Aug 17 2020, 09:44 AM
1,979 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(paogeh @ Aug 15 2020, 08:53 PM) Not difficult at all to buy.Suggest to call ahead if got stock, before going to the branch and buy. If in KL recommend Menara Maybank branch and UOB (Jln Raja Laut) usually have stock. Buy gold usually senang, question to ask is how easy is it to sell |
Aug 17 2020, 11:11 AM
Sharing news about Turkey. Yikes!!!
Turkey Hit By Bank Runs, Currency Panic As Locals Sell Their Cars And Houses To Buy Gold While Lira Implodes It has been an miserable five years for Turkish citizens who have seen their purchasing power slashed by more than half, and it's only getting worse. The Turkish lira has cratered against the dollar and most developed currencies, plunging from 3 TRY per dollar, to a record low 7.37 last week after a brief and valiant attempt at imposing shadow capital control by Erdogan (who is now de facto head of the Turkish central bank) failed miserably at the end of July, and not even a draconian hike in overnight funding rates above 1000% last week (to crush the shorts) was able to prevent a plunge in the Lira to new all time lows. Sauce here |
Aug 17 2020, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(wendygoh @ Aug 17 2020, 09:46 AM) Primarily I'm not trading gold, instead I'm pension stacking.Bullion coins also closely fits with my other interest and hobby Non-bullion purchase like Proof Ultra High Relief 2020 Lunar Rat. 2021 Lunar Ox is next on my buy list. This post has been edited by aaronpang: Aug 17 2020, 12:16 PM |
Aug 17 2020, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Aug 17 2020, 12:56 PM) not quite understand why need to sell house. the house price will shoot up if the currency dropped, no? Not always the case.Ppl can't escape/immigrate away with house if the country sinks... Just assuming lah QUOTE(paogeh @ Aug 17 2020, 12:52 PM) how easy to sell .... So far for me no issue to get gold from Maybank.just sell back to bank at "bank buy" price. .... quite straight forward .... i think always think buying is diffcult ..... bank always dun have stock .... That's why I mention to call ahead. When selling must look for ways to maximize returns. Selling directly back to the bank is not ideal IMHO. In the past when selling I'd usually try to maximize returns. |
Aug 18 2020, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 18 2020, 09:37 AM) Trade among family, colleagues, fellow gold bugs and numis collectors.Lately high gold price has attracted casual buyers to purchase gold. Show difference between goldsmith price vs Maybank to steer ppl away from gold shops FOMO is strong so I make little on runners fees & capsules. What I observe Most not free to purchase over the counter. Don't know difference between premium and spot price. Generally don't want to research and monitor prices. Can't spot fake gold edit: Love to trade BNM proof coins, buy for RM150 and flip for RM300 immediately. Lately that has dried up, BNM not releasing coins for 2020 Sell silver proof coins and use profits to subsidize gold proof sets This post has been edited by aaronpang: Aug 18 2020, 11:42 AM |
Nov 12 2020, 05:07 PM
Democrats won and covered d vaccine otw...I thought no gold will go down somemore
What do you guys think? This post has been edited by aaronpang: Nov 12 2020, 05:07 PM |
Aug 19 2021, 10:34 AM
Anyone bought the dip recently...
Good deal IMHO, purchased little late coz I only buy physical bullion. Sharing latest experience getting physical during pandemic. 1) Call MBB branch if gold's in stock (can be out of stock) 2) Make an appointment for counter services. https://www.maybank2u.com.my/page/appointment/ Sometimes impossible early date because appointments are booked weeks in advanced. 3) Managed to get an appointment and bought couple of coins. First physical bullion buy for 2021. Buying physical from Maybank is tricky because many moving parts need to align. |
Aug 24 2021, 09:21 PM
Aug 31 2021, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Aug 24 2021, 09:50 PM) No plans to trade (buy sell) so paper gold don't make sense in my case.Only selling decades down the road. Part of retirement stack. Also physical gold helps to divest funds, outside of formal banks. In cases of bankruptcy, LHDN case or government overreach, bank funds kena frozen game over With physical gold I am my own bank |
Sep 1 2021, 08:45 PM
Perth Mint New 2022 design release....
