Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

jae
post Aug 4 2007, 08:23 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 4 2007, 01:38 PM)
sydney....
if u really have no money or on the par,choose other places, except that u wanna work part time to the max.

im kinda struggling here studying in unsw, food r  so SO SO expensive and nothing is  cheap.... even if  u dun convert to ringgit.

so to those who r financially capable, ignore me.
Hmm i don't recall seeing you posting here previously, did you just started uni this session? And just wondering what are you doing in unsw? Commerce, engineering?
jae
post Aug 5 2007, 08:18 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 5 2007, 07:00 PM)
its easy . if u find that paying Rm25 for a usual meal is ok and do not find guilty at all spending ur parents' money in such way..... welcome to sydney. for everything else, u can imagine.
Well this is a common issue faced by almost everyone here when they first arrived, every dollar you spend here will automatically be converted into RM without even you knowing it. This kind of mindset will however, starts to fade away after a couple of weeks or months depending on individuals.
Hows uni so far? Hope you enjoy climbing the numerous stairs in uni smile.gif

Edited: Fade away is probably a better term rather than disappear. Cheers

This post has been edited by jae: Aug 5 2007, 10:37 PM
jae
post Aug 7 2007, 09:38 PM

359 posts

Well i have always been wondering will one do the other way round, which is to convert everything from RM to AUD when one gets back to Malaysia for holiday? I haven't went back yet since coming to Australia so i have no idea about that, but i'm thinking that if you are already used to buying everything in AUD, would you feel that everything somehow becomes alot cheaper when you go back home?

This post has been edited by jae: Aug 7 2007, 09:39 PM
jae
post Aug 8 2007, 08:49 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 7 2007, 11:22 PM)
i'm not going to convert to anything unless im earning here for myself....
but since i'm new here.......

wat i mean is to those who r still using their FAMA funds, how can u be not converting when ur parents r earning RM?

seriously i m really save and safe when dealing with buying things... the reason i say about 25 thingy is because some1 ask about the cost of living... tats the truth n easy understanding.

but of course... to those who r financially capable(parents), ignore me.

every1 notice that how large sum they have spend here, but they just dun wan to face it...maybe to avoid feeling guilty
Okay, put it simply, if your parents can afford to spend approx RM100k a year to send you here, how would they not be financially capable?
I understand how you feel, everyone here has went through that during their first few months here, but trust us, after a while you'd know you cant do anything to change that, and especially here in sydney where everything is expensive, all i can say is spend wisely and you should be fine within your budget.
And regarding looking for a job, it'd be a great advantage if you have previous working experience, and i reckon there would be more job opportunities in the city. However, given the limited working hours under your visa, don't expect the pay to cover a big percentage of your expenses, in most cases i would say it'd be good enough to be able to cover your rental from your pay.
jae
post Aug 10 2007, 09:53 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 10 2007, 03:03 PM)
every family has its own problem, its a long story to say. but i start wondering whether coming here is a wise decision... lol

anyway, wat course r u doing? wat year?
I'm doing commerce first year, what about you? First year? And just wondering are you living on-campus?
jae
post Aug 11 2007, 07:12 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(naturesimple @ Aug 11 2007, 01:57 PM)
nop . third year . off campus.
where r u staying? college?

another commerce.  u must be very free ... dun deny,i noe quite a few commerce.....lol
Oh you have just transferred from one of the colleges in malaysia i assume?
I'm living in the city right now.
Haha well its 3 days of uni for me, but then i usually work for another 3 days after uni, so yeah..
UNSW meet up session? Heh that sounds interesting.
jae
post Aug 19 2007, 10:37 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(micromouse @ Aug 19 2007, 08:19 PM)
Chinese restaurant owners are notorious for that
Not only restaurants, basically if the employer is Asian regardless of whether its a restaurant, cafe, ktv etc, i reckon theres a high possibility that you will get way less than the minimum wage.
jae
post Aug 20 2007, 09:01 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Aug 20 2007, 01:25 AM)
Law enforcement?
I have never worked with an Asian employer, but from what i heard, they usually pay you in cash, meaning the tax office(ATO) is not involved nor aware of your employment, so its probably a lot harder to enforce the minimum wage rule. I reckon this is considered as illegal employment under the law, not sure about this though.
jae
post Sep 7 2007, 10:31 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 7 2007, 09:50 PM)
oh, sydney is a nice place, bit hot in summer, loads of bush fire and stuff. but nice scenes, prob is the cost of living is high and the fees for uni is quite exp rite? >.< but, i'll apply to different uni after my foundation.
Cost of living in Sydney is high, but i'm pretty sure Melbourne's cost of living is pretty much similar to that of Sydney. Tuition fees wise, i'm not too sure about medicine, but for other courses, the fees here are similar to those in Monash and other Go8 universities, with UniMelb being the most expensive among all.

jae
post Sep 22 2007, 04:00 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 22 2007, 03:25 PM)
sooner or later the TER for medicine will reach 100 xD
Correct me if i'm wrong, but afaik you cant possibly get a ter score of 100, max is 99.5 or somewhere there.
jae
post Sep 26 2007, 04:54 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Sep 26 2007, 01:15 PM)

Added on September 26, 2007, 1:22 pmgoing through a bit of the thread, you guys are saying IDP's services aren't good?! meaning we should source out everything by ourselves rather than seek their services for our education? sometimes the net can get a bit overloaded, i have to admit. too much info and a lot of luring with sweet talk.
Just thought i would add a bit of info on this matter, I had all my uni application work done with the help of my college university placement centre, in fact they even guided me through my visa application after i got my COE. I cant speak the other colleges, but for my case(I was in taylors btw), i think they did a pretty good job. Anyway, my point is, instead of looking at the various agents like IDP, you should try and drop by your college's placement centre and have a look.
jae
post Sep 27 2007, 11:47 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 27 2007, 10:00 AM)
I find Taylor's college placement centre's staff is very unfriendly.That made me went to IDP for their waived application fees and spam lots of applications there.
I think SAM can be used though out Aus.I heard some of the SAM students went to UK continue their studies.

