How to survive with RM2500

you90
post Oct 9 2014, 09:53 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(shanyuet @ Oct 9 2014, 09:46 AM)
I'm now at 4.5k already. Urm.. Let me count.. It was back in year 2012 July or Aug, then... I changed my company to a new one in March 2013 and got slightly higher. Oh well, you just gotta perform and show your value in your work in order to negotiate for higher salary
Oh, within 7 months you jump and you got a 100% increment? blink.gif
shanyuet
post Oct 9 2014, 09:56 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Oct 9 2014, 09:53 AM)
Oh, within 7 months you jump and you got a 100% increment?  blink.gif
Urm.... my next salary back then was 2.3k la.. then jump to 2.8k then 3k and now 4.5k lol.. It was a long jumping journey but just too much risk
you90
post Oct 9 2014, 09:58 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(shanyuet @ Oct 9 2014, 09:56 AM)
Urm.... my next salary back then was 2.3k la.. then jump to 2.8k then 3k and now 4.5k lol.. It was a long jumping journey but just too much risk
So,

Aug 2012: u started off with 1.8k
March 2013: u jump to get 2.3k, then jump again to get 3k then jump again to get 4.5k?

Wonder what is your background study and field u r in now? Hmm..
shanyuet
post Oct 9 2014, 10:01 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Oct 9 2014, 09:58 AM)
So,

Aug 2012: u started off with 1.8k
March 2013: u jump to get 2.3k, then jump again to get 3k then jump again to get 4.5k?

Wonder what is your background study and field u r in now? Hmm..
Waaa... timeline ah -.-

Urm... Ya

Aug 2012 = 1.8k
March 2013 = 2.3k
Nov 2013 =3k
Sept 2014 = 4.5k

I studied Mass Communication but work as Organisation Development/Corporate Planner aka another fancy name for Management and Planner field. Planner as in Event etc planner. Not insurance planner
SUSchickenshit36
post Oct 9 2014, 10:02 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(2JayZ @ Oct 8 2014, 05:11 PM)
Then I think u have not work long enough or even started working yet. Get 30-40% raise after 1 year? If u own the company then yes.
Unless u jump company...MAYBE possible and that also it will not look nice in your resume. There is only so much that you can jump around.
in workforce 7 years already. starting salary 2k back in 07. after 1 year raise to 2.65. after another 6 months, jump to vendor for rm3k

bear in mind i was in a telco subcontractor company. so no, it wasnt an mnc. its a chinaman company

that said, when ur salary hits 6-8k, then progression is slower, and u better have 1-2 very good core competencies that make u stand out in order to progress.
you90
post Oct 9 2014, 10:28 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(shanyuet @ Oct 9 2014, 10:01 AM)
Waaa... timeline ah -.-

Urm... Ya

Aug 2012 = 1.8k
March 2013 = 2.3k
Nov 2013 =3k
Sept 2014 = 4.5k

I studied Mass Communication but work as Organisation Development/Corporate Planner aka another fancy name for Management and Planner field. Planner as in Event etc planner. Not insurance planner
I seriously envy of you, able to jump to see the huge increment.

Networking is important also i guess in this case. Are you all this while, jump to the same fields?

I have 1 year + 1 year experience in two different fields.
shanyuet
post Oct 9 2014, 10:33 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(you90 @ Oct 9 2014, 10:28 AM)
I seriously envy of you, able to jump to see the huge increment.

Networking is important also i guess in this case. Are you all this while, jump to the same fields?

I have 1 year + 1 year experience in two different fields.
No need to envy la. I believe you can also, but very risky. I jumped different field. From Mass Communication, PR line to Corporate line! Fuhhh!! That's a huge gap. But then I'm planning to jump back into Communication Line next year as Corporate Communication. smile.gif

MeToo
post Oct 9 2014, 10:38 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(MonkeyXIII @ Oct 8 2014, 12:47 PM)
Lawl....my gaji only rm1.4k ma...and i work at pj..and i still can live....haha...and if i got that 2.5k salary,that big enuff for me...
What you are doing is called "Surviving"...

That's different from "living"....
chow again
post Oct 9 2014, 03:35 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(tuansadiq @ Oct 9 2014, 02:43 PM)
most MNC will only give 10% increment after 1 year.

one year experience wont allow you much increment, even if you job hopping.

also there is not much you can learn in MNC for one year. they tend to keep those fresh grads diam2 inside the cubicle doing boring routine.
See got 1 poster above jump from 1.8k to 4.5k within 2 years.

In MNC you got to fight for your chance to perform. If you everything also tell boss cannot/dunknow obviously you will be kept diam2 inside cubicle. Show some initiative, learn from different dep, talk to different boss, take professional paper eg. IT cert/acca, dont complain when OT or do job outside job scope. Try to get 1st promotion within 2-3 years, then jump company once u get promotion (thats almost 50-75% payrise within 3 years to about 4k. And thats quite conservative expectation that is doable for most people.

