Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

xander2k8
post Mar 25 2023, 06:59 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 25 2023, 08:48 AM)
This USD2k level is very strong resistance.

I guess we need another regional bank panic to sail.above it.
Yes very strong indeed as we will trade 1850 to 1930 range in the meantime

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 25 2023, 10:02 AM)
When the Fed starts to ease, gold will move up further.
Right now, it will move within a range for a while.
Most likely will have to wait until DXY goes below 100 and at 98 range to see Gold back in play

But options wise a lot betting now by Sept Gold will hit 2000 again
xander2k8
post Mar 26 2023, 08:11 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 26 2023, 04:21 AM)
hi huyz i got a gold chain 916...which i dont know the weight of it..but at 2017 i bring go check at normal gold shop to quote a price and gotten rm 3400 for it....i wonder how much now in 2023 march?
Possibly if you’re lucky at maybe at 4400
xander2k8
post Mar 26 2023, 08:22 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2023, 12:31 PM)
Gold price in 2017 is around rm170/g +/-

Current price is around like rm 280/g +/-

So u could be getting around rm5600 current value
But some will minus off for workmanship πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ unless you sell it back to the same place where you bought from with the receipt then only can get better price

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 26 2023, 03:03 PM)
but i not really hungry for cash atm...
at the same time i never like to wear any wearable item on my body too
I suggest melt it and make it mini coin or mini gold bar which fetch better value than jewellery
xander2k8
post Mar 26 2023, 08:40 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2023, 08:24 PM)
Yes.
Would minus some..
Not mistaken around 15% like that...
That is why it is better hold gold in either coins or bar form for better value preservation
xander2k8
post Mar 26 2023, 08:53 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2023, 08:42 PM)
Yes.
But storage is kinda headache...
Risky.. simply cannot keep anywhere like that...

Another alternative is GIA πŸ‘Œ
GIA is the worst πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ because of the spread by the brokers

If wanna buy actual paper gold with low spread GLD in NYSE or in LME instead
xander2k8
post Mar 28 2023, 01:34 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 27 2023, 10:45 PM)
Where should I go to buy physical gold?  notworthy.gif
Buy gold coins and mini gold bars from reputable sellers as there a few around
xander2k8
post Mar 28 2023, 02:58 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 28 2023, 09:35 AM)
saw from poh kong recently, but the spread is too high. if i'm not wrong, they sell at 330 but buy back cash at 280 or something like that on that day.

is kijang the best option? since i see from mbb website, the spread is much lower than the above shop. but a bit troublesome as only a few mbb branches selling this.

or is there anything we can buy online? saw some in shopee but not too sure the spread if later want to sell back

15% spread is the workmanship spread by the jewellers

You want to buy Kijang can try UOB as well selected branches only

3 to 4% spread is normal for coins and bars

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 28 2023, 09:51 AM)
Sell 330 buy 280 is much cheaper than Kijang. Kijang spread is at 3 to 4%

330/280 spread is only 1.5%. That is cheap from a jeweller!  laugh.gif

Buy from Shoppe and get scammed?  laugh.gif
Wrong calculation off by a decimal point πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 28 2023, 10:33 AM)
330-280= 50

50/330= 15%  i beg your pardon. No coffee yet.

That's the reason for my line : "Anyone who buys gold form jewellers as an 'investment' needs to get their head checked."

laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Those who are thinking that needs to get their head check as well because gold in jewellery is not pure as what they claim πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Coins and bars are still the purest in gold form for investment
xander2k8
post Mar 31 2023, 05:07 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 31 2023, 06:44 AM)
A note to my younger self, as I continue to accumulate more - I started to get deeply depressed.

Because I realized the thing I spent so much energy n time doesn't bring any satisfaction nor peace of mind. Yet, every dividend declaration date, latest @ 4.5%....major urge to hedge the fast depreciating ringgit for some highly price manipulated piece of useless yellow metal.

Should we witness parabolic gold price, then the very frightening reason we buy gold wud already be a reality. A looming threat to my family's existing safety, freedom n lifestyle.

In retrospect, we spend hundreds of thousands $,. on a yellow metal as contingency, without any purposeful utility n not wearing because it's perceived as distasteful, n target ourselves for snatch thieves. Wouldn't an elegant yet discreet Patek be a much better investment choice?

In summary, how blissful life, if Unker just stayed ignorant (not stumbled across LY gold thread, which ignited interest in acquiring gold) n adopt a que sera sera attitude.

