Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

drfeelgood
post Dec 22 2014, 08:52 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 12 2014, 08:49 PM)
if you ask me, its about to make a big move. Which way? God knows, but I have an idea..
Seems to be shaky now. Black gold plummeting. What would you do?
drfeelgood
post Dec 22 2014, 08:54 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(carbon junkie @ Dec 22 2014, 05:39 PM)
Good time to buy into Gold?

I am thinking of opening a Maybank Gold account.

Or should I buy physical gold? Please advise. Tks
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 10:19 AM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Dec 23 2014, 09:27 AM)
I got same idea as you do, i wanna buy physical gold as a saving(not investment)

Due to my lack of discipline i cant save money, will keep using it when my cash start to run low  blush.gif

So, i wanna buy gold, and keep it, every 2 3 months buy 10g, or enough money buy every month, is it recommended?

Just buy from gold shop? And what is maybank gold? May share some knowledge?
I am a newbie too. But i guess by sharing and discussing we can learn more also.

Maybank account is a passbook account. You can go and buy gold into your Gold Savings account. Withdrawals in cash or physical gold at selected Maybanks.

To buy physical gold... there are those in facebook selling physical gold from mints like public gold, bahrain gold etc..
i am sure you can also buy from gold shops or kedai pajak... i wonder which is the best options?

Anyone care to share more info? Tkz

drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 04:37 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 23 2014, 11:00 AM)
If for investment, say every time there're good profit then sell, then in next session i buy again, should i get paper gold, or physical gold ?
If i see the prices. Paper gold cheaper. Physical gold more expensive. I would be opting for paper gold
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 05:07 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 23 2014, 05:00 PM)
buy=sell=buy=sell=buy=sell=buy=sell=buy=...... so on. dont stop.
no matter which way the market is going..
just make sure, youre getting the market price.. not the bloated(over priced) bank price
Please advise.. how to get the market price...

How we know if it is the bloated bank price?
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 05:18 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 23 2014, 05:10 PM)
heres one way to know..
http://www.mks.ch/mobile/myr/v1/
Yup. Much cheaper. Have to call them to buy physical gold as I see no option to purchase online.
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 05:22 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Dec 23 2014, 05:19 PM)
i'd advise to avoid gold savings account by banks. most (if not all) is not guaranteed by PIDM. in case of anything happen, you just lose it all.
since the gold price is plummeting, it's not like you gain anything. with the spread, fees and others you are indeed losing instead of gaining.

it is better to keep physical gold. have safe box in your house or keep somewhere safe. to gain money, plan for reaaaally long term investment plan (wait for the gold price to increase) or actively trading your gold. buy at bottom, sell at peak. refer to gold price chart you can find in internet or follow experts analysis to determine good time to buy or sell.
Hmmm... just for discussion, physical gold more expensive by around 20%....

Hard to recoup initial capital. Unless the price suddenly sky rockets.

But certain bank giving good rates, and if need to withdraw can request for physical gold. Some with charges, some without charges...
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 05:57 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Dec 23 2014, 05:36 PM)
oic. me myself didn't look into detail on the banks.
Ok for example. (Approximate prices)

Now buy 1 gm outside Rm167
now buy 1 gm @ say, bank A... Rm 138. Difference?

After price increase, if bank A can request for physical gold (some bank can, some bank can but with charges, some bank cannot)

You get physical gold. Then you take outside to sell... make some money lor...
drfeelgood
post Dec 23 2014, 09:00 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 23 2014, 08:58 PM)
1gm are expensive on the physical side and hard to sell.. you want to buy cast 100gm to get at market price
Agreed. I get some offer of around Rm165 per gram physical gold
drfeelgood
post Dec 24 2014, 07:16 AM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 24 2014, 12:14 AM)
Mind sharing from where you normally buy & sell physical gold?
Google how to buy physical gold. You will find many sauces.
drfeelgood
post Dec 24 2014, 07:18 AM

3,735 posts

You can also go to look through Facebook. I just bought a 2.5gm Pamp bar through facebook.
drfeelgood
post Dec 24 2014, 07:18 AM

3,735 posts

You can also go to look through Facebook. I just bought a 2.5gm Pamp bar through facebook.
drfeelgood
post Dec 24 2014, 09:51 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 24 2014, 10:51 AM)
would u give examples of how difficult to sell of physical gold  .vs.  paper gold(from bank)  ?
Not difficult. Just whether you can make money or not. For physical gold.