Sep 2 2021, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 1 2021, 10:17 PM) Kijang primarily... Couple of reasons no1 is no packaging or capsule between me and the gold. Can feel, touch and test the gold without much hassle. Also find it easier to buy/sell from Maybank KL Main. Gold bullion from UOB there's a lot of T&C can't open their packaging. Public gold spread is higher unless buying > 100g. QUOTE(paogeh @ Sep 2 2021, 11:04 AM) Maybank KIJAN emas , Kijang is as odd bullion, it's not issued every year. what;s the year of the bullion coin now ? now , buying gold coins like Kijang , MAPPLE from Maybank/UOB is it still have to call from time to time to get stock ? or there are plenty of stocks ? other that Maybank/UOB , any new banks selling coins ? Thank you The latest mint year for Kijang are 2012. So far all recent Kijang I've purchased are new dated 2012. Not gotten used or dinged up Kijang lately. Have to call if have stock, Maybank KL main no issues I've always managed to walkaway with gold. If buying half and quarter always in stock less people buying. This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 2 2021, 01:56 PM |
Sep 3 2021, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Sep 3 2021, 10:29 AM) Hi, wanna ask a a question about this physical gold coins. Either bank is fine in my opinion From UOB website and MBB website?, I see that the price for 1oz is much cheaper at UOB. Also the spread for UOB is lesser. Just wondering if there's any hidden charges here? Else what's the other benefits of getting from MBB instead of UOB? Is it the Kijang will be more widely accepted in the future? Thanks Difference in pricing over spot gold is called premium. I don't work for either bank so I don't know exactly how premiums are calculated. There's a lot factors that goes into a premium. Example holding cost, hedging and cost of manufacturing individual products. On OUB's site, 1oz sovereign minted coin has higher premium vs 1oz private bar for comparison. Difference between buy and sell price is called a spread. MBB spread is fixed 4% UOB if I recall is subject to change but don't quote me on that. Gold is naturally widely accepted. Having said that, best to sell back to original seller to maximize returns. Maybank has more branches that buy and sell gold. Not sure if UOB still insist on bagging, its an annoying practice. UOB will seal in pouch and you cannot open the bag to handle and test your gold. UOB buyback policy is strict. Opened packaging, dinged or scratch item will be rejected. Maybank has more leeway for dings and scratches. Might not be applicable for everyone. I have MBB account, simple to direct debit at the counter. Rather not carry bundles of cash This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 3 2021, 03:44 PM |
Sep 3 2021, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Sep 3 2021, 03:46 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks, Just wondering, will it look weird if I just go and buy a 1/2 or 1oz coin only? Will they entertain this or got minimum purchase? Call in advanced to check if got stock. Before you go check UOB SOP. For Maybank SOP make an appointment for counter services. https://www.maybank2u.com.my/page/appointment/ List of Kijang Branches https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...Emas-branch.pdf This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 3 2021, 04:01 PM |
Sep 3 2021, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Sep 3 2021, 04:40 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks again for the info. But the appointment availability, only got slot at the end of the month When you get there mention want to buy kijang emas. |
Sep 7 2021, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 7 2021, 12:58 AM) What made you think I am 40-42 yo? I personally view shiny yellow metal more as savings asset.Well, looks like in Gold Investment Corner, price is not an issue like UT, stock, etc. haha... Wow, I'm getting interested with this thread. Thanks for sharing. Never knew there are so many types of gold out there! I only know of Kijang, Maple. So if gold is not for trade purpose, how does it fits long term investment? Or rather hedge against inflation when we are not converting it into cash? If I don't buy gold the cash might be spent on something spurious Very lousy impulse control Gold comes in different forms. Each with it's own advantages and disadvantages. Some forms of gold like jewelry might be harder to sell or cost more per gram. 24k gold bullion is generally tax exempt worldwide. Certain countries may tax 22k gold bullion (American Gold Eagles or Krugerrand are 22k) Size big kilo bars are a pain to move quickly, too small 1/10oz or 1/20oz and premiums eat into your returns. Recognition PAMP bars more recognized than Poh Kong Bunga Raya for example. Nothing wrong with Poh Kong, just there's less point of friction during selling process. The list goes on and on you get the idea. Buying is easy, the difficulty is a viable exit strategy. Gold is not for everybody, hopefully it fits your needs This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 7 2021, 02:51 PM |
Sep 7 2021, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Sep 5 2021, 10:47 AM) Awesome stack thank you for sharing.Hope to accumulate a stack like that someday QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 6 2021, 10:03 AM) That's a sweet collection of proof coins.I'm looking forward to Perth Mint Tiger This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 7 2021, 02:44 PM |
Sep 9 2021, 07:23 PM
Sep 10 2021, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(hedfi @ Sep 9 2021, 09:45 PM) Wish to know where do you buy these? Are sellers like Buy Silver Malaysia trust worthy? Maybank seem to have only Kijang Correct Maybank sells exclusively Kijang.Commemorative coins are different kettle of fish vs bullion. Collectable coins are separate from bullion stack, purely for enjoyment and happiness Commemorative 1oz gold coin could cost RM12k Bullion 1oz gold coin on the other hand may cost RM7.8k Haven't purchased Buy Silver Malaysia. Can't comment personally. Purchased from following stores, no issues 1) www.apmex.com 2) littlecoinshop.com.au - purchased Lunar Mouse here 3) thecoincompany.com.au - purchased Lunar OX here europabullion.com (purchase not yet completed) Lunar OX was purchased from:- https://thecoincompany.com.au/australian-lu...gh-relief-coin/ Buying from abroad can be complicated. Esp. if Malaysian customs decides to tax your non-taxable gold hahaha. QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 9 2021, 10:53 PM) Yes eagerly awaiting Collecting High Relief Proof of the Lunar Series III Coin is thicker and design has nice depth. I'm hoping to collect all 12 coins. This post has been edited by aaronpang: Sep 10 2021, 01:59 PM |
Sep 10 2021, 02:15 PM
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:08 PM |