Everything About Your Gigi, Anything related to teeth or dentistry

Batusai
post Sep 19 2024, 11:23 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Sep 18 2024, 04:10 PM)
Hi bro, wondering if you can give some insight of my case.
2 months ago, having intense pain, visited dental clinic and doctor said my upper left second molar is cracked/broken, but unsure how deep the crack is.
Doctor proceed with drilling some (as per picture attached) and did the filling. Was told after few days to weeks, when its totally no longer pain/sensitive then can consider to proceed with crowning.
Problem is, until now (exactly 2 month) sometime I still experience sensitive on the tooth (its not pain or merely 1 out of 10 pain, good thing is the intense pain I experienced beforehand is no longer there, and as of now i'm ok with hot/cold drink as well ) which causes I have yet to proceed with the crowning procedure. Could it be due to filling is too high and causes more stress on the filled tooth ?
Any recommendation how should I proceed with this. Thanks
the picture is not very clear to begin with and its no sufficient investigation for me to be sure whats going on.

When do you experience the sensitivity when it happens?

Most likely i'd suggest for you to check with the dentist, do a vitality test on the tooth and take an xray to verify that it is totally fine before proceed with crowning.

And if its just a small crack on the surface. maybe consider just a onlay coverage over the surface to prevent the crack to progress much further.
sheahann
post Sep 20 2024, 10:45 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 19 2024, 11:23 PM)
the picture is not very clear to begin with and its no sufficient investigation for me to be sure whats going on.

When do you experience the sensitivity when it  happens?

Most likely i'd suggest for you to check with the dentist, do a vitality test on the tooth and take an xray to verify that it is totally fine before proceed with crowning.

And if its just a small crack on the surface. maybe consider just a onlay coverage over the surface to prevent the crack to progress much further.
It happen 2 months ago after biting into some semi hard food. It causes my molar to crack and had intense pain. First visit doc did a filling and asked to go back after no longer feel sensitive to proceed with crown. But I dragged this for 2 months because the sensitivity come and go.

Ytd decided to follow up with doc, did x-ray and I guess inflammation show on the root and doc advised to go with RCT before crown. Today did the root canal and hope everything goes well then will proceed with crown

Second from right is the x-ray of the affected tooth

This is the picture after root canal which I did this morning. Can see there's a crack line

This post has been edited by sheahann: Sep 20 2024, 10:56 PM
Batusai
post Sep 22 2024, 10:14 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Sep 20 2024, 10:45 PM)
It happen 2 months ago after biting into some semi hard food. It causes my molar to crack and had intense pain. First visit doc did a filling and asked to go back after no longer feel sensitive to proceed with crown. But I dragged this for 2 months because the sensitivity come and go.

Ytd decided to follow up with doc, did x-ray and I guess inflammation show on the root and doc advised to go with RCT before crown. Today did the root canal and hope everything goes well then will proceed with crown

Second from right is the x-ray of the affected tooth
This is the picture after root canal which I did this morning. Can see there's a crack line
it does look like the tooth has got a inflammation lesion at the tip. Its the upper left second last tooth it seems.

Glad you went for an x-ray. hopefully the RCT resolves your issue. thumbup.gif
sheahann
post Sep 23 2024, 09:15 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 22 2024, 10:14 PM)
it does look like the tooth has got a inflammation lesion at the tip. Its the upper left second last tooth it seems.

Glad you went for an x-ray. hopefully the RCT resolves your issue.  thumbup.gif
Yeah,, 2nd day after RCT totally no sensitive already. This friday gonna complete the second session of RCT (i guess its just to replace the filling with permanent filling) and directly proceed with zirconia crown.
ragk
post Oct 5 2024, 05:58 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Just back from dental, doctor asked to get whitening toothpaste because that's always stains on my gigi.
Got sidetracked by other question, i forgot to ask about the details of the whitening toothpaste.
What kind of whitening toothpaste the doctor mean? The common toothpaste I bought from the stall did mentioned whitening function too, i guess that's not enough? What kind of specific toothpaste should i get and where can i buy them?
SupermanLick
post Oct 7 2024, 12:15 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Oct 5 2024, 05:58 PM)
Just back from dental, doctor asked to get whitening toothpaste because that's always stains on my gigi.
Got sidetracked by other question, i forgot to ask about the details of the whitening toothpaste.
What kind of whitening toothpaste the doctor mean? The common toothpaste I bought from the stall did mentioned whitening function too, i guess that's not enough? What kind of specific toothpaste should i get and where can i buy them?
Use toothpaste with grinder
Use toothpaste with microfiber cloth to wipe harder
Start with 120 grit toothpaste, final with some wax

