10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Theory/Lessons Learning how to solo

TSihatework
post Sep 3 2006, 11:01 AM, updated 20y ago

55 posts

Does anyone have any advice for a person who is learning how to solo on an electric guitar?
I find it really difficult because I don't know where to start and I don't know many licks.

This post has been edited by TheWhacker: Sep 21 2006, 02:21 PM
blacktrix
post Sep 3 2006, 11:10 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Start learning your scales......
Major, Minor, Pentatonic, Arpeggio and the various variations like the Minor Harmonic and stuff like that.
Buy a scale book and start practising first.
+3kk!
post Sep 3 2006, 11:21 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(ihatework @ Sep 3 2006, 11:01 AM)
Does anyone have any advice for a person who is learning how to solo on an electric guitar?
I find it really difficult because I don't know where to start and I don't know many licks.
learn scales, then use licks as ideas.

IMO, just wank the scale and get the feel........with some backing track.
dilin
post Sep 3 2006, 11:56 AM

348 posts

learn SLOWLY smile.gif
TSihatework
post Sep 3 2006, 02:59 PM

55 posts

yeah i think i could use a backing track
where can i get them?
winkybear
post Sep 3 2006, 04:08 PM

489 posts

google them. But most of them are of crap quality (the free ones:p). Check out wholenote.com for all the scales and arpeggios.
davidlow7
post Sep 3 2006, 05:28 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(ihatework @ Sep 3 2006, 11:01 AM)
Yeah.. like what they said above
oso do more finger exercises. like the chromatic...

from the low E to high E... 1 2 3 4
then followed by the other strings oso..

if u r just new.. dun go fast.. go slowly at first is okay.. most important is ur timing.. tempo must be balance...

yeah.. Pak Cik Salleh(Sham Kamikaze's dad) always tell me to do alot of chromatics when I went to c him last time when i was quite new to guitar that time... emm

Anyway, good luck. Correct Practise makes Perfect smile.gif

Do you have Guitar Pro? i can send some finger exercising tabs for u. hope it helps u smile.gif

This post has been edited by davidlow7: Sep 3 2006, 05:33 PM
shiinkuro31
post Sep 3 2006, 06:40 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Sep 3 2006, 05:28 PM)
Yeah.. like what they said above
oso do more finger exercises. like the chromatic...

from the low E to high E... 1 2 3 4
then followed by the other strings oso..

if u r just new.. dun go fast.. go slowly at first is okay.. most important is ur timing.. tempo must be balance...
yeah.. Pak Cik Salleh(Sham Kamikaze's dad) always tell me to do alot of chromatics when I went to c him last time when i was quite new to guitar that time... emm

Anyway, good luck. Correct Practise makes Perfect smile.gif

Do you have Guitar Pro? i can send some finger exercising tabs for u. hope it helps u smile.gif
plss send to me, i wanna learn too...
blacktrix
post Sep 3 2006, 06:45 PM

13,063 posts

Also, get a Metronome. Playing fast isn't everything you know..... playing fast IN TIME is everything.....

Yes. It sounds scary....what with scales, timing, backing tracks.... but hey..... Being a guitar god isn't easy you know.....
echobrainproject
post Sep 3 2006, 10:11 PM

4,765 posts

those tips are useful but u all miss out on something

1. learn other peoples solo
unless u're a genius that can just magically come up with brilliant solos, theres nothing wrong copying from those u like

2. make ur own solo
using what u've learnt try playing a solo of ur own replacing the one u've known

3. solo over a backing track

i believe having more theory knowledge will give u a clearer idea where to go in ur solos.
led_zep_freak
post Sep 3 2006, 10:46 PM

5,231 posts

If you have a recorder, record your improvisation. A cheap mp3 recorder will do, play back your solo and be extremely critical to yourself. Check if your bends are in tune, or if your vibrato sounds pleasant to the ears etc... Make sure you nail these basics before moving forward to more complicated stuff, otherwise you'ill have to take a step backwards later. smile.gif

Most of all, enjoy yourself. That's what guitar playing should be, if you feel really down unable to near that Paul Gilbert lick, take out a Top 40 Green Day hit and play. If radio music isn't your thing, try learning the Beatles' songs. Lots of chord progressions and ideas you could get from their songs. smile.gif
echobrainproject
post Sep 3 2006, 11:45 PM

4,765 posts

yeah, HAVE FUN!!!!

just look at our faces when we solo... orgasm expressions. lol.

no one could explain this better than the great led zep
tongue.gif

a pic speaks a thousand words

led_zep_freak
post Sep 3 2006, 11:49 PM

5,231 posts

Damn you... vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif

laugh.gif Btw Fauzi was the one having orgasm. I was just plain high. laugh.gif
blacktrix
post Sep 4 2006, 12:07 AM

13,063 posts

Oh man....... that's some funny s**t right there.......
I hope I won't look stupid when I ever get on stage and perform......
led_zep_freak
post Sep 4 2006, 12:33 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 4 2006, 12:07 AM)
Oh man....... that's some funny s**t right there.......
I hope I won't look stupid when I ever get on stage and perform......
It looks stupid on photo only lar lol.... laugh.gif
echobrainproject
post Sep 4 2006, 01:02 AM

4,765 posts

blacktrix, u seriously need to get on stage and perform. its the fastest way to learn and improve ur playing. not to mention the amount of fun we get.

led zep, no need to thank me. tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Sep 4 2006, 08:17 AM

13,063 posts

Hook me up with a decent band, and then we'll talk.......
TSihatework
post Sep 4 2006, 08:37 AM

55 posts

how to learn other ppl's solo?
get the tabs from the net?
most of them seem wrong and incomplete

blacktrix
post Sep 4 2006, 08:58 AM

13,063 posts

Then fill in the blanks yourself. Like we said before, don't just COMPLETELY rely on tabs.
TSihatework
post Sep 4 2006, 09:27 AM

55 posts

hmm but some of them are too fast to catch
i know the scale formations but lack ideas cry.gif
and i'm also not familiar with the fretboard after the 5th fret for each string
does anyone know any method that can help me with this?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0949sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:48 PM