Sigh, time for Unker's anti depression meds....Work!
Unker safe now must be very big πŸ˜‚

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 31 2023, 03:42 PM)
Bro Cubalagi, thanks for the sharing....much respects.

Unker always wary of 'The E' writeups....my tin foil hat conspiracy "Paid to Write Articles".

Either for the guy to appear in papers, show bos dia ada buat Kerja, capai kpi...or sponsored by yellow metal cartels.

I checked the writer oso, Taylors grad.
Remember media like to sensationalise news otherwise where they go earn money πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 31 2023, 04:28 PM)
In this case, this was just a reporting of what was discussed in our parliment. A question by Johari Ghani and response by DFM Ahmad Maslan. Not an opinion piece or an article. U can find similar news in other papers, but Edge reported it more fully I thought.

Taylor not good eh?
Overpriced and high churning self entitled graduates mostly πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Apr 1 2023, 08:26 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 1 2023, 07:33 AM)
With Auntie 'patronizing' ....support Unker investment journey....this digital gold has moved up spot.

Future grandkids say Ah Kong, either fxxxing legend or hopeless retard.

Without Ah Mah, clever tcss one, clever tell young time eat roti canai story only.

This picture doesnt constitute financial advise...its for personal use/illustration only.

Anyway your future grandkids cannot say the above because you have already preserved the wealth πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Remember in order to accumulate in gold in the 1st place one has to have excess wealth after needs is fulfilled in order to go on that journey
xander2k8
post Apr 1 2023, 10:57 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 1 2023, 11:37 AM)
Bro Xander, my high respects.
We in the forum are unified by our similarity, rather than divided by our differences.
No matter - theres always nuggets of truth in forumers sharing, I learn from your selfless sharing.
Thank you for your kind words πŸ‘

I even respect highly to Unker because you started your gold journey at the right time at 2009 at the height of GFC and still accumulating more during the good times

When you accumulating the yellow useless metal to some and anytime when tensions or any jitters happens you would be laughing to those who said that πŸ˜‚

Remember you are the mini SNB in Malaysia who is the biggest holder in the world
xander2k8
post Apr 5 2023, 02:17 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 5 2023, 09:21 AM)
Blatantly open buying,....yet all the misdirection & mis-education, gold is useless, no yield, dangerous to hold, not liquid, ancient relic.

Something big, around the corner!
I already positioning Gold to hit 2200 this year so easily 5% from my Monday bought extra position

Laughing now also because of Silver gains even more incredible

Unker should be happy no rub salt for auntie worries πŸ˜‚
xander2k8
post Apr 5 2023, 03:48 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 5 2023, 02:52 PM)
Wah Bro Xander...solid gains!
Hope rocket got fuel to go further.
Not as much gains as you holding physical gold πŸ˜‚

Still got room to go this year as inflation will bite further πŸ‘
xander2k8
post Apr 5 2023, 05:00 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(wondernoob @ Apr 5 2023, 04:19 PM)
Hi all, is it too late to start investing in gold? Long time ago bought and received some 5g gold pieces, those poh Kong type. Bodoh2 sold off paper gold also but needed to liquidate la. Now looking to diversify. Hope sifu can give insights..
Don’t bother buying Poh Kong as they marked up in workmanship charges πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

If buy physical gold go to the banks and reputable bullion dealers and buying gold coins and bars as they value of gold in it unlike jewellery where you let Poh Kong earned it off from you through workmanships fees

The other way is buy Poh Kong and Tomei shares in Bursa if you wanna buy gold proxies in RM but I wouldn’t recommend it because of RM depreciation

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 5 2023, 04:29 PM)
Bro, welcome!
My Sifus are Bro Xander, Bro Prophetjul,

Unker start first lah,...senang now.

