QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 24 2014, 12:14 AM)
You can also go to look through Facebook. I just bought a 2.5gm Pamp bar through facebook.Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold
Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold
Dec 24 2014, 07:18 AM
3,735 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Dec 24 2014, 07:18 AM
Dec 24 2014, 10:51 AM
505 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: https://goo.gl/96W8ru |
QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 23 2014, 08:58 PM) 1gm are expensive on the physical side and hard to sell (unless they want to collect them, anything below 100g and "minted" are just for collection and rare ones with nice serial number and cert are a real collectables, "cast" usually bought for real gold value and are melted for jewellery).. you want to buy cast 100gm to get at market price would u give examples of how difficult to sell of physical gold .vs. paper gold(from bank) ? |
Dec 24 2014, 09:51 PM
Dec 25 2014, 12:20 AM
491 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: KL - KK |
QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 24 2014, 10:51 AM) just try post wts here in lyn, or you can try facebook too.. beware you may attract "low ballers", crooks posing as buyers, time wasters etc. you can even offer post, but at buyer expense and risk. where to buy? fb, forums, http://www.pampmalaysia.com.my/, etc.. This post has been edited by Sham903n: Dec 25 2014, 12:31 AM |
Dec 25 2014, 03:02 AM
123 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 24 2014, 10:51 AM) buy gold from poh kong (they say follow market price) Process; go poh kong buy gold (RM150) Price increase to RM200 go back poh kong with physical gold sell to them at RM200 but there is transaction cost(can't remember what they call it) so actually profit only RM 30 or RM 40 only buy gold from maybank Process: go online click buy but because the spread is so freakin high even when the price appreciate 10USD u can't sell, u will only be making few ringgit my strategy trade gold in spot market & buy to wear |
Dec 25 2014, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(silent_killer @ Dec 25 2014, 03:02 AM) buy gold from poh kong (they say follow market price) some poh kong treat your gold as second hand gold and want to pay you lower price... which is ridiculousProcess; go poh kong buy gold (RM150) Price increase to RM200 go back poh kong with physical gold sell to them at RM200 but there is transaction cost(can't remember what they call it) so actually profit only RM 30 or RM 40 only buy gold from maybank Process: go online click buy but because the spread is so freakin high even when the price appreciate 10USD u can't sell, u will only be making few ringgit my strategy trade gold in spot market & buy to wear theres is a few place you can get cheaper than market.. but you run the risk of getting "AIR".. aka "sontot" This post has been edited by Sham903n: Dec 25 2014, 03:19 PM |
Dec 25 2014, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 25 2014, 03:17 PM) some poh kong treat your gold as second hand gold and want to pay you lower price... which is ridiculous Yup. Gold is Gold. They are trying to scam you. Go to Bank Rakyat and pawn it better.theres is a few place you can get cheaper than market.. but you run the risk of getting "AIR".. aka "sontot" |
Dec 25 2014, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 24 2014, 10:51 AM) QUOTE(silent_killer @ Dec 25 2014, 03:02 AM) buy gold from poh kong (they say follow market price) Thx for enlightening. But based on ur expertise, which one sell *relatively* easier, physical gold or paper gold ?Process; go poh kong buy gold (RM150) Price increase to RM200 go back poh kong with physical gold sell to them at RM200 but there is transaction cost(can't remember what they call it) so actually profit only RM 30 or RM 40 only buy gold from maybank Process: go online click buy but because the spread is so freakin high even when the price appreciate 10USD u can't sell, u will only be making few ringgit my strategy trade gold in spot market & buy to wear What about physical gold from bank ? Is it about the same or more difficult to sell? And what other factors to take in ? |
Dec 25 2014, 10:32 PM
paper gold easy.. but bank makes lot of profit.. not you.
Dec 26 2014, 09:51 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 25 2014, 10:32 PM) Physical gold seller make even more profit... Paper gold Buy 130, sell 133 Physical may be Buy 120, sell 150. Both physical gold and paper goes up and down at the same pace one, in fact paper gold movement is following more closely to the gold market instead of physical. |
Dec 26 2014, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 26 2014, 09:51 AM) Physical gold seller make even more profit... i read before to sell physical gold only certain branches of banks ... are the online selling for physical gold available from banks ?Paper gold Buy 130, sell 133 Physical may be Buy 120, sell 150. Both physical gold and paper goes up and down at the same pace one, in fact paper gold movement is following more closely to the gold market instead of physical. |
Dec 26 2014, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 26 2014, 09:51 AM) Physical gold seller make even more profit... right! price ranging from 102-130 (depends or market price). but if you wanna sell usually at market or -.5, maybe more if buyer offer higher...Paper gold Buy 130, sell 133 Physical may be Buy 120, sell 150. Both physical gold and paper goes up and down at the same pace one, in fact paper gold movement is following more closely to the gold market instead of physical. This post has been edited by Sham903n: Dec 26 2014, 05:30 PM |
Dec 26 2014, 07:26 PM
248 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
well, when i buy, i already told myself that it will be for long term, 20 years or even more. But after i buy, the price drop...
