Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

Iceman74
post Apr 10 2025, 03:04 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2025, 02:30 PM)
all these gold shops sell at a common agreed "list" price, currently at RM515/g for 999.9 gold.
https://www.pohkong.com.my/collections/shop...ldbar-and-coins

there may be workmanship cost in the selling price. (e.g. 10g x 515 +150 = 5300)

when u sell back to them it is calc on prevailing price less 10-20% depending on shop.

small bars & coins, jewelry, u can buy at these shops.

bigger bars, larger amounts, u get much better price with the bullion traders.
not all jewelry shop selling same price
this shop below give competitive price overall

https://chiangheng.com/
Iceman74
post Apr 10 2025, 03:16 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2025, 03:13 PM)
this one is indeed cheaper, possibly not part of the assoc or something.

pohkong, sk, tomei, all same now at 515/g.
already check them out... they are part of the association.

the conditions of the association don't mention any fixed price at all.
Those in bold have higher overhead due to setting up in mall and advertisement

at first i was like you, I tot price of gold are fixed amongst jewelry shop but was introduce by friend, can get cheaper there.
after doing research, there is no such thing of fixed price among jewelry shop

https://fgjam.org.my/member-four/

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Apr 10 2025, 03:26 PM
Iceman74
post Apr 10 2025, 03:53 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Apr 10 2025, 03:47 PM)
I just check with Poh Kong, the selling price is 10g - RM4,399. so the spread is around 17%
Wonder how can make money with such a high spread rate
I stop buying any gold from any of those famous shop as much as possible.

If jewellery, then no choice as some of them unique design. Last year brought 1 for my son 21st key chain from Wah Chan and get super discount tim.
BTW even they from same company, different outlet might have different pricing too.
Found out this went brought the key as my friend brought same item but different locations

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Apr 10 2025, 05:33 PM
Iceman74
post Apr 22 2025, 05:12 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Apr 22 2025, 04:55 PM)
Dang. I just walked by a jewelry shop.

Gold selling price is now 520 RM per gram.

Wah.
for 916 lar

If 999, must buy jor laugh.gif
Iceman74
post Sep 23 2025, 12:30 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 23 2025, 10:54 AM)
It's ok overall. But for electronic trading is high since GLD ETF is only 0.2 to 0.4%.
Bullion is around 4%
can guide us which ETF to look for?

currently using Moomoo, can access to Gold Etf?
Iceman74
post Oct 2 2025, 01:54 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 2 2025, 11:43 AM)
999.9 = 24K = pure gold.

RM500/g probably is 750 purity or 18k gold.
https://etomei.com/pages/tomei-gold-silver-price-live-quotes

beware, there have been reports of fake gold - tungsten inside, gold plated. tungsten density is close to gold.
there are also fake gold bars/coins with silver inside. these are slightly thicker as silver is not as heavy as gold or tungsten.
I have seemed those in Shopee live seller advertise "free chop 916" on those fake gold accessories

crazy ler doh.gif
Iceman74
post Oct 3 2025, 08:08 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Oct 2 2025, 10:56 PM)
how to identify it's fake gold? It's actually from quite branded gold shop in shopping complex. so I just suka suka ask the sales person. How come cheaper than market price. too good to be true right. and she say because they are doing promotion.

so, I dont ask much cz me myself also dunno much about it
The gold price are not fixed. Each shop can set it own pricing. Even branded price got different. Those outlet in shopping mall are mostly higher compared to those open in shoplot. I was once quoted same item, price difference a lot between their HQ and Kuantan branch. End up ask friend buy from Kuantan brnach
Iceman74
post Oct 8 2025, 10:52 AM

1,407 posts

dunno want to cry or happy

happy see this rise but sad see fiat currency are down the drain

now the big question is how high can it go?
Iceman74
post Oct 8 2025, 11:32 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 8 2025, 11:29 AM)
You only cry if you missed the boat.
haha... just buy not enough jer

still need fiat currency to pay other due sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Oct 8 2025, 11:33 AM
Iceman74
post Oct 8 2025, 01:32 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 8 2025, 01:18 PM)
precious metals have been the best performers in the last 12 months:

gold +54.32%
silver +59.03%
platinum +75.14%

current spike likely due to US gomen shutdown jitters + more & more people starting to buy them.
last few years, much of the gold buying has been by central banks.
lately, morgan stanley, ray dalio and others been singing "u need 15%, 20%, >10% gold in your portfolio".
the institutional funds went in a few months ago, likely now the masses are buying?