Or you can be life insurance/property or car salesman and earn even more. (but obviously sales is harder)

It is quite simple to rise in pay quickly if you are hardworking, willing to put in effort. Wont stay at 2.5k for long so why worry?
IrVine1987
post Oct 9 2014, 03:37 PM

193 posts

2500 - 1000 = saving
1500 - 400 = rental + etc
1100 - 200 = petrol
900 = makan + etc
anak kenyalang
post Oct 9 2014, 03:47 PM

85 posts

RM2.5k in not too bad IMHO. Plus, u have no experience, please don't tell me u are expecting 3k. I'm not saying that 2.5k is forever enough, but for a starter, its more than enough. Maybe after a year u will get increment, then u change company, hence higher salary. Come on, its a working adult world, learn to survive. It ain't like school or University where u expect people to spoon-fed u. As time goes, u will gain more experience, and higher salary. But for a starter, 2.5k is more than enough.

Again, welcome to the real world. You are on your own.
futra
post Oct 9 2014, 04:10 PM

1,267 posts

It is possible to SURVIVE with rm2.5k.... if u're single @ single breadwinner.

Let's break the rm2.5k down:
600 = sewa rumah (low cost apartment) in shah alam
100 = utility (water, elec, maintenance fee)
300 = meals (rm10 daily x 30 days)
So, that's rm1k for ur necessity. U got a place to stay, sleep, bathe, pray, exercise.. and a whole month's horrendous dieting program.

Which leaves u with balance of rm1.5k for optional usages:
100 = parents
30 = prepaid topup
100 = petrol
50 = toll/touchngo
20 = cigarettes
50 = groceries (for home cooking, tapau later for work, save money?)
100 = insurance
50 = asb
Another rm500 used, leaving just rm1k in ur hands.

Ppl say save 30% from salary for emergencies, meaning rm750.. incase bike/car breaks down, or need to balik kampung due to relative pass away, or simply keeping for future use. U have rm250 to spare. Anything I'm missing here? hmm.gif

Oh btw, fresh grad 2.5k is ok lar.. i got spm only, started to work 2005 at rm350 and ended after 7years in the same comp in 2012 at >rm1k sweat.gif then with hopes of 7years xp, jump to my 2nd work place.. thank god they somehow tripled. Now after almost 2years, twice increments + recently KPI. *tears of joy*

Of coz, lifestyle MUST change, and stay closer to God (pray often, be a better husband/father, etc).. notworthy.gif and most important, always ALWAYS jaga hati parents esp mother. Being good to wife is one thing, but being good/cheerful to mother is the ultimate key. Trust me, I've learned the hard way, and God has rewarded me absolutely well (syukur alhamdulillah), surprisingly, esp in terrible and desperate times. wub.gif

This post has been edited by futra: Oct 9 2014, 04:20 PM
d7adict
post Oct 9 2014, 06:15 PM

268 posts

RM2500 as a starting salary for a fresh grad with degree is certainly not ok in the current climate of time where everything has double tripple its price compared to ten, twenty years ago.

Having said that, the starting pay is really decided by factors such as your education level, grades, universities you went to, types of industry you going to, relative experience of internship or activities in campus and your personal attitude. In short, it really depends on how good your are in building your cv and during the interviews.

I personally know some bright grads who started with 4-5 k, of course, in an advance junior role and some average grads with 3k above and some below 2k. All came from the same university and same course.

So, don't let these people tells you how much you should be earning just because they earn a certain amount during their early phase or base on their personl opinion. Prove your worth to employers, dont be afraid to negotiate and the sky is the limit. Just my two cents.
fryze
post Oct 9 2014, 08:32 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(mouthpoop @ Oct 8 2014, 12:44 PM)
i used to survive with 2300 just a year ago. I drive to work, and my workplace is in Bangsar. How do i go around making my ends meet?

Get up as early as 6 to get the allocated free parking, so I saved MYR7 a day for parking. Breakfast at the office pantry, hot milo and the biscuits. Lunch alone ( usually the 6.90 Subway) as most of my colleague always go for Secret Recipe, San Fran, Dome and all the established eateries. Stay back until 7pm, (the traffic is horrendous anyway, so choose the lesser of two evils) , went the office gym until 930 and dinner with biscuits and milo again back at the same pantry.

andddd my officemates called me the boy with the water bottle cause I bring my 1L bottle of plain water everywhere I go. You seriously save a lot when you bring your own drink.

