Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
jae
Jan 10 2008, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(wartevar @ Jan 10 2008, 02:25 PM) hey guys how do u all manage yr money when ur in overseas for studyin? i need ways to guide me to manage my money lor..i loose track on how much i spend per month..help pls? For me, I use Ms.Excel spreadsheet to keep track on all my daily expenses and sum it up at the end of every month. This might not be the best way to do so depending on the individual, so figure out a method which you think is the most appropriate and suitable for your situation. This post has been edited by jae: Jan 10 2008, 07:17 PM
jae
Jan 11 2008, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 11 2008, 01:24 PM) My flight is on 29th Feb evening. Accommodation, I think I dont have any problem with it, its the visa Im worried about. Never heard of SITAR before  Added on January 11, 2008, 1:26 pmOne of my friends said O-week is like useless but who would wanna miss out on all the freebies and balloons and stuff. Lolz. Lol we would be on the same flight back to Sydney if you are taking MAS. @Jonathan Couldn't agree more than that, I can't help but dividing almost everything by 3 after I came back, heck i am finding myself spending more than i ever had before I went over
jae
Jan 11 2008, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 11 2008, 07:28 PM) I am taking MAS,  Haha cool. But it is kinda surprising to see a first year student going there so late though, usually they prefer to go earlier to settle down first before commencing their semester. What would you be taking for your undergrad?
jae
Jan 12 2008, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 12 2008, 01:41 PM) Urm, yeh, but there's nothing to do if I go there earlier and I already have my accommodation settled. I'm taking Landscape Architecture  You can always go around and get familiar with the suburbs, bus routes etc. It helps a lot later unless you are already familiar with Sydney. Nevertheless, it is good to know that you already have your accommodation settled, I will still have to look for mine after i arrive, hopefully it won't take too long. Btw, just wondering where would you be staying? This post has been edited by jae: Jan 12 2008, 07:06 PM
jae
Jan 27 2008, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 27 2008, 05:16 PM) Er, yes im from tutor and no, im not taking some fashion/arts course Yeh, pretty much.. plus the travel tens for constant ride to the city, bondi or upper campus  Do u guys use blue traveltens for brown trips or concessions? *shrugs* i do hope the exchange rate gets lower but.. Is your monthly allowance inclusive of your rental? If yes then that amount is alright, otherwise no offence but I really can't think of any reason why one would need so much a month unless you are really loaded. And no, I don't use blue for brown trips nor do i use concessions although I did thought about that before, but figured that it's not worth taking the risk after listening to some stories about it.
jae
Jan 29 2008, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 29 2008, 05:55 PM) went to idp today, didnt help me much  basically told me that i'd need my as results and a2 forecast and spm cert, but prob is, i dont have my spm cert yet(stpid school ><" ) any chance theyll accept the results slip instead? so yeah, i've decided to apply to anu, melbourne and sydney for mech eng. any comments? or recommendations? thanks lotsa  I submitted my applications directly to the uni representatives during my college's placement day using my spm slip with other relevant documents and none of my applications were rejected nor did they requested particularly for the spm cert, so i reckon it shouldn't be any problem with using your slip instead of your cert.