13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

TSKrisMas
post Nov 30 2015, 09:26 AM

QUOTE(vknight @ Nov 29 2015, 04:51 PM)
I am new to.this thread. May have been discussed before. Does anyone has any experience with 22ple glass coating? Thanks
I do...I've used VX1, VX1 Pro, VM1 & VS1. What do you want to know? Ask away.....

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Nov 29 2015, 11:33 PM)
I am planning to get an entry level machine like Bosch GEX125AE for some light / minor polishing and mostly on maintenance (waxing purpose). Is this machine suitable for beginner? Any other options?
The Bosch is good enough...good for what it's worth. Better machines are available but it'll cost you over RM500 (excluding pads).

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Nov 30 2015, 02:13 AM)
You guys know where can buy Lake Country of Rupes pads?
Lake Country pads can get at Osren. Megs pad can get at Megs HQ at USJ or Klang, or their other branches. I also see them selling at ACE Hardware. Only here in LYN also got.
TSKrisMas
post Nov 30 2015, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(vknight @ Nov 30 2015, 09:33 AM)
I heard VX1 Pro2 has a very good shine. Whats the price like for this and where can I get this coating done? Thanks
To me the shine/gloss is good, but looks depends on personal perspectives but I like it. Still like the looks of traditional wax better tho..... tongue.gif

Not sure which detailing centre uses the 22ple, maybe somebody else can chip in on that. I DIY my own cars and bought the product frm SG...a few years back it cost me close to rm350 for a 30ml bottle.
TSKrisMas
post Nov 30 2015, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(windskill @ Nov 30 2015, 10:59 AM)
May i know about the durability of the 22ple coating?
Again...very subjective and depending on how well your maintenance regime is. On my personal car, I think it's still there (still shows signs of good beadings) on the top parts of vertical panels and also the front bumper after 3 years. The horizontal panels are dead (beadings still there but veryt weak/flat) at around 2 years after application.
TSKrisMas
post Dec 1 2015, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Nov 30 2015, 11:47 PM)
What better machines out there are available for the RM500+ budget that you mentioned?

Does Meguairs make 5.5" pads? Because the Bosch machine is 5", so I am guessing that using 5.5" pads would be ideal? As for LYN here got sell, where ar? I tried looking at Garage sales, but cannot find.
Yeah...for the Bosch, I like using the 5" ~ 5.5" pads too. But unfortunately Meguiars doesn't make 5.5" pads. The older version of their Soft Buff pads (W7006, W8006, W9006) are 6.5" and the one in current production the Soft Buff 2.0 pads are 7". If you're looking for 5.5" pads you'd need to look for other brands like Lake Country, Buff and Shine, 3M or Sonax. I kinda like the ones from Sonax cuz the foam are stiffer and more suitable for DA/Orbital machine use. There may be others but these are the ones that I know selling in Malaysia. You can try searching online for them.

The *around* RM500 machine I was talking about is a knock-off of the Ultramate (from Osren) or DAS 6 DA polisher that I had the opportunity to try. It's quite a decent machine (for a knock-off) and good enough for personal (DIY) use. I think somebody here bought it before...maybe the owner could chime in. Ultramate (which is the equivalent of DAS-6 Pro), if I'm not mistaken is selling for close to RM700 at Osren (Please somebody do correct me if I'm wrong cuz I haven't been 'window shopping' for detailing products for a while now).
TSKrisMas
post Dec 1 2015, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 1 2015, 10:58 AM)
QUOTE(vx55 @ Dec 1 2015, 12:33 PM)
Goes to show how long I've been away from the scene......hahaha....

Since when did Megs came out with those smaller pads? And they're available locally now? How's the price like?
TSKrisMas
post Dec 2 2015, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Dec 1 2015, 11:18 PM)
I am still torn between spending RM380 for the Bosch GEX125-1 AE or to spend RM1000 on a DA. Any of you guys got any cheap DA to recommend?

I am just a beginner with 1 red 1 year old car.
Depending on what you intend to use the machine for. The Bosch would be good enough for *light* polishing, paint cleaning and waxing. For heavier corrections like removing swirls, light scratches and the like, a DA would be more suitable. And by suitable, I meant it would save you the effort and time required. The Bosch could still be able to do it albeit in longer time and would require more efforts.
TSKrisMas
post Dec 3 2015, 08:27 AM

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Dec 2 2015, 07:19 PM)
Krismas, if i were to get GEX125-1 AE, what pad should i be getting for waxing purpose and light waxing purpose?  smile.gif
The following or something equivalent to the following:
1. Polishing - Sonax White Polishing pad (160mm) or Lake Country White pad (5.5").
2. Waxing - Sonax Black/Grey Finishing pad (160mm) or Lake Country Black Finishing pad (5.5")

I'd also suggest, if possible, you get at least one of the harder and more aggressive heavy polishing pad just in case you'd need to do some heavier corrections. Sonax Yellow, Lake Country Orange or 3M Green.

QUOTE(stevensteady @ Dec 3 2015, 07:29 AM)
Any compound recommended for da machine to remove light swirl?
I'd say, if you can afford, the Meguiars twin - Megs Ultimate Compound and Megs Ultimate Polish. Both are decent enough compound and polish for beginner and intermediate enthusiasts.
TSKrisMas
post Dec 3 2015, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Dec 3 2015, 11:51 AM)
Guys, help me decide, planning to buy drying towel. Mostly for ONRing wash. Which is recommended?

