Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

danny_sp15
post Jul 31 2021, 01:47 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Vrooms @ Jul 31 2021, 12:39 PM)
thanks bro.. i'll get the normal ones on shopee then.
i've already purchased the PC37X this morning, since i dont want any hassle with kastam (ie to pay additional duty,etc) as mentioned in your previous post.
Good choice thumbup.gif

Yeah i forgot about tax. The PC38X cost will be a lot more than just direct convert compared to PC37X.

But be prepared with the invoice as well, kastam might ask as proof. The courier company will inform u if this is the case.
danny_sp15
post Aug 3 2021, 01:03 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 1 2021, 11:58 PM)

58X wont get you that spacious hall soundstage. While it's not as intimate as HD600 or HD650, i wouldn't say it has a wide soundstage. But it should be better than the Porta Pro at least.

For vocal and soundstage, only Ananda and HD800s comes to mind. But these two are way above budget, unless you can hold out and save for the Ananda. I know it's twice the stated budget, but the Ananda really gives you that concert hall feeling.
danny_sp15
post Aug 5 2021, 07:46 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 5 2021, 07:42 PM)
Is it me or in ear earphone often leads to slight migraine? or only me
Used Edifier GM3se but can hear the screw drop off even after sending back anyone experienced it?
Not quite sure what you meant by "screw drop off"? Means something loose inside the earbuds?
danny_sp15
post Aug 5 2021, 08:20 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 5 2021, 08:07 PM)
Ya the right earbud will resonate when I play heavy music and when you shake the earbud can clearly hear the screw shaking inside
I see. Anyway, im in the same boat as yours. Easily get headache with earbuds. You can either opt for third party tips that may be better fitting and more comfortable, or just use headphones.

Audio Technica M50X is pretth good but slightly above your budget. It isolates the surrounding noise quite well even without ANC.

The Sony XM3 earbuds has ANC and much cheaper than the new XM4. It fits pretty well and very comfortable, although I still get headache after few hours of use.
danny_sp15
post Aug 6 2021, 08:58 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 6 2021, 08:27 PM)
Do you have any other headphone suggestion? And why is the Sony XM4 so good? Dont really have much knowledge in this sector
Can't comment on the XM4 as I only have the XM3. It's pretty good for the current selling price, it's always on sale especially since the XM4 launched.
danny_sp15
post Aug 31 2021, 09:46 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 31 2021, 03:32 AM)
OK, I am rather super confused with myself now. Early this month I bought the Philips Fidelio X2HR. I came across a few issues, and I couldn't really identify them. To add to the confusion, I am now even more uncertain with exactly what I want...

I think the issues are more about myself than the headphone itself to be honest.

I think you need to try several headphones to probably understand better the strength/weakness of each type of headphones, and get a better idea where the X2HR sits among these. Best for u to wait until after this pandemic, then go store try several headphones. Only thing is dunno when is that possible.

In the meantime, get yourself familiar with the X2HR. It shouldn't be that uncomfortable. Try to adjust the sliders to get the most comfortable position, instead of trying to center your ears. Personally i usually adjust so that the top of my ears touch the upper inner edge of the earcups. So my ears bear some of the weight as well, like wearing glasses. The headphones should feel like it's just "resting" on your head, like it's just flown in like a bird and gently land on your head. Also, is your room aircon? If not, any kind of headphones can get uncomfortable really quick for some people.
danny_sp15
post Sep 3 2021, 05:20 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 3 2021, 04:49 PM)
Any Grado Prestige user here? Are they recommended headphone?

I am kinda looking into their SR80x or SR325X series..
You mentioned comfort as one of your main concern last time. In that case, I dont think Grado should be considered. Grado users please correct me if I'm wrong, but Grados are known to be uncomfortable.
danny_sp15
post Sep 9 2021, 01:05 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Sep 8 2021, 06:49 PM)
Previously I have been using ATH 40X for 3 years then the earcups joint broke in 2020. I then replaced with cheaper option of Cooler Master MH752 due to WFH, needing a mic.

Now I am looking to enjoy music again.

Is there any good deals going on 9/9? My budget is around 500-700, I am reluctant to go back Audio Technica due to the joint thing

Thanks everyone

Edit: Saw shopeepeeeepee gonna have 959 flashsale on the 1000-xm4 ... might increase budget grab those
Beyers are known to be built pretty solid, and some models (DT990, DT770) fall within your price bracket.

Can also consider this:

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Sep 9 2021, 02:13 AM
danny_sp15
post Sep 20 2021, 11:26 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Sep 20 2021, 03:56 AM)
looking for a pair of wireless headset with mic for work and home use, budget around RM500-700. Are gaming headsets the only options that I have?