about inflation, we haven't seen the big effect yet due to low oil prices. 1974-2025, oil price rose 1% pa, from $40 to 62.
but this can change v quickly if war erupts in the middle east again as many are now expecting.
still EU is already suffering becos they reject russian energy, buy US oil/gas at 3x the price.
cheap russian energy infra has now all changed to supply only to east asia, central asia, south asia.

now we know why US doesn't want the war ends soon.
can milk those dumb EU countries that don't have jalan for cheap Russian oil plus can profit supplying military equipment's

Asian countries are also benefiting cheap oil if got jalan.
Russia Putin just continue doing it things since there is no incentive to end the war sooner on the table now.
Once awhile, US bring up being good guy image telling don't buy Russian oil to see got any sucker want to buy his expensive oil.

All countries are milking each other dry.. depending who dry first now.

Those earning from this know all this going to end sooner or later.
They also know the world especially US need to print $$$ to keep going
Inflation will hit hard, the next best thing is they are buying gold with profit generated to protect this inflation storm coming soon.
Iceman74
post Oct 8 2025, 02:15 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Oct 8 2025, 01:55 PM)
Hi everyone , quick question, does the capital appreciation from gold subject to personal income tax?
there is no open answer to it.

If for own personal and is side income profit, then is answer is "no"

If you are trader, a lot buying and selling to take your profit and is your main source of income, then the answer is "yes"

It applies to all, like Share market, or any capital appreciation.

Key word "don't stop working or doing biz as your main source of declare income" brows.gif

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Oct 8 2025, 02:17 PM
Iceman74
post Oct 28 2025, 01:54 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 28 2025, 10:38 AM)
china has said that it doesn't seek to replace the $ as the world's reserve currency.
because it carries a heavy burden as per triffin's dliemma - u will need to incr currency supply becos every country will need it.
and that has been the downfall for all previous world reserve currencies, incl the british pound sterling.

current info indicates more likely BRICS will offer an alternative system bypassing the $. an alternative, not a replacement.
member countries can trade in their own currencies; if trade with digital yuan, deficit or surplus can be exchanged for gold.
that is already working; gold vaults already in place in shanghai & hong kong; more planned for singapore, UAE, maybe saudi.

at the same time, USA appears to want to move to a stablecoin system backed by fiat $.
private issuers take deposits, buy short term treasury bills, profit from the yield, issue stablecoins.
this, conspiracy theorist say have the ultimate goal to devalue the stablecoin and so devalue-inflate away the $38 tril debt!
another possibility is to have a stable coin backed by gold.

whatever, next few years will see a lot of turbulence. becos we now see declining trust in the $, and all fiats for that matter.
holding some physical gold may well turn out to be the wisest thing one can do at this time.
agreed with you. All countries especially BRICS and certain countries in G7 find US are not only not playing fair but misused the trust on USD and SWIFT for personal gain.

Imaging all countries going into casino with US to play and US act as banker too.
During those older days,
All countries need to exchange to USD in order to join in.... that is fine as long the exchange fees are minimum

Now, the banker casino can stop you from taking the wins out

when all countries like China & Japan wins big and gathering enough winning fiat money, thinking can open a new casino nearby.
Each time the casino banker/US up the stake and printing a lot of new fiat money for members to fight for win again.
Indirectly making those winning money a miniature amount of money comparing with US casino have now.

A lot of countries are fed up bailing out out of control free spending US plus slap on their face like they own him for that. laugh.gif

If BRICS leads to some sort of fiat currency backup arrangement
example Gold back currency, everyone will think twice to print new money as it will affect their exchange currency hard.
It also create a balance check of gov not overspending as everyone know how much gold the country holding.

It also will create a situation where US need to "show hand" how much Fort Knox are holding the US gold reserve.
It might crash China, Japan and the rest of the countries if indeed there are that much gold inside.
If there is significant less than that or "kosong" vault, can say bye2 USD
(I think US will start wars around the globe than dare to declare this news to cover up)

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Oct 28 2025, 01:59 PM
Iceman74
post Nov 24 2025, 08:36 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Nov 21 2025, 04:35 PM)
you are right. for Maybank you can convert to physical. if i remember you got to pay like RM250 for that.
however for UOB, i am not sure. also i dont know UOB will be 999 or 916 type.
A range of fees and depend on availability. Which branch can redeem, HQ sure can, I think those bigger also can or can request gua

0.0215sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:55 AM