Credit Cards Hong Leong Bank Wise Credit Card V4, 10% Cashback , Up to RM100 per month

LostAndFound
post Dec 4 2014, 10:44 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Dec 4 2014, 09:42 PM)
Noted. Guess groceries and petrol will be my choice then.
Take note supersound's comment. Can ignore the start of his sentence, but the rest correct, only spend at the pump is considered petrol. If you go in and swipe at counter its not petrol category, different MCC.

Depending on your usage, utilities is more convenient (with UOB payonline) than petrol. But different people different, salesperson probably petrol better, stay-at-home sure better to use utilities.
LostAndFound
post Dec 4 2014, 10:57 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Dec 4 2014, 10:54 PM)
Bingo. I used around RM500 for petrol itself. Noted the transaction at pump as well. Read the whole thread from page 1 sweat.gif

Don't' have much to pay for utilities.

Groceries will be my next choice, although I don't spend much on groceries. Gotta accumulate to buy everything in a month time sad.gif

By the way, anyone tried Econsave? Is it categorized under Groceries?
If you don't spend much (<RM200) on groceries, consider choosing dining instead (if you spend more on it). It's hit and miss, but you can always 'test' to see what MCC it is. Or if you currently using another CC, just call their CS and ask for MCC after you've spent.

Based on previously in OCBC thread, we figured out that if the restaurant serves alcohol (like a pub or bar) higher chance to not have the correct MCC. And that any place which is connected to another shop (for example coffee places inside a bookshop) sure won't have.
LostAndFound
post Dec 5 2014, 07:05 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Dec 4 2014, 11:19 PM)
Pharmacy less than RM50 / month averagely.

Nothing much to spend except for company expenses. biggrin.gif
Do what I do, find a relative (in my case my parents) and offer to pay their utility bill every month. They pay you back in cash. Most people's bills are about the same amount every month so quite easy to plan.

In my case is I give them the rebate la, but you could also keep the rebate for yourself brows.gif
LostAndFound
post Dec 5 2014, 06:20 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Dec 5 2014, 02:44 PM)
the only cb i can't max out is my ocbc tmc. lol...
Got max meh? hmm.gif
LostAndFound
post Dec 14 2014, 10:53 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Dec 14 2014, 10:48 PM)
I wish to overpay tthrough BT & cash out overpay amount, I.e. 12k
Check the balance transfer thread, multiple people done before. I didn't though.
LostAndFound
post Jan 2 2015, 10:44 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 2 2015, 05:47 PM)
why not?

if you call, at least 50% chance to get it waived. if you dont, 100% wont get any waiver.
How you calculate your 50% oo, based on our LYN sample I would say closer to 5%. But still >> 0%, so yeah just go call, no loss.
LostAndFound
post Jan 11 2015, 09:41 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jan 11 2015, 08:54 AM)
If i just got the card but want to terminate it after 2 month can?

Because just read thru all the term and condition here which the agent dint mention much.

I dont like where you need swipe 10 times x rm50 a month in order to get the 10% rebate.

In this case better use back my citibank cash back 5% without much term condition and waive AF
You can calculate based on your usage. If cannot hit 10 times RM50 then this is not the right card for you (of course, most of us here use some form of tricks like UOB payonline or buy shopping voucher).

If can hit with a bit of effort, then why would you want 5% rather than 10%? For less hassle there's always Maybank2Kard Amex (7% on weekend) or public bank (6%).

If you want to use supersound's calculation method, then -0.5% from each card and compare against 8.25% for this one.
LostAndFound
post Jan 13 2015, 11:22 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 13 2015, 11:16 AM)
but get nothing?? no cash back for TnG reload right? unless you have strategy?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3304889

Plenty of places to get cashback if you're grocery category.
LostAndFound
post Jan 28 2015, 10:00 AM

6,265 posts

Isn't it the case that after April no more GST anyway since GST will be applied on Annual Fee? So for example the GSC card will be free for life since no annual fee, similar to Maybank2Kard.

In that case don't mind keeping it, sure go movie or buy ticket from friends at least 12 times a year.
LostAndFound
post Jan 29 2015, 12:21 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 11:17 AM)
That's why I do not encourage people to spend with this STUPID card towards end of the month.
And their online service's down time is the highest compare to other banks.
He talking about checking when the rebate appear on online statement and you talk about spending towards end of the month, what's the connection leh? rclxub.gif
LostAndFound
post Jan 29 2015, 08:32 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 07:17 PM)
If you are a family man, it will more make sense if you choose petrol and groceries.
Actually TNB bill can be quite high for some, higher than petrol (schooling children and old parents).
LostAndFound
post Jan 30 2015, 01:08 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 30 2015, 10:26 AM)
wait wait wait,

CL wont increase by date. CL will only increase if u MAKE PAYMENT.

doh.gif
He meant 'available credit' I'm sure.
LostAndFound
post Jan 30 2015, 04:48 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 30 2015, 01:22 PM)
same also. your available credit is not reset every month! doh.gif

and even ur CL is rm40k and u fully swipe rm40k in a month, bank still can charge the gst rm50 and the annual fee lah ~ laugh.gif
Your available credit is your credit limit minus your spend.

If his credit limit is 7k and spend is 7k his available credit is RM0.

Then when he gets cashback of RM80, his available credit is RM80.

Of course, this method still cannot prevent GST and annual fee charge.
LostAndFound
post Feb 3 2015, 10:05 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 3 2015, 09:58 PM)
Yup. U r right. But I still don't understand what's the need to have a platinum wise. Myself the first few months, although spend more than 1000 but rebates always less than 100. Took me 3 months to find out pump petrol n pay at counter not counted. Buy items at aeon department store is not counted as groceries.
Really no benefit to having platinum. Don't get it.

