7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Proton Iriz Club V1, Launched today 25/9/14

ruffstuff
post Sep 27 2014, 10:52 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 27 2014, 10:38 AM)
it is just a heavily campro with VVT slapped in and tons of upgraded (strengthened) components. Good part is, thanks to the VVT system, power delivery is no longer rough. It feels linear. Even the revs is now smoother compared to other Campros. Still makes the same droning noise though.

If you check the plate on the driver's side, you can see the engine code is still S4PE/S4PH
Yep.. S4PH. They want to call it new engine also no problem because it is actually new in the family.

Anyway.. Premium Silver moon dust reporting in.
ruffstuff
post Sep 27 2014, 10:52 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 27 2014, 09:01 AM)
The 1.3 and 1.6 powerplant is the old Campro engine in VVT configuration?

If yes then its sad.. A nice looking car spoilt by an old rough engine.
Base is still S4PH. But it is much smooother than campro. Lot of things changed. brows.gif
ruffstuff
post Sep 27 2014, 10:56 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 27 2014, 10:52 AM)
No wonder proton try their best not to associate Campro name with Iriz. More apparent when proton can't name the engine when in fact it already has a name ?
It is a good thing anyway. It was initially refer to NFE. But as for marketing strategy, they want to disassociate from the existing campro. They want to have good feel, totally new feel of the car. So might as well use simple marketing term.. VVT. And it works. Most people don't know proton already had vvt but now seems very surprise of it. laugh.gif
ruffstuff
post Oct 11 2014, 10:50 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Oct 11 2014, 08:38 AM)
Overall the iriz interior still ntg much to shout, quality and touches still dont impress me. Parts still feel abit cheap although it has improved over the preve. Aircond knob,steering and signal stalk, buttons still feels very cheap the moment u use it. The materials you touch feels on the cheap side. The door shutting has improved and this time proton able to get it right with similar japanese cars but can be better in terms of consistency. Myvi although its full wid plastics but the feel of the interior is better. The only thing that impress me is the active and passive safety frm the car. Interior feel? Meh😏
What impress me is you said myvi interior feel better. doh.gif
ruffstuff
post Oct 26 2014, 04:19 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(adijb @ Oct 26 2014, 01:55 PM)
Booked 1.3 CVT Exec. Loan approved. SA said can get end of Nov. Does anyone know whether this is realistic or not? Don't want to set such high hopes if not realistic.
1.3 CVT is not in the production line up yet. Don't give high hope.
ruffstuff
post Oct 31 2014, 05:15 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Oct 31 2014, 04:21 PM)
*Enjoy the new fun of driving while risking yourself to accident*
Are you referring to the Android HU or what?
ruffstuff
post Nov 4 2014, 03:25 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 4 2014, 03:17 PM)
I see Axia more than Iriz. doh.gif
Axia will be more than iriz due to different segment. Axia is like 3 years old car. Production/tooling all already familiar.

Iriz on the other hand is new car entirely. Freshly cook from the oven. brows.gif
ruffstuff
post Nov 4 2014, 03:53 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Nov 4 2014, 03:36 PM)
dun give excuses ... later this global car.. really got success 1,000,000 booking from international i see how they gonna come out that car...  laugh.gif
Production will struggle for first few months. Once everything already familiar, should be ok.

You can't experience anything freshly cook from the oven from non-proton, so you cannot experienced that from them. Unless you live in the originated country of the car manufacturer which first being released, it should be common.

Just lucky few countries can experience something like this. Those countries who actually manufactured and designed their own cars.

ruffstuff
post Nov 4 2014, 05:42 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(airspeeder @ Nov 4 2014, 05:02 PM)
i believe most customers just want their car as soon as possible.. they dont know/care about how the new car is hard to produce.. some of them already sold their previous car.. i can imagine what will customers feel if they can only receive their car at the end of december.. iriz production should've started way before the launching date.

i hope this is not another missed opportunity for proton.. the car was superb but waiting period turn ppl off.. they already lost a customer here..

lucky i still have my proton savvy with me..
If they like the Iriz, they wait for it. If people can wait 4 years, what is another few month. If they cannot wait, they should have not book the iriz, or just wait until the production stabilize.

