AMD (Malaysia) Official Thread

seichirosano
post Feb 24 2017, 06:04 PM

293 posts

still thinking should i wait for their ryzen 5 1500 priced at rm1017 (usd229), or just get kaby lake i5 7500 priced at rm920. kaby lake 7500 has higher base clock but lower core / threads compared to ryzen 5 1500. just purely for gaming.
seichirosano
post Feb 24 2017, 06:50 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Feb 24 2017, 06:44 PM)
At least wait untill official review of Ryzen 7 then decide.
If purely for gaming maybe then kaby lake is enough for you. But it seems that upcoming games might utilise more cores.
thanks for the input but ryzen 7 is way out of my budget, even their lowest 1700.
seichirosano
post Feb 24 2017, 10:36 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Feb 24 2017, 07:17 PM)
Ya I know. Me too tongue.gif. But at least from Ryzen 7 official benchmark, we can see how it perform in games compared to skylake. If the R7 performance difference compared to skylake, then you can decide since R5 is just the lower part of the SKUs.
eh, after searching around. Ryzen 3 1200x is rm779 ( usd 149) and its actually the same spec as i5 7500 rm900. Amd is actually cheaper and extra 2mb L3 cache. drool.gif
seichirosano
post Feb 25 2017, 03:04 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 25 2017, 12:09 AM)
If your machine is for both work and play, Ryzen helps heaps.

For gaming - both will run quite similarly.
if for gaming both run similarly, i think i will just get the i5 7500.
seichirosano
post Mar 3 2017, 02:48 PM

293 posts

I've been following Ryzen for a month now. Since Ryzen r7 benchmark is out, am i safe to assume that even if i continue to wait for their Ryzen r5 1400x the performance is same as Kabylake i5 7500? Purely just for gaming. rclxub.gif
seichirosano
post Mar 3 2017, 05:55 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Mar 3 2017, 05:06 PM)
unfortunately, no more r5 1400x, but r5 1600x and r5 1500x XD with higher clock.

R5 1600x (6C/12T) BC 3.6/TC 4.0
R5 1600x (6C/12T) BC 3.5/TC 3.7

amd believe will outperform i5 7600k by 64%
Good brief about Ryzen:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/3173372/com...en-7-chips.html
if their r5 1500x is about the same price as i5 7500, it will be worth the wait. too bad they didn't disclose the pricing.
seichirosano
post Mar 8 2017, 11:28 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Mar 8 2017, 11:20 AM)
ASUS ROG MY said Crosshair VI Hero ETA around early Q2
but still don't know SRP. sleep.gif" so long....
nice timing, as ryzen r5 also launching on Q2.
seichirosano
post Mar 18 2017, 10:18 AM

293 posts

Guys, is it better to pair ryzen 5 with gtx 1060 or rx 480? long ago heard amd cpu and gpu can combo, still the same or doesn't matter anymore?
seichirosano
post Mar 22 2017, 07:47 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 22 2017, 07:11 PM)
haha
ryzen 5 XD
all the way but problem is graphic card
i does not have gc yet
well im letting go my 3 month old gtx 1060, pm me if ure interested. haha
seichirosano
post Mar 23 2017, 10:59 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 23 2017, 08:02 AM)
because you buying vega is it? laugh.gif  brows.gif
truth is, im just going to buy rx 480 nitro from sapphire. fell in love with the design wub.gif squarish. i bought the gtx 1060 on a wimp because my previous gpu broke and they got no parts, so gave me credit to exchange newer. So that time just top up for gtx 1060.
seichirosano
post Mar 23 2017, 11:21 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 23 2017, 09:35 PM)
haha i am waiting vega o
cause i think ur gtx 1060 wont cheap also XD
haha i also thinking the same thing
i though they say 500 series is vega?
haha ya
thinking wait that time combo with ryzen 1600
Vega is not rx 500+ series. 500+ series is just re-branded from rx 460/470/480 still polaris.
Vega is the successor to r9 fury x iinm. hmm.gif hmm.gif
seichirosano
post Apr 12 2017, 10:44 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Apr 12 2017, 10:41 AM)
Local pricing out yet? 1600x. Thanks
ryzen 5 1600x at rm1,199
seichirosano
post Apr 12 2017, 01:03 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 12 2017, 12:03 PM)
Ryzen R5 1500x around rm 900. 7700k around rm 1.6k.
Roughly 30-40% of the price..
the ryzen 1500x should be perfect for me, now im just waiting for rx 580 on 18th April, if the price is not right. i'll just get rx 480. hmm.gif
seichirosano
post Apr 23 2017, 11:40 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 23 2017, 09:12 AM)
You tried before with stock cooler? I wonder if it can withstand 1.45vcore? Plus what air cooler now available with am4 socket? I'm interested with noctua NH-D15 but most of it don't have am4 bracket..
get be quiet! dark rock 3 / dark rock pro 3 from dotatech, he said he has am4 bracket.
seichirosano
post Apr 27 2017, 12:40 PM

293 posts

guys, i bought one stick corsair vengeance lpx 2666mhz, in the near future if i were to buy another stick of the same ram. will it run as dual channel?
seichirosano
post Apr 27 2017, 03:32 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 27 2017, 01:17 PM)
U might have compatibility issue as usually manufacturer will test the ram in pair (for dual channel) & 4pcs kit (for quad channel) ensure it can run in XMP setting.
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Apr 27 2017, 02:37 PM)
Should be 99% no issue as long same spec  biggrin.gif
thanks guys!! rclxms.gif
seichirosano
post Jun 10 2017, 10:17 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(shanetsh @ Jun 9 2017, 12:36 PM)
can't wait for threadripper! It's gonna be a beast!!!!
ops, after i restart computer twice. not that stable already, sometime can pass windows sometimes can't. i haven't manually try to set the timings yet, will try when i reach home see whether it's still the same rclxub.gif .
seichirosano
post Jun 10 2017, 11:09 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(keledek @ Jun 10 2017, 10:46 AM)
I noticed earlier that if just loading XMP profile, the DRAM setting picked to use by my mobo is for CL15 and not the JEDEC programmed 16 18 18 18 36 one.
IINM read somewhere non Samsung B die odd DRAM setting numbers doesnt agree with Ryzen IMC for some reason. (Although my RAMs ran at CL 14 on Bios 2.0 (@2400MHz - max able to boot ..sigh)  and then  ran at CL15 on Bios 2.3 (also @2400 Mhz max).
I just did a "might as well lah..." thing and re type all the DRAM setting manually again (thinking how stupid it is just retyping same numbers) and was surprised it booted and used the CL16 setting now.
wow, i really cant wait to try manually set it now. was using xmp 2.0 16-18-18-18-35 1.2v
seichirosano
post Jun 10 2017, 12:13 PM

293 posts

[quote=keledek,Jun 10 2017, 11:17 AM]
wow, i really cant wait to try manually set it now. was using xmp 2.0 16-18-18-18-35 1.2v

[/quote]

i would believe XMP would use overclocked voltage of 1.35v if not mistaken

i feel lucky since everything else was default. Didnt need to play with all those SOC or proc odt voltages

[/quote]
i think i have to manually set to 1.35v, i'll try set around the timing icon_rolleyes.gif
seichirosano
post Jun 11 2017, 09:09 AM

293 posts

i find it weird, there';s only two option for me to choose either load xmp profile or [auto] .if i choose [auto], i can't set the ram frequency ( that option disappear) but i can set the dram timing. and i cant any option to disable xmp on asrock gaming k4 x370
even if i load xmp profile, my ram still runs at 2133mhz.

0.0662sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:44 AM