15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

astro byond V12

smileguy
post Oct 4 2016, 06:50 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Oct 4 2016, 06:24 PM)
Preparing the Roman, haha, 😂

BTW, I was in JB ytd and saw a lot of rusty (red rust) covering the dish.....  Just wondering why the subscribers not calling astro to replace the rusty dish? Are they chargeable??
Thats a common sight bro, even I hv two unused on my roof! I terminated two accounts and now just with one Value Pack!! We hv limited variety of channels ,many of which are in House Rojak channels,more then half of their channels are own versions and too many repeats,some repeats since 1996 puke.gif
smileguy
post Oct 5 2016, 05:34 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Oct 4 2016, 09:19 PM)
I see but for active subscribers wif rusty dish, astro will replace wif a brand new one or refurbished ones....  Sorry for my questions but I am just curious how astro charges all this equipment swop......
You may request for a replacement but you will be slapped with instalation fee or perhaps upgrade for a new box with new dish which will tie you with a new contract!
smileguy
post Oct 5 2016, 11:47 AM

3,147 posts

I guess it could be Tara HD and maybe some new features,shopping channels,and /or Add On packs! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 5 2016, 11:48 AM
smileguy
post Oct 5 2016, 06:54 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 5 2016, 05:41 PM)
I think its gonna be new add on/ bundle packages which are cheaper than current Superpack and Superpack Plus rates. Because they realized many customers either downgrade their Superpack, convert to NJOI or even terminate their subscription.
If they were smart enough thats what they shld do,anyway lets see what happens yawn.gif
smileguy
post Oct 5 2016, 06:54 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 5 2016, 05:41 PM)
I think its gonna be new add on/ bundle packages which are cheaper than current Superpack and Superpack Plus rates. Because they realized many customers either downgrade their Superpack, convert to NJOI or even terminate their subscription.
If they were smart enough thats what they shld do,anyway lets see what happens yawn.gif
smileguy
post Oct 6 2016, 05:43 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 5 2016, 11:07 PM)
Meanwhile.....
http://www.vccircle.com/news/media-enterta...rishnan-resigns

5 Oct - Ananda Krishnan is reported to have resigned from Astro All Asia Networks, and according to anonymous sources, Krishnan’s right hand man, has resigned from all the posts he held across firms under Astro.
From 9 October, 12:30 pm until 10 October 8:00 am - Astro will be upgrading its system.
10 Oct - "Something BIG and EXCITING is coming under your way" - Astro

Hmmm.... looks like there's some "internal affairs" already happening to Ananda and Astro, so now Astro is going to give some "surprise" to customer?
Well, we will see on 10 October 2016.
Infact,knowing trouble on the way, AK has sold off all interest in ass and max long ago and has migrated..............maybe a re branding ,old wine in new bottle?! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 6 2016, 05:45 AM
smileguy
post Oct 7 2016, 08:38 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Oct 7 2016, 08:34 AM)
Just saw Astro Fiesta from 10th October to 31st December.  This is the something big and exciting from Astro?
puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif They have run out of ideas? yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif Desperate and struggling to stay relevant : cool2:

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 7 2016, 11:19 AM
smileguy
post Oct 7 2016, 04:16 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Oct 7 2016, 03:00 PM)
Hello, they are not dead yet!!
Yes pal,not dead....... he said Death is Coming! biggrin.gif
smileguy
post Oct 7 2016, 07:11 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Oct 7 2016, 06:58 PM)
Wait. That astro fiesta ad is from 2012. So what's the new one?
I noticed that too, biggrin.gif its an outdated advert,but I was more disappointed abt the news then the dates!! biggrin.gif From abt 10 days Fiesta they hv upgraded to almost two months puke.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 7 2016, 07:15 PM
smileguy
post Oct 8 2016, 12:26 PM

3,147 posts

Recycle Bin of asia......Going Beyond !! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 8 2016, 12:27 PM
smileguy
post Oct 10 2016, 10:01 AM

3,147 posts

Based on info posted on FB ,astro is going to reveal something BIG at 3pm today, hope we will not puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 10 2016, 10:31 AM
smileguy
post Oct 10 2016, 06:01 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 10 2016, 03:43 PM)
Free Astro Fiesta and free access to OD if we connect pvr decoder to internet? That's it?  bruce.gif
This smart squirrel has fallen never to rise again rclxms.gif Who wants this **** puke.gif cool2.gif Instead of providing toll free lines even after 20 years for customers they are giving freebies, typical BeeEnd mentality! doh.gif No one with the right mind set will use his valuable internet to watch OD please!! cool2.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 10 2016, 06:55 PM
smileguy
post Oct 10 2016, 06:58 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 10 2016, 06:49 PM)
They are showing Siti Nurhaliza's 2006 performance when in fact she did countless concerts since 2006 until today. They've run out of ideas...and run out of time too. Contests are part of Astro's agenda, so what's so special about the 20th anniversary contests when they actually do the some every month and every year?
Msians are a funny lot ,many fall for freebies and contests,asstro is taking advantage of it! Just like Br1m which ensures Bn's win! Customers forget that they are shortchanged but value the freebies instead brows.gif
smileguy
post Oct 10 2016, 07:23 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 10 2016, 07:15 PM)
I think can file a complaint to CFM or MCMC dy for misleading info, because it's not big and exciting at all.
Crony companies fear nobody ,just look at the crony companies,the Telcos,ISP, and service providers they are still far behind then others but charge the highest. The govt is silent,they help govt,the govt helps them!
smileguy
post Oct 11 2016, 05:57 PM

3,147 posts

They make a Rojak channel then sell it to Miotv !

smileguy
post Oct 11 2016, 06:01 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 11 2016, 05:56 PM)
Astro expects lower content cost in FY18
By Adela Megan Willy

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/astro-expects-lower-content-cost-fy18

Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd, which has been impacted by expensive sports content and the sharp depreciation of the ringgit this year, is confident that the content cost for its television business will go back to between 32% and 35% of annual TV revenue in the next financial year ending Jan 31, 2018 (FY18).