And that's the reason for this thread (and previously things like the OCBC Titanium thread). So everyone can know where to spend and how to spend to maximize our returns.

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 3 2015, 10:00 PM)
By reading your reply, you are telling me that your meter you can't read it, only the TNB meter reader can read it with their "special" gadget whistling.gif
Again, if your bill is at rm3200, is better to use other cash back or points card to pay the balance rm2200. But, yup, almost forgot, you can't take the meter reading your self doh.gif
Indeed you are right, as some people prefer to hold platinum card rather than gold card, just to show off. My calculation is based on cheapskate's gold card and being charged rm210 from 2nd year onward.
Actually I think you can take reading yourself. TNB allow to sign up for self-reporting, then they'll just 'spot-check' you once in a while to make sure you're not underreporting like crazy. Can be a good way to 'average out' your power consumption over months so that you don't pay too much for the high usage months. But this is already off-topic for this thread, and you'd need to find out properly also.
LostAndFound
post Feb 9 2015, 05:21 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(wan7075 @ Feb 9 2015, 03:44 PM)
may i know purcahse at lelong consider under grocerry?
Under what situation will you expect purchase at lelong to be grocery? Not reasonable question even.
LostAndFound
post Feb 18 2015, 03:06 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Feb 17 2015, 03:09 PM)
call the customer service she confirmed all the payment confirmed done

but why I can't view the online detail & online statement for my wise card......

ady report this to them

anyone have this issue before? rclxub.gif
Suspicious, never seen before that doesn't show on online statement. Sure you're not just missing it (click 'next' or something)?

If really cannot find, keep harassing the CS for reason.
LostAndFound
post Mar 1 2015, 07:08 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Feb 28 2015, 08:12 AM)
that is tactic to apply credit card with other people name. But, pls ensure u no use your wife credit card. It is illegal to use other people credit card.
Illegal? Polis will tangkap you izzit?

Cashier at counter will never check the signature, and even if they check, you can give excuse carrying things in one hand la, whatever. As long as the card holder doesn't complain, no1 cares who uses it. For the bank, you pay your bills (preferably a bit late so they can earn money) then no problem di.

Lagi best if using online payment, really zero way to check who using whose CC.
LostAndFound
post Mar 2 2015, 09:37 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 1 2015, 09:25 AM)
I know you are trying to troll here, why not share out your credit number and CVV over here?
Well done, biggest troll call me a troll rclxms.gif fortunately I'm not married to you.

To quote your previous claims:- do you purposely track my post to reply to? laugh.gif

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 1 2015, 05:55 PM)
Please take note that none of any credit card holder can authorize any other people to use his/her card.

There is no way for the wife to allow husband to use her card even she is there except apply a supplementary card to her husbad.

Wife have to use the card herself and provide the signature if any.

I have no intension to take care other people family business.

What I want is provide the correct info and responsible on what is convey to other.

It is totally wrong for THOSE people that just provide incomplete info and wrong info.
Wrong or not, we can discuss. Illegal, it is NOT the case. Please quote what law will be broken? Breaking terms of contract with bank is different than breaking law, so don't simply throw out 'illegal' word here.

Like I said, banks don't care as long as bill paid. The T&C you quote is to protect the bank so the card owner cannot claim his wife go simply spend and he don't want to pay. Making YOU responsible for your own card.

If I let my wife use my card and I pay the bill, no bank will care, they will earn from it anyway.

Finally just an example - if I borrow RM100 from you and say I will use it to buy rice and return in one month, but then I go drinking. As long as I return you your money, police won't come after me. Of course you can be pissed off with me misusing the money, and perhaps can charge me in civil courts. But not illegal. Actually, since the beer company has paid you commission (just the same as the rice company) you won't even be pissed off I think.
LostAndFound
post Mar 2 2015, 12:24 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 2 2015, 12:00 PM)
I think we can stop the discussion on letting other people using your card. When we applied and subsequently signed at the back of the card, we have actually agreed to the bank's terms and conditions so it is binding. The terms may be worded differently but they will all point that the cardholder must not allow anyone else to use the card.

Whether we want to allow others to use the card or not, it is up to everyone's own discretion (including whatever consequence that may occur) but since we are at a public forum, it is best to just point out to the terms.
I agree violates T&C, but simply claiming it is illegal (meaning against the law) is scare-mongering and not helpful. It seems quite a few people don't understand the difference between law and contract (and ethics, too).

Same case as when in the smartphone forums people claim rooting is illegal. No it's not, it voids the terms of your purchase and hence your warranty.

The similarity between that and the use of card by non-card-holder is that, in practice, both have minimal negative impact, for various reasons. Unless someone can point out an example of a situation where bank take action when someone else use your card, in which case can be used as a warning. Just using the word 'illegal' is lazy and not productive for helping everyone properly use their CC.
LostAndFound
post Mar 2 2015, 04:09 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 2 2015, 03:52 PM)
Actually, no need to argue as I know there is a case happen which there is a person which use othe people card and the bank detect it.
Bank had taken action to terminate credit card.
That's interesting, my experience is opposite. In fact I haven't even had any cashier verify the signature before. Please share more details. For example, whether the name on the CC is obviously male/female name (Chinese names obviously hard to tell) or person was a different race from card holder.

Also, what sort of purchase, was it very large amount, simple grocery shopping, etc. Online/petrol transaction surely cannot be 'caught'.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0578sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:46 AM