Microsoft Windows 10

delsoo
post Aug 2 2015, 12:26 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Aug 2 2015, 12:06 PM)
i got the same error too, i think windows is trying to automatically update to windows 10 and thus it failed because no response. I just updated my windows 8.1 to windows 10 few minutes ago. Fukken smooth and fast!  thumbup.gif
how fast is it ? haha. I'm still using win8.1 and win 7 so far no major issue ....still thinking of update to win 10
delsoo
post Aug 2 2015, 07:08 PM

3,187 posts

I'll be going to study next month. Should I upgrade to Win 10 on my win8.1 laptop ? I'm afraid of i have no time to fix the issue one by one later .... The win 10 is kinda problematic and buggy at the teething stage...
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 10:41 AM

3,187 posts

updated to win 10 sucessfully...I found that the windows START button isn't working..When I clivk on it , nothing come out . I cant even turn off the pc ....I had to press the power button to force it to off. How to solve this issue ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 10:49 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Aug 3 2015, 10:45 AM)
hmm, you got install start 8 previously?  hmm.gif
in my case, the start button is working, but no logo, juz blank at that corner. after uninstall start8, it all good.

since you have upgraded, if all fail, you can do a clean install now.
if do clean install , all the files will be gone ? I installed StartisBack for my win8.1 last time ...How do you solve the issue? all the driver will be gone oso if do clean install ? how about reset pc ?

This post has been edited by delsoo: Aug 3 2015, 10:52 AM
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 10:53 AM

3,187 posts

how to adjust the brightness on the screen ? I adjusted it on the battery status there last time on win8.1 ...in win 10 , the setting is gone ...
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 11:00 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(ahmaronline @ Aug 3 2015, 10:57 AM)
on notification center, have setting like tablet mode, vpn, brightness and etc
whats the difference between clean install and reset pc ? I uninstalled StartIsBack+ , but the windows start logo still not working...
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 11:01 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(ahmaronline @ Aug 3 2015, 10:57 AM)
on notification center, have setting like tablet mode, vpn, brightness and etc
where's the notification center ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 11:16 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Aug 3 2015, 11:05 AM)
yea. C drive will be gone.
Try uninstall that StartisBack 1st. as upgrade method, all software/files will carry over to win10.

for reset PC i'm not sure as well, coz if factory reset i understood its for manf. laptop, but mine rojak desktop, so i got no idea at all.
any1 care to enlighten me on factory reset? blush.gif
I uninstalled it , but to no avail .. The start button still isn't working .... doh.gif doh.gif How to refresh pc without removing all the driver and programmes installed ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 11:46 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(ahmaronline @ Aug 3 2015, 11:18 AM)
next to clock
Lol... The start button is finally working now..... So weird....
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 12:42 PM

3,187 posts

anyone know to select which update to be installed ? I dun wanna receive update for my Micorsoft Office , coz i m using non-genuine copy... How to select install updates for windows only ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 12:44 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 3 2015, 11:46 AM)
Lol... The start button is  not working sometimes..... So weird...
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 06:22 PM

3,187 posts

i am unable to adjust the brightness of the screen after updating to win 10 .... I tried to adjust at SETTING there , but it's not working ..... Is it due to graphics card driver problem ?

Anyone know can we view the update file size on win 10 ? I left my pc on for 2 hours to download the updates . After 2 hours passed , the download progress only showed 1 % When I momitored the network in RESOURCE MONITOR , the speed is normal as usual , showing netsvcs running at 45kbps . Btw , my internet speed is quie slow 1 , Streamyx 384kbps doh.gif

This post has been edited by delsoo: Aug 3 2015, 06:26 PM
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 08:36 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ Aug 3 2015, 07:02 PM)
Yes clean uninstall your graphic driver and install latest driver for your gpu
Need to uninstall first??
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 08:57 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ Aug 3 2015, 08:53 PM)
Yes. Preferable using driver sweeper or DDU to clean up leftovers.
what is ddu ? Btw , I have updated t latest Nvidia driver , but i still cant adjust the brightness....

delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 09:11 PM

3,187 posts

if i choose to rest my pc , will it remove the Micorsoft Office ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 09:49 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ Aug 3 2015, 09:39 PM)
It wont work by just installing driver without proper clean up

This is DDU. Display Driver Uninstaller.

http://www.wagnardmobile.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=30

good luck
Which one should I choose? Clean and restart ? Or Clean and DO Not Restart ...Btw , I have installed the latest GC driver without uninstalling the previous version of GC driver....
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 10:05 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ Aug 3 2015, 09:58 PM)
Clean and restart.

Yes doing that wont fix your brightness disabled issue
I hv done clean and restart and installed back GC driver ... Now , i still cant adjust the brightnesss.... Need to update Intel Graphics 5500 display deriver also ? Can I download the latest Intel Graphics driver manually ?
delsoo
post Aug 3 2015, 11:21 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(Vail @ Aug 3 2015, 10:53 PM)
All the graphic drivers.

one question back at you. If your asking to download the intel manually, where you installing your nvidia through windows update?
I download it manually at nvidia website.. There re so much updates at windows update , I can't wait becoz my Internet connection is slow.....
delsoo
post Aug 4 2015, 07:22 AM

3,187 posts

Can I manually download the windows 10 updates from another pc and save it in a pendrive , Then I transfer the updates files to my pc running win 10 ?
delsoo
post Aug 4 2015, 09:35 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Aug 4 2015, 08:42 AM)
After I upgraded to win10 from win8.1, I downloaded the update for Intel using ASUS software, and the brightness control came back.
After that, I downloaded another update I think is something called NVIDIA VGA if I'm not mistaken, windows stucked at loading screen ever since, my guess is the new driver is not compatible with win10, or because I did not do a clean up before updating the drivers.

Now trying to fresh install win10, may I ask if I do fresh installation after cleaning up the OS partition, do I still need to do this driver clean up before I update my drivers?
Which ASUS software do you mean ? I downloaded Intel Graphics drier for my asus laptop , finally the brightness control update...I tried to update the Nvidia driver to the latest version , but it didn't work...
I also noticed that Asus Splendid Utility doesn't wrk well in win 10 ...The Vivid mode didn't work.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:42 AM