“If our currency stabilises, and minus major sports events, our content cost could go down to about 33% or 34% in FY18,” Astro group chief executive officer Datuk Rohana Rozhan told reporters at the sidelines of Astro’s 20th anniversary celebration here yesterday.

Astro had previously maintained the content cost at between 32% and 35% of its TV revenue.

Astro’s content cost for FY17 is expected to rise up to roughly 38% of TV revenue, following the local currency’s depreciation — Astro buys most of its content in US dollars — and two major sports events, namely the Rio 2016 Olympics and the Uefa Euro 2016.

In the second quarter ended July 31, 2016 (2QFY17), Astro’s net profit slipped 8.6% to RM125.43 million from RM137.24 million a year ago, mainly due to lower subscription revenue and higher content costs, and the impact of the weakening ringgit.

Revenue, however, was up 4.3% at RM1.43 billion from RM1.37 billion in the previous corresponding quarter due mainly to an increase in advertising, home shopping and other revenue.

Meanwhile, on whether the group is still confident about raising its average revenue per user (Arpu) to its targeted RM119 in five years from the current RM99, Rohana said the company is confident as “we are actively introducing new products and innovating our content, and the number of subscribers is constantly growing”.

The rise in its Arpu would be driven primarily by new and improved products and services as well as a rise in the number of customers subscribing for content packages, according to Rohana.

Astro is aiming to raise its service penetration to 90% or about seven million households in five years. Currently, the group serves five million or 69% of Malaysian households via both its pay and subscription-free TV services.

“Although we are seeing a change in the buying patterns of our customers, particularly the lower-end ones as they are opting for smaller [content] packages, there is still a high take-up rate of big product bundles among our high-end customers.

“These are subscribers who pay for added value and quality. Therefore, we will use this opportunity to drive up our connectivity,” added Rohana.

On Bursa Malaysia, Astro’s share price inched up 0.36% to settle at RM2.80 yesterday, valuing it at RM14.57 billion.
High end customers /companies
who are just paying but not watching,paying whatever the bill, are the culprits who contribute big earnings !

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 11 2016, 06:02 PM
smileguy
post Oct 11 2016, 06:06 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Oct 11 2016, 05:59 PM)
They introduced A-LIST in expense of SUNDANCE and TARA HD in expense of ZEE TV. Introducing in-house ROJAK channels is their strategy to manage content cost.
It will be interesting to note not a single In House Rojak channel failed,they managed to sell all to spore. Zeetv is out but Tara is in definately they buy content and later sell it to miotv just like other Indian/chinese/malay channels which are already in spore's platforms
smileguy
post Oct 12 2016, 05:41 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Oct 11 2016, 09:19 PM)
Astro can't sell their Chinese chs to Starhub or SingTel as the programs on those AEC chs are already being bought by the 2 providers separately. However, astro managed to sell their in-house produced programs fr Hua Hee, XTY  etc. to ST and SH though....  This is one of them, Hua Hee Seko-lah
How about Celestial Movies,its also owned by asstro right?
smileguy
post Oct 13 2016, 05:43 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Oct 13 2016, 04:18 AM)
Thanks for ur detailed explanation bro.

So from what i understand, since my parents TV is a smart tv so it comes with the DVB-T tuner, i should go look for an antenna that has UHF capbilities. But just 1 curious question, would an indoor antenna be not sufficient? I have fren living in jb too who gets the channels using an indoor antenna though he is living in a high rise condo much nearer to Singapore.

I was just googling and there were tutorials using indoor antennas though i understand my case might be different. I understand ur explanation that an outdoor antenna with 14 elements or more would be better.
Try a fishbone antenna with booster ,maybe a longer pole you maybe lucky! But remember to keep the ****ed up asstro dish much further from the aerial,it interupts with UHF signals if an aerial is nearby. If yr nearby neighbours recieve signals then you shld also hmm.gif
smileguy
post Oct 13 2016, 05:43 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Oct 13 2016, 04:18 AM)
Thanks for ur detailed explanation bro.

So from what i understand, since my parents TV is a smart tv so it comes with the DVB-T tuner, i should go look for an antenna that has UHF capbilities. But just 1 curious question, would an indoor antenna be not sufficient? I have fren living in jb too who gets the channels using an indoor antenna though he is living in a high rise condo much nearer to Singapore.

I was just googling and there were tutorials using indoor antennas though i understand my case might be different. I understand ur explanation that an outdoor antenna with 14 elements or more would be better.
Try a fishbone antenna with booster ,maybe a longer pole you maybe lucky! But remember to keep the ****ed up asstro dish much further from the aerial,it interupts with UHF signals if an aerial is nearby. If yr nearby neighbours recieve signals then you shld also hmm.gif Indoor aerial works only if you live close to transmitters once you are a bit further outdoor is the best

This post has been edited by smileguy: Oct 13 2016, 05:45 AM

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0816sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:13 AM