if the price did not drop or stay flat after 20 years...i be at a loss also... let me test out and find it out for real after 20-30 years, if i really earn money or lose money by buying gold... btw, i choose option 1...gold coins... QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Dec 23 2014, 07:10 PM) If you're looking for short term profit, you shouldn't be investing in gold. Physical gold more expensive by 20%?? Could you give an example? If you're referring to physical gold that can be withdraw from bank in paper gold accounts (e.g. CIMB), it's around that figure. Doesn't worth it and it's a blatant ripoff. Local goldsmiths shops are ripoffs too. Physical gold is definitely more expensive that paper gold because of the costs of making it + some profit and usually not that ridiculously more expensive that paper gold (depending on the type of physical gold and from where you buy it). If you're into physical gold, you should buy : 1)Gold coins - Coins minted by Government mints with face value and is legal tender (e.g. Malaysia's Kijang Emas, Canadian Gold Maple Leaf, American Gold/Buffalo Coin, Australian Gold Kangaroo, Chinese Gold Panda, Austrian Philaharmonic,etc. 2)Gold rounds - Same shape as coins but they can't be called coins because they're not Government minted and does not have face value and is not legal tender. They're minted by private mints. Each private mints have their unique designs and serial number. If you prefer this, make sure to buy rounds minted by internationally recognised mints. e.g. PAMP Suisse, Johnson Matthey, Sunshine Mint, Royal Canadian Mint, Perth Mint, etc.. 3)Gold bars - Same as gold rounds except that they come in bar shape. |
Dec 27 2014, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 25 2014, 08:19 PM) Thx for enlightening. But based on ur expertise, which one sell *relatively* easier, physical gold or paper gold ? Hi I have been doing a lot of research into this. And I have gone to the extent of "paying" for lessons by sourcing and buying physical gold..What about physical gold from bank ? Is it about the same or more difficult to sell? And what other factors to take in ? Let us talk about that. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 28 2014, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(ay@m @ Dec 26 2014, 07:26 PM) well, when i buy, i already told myself that it will be for long term, 20 years or even more. But after i buy, the price drop... Dont worry, Gold prices do not stay flat... especially over 20 years.if the price did not drop or stay flat after 20 years...i be at a loss also... let me test out and find it out for real after 20-30 years, if i really earn money or lose money by buying gold... btw, i choose option 1...gold coins... Anyway even if it goes up and down. Just buy. Let the power of averaging take effect. Over time, you would still have collected more gold and it would still earn you money. Want to know more? |
Dec 28 2014, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 26 2014, 09:51 AM) Physical gold seller make even more profit... But the risk of PAPER gold is, you hold nothing but paper. Better to hold physical gold.Paper gold Buy 130, sell 133 Physical may be Buy 120, sell 150. Both physical gold and paper goes up and down at the same pace one, in fact paper gold movement is following more closely to the gold market instead of physical. Because when you open a Gold Investment account as they call it, the bank states, that, it is not guaranteed. Even to convert back to physical gold is a problem. On top of that. The prices are determined by the bank and by the bank themselves. If they suka suka say... when you want to sell, the price drop, you cannot say anything, just suck thumb. or worst case scenario, the bank tutup kedai, you still just holding a piece of paper. Thats why physical Gold is best. Want to know more? better to buy your own Physical Gold. This post has been edited by drfeelgood: Dec 28 2014, 07:48 PM |
Dec 28 2014, 06:34 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Dec 28 2014, 06:23 PM) But the risk of [/B] PAPER [ There is no best in term of risk,Because when you open a Gold Investment account as they call it, the bank states, that, it is not guaranteed. Even to convert back to physical gold is a problem. On top of that. The prices are determined by the bank and by the bank themselves. If they suka suka say... when you want to sell, the price drop, you cannot say anything, just suck thumb. or worst case scenario, the bank tutup kedai, you still just holding a piece of paper. Thats why physical Gold is best. Paper gold - bank close shop Physical - stolen, robbery, fake gold The risk of bank close shop that resulted in customer deposit/account gone, as shown in the past, none. Stolen, robbery, fake gold, plenty out there, even safe deposit box also got stolen cases. So, I don't think need to give quantitative assessment of risk involved, everyone has own preference. PS: Please do not post any Pm me in the post, normally it will be deleted as this is not a place for soliciting. Ty. |
Dec 28 2014, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 28 2014, 06:34 PM) There is no best in term of risk, Ok modified.Paper gold - bank close shop Physical - stolen, robbery, fake gold The risk of bank close shop that resulted in customer deposit/account gone, as shown in the past, none. Stolen, robbery, fake gold, plenty out there, even safe deposit box also got stolen cases. So, I don't think need to give quantitative assessment of risk involved, everyone has own preference. PS: Please do not post any Pm me in the post, normally it will be deleted as this is not a place for soliciting. Ty. |
Dec 29 2014, 02:17 AM
36 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Guys, any suggestion which shop to look for, a pair of ring with a very small diamond to sell off and buy a new pair? My friend said it's better to go to the old shops, they offer higher buyback price and got discount too when we buy. Famous shop like poh kong, habib, etc have lower buyback price and no discount when we buy, is it true?
Should I wait for gold price to rise and sell? |
| Change to: | 0.0509sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:16 AM |