SupermanLick
post Oct 7 2024, 12:17 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

What kind of specific toothpaste should i get and where can i buy them?
Nigga super white toothpaste, in shoppe

This post has been edited by SupermanLick: Oct 7 2024, 12:18 AM
joeylny
post Jan 30 2025, 08:14 AM

555 posts

Hi anyone have any dentist to recommend that are good with young kids 3+ n 5 + ? Is there any pediatric dentist to recommend ?thanks in advance.
heinlein
post Jan 31 2025, 10:43 AM

1,788 posts

did you get to buy any good whitening toothpaste that works?
popice2u
post Feb 2 2025, 11:30 AM

1,337 posts

i have swollen gum, not painful. dentist ask to do root canal
Batusai
post Feb 2 2025, 05:16 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Feb 2 2025, 11:30 AM)
i have swollen gum, not painful. dentist ask to do root canal
did your dentist take any x-rays for do proper examination on the tooth before advising you for a root canal?

swollen and bleeding gums can indicate gum issues.

but if the issue originate from the tooth itself, it can cause swelling due to abscess buildup too.

popice2u
post Feb 2 2025, 08:07 PM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Feb 2 2025, 05:16 PM)
did your dentist take any x-rays for do proper examination on the tooth before advising you for a root canal?

swollen and bleeding gums can indicate gum issues.

but if the issue originate from the tooth itself, it can cause swelling due to abscess buildup too.
yes x-ray taken. either do root canal or inplant
ragk
post Feb 3 2025, 06:19 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 31 2025, 10:43 AM)
did you get to buy any good whitening toothpaste that works?
not really biggrin.gif
My dental appointment is next week, i can check with my dentist if they complain again XD
heinlein
post Feb 3 2025, 06:22 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Feb 3 2025, 06:19 PM)
not really  biggrin.gif
My dental appointment is next week, i can check with my dentist if they complain again XD
I just see dentist 2 days ago because of coffee stain on my teeth
Batusai
post Feb 4 2025, 10:37 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Feb 2 2025, 08:07 PM)
yes x-ray taken. either do root canal or inplant
implant is really the final option if the tooth is non salvagable. if the tooth is still restorable, would suggest for you to do a root canal first .
WinkyJr
post Feb 4 2025, 11:40 AM

430 posts

will gum recession result in tooth loss even if he practices good oral hygiene afterward?
how severe does it have to be before it causes tooth loss?
are there any other methods to restore the gums and cover back the teeth? laugh.gif
Aaron212
post Feb 4 2025, 11:44 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Feb 4 2025, 07:40 AM)
will gum recession result in tooth loss even if he practices good oral hygiene afterward?
are there any other methods to restore the gums and cover back the teeth?  laugh.gif
tooth loss relating highly to mobility

which is when the bone around ur tooth getting less n less

so go check with dentist n ask for treatment options

there are ways to restore ur gum ( aka pull back up the gum line to make it not so ugly)

but better consult

and not all dentists knows how to do it
popice2u
post Feb 4 2025, 11:57 AM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Feb 4 2025, 10:37 AM)
implant is really the final option if the tooth is non salvagable. if the tooth is still restorable, would suggest for you to do a root canal first .
read that many against root canal......and if not properly clean will caused more issues.
Batusai
post Feb 4 2025, 02:20 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Feb 4 2025, 11:57 AM)
read that many against root canal......and if not properly clean will caused more issues.
only the latter is problematic, therefore many are against it as a lot of dentist dont do a proper job with root canal.

For peace of mind do check if your dentist is okay to deal with root canal or seek specialist for your root canal job.

implant has its own set of problems if not done properly, but the issues comes on usually few years after using the implant.

This post has been edited by Batusai: Feb 4 2025, 02:25 PM
Batusai
post Feb 4 2025, 02:24 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Feb 4 2025, 11:40 AM)
are there any other methods to restore the gums and cover back the teeth?  laugh.gif
It depends on why the recession is happening.

Could you be brushing tooth hard?

or are you have gum problems which are causing the recession, it usually comes along with bleeding gums and swollen gums which leads to bone loss that is supporting the tooth itself.

Usually when bone loss happens, it will be hardly reversible. Unless you do some bone grafting and then a gum grafting to better protect whatever remaining bone around the tooth.

Best to check with a dentist who is experienced with gum issues. A specialist for gums would be periodontist.

51 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 >Top

0.0274sec    1.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:33 AM