is, you get 2 degrees for 6 years and it is one of the best medical schools in the world. I love their museum, its so cool! biggrin.gif

zltan
post Sep 18 2007, 05:13 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2007, 04:24 PM)
almost any medical school will allow you to take an extra year, and get another degree..........even uni malaya...........that is no bid deal, and an expensive exercise when you parents are paying big money for you..........

all prospective med students.........note this.........you need to be the top at least 5% to do medicine, and a good med school, with good culture of excellence is always welcome............but after you graduate, what med school you come from becomes secondary, and eventually irrelevant, as your further progress depends on your work ethics, competence, commitment...........and for postgraduate, more exams to take, as well as structured training programmes which are VERY competitive to get into..........much more than getting into med school itself..........(i am referring to the oz context, where meritocracy is the practice.........)
You seem to be very much against medicine. What 'bad experience' have you encountered?
zltan
post Sep 18 2007, 07:40 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2007, 05:18 PM)
where in any of my posts do you find anything that makes you come to that conclusion?

whare in any of my posts you find any factual error?.......
You seem to keep blasting Melbourne University. Out of curiosity, have you graduated or are you still studying?

QUOTE(Shugan @ Sep 18 2007, 07:31 PM)
Can we work in OZ once we finished our medical course over there? I heard OZ always been lack of doctors.. Lol..
Yes, they will employ you, provided your English standard is high enough to get a PR.
zltan
post Sep 18 2007, 09:37 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2007, 07:50 PM)
again, where in my postings did i "blast" melbourne uni?
EVERYWHERE the cost, how it is the same standard as the other Australian Universities. What you love to do is to provoke people and I'm guessing its people like YOU who are jealous that others have better education than you and that YOU are either NOT accepted into Melbourne University or you can NOT afford it, so you are trying to discourage the fortunate people who are able to get into the University of Melbourne.

Want some evidence?

1. "and any of oz's 1st tier (g8 and atnu) universities should be of equivalent quality"
2. "i think mel u is not value for money for international students"
3. "but after you graduate, what med school you come from becomes secondary, and eventually irrelevant"

I respect your own opinion, but you do not have to be sarcastic towards me. I was simply asking a question and you had the chance of just answering it or not, but you chose sarcasm.

I support Trinity and Melbourne University 100%, I think they give good education and are absolutely worth every single cent that you spend. So what if they are expensive? Melbourne Uni does not have a very strong alumni such as Cambridge, Oxford etc.. and they can't afford to give a lot of scholarships to international students.
zltan
post Sep 21 2007, 01:01 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(DannGun @ Sep 21 2007, 11:33 AM)
How about the Aussies?? What do you guys think about them? eg., when u ask for instructions to go to a place. are they friendly??
Yes, most of them are. Some have offered me help when I looked lost and someone helped me pick up my coins when I dropped them that day.

zltan
post Sep 22 2007, 01:22 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 21 2007, 09:34 PM)
btw, do i need to take maths up compulsory in trinity... it says that chemistry is compulsory for medicine rite? and the rest is based on any subj u take?
You need to include in your best 4 for medicine
1. English (Literature+drama)
2. Chemistry
3. Maths 1A/Maths 1B OR Maths 2 OR Physics
4. Any other

You need maths or physics or you can't take medicine. But, maths is easy to score, you should be able to get like 98-100% and chem is also around there. It is literature that usually pulls people down.
zltan
post Sep 23 2007, 07:32 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 22 2007, 02:32 PM)
ah, thanks for the enlightening. I'm going for physics, as i love physics too ^^ not much of maths, literature kills? Aw.. i'm going to work harder for tat.

so i think i'll take:
compulsory: english and HOI
selectives: chem, bio and phys

is tat ok? I dont mind extra practicals.
I wouldn't recommend 3 science subjects. The 9 hours of practicals is very stressful. You need to prepare in advance for every practical. Chemistry requires you to write-up till the results page, with the tables ready before your practical, while everyone does different practicals in physics each week, so your practical won't be the same as your other friends. So, everyone will be fighting for the demonstrators. I'm nt familiar with bio, so I don't know.

I'm taking both chem, physics, maths 1 and maths 2. And I find the stress especially from the science subjects as a killer.

But, anyway, its up to you really. I'm just advising that you should perhaps swap physics for maths 1 since you said that your maths is not very good. But, with help from the tutors, you can score a good grade. But, once you arrive in Trinity, you can seek advice from the lecturers in charge.

If you want, I'll show you some past year physics papers.
zltan
post Sep 24 2007, 09:30 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 23 2007, 11:34 AM)
I better work really hard next yr then. xD limit myself to online at nights only.
You don't have to be too hard on yourself. I'm go online A LOT, especially in between class breaks (in the computer lab) and I'm getting quite good marks. Just make sure you spend some time studying and doing assignments, but not ALL the time. biggrin.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:53 AM