The production can only start when it is ready, or you can delay the launch date just to make it the production ready. Normal lah new car, if new car Honda city is design and produce here for the first batch also got delay few months. Even axia also have trouble with their delivery even though the production line up already mature.
ruffstuff
post Nov 6 2014, 10:05 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Nov 6 2014, 09:34 AM)
It does sound legit. Proton may have heard of the complaints about the CVT (jerking, too lazy to rev). They may have decided to change the mapping to something more endearing to Malaysians. They did this to the early Preve, where the eco-centric mapping was changed to a more Exora-like mapping. The jerk was much less after that. The resultant mapping was like a hybrid between D mode and S mode.

But the SA could also be bluffing  shakehead.gif
lol almost years of testing, they didn't heard the CVT noise? I don't think much can be done on the tuning anymore. The SA could be bluffing.
ruffstuff
post Nov 6 2014, 10:43 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Nov 6 2014, 10:37 AM)
It is not the noise. In the original Preve mapping, even when you jam the throttle in D mode, the car will rev only to 3000 rpm. Only after 60 kph would the car be able to rev to the redline. If you need max acceleration, you need to go into S mode. I found myself use S mode quite often in the original mapping. After the new mapping, the car can rev to the redline even at low speeds in D mode.

In the original mapping there was minimal clutch slip at low speeds thus causing jerking like when you are in 1st gear and clutch pedal fully released. In the new mapping it feels like at slow speed the car in is 2nd gear (I'm paraphrasing to make it familiar to those who are new to CVT) thus minimising the jerk.

From the comments here, I found similar traits in Iriz CVT to the original Preve mapping.
If that really true, how can the engineer don't even notice it? Until feedback from reviewer and test drive then only they notice? Didn't the Preve/Exora CVT mapping already a reference to them on what malaysian want?

I doubt it. Not doubting the CVT issue, but the delay because of updating to new ECU.
ruffstuff
post Nov 7 2014, 05:22 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Nov 7 2014, 04:36 PM)
is not about Malaysian... since they call this a GLOBAL car... they should have think of average height of mat salleh lol... lets see when it hit UK market... see the review and how many ppl buy it  hmm.gif
what about other b segment hatch? I think this problem is universal. Unless you do something like the axia, shorter back seat and slim front seat.
ruffstuff
post Nov 7 2014, 08:36 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Nov 7 2014, 07:06 PM)
thumbup.gif
wow, very detailed explanations..
seems proton need to work very hard to achieve the goal of truly global car..
i wish proton dont leave out engine department la..

should proton fc improved better, i would have buy one instead of axia..
days are tough, fuel price keep increase, minister say wont turun..

sweat.gif
Proton savvy FC is around axia. Got malaysia book of records some more.
ruffstuff
post Nov 7 2014, 08:38 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Nov 7 2014, 08:37 PM)
but that was renault engine  doh.gif
what's wrong with renault engine? hmm.gif
ruffstuff
post Nov 11 2014, 12:49 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(denzel5007 @ Nov 11 2014, 12:38 PM)
Possible proton saga 3 in July next year?
It's a hoax made by theopilus chin.
ruffstuff
post Nov 11 2014, 01:22 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Nov 11 2014, 12:56 PM)
I thought I saw that is Toyota Vios blink.gif
It is HAIMA M3.

ruffstuff
post Nov 14 2014, 07:45 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Nov 14 2014, 07:04 PM)
dun understand
you'll get a snack plate if the 1.3 iriz cvt FC is better than ongoing campro 1.3 cvt found in saga.
ruffstuff
post Nov 18 2014, 12:49 PM

3,345 posts

Anyone who got their car allocated and going to be registered before 30 Nov, i have a voucher you can use to get some discount.

Make sure you already have car allocated and registered before 30 Nov. I sell this voucher RM100.

ruffstuff
post Nov 18 2014, 02:11 PM

3,345 posts

Anyway, those who want a ready car 1.6 premium white, got one available at Putrajaya dealer. The original owner cancel. Got RM450 discount.
ruffstuff
post Nov 18 2014, 05:34 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Nov 18 2014, 03:09 PM)
Not much too say right now, need to drive the car more. what i can say now is that the engine roar is quite prominent. cvt whine is not as bad as some might suggest. brakes are a bit "mushy", have to press it a wee bit more for it to kick in. mileage too early to say at the moment..
yup, smoke the chrome grill or just black it out + gloss black roof vinyl.. i've actually photoshopped a pic.. i'll upload once i get home.
i got it done at pro-gard.. was a free gift. so can't really complain much lol..
I kinda like the silver finish on the grill rather than chrome.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:53 PM