1. Gold investment, damn boring one. If no jalan, this thread end up in page#3-4. Got exposure in ETF, physical, banks, miner stocks, etc.
2. Wealth preservation, hence Unker keep it ard 10%  net worth.
3. Buy from bullion companies, avail website. Avoid jewellery shops.
4. If possible, minimize spread 1oz coin or 50+ gram bar.
Last few days we got share.
5. Less anger, ego, grudge...we all happy, happy!  Adopt what you self analyzed as useful.
Me no sifu but Unker is the real deal guru

I only dabbled in paper gold these days as the quality of physical gold design is not to my liking these days

If Unker can get his hands on those 90s gold coins from Perth Mint and from South Africa treasure those because your great great children will say Unker is a legend πŸ‘
xander2k8
post Apr 6 2023, 11:47 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Apr 6 2023, 11:28 AM)
ok thanks, will look into etf as well.
Gold ETF you can buy the largest trading ETF in the world called GLD followed by GLDM and IAU

If you wanna buy Bursa ETF look for 0828 and YTD just past 10% this year only

Otherwise you can buy shares like either gold miners and producers as it will spread your risks rather than just holding the metal itself
xander2k8
post Apr 6 2023, 12:53 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 6 2023, 11:58 AM)
For what you call digital or other people call paper gold, u have 2 basic "safe" options

1. Open a gold account with a Bank. Many Malaysian banks offer this.

2. Buy a Gold ETF

ETF stands for "Exchange Traded Funds". It means two things. The investment is in a fund that invest in gold. The second is the fund is tradable on a stock exchange like NYSE, SGX, Bursa Malaysia.

The advantage of ETF is that the buy and sell spread is very narrow. So its good if you are more active in buy and sell. The disadvange is that there are annual management fees and trading charges and forex costs for offshore trading.

There are also many gold etfs, not just one, in the world. The grandaddy is called GLD which is in NYSE (but also cross listed in Singapore Exchange). There is also a Malaysian Gold ETF listed in Bursa Malaysia if you prefer to buy using MYR (save on forex) and is more comforted by the regulatory protection by Malaysia authorities.

To access ETF, you need a brokerage account. It can be a local Malaysian broker or an offshore broker. Its the same account that you open when you want to buy stocks.

There is also another channel now to buy sell Gold ETF, using the so called digital investment platforms Like Stashaway. Or Versa. These platforms also buy into gold etf.
Don’t bother buying GLD through Versa or Stashaway as the fees will wiped out the gains during gold slow down especially rate hike cycles πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Apr 6 2023, 03:02 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(NextDoorMan @ Apr 6 2023, 01:24 PM)
mind explaining the fees on SA and Versa? IIRC Versa only charges 0.30% p.a no? YTD Gold already 10%
SA yearly you pay 0.8% plus 0.1% everytime you deposit money so nearly 1% wiped out yearly

Don’t look at Versa 0.32% because it is cheaper to buy 0828 from Bursa directly rather than paying hidden fees into the feeder fund πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ while you can buy 100 units in Bursa less than rm300 with fees

And since gold is volatile you can sell easily instead of waiting SA and Versa to sell it even at the bottom pricing

You wanna own Gold make sure you got money to backed it and control it at your own holdings

Go search Bursa 0828 at 10% YTD while GLD is almost 11%
xander2k8
post Apr 13 2023, 05:48 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 13 2023, 05:25 PM)
this thread is too quiet!! laugh.gif

if not mistaken, all time high gold price was $2089/troy oz in 2020.

now, it is $2027. or about RM288 per gram.

with all that's happening with US fed, inflation, de$, BRICS new currency, RM forever decline... cant see how gold price will go down...

well done to all gold bugs stashing away that glitters!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I stash away instead with gold proxy of SF πŸ˜‚

Yes all time high at Aug 2020 but we are on sideaways since the initial spike last couple of weeks
xander2k8
post Apr 14 2023, 05:03 AM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 13 2023, 07:46 PM)
Useless investment n waste of time....once it goes up to usd$5000/oz, i sell all.
No eye see.
It will take a very long time to reach that level πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

The only way to be fasten is that USD collapse and Euro take over as the de facto currency which is very low probability
xander2k8
post Apr 14 2023, 12:45 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 14 2023, 12:09 PM)
New low??

All I see...
Like all time high only

300/g πŸ€”πŸ˜•πŸ€¨
What he means new low highs πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Apr 14 2023, 05:36 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 14 2023, 02:51 PM)
New low high??

Basically what?

Low or high vs previously??
Go search what is higher high lower high πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 14 2023, 05:27 PM)
Probably πŸ€”πŸ§

What I know...
Gold is uptrend...

Even if drop...
Very minimal....

All thanks to the banks GG in US πŸ˜€ and among others
Uptrend is because USD is weakening because of expected cuts and recession fears πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

You only start buying Gold when USD is strengthening and sell upon changing trend of USD appreciation

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1039sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:42 AM