Maybe you should ask the counselors for more info.They can provide more accurate info than me.
I wouldn't deny that, in fact I have experienced myself how unfriendly a few of the staffs there can be, but thank god the counselor that attended my case was really friendly, so no complains on that part. About waiving your application fees, I'm not really sure as i put in my application during the placement day when the various universities' admission staffs were there to promote their university and thus waiving the application fees for all the applications made on that day.

Btw, the taylors college they are talking about is the one here in Australia, not the one in Subang SS15. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think these two colleges have any relationship of whatsoever except for sharing the same name.

This post has been edited by jae: Sep 27 2007, 11:50 AM
jae
post Sep 28 2007, 03:25 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(katunX @ Sep 28 2007, 03:01 PM)
anyone knows any Halal McDonald, Hungry Jacks & KFC around Melbourne? I've been dying to find one, really miss the fast foods... sweat.gif
Do they actually have such thing in Melbourne, or rather Australia?
jae
post Oct 6 2007, 08:16 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Oct 6 2007, 12:18 AM)
No, its just flies. And the insects here are super big. LIKE SUPER BIG!

**off to get them off my room**
You have flies over there, we have moths over here. Damn those moths are annoying, and there are thousands of them out there. I have killed like 15 of them yesterday in my room before i went to bed, and yet there are still more doh.gif
jae
post Oct 8 2007, 09:27 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(dante_cool @ Oct 8 2007, 08:03 AM)
hi,

erm 12 - 20 bucks I assume is the standard cause I was there for holiday and I was having dinner / lunches at those..western restaurants near Darling Habour.

Chinese food is standard though around 8- 10 bucks per meal.

Depends on the job you are looking for, there are weekend jobs ( I was working at a call centre last year - gives me nightmare ).

So yeah, getting a part time job here in Australia is not a problem. ( just depends what kind of job.. tongue.gif ).

Cheers

dante_cool
Those restaurants are obviously more expensive because of their location. Try to look around the city and you should be able to find some cheap steaks around, cheapest i've seen was 10 bucks for a steak and a schooner.

jae
post Oct 12 2007, 10:33 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 12 2007, 02:47 AM)
and make sure u work PT in those australia company not the one in china town ....

although china town job easy to find (allowed u to work extra hour) but the pay is so low and the job is none stop ..... pay around 5-8 aud no tax.

Local company will pay u a min of aud 13.5 per hour before tax but after tax u still get 11.30 i think .... smile.gif
About the minimum wage, it all actually depends on your age and what sector are you working in.
If I'm not mistaken theres a whole list of minimum wages published on the state government website, and i reckon different industry has different minimum wage. Age is also an important factor in determining your rate, the general rule of thumb is the older you are the more you get.
jae
post Nov 11 2007, 11:27 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Kenny4820 @ Nov 11 2007, 12:59 AM)
I'm going to Australia in 2009, there are a few of universities which is in my list, what I'm trying to ask is whether to go for a Go8 well reputation universities or to some which is not so well known but they are giving scholarships like newcastle, tasmania and so on. Is there any main difference between the graduates of these universities? By the way , im doing electronic and electrical engineering
Well choosing which uni to go is one thing, can you afford to pay the full tuition fee if you decide not to take the scholarship is another issue. If getting the scholarship or not is not an issue for you, I'd say go for the top university instead.
jae
post Jan 2 2008, 09:12 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jan 2 2008, 05:53 PM)
Anyone tried to apply Melb. Uni. without IELTS? for eng. course...
I get 5.5 in writing paper but never realised they need a 6.0 . Now I'm pissed and too late to retake...
any college offer 1+3 twinning to Melb U.? doh.gif
for the IDP part. They are as busy as well cos now is peak hours to apply Aussie Uni. Suggest u give them a call... they never reply my email too...
AFAIK, unless you took SAM for pre-u or other australian year 12 or TOEFL, i doubt you can get into any uni in australia without your IELTS. Correct me if I'm wrong, but i reckon you would still need IELTS even if you take up an australian twinning course locally, not to say that there is any twinning for UniMelb except for the architecture course in Taylor's
jae
post Jan 3 2008, 09:19 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 3 2008, 02:47 PM)
Just a question: is upload data counted towards the cap also?

If there is one ISP I would like to recommend to people heading down south, it's be Internode and TPG. All the people I've met (n=4) using Internode are very happy people. I'm with TPG, and their annoying transparent proxy aside, is a excellent ISP. Optus is also interesting if you are happy to be Optus all the way (landline, ISP, mobile), through I'm not a fan of split caps.

Telstra is not cheap, but damn, their network is damn stable and fast (as long as you're under your cap!).
I have seen the packages offered by TPG, they seemed really good and value for money to me. How stable is their network and how big is the difference in terms of the actual speed you get compared to the advertised speed?
Bigpond no doubt is stable and fast, but their packages are expensive, and when it is fast, one tend to exceed the cap easily, which is something you wouldn't wanna happen.
jae
post Jan 7 2008, 08:54 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:59 AM)
hmm my hostel offers free dial up O.o enough for msn + skype + browsing + bit of gaming? xD and dling ><
msn + browsing shouldn't be too big of an issue if you don't mind the slow loading speed, but gaming and downloading with 56k? o.0

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0535sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:56 PM