As for paper gold, easier, just direct with the bank.
drfeelgood
post Dec 25 2014, 04:35 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 25 2014, 03:17 PM)
some poh kong treat your gold as second hand gold and want to pay you lower price... which is ridiculous

theres is a few place you can get cheaper than market.. but you run the risk of getting "AIR".. aka "sontot"
Yup. Gold is Gold. They are trying to scam you. Go to Bank Rakyat and pawn it better.
drfeelgood
post Dec 27 2014, 11:55 AM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Dec 25 2014, 08:19 PM)
Thx for enlightening.    But based on ur expertise, which one sell *relatively* easier, physical gold or paper gold ?

What about physical gold from bank ?  Is it about the same or more difficult to sell?  And what other factors to take in ?
Hi I have been doing a lot of research into this. And I have gone to the extent of "paying" for lessons by sourcing and buying physical gold..

Let us talk about that.

drfeelgood
post Dec 28 2014, 06:18 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(ay@m @ Dec 26 2014, 07:26 PM)
well, when i buy,  i already told myself that it will be for long term, 20 years or even more. But after i buy, the price drop...

if the price did not drop or stay flat after 20 years...i be at a loss also...

let me test out and find it out for real after 20-30 years, if i really earn money or lose money by buying gold... btw, i choose option 1...gold coins...

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Dont worry, Gold prices do not stay flat... especially over 20 years.

Anyway even if it goes up and down. Just buy. Let the power of averaging take effect. Over time, you would still have collected more gold and it would still earn you money.

Want to know more?
drfeelgood
post Dec 28 2014, 06:23 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 26 2014, 09:51 AM)
Physical gold seller make even more profit...  whistling.gif

Paper gold
Buy 130, sell 133

Physical may be
Buy 120, sell 150.

Both physical gold and paper goes up and down at the same pace one, in fact paper gold movement is following more closely to the gold market instead of physical.
But the risk of PAPER gold is, you hold nothing but paper. Better to hold physical gold.

Because when you open a Gold Investment account as they call it, the bank states, that, it is not guaranteed. Even to convert back to physical gold is a problem.

On top of that. The prices are determined by the bank and by the bank themselves. If they suka suka say... when you want to sell, the price drop, you cannot say anything, just suck thumb.

or worst case scenario, the bank tutup kedai, you still just holding a piece of paper.

Thats why physical Gold is best.

Want to know more? better to buy your own Physical Gold.

This post has been edited by drfeelgood: Dec 28 2014, 07:48 PM
drfeelgood
post Dec 28 2014, 07:49 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 28 2014, 06:34 PM)
There is no best in term of risk,

Paper gold - bank close shop

Physical - stolen, robbery, fake gold

The risk of bank close shop that resulted in customer deposit/account gone, as shown in the past, none.
Stolen, robbery, fake gold, plenty out there, even safe deposit box also got stolen cases.

So, I don't think need to give quantitative assessment of risk involved, everyone has own preference. 

PS: Please do not post any Pm me in the post, normally it will be deleted as this is not a place for soliciting. Ty.
Ok modified.
drfeelgood
post Dec 29 2014, 10:31 AM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Catalyzer @ Dec 29 2014, 02:17 AM)
Guys, any suggestion which shop to look for, a pair of ring with a very small diamond to sell off and buy a new pair? My friend said it's better to go to the old shops, they offer higher buyback price and got discount too when we buy. Famous shop like poh kong, habib, etc have lower buyback price and no discount when we buy, is it true?
Should I wait for gold price to rise and sell?
Hi. Are looking to buy or looking to sell.

Because you question have both buy and sell at the same time.
drfeelgood
post Dec 29 2014, 06:10 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Dec 29 2014, 05:49 PM)
Hi, would like to ask how Arrahnu works.

Let's say I bought 1oz Kijang emas from maybank and maybank's buying gold price today is RM4428/1oz kijangemas

which option is better to sell it back?

1) go to maybank and sell it back?
2) go to arrahnu?

Oh, and does arrahnu sells gold coins too?
Arrahnu and bank rakyat auctions off gold/ coins if available from those who havent claimed their gold back.

Which is better? Check the spread then

0.0232sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:52 PM