Any other recommendation?
Audio Technica ATH-M50XBT?
danny_sp15
post Sep 29 2021, 08:03 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Sep 29 2021, 12:42 AM)
How is this compared to Sony WH1000XM3? I am also looking for over-the-ear headphone for WFH purpose.
Is it worth the extra bucks?
I personally like the sound of the M50X more. Feels that it has better bass impact.
danny_sp15
post Sep 29 2021, 01:13 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Sep 29 2021, 12:42 PM)
But this does not come with a mic, correct?
It has a mic. Built in mic and also wired mic. Never tried because i dont use it for calling/chat. But the mic is there.
danny_sp15
post Oct 1 2021, 12:40 PM

==============
3,045 posts

Long time no ask recommendation.

Sifus with experience with both IEM and headphones, generally which of the two is better for bassheads?

I know IEMs have good seal and can give that tight deep bass, but headphones can give me that whole head rumbling feel. Dunno whether IEM can achieve this as I have very limited experience with IEM.

Looking at JVC FW01 btw, so wanted to know more before splurge on this.
danny_sp15
post Oct 1 2021, 02:53 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 1 2021, 01:10 PM)
For rumbling bass the usual options for IEMs are the Empire Ears Legend X / Evo and maybe IE900 (never heard them though), headphones would be the usual Fostex stuffs, e.g. TH900 etc. Maybe ZMF Atticus/Eikon...
Headphones will give a better bass experience. You can't defy physics...
Sorry didnt state my budget. Only have budget around 1k. sweat.gif

I already have Denon D7200, and I fell in love with the bass. Now hoping I can get similar experience in IEM for office use. Guess I'll stick with headphones as I'm looking for that head rumbling deep bass.
danny_sp15
post Oct 1 2021, 04:09 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 1 2021, 03:23 PM)
I'm sure there are some listed here within 1k

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/head-fi-bas...-page-1.761433/
Yeah, i saw that thread already, but im just more concerned whether IEM bass can be as good as headphones. Seems there is rarely proper comparison between the two, which of course is not surprising since both totally different form factor and usage scenario. Currently for office use im using ATH M50X. The bass is good but just wonder if IEM can be better.
danny_sp15
post Oct 2 2021, 03:12 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 1 2021, 05:15 PM)
Sure, but the price will not be proportionate to the value.

I'm sure the EE Legend X or even IE900 bass is way better than the M50X, but I'm sure you wouldn't want to spend that much for an office IEM use...
Yeah, this is more to fill in the gap as my M50X leaks a bit of sound (i listen kinda loud) and I worry might bother my colleagues. So not looking to spend huge. Would probably just give it a try since i dont have any IEM at all.
Thanks for the advice!

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Oct 2 2021, 01:35 AM)
IEMs produce bass better in general. With bass, the "head rumble" you experience with headphones is no different than what IEMs do and is not the function of them actually putting pressure on your head. You can feel that headphones have a "larger" hit because with music bass instruments don't play single tones. What headphones do much better - especially over-ears - are sound staging and imaging, because they allow the sound to interact with your outer ear. Bass in music have harmonics which present themselves in higher frequencies that the headphone can image better. You can compare the bass energy on IEMs and headphones by playing pure sine tones on both. You'll find that they feel exactly the same.

I've only ever owned two "bass kings". The Sony MDR-XB90EX, and the Futuresonics Atrio M5 with the MG7 driver. You can't find them anymore, they're discontinued. I have never owned or tested the JVC FW01, but it would likely have a more balanced sound compared to the Denon you have that is deliberately tuned to be on the bassier side. You could find the treble detail either refreshing or distracting, but I can't imagine them lacking in bass at all.

In any case, if purely for bass you can have them in any form. Good basshead headphones are just as good as basshead IEMs. It's just that getting that bass with IEMs is a lot easier (for manufacturers and for users).
I never had IEM with strong bass, in fact only ever had 1 IEM so I'm quite curious what are the capabilities of an IEM. I was under the impression that smaller driver would mean more limitations, but from everyone's advice this doesn't seem to be the case. Thanks for the enlightenment!

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 2 2021, 09:34 AM)
Can try KZ iem first. Well known for it's good bass, and it's cheap too.
Thanks for the recommendation. Very new in IEM market so I'm not familiar with the brands, though i have heard good things about KZ. Will do more research. Thanks!
danny_sp15
post Nov 1 2021, 01:51 PM

==============
3,045 posts

If anyone is interested in trying planar headphones, the hifiman he-x4 is on sale at 99usd on Drop. At that price you can get it without being taxed.
danny_sp15
post Nov 1 2021, 02:13 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 1 2021, 02:09 PM)
this better buy compare to he-400i se international version? or the china version which is similarly priced.
Cant comment as I dont have one. Some reviews say they sound similar.
danny_sp15
post Nov 1 2021, 02:20 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 1 2021, 02:15 PM)
ok thanks.. i am in the market to look for a better heaphones, thinking of trying out planar magnetic type.
The offer generally lasts for a week, so likely until this Thursday. So plenty of time for you to read reviews and decide.
danny_sp15
post Nov 10 2021, 11:56 PM

==============
3,045 posts

HD650 is a steal!
danny_sp15
post Nov 23 2021, 03:08 PM

==============
3,045 posts

Good option for those looking for an office headset with good sound quality