In retrospect, I automatically geared myself to survive with any amount of paycheck given.
respect bro
fryze
post Oct 9 2014, 08:34 PM

247 posts

respect
tehoice
post Oct 10 2014, 12:29 AM

5,529 posts

okay, after several days of discussion. now we all know that surviving with that amount is doable.

so the next question is, how much do you think it is sufficient to live a comfortable life? I know this is subjective.

why not let's share and discuss?
ScivanShimitar
post Oct 10 2014, 12:50 AM

186 posts

Degree fresh grad, earning 2.6k here

House rent = RM180 share with friends, no need to pay electricity and water since the bill is always low.
Petrol = RM150 Dont have car, rempit.
Meals = RM400 A lil bit expensive since I'm working at KLIA, screw you Ali Maju.
PTPN = RM100
Parents = RM 300
Basic Necessities = RM100 (Topap, internet bill share with friends)
Some entertainment = RM100

RM2600 - RM1330 = RM1270

With that kind of balance I managed to grab the bike Im using right now on cash after working for 5 month for RM7.5k. Malas nak utang.

So in my opinion its more than enough to survive, heck I think its enough to live a comfortable life with RM2.5k. Depends on your definition of comfortable though.

sasaug
post Oct 10 2014, 05:22 AM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Everyone been talking about fresh grad, you no experience, u not deserving that pay etc but how about those people who have skills and experience. Giving same pay to fresh grad is discrimination. Not because most grad have no hands on experience, means that others don't.

By the time I grad, I have like 1 year android development experience and if i go to interview, they offering me pay same as other who don't even know anything. You can argue that I got better chance to get the job or faster raise but I myself feels that after working hard learning a lot stuff, people just treat me like those any other normal fresh grad. Salary is not because how much I need to survive but how much you value me at. Don't talk about startup but MNC are those who are actually doing these.

I've seen company reject resume because they aren't 3.0. I know guys who have bad pointer but exactly great team member and have the right skills to do it but just because one value on your cert, you aren't given the chance.

Back to topic, I earn more than 2500 and even I spend like I dont care much and live comfortably, i could hardly hit 2.5k per month. 2500 can live quite ok if you don't have car and renting. I remember someone posted, you got 2k, u live a 2k life, you got 10k, you live 10k life, so even then, you not saving much because of what you spent on.

anak kenyalang
post Oct 10 2014, 08:48 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Oct 10 2014, 05:22 AM)
Everyone been talking about fresh grad, you no experience, u not deserving that pay etc but how about those people who have skills and experience. Giving same pay to fresh grad is discrimination. Not because most grad have no hands on experience, means that others don't.

By the time I grad, I have like 1 year android development experience and if i go to interview, they offering me pay same as other who don't even know anything. You can argue that I got better chance to get the job or faster raise but I myself feels that after working hard learning a lot stuff, people just treat me like those any other normal fresh grad. Salary is not because how much I need to survive but how much you value me at. Don't talk about startup but MNC are those who are actually doing these.

I've seen company reject resume because they aren't 3.0. I know guys who have bad pointer but exactly great team member and have the right skills to do it but just because one value on your cert, you aren't given the chance.

Back to topic, I earn more than 2500 and even I spend like I dont care much and live comfortably, i could hardly hit 2.5k per month. 2500 can live quite ok if you don't have car and renting. I remember someone posted, you got 2k, u live a 2k life, you got 10k, you live 10k life, so even then, you not saving much because of what you spent on.
I agree. No matter how big is your salary, if u still fail at money management, even 10k is not enough. When i was still single last year, my salary was 2400, and i can live comfortably. And by my definition of comfortable, I mean I have adequate food, roof on top of my head, money for parent, for entertainment and savings. Come on, don't tell me u are fresh grad, and u are expecting to own BMW, live in condo and so on. For time being, be thankful u even have a job, considering the facts its hard for fresh grad to get a job nowadays. As time goes, your salary will go higher, and u can improve your lifestyle.

And again, as mentioned, u have 2.5k salary, live a 2.5k life.
adele123
post Oct 10 2014, 09:50 AM

4,728 posts

Rent and utilities RM370
Transport RM100
Food and Grocery RM500
Insurance RM200
Misc RM200
Phone + Internet – With umobile and cheap data plan or sharing, one can keep below RM60. Depends on how you do it la. You have an option. You do not have to buy an iphone and subscribe some RM100+ plans from maxis.

Estimated: RM1430. If net salary 2.2k, still have about 30% for savings, OK what. First 2 years working, don’t really need to buy insurance yet. Better to have more money in your bank account. Plus one can go for cheap and basic insurance… when you are young, cost less than 1k per year, and possible keep it below 500 too, depending on what you want. Don’t need fancy investment-linked plan, costing RM200-250 a month.

I do eat out, buffets, etc… but I also cook. And then, there’s groupon. Use it. Everything is possible.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0247sec    1.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:11 PM