★ 2pcs Meguiar’s Water Magnet Microfiber Drying Towel
★ Cobra Supreme Guzzler Waffle Weave, 20" x 40 "

Both price the same, only quantity of Meg is 2 instead of 1 Cobra.
My experience - the Cobra is more durable (and better quality).
TSKrisMas
post Dec 3 2015, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Dec 3 2015, 12:02 PM)
Thank bro KrisMas, so better have one good one than 2 lousy. So off we go with the Cobra Supreme Guzzler Waffle Weave, 20" x 40 "
Might I suggest another alternative to consider.....Osren's drying cloth 60cm x 180cm. My personal opinion is that it is quite a value-for-money drying cloth. I have a few of them and it works surprisingly well for the price thumbup.gif

Osren Drying Cloth 60cm x 180cm

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Dec 3 2015, 12:49 PM
TSKrisMas
post Dec 4 2015, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Dec 3 2015, 01:49 PM)
How much is it?
Can't remember correctly...but I think it's around RM30-ish for a piece (maybe RM45 at the most...) ....but that was a few of years back when they first brought the cloths in. Bought a few so would last me for a while before getting them again. Still have one unopened cuz seemed like it's quite durable too. Lasted around a year before I opened a new one. And even then, it didn't really deteriorate to the point of non-usable. I opened a new one just because I re-did my car so brand new drying cloth is a must everytime I do that (FYI I wash my car, two of them, *almost* every weekend). Shoot them an email...they should be able to give you the latest price.

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Dec 3 2015, 03:06 PM)
Thanks bro.  smile.gif
By the way, since you are using Osren drying cloth, may I know which one would be the better choice between their chamois and weaver cloth? I am using their chamois but feel that it is a bit fragile, it gets stretched to some irregular shape after I squeeze the water out, so I wonder how long this chamois can last.
I never did like chamois. Have a few from various brands, including the ones from Autoglym, Meguiars and Sonax. Not comfortable using them. Also have quite a few waffle weaves from various brands like Cobra, Duragloss, etc. They're good...I like them....but the fibres tends to get a little 'stiff' after a few months of usage. Actually, my favourite is the open-nap Dodo Juice drying cloth but it cost A BOMB!! So, that's why my personal opinion is that Osren's one is currently best-bang-for-bucks.

The large (60cm x 180cm) vs the small (30cm x 60cm) Osren's drying cloth.

Some of the others. The HUGE white one is frm Dodo Juice

TSKrisMas
post Dec 4 2015, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Dec 4 2015, 09:44 AM)
You guys got any Teh Tarik session? I have a lot to learn from you sifus. My problem is I do not know what can or cannot be bought in Malaysia. I read a lot online but not all of them are available. Even if they are available, I do not know where to get them.
Haven't had one for quite a while now....well...not that I'm aware of Anyway. Maybe you can call for one. I can try to get Osren, Sonax, Dodo Juice, IGreen, or some other reps to come over if you want.... tongue.gif

Hrrrmm....comes to think of it....maybe I can list down links to online shops that sells them in the 1st page....the authorised ones, of course. Wonder whether that would be against the forum rules....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Dec 4 2015, 10:10 AM
TSKrisMas
post Dec 4 2015, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(benson92 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:10 AM)
a lot of spider webs on the paint now..polish or wax will do? or repaint doh.gif
Repaint only when the damages are irrecoverable or too costly to correct/polish. Try to retain the original paint as far as you can. They are better quality than *normal* repaint...unless you can afford the proper good/better ones....
TSKrisMas
post Dec 4 2015, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(radiancephil @ Dec 4 2015, 10:45 AM)
YES! That would definitely help the newbies a lot if you can list down all the online shops and also the normal shops which are recommended and has a variety of products.
I'll need to check with the admin for the regulations, terms and conditions.....
TSKrisMas
post Dec 4 2015, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(vknight @ Dec 4 2015, 04:03 PM)
Hi

Anyone used cloth based clay before? I think under Optimum brand..thanks
Clay cloth had been around even before Optimum put one under their product line. I've used the one from Osren before and also another one that's call a clay block - which utilise the same rubber polymer but it's bonded to a stiff foam/sponge instead of a cloth.
TSKrisMas
post Dec 8 2015, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(vknight @ Dec 4 2015, 08:58 PM)
Does it do a good.job compared to normal claying? Thanks
Sorry for the late reply....been away. First and foremost, the clay cloth makes a quick job of claying. It takes about the same time as washing a car as oppose to *maybe* an hour with a traditional clay. Effective....yes. Does it do a good job....yes. I haven't tried too many clay cloth/block (nor did I do a lot of claying) to really make a conclusive comments, but from my limited usage, the clay cloth that I tried was quite aggressive and would leave some hazing/marring that would require at least a mild polishing afterwards (maybe it's just due to my techniques); and the clay block was a bit milder but a little stiff (the foam backing) and I was having some minor problem claying charp curves, small and intricate areas. I do have a few types of traditional clays from aggresive, medium and mild strength, I'm still comfortable in using them as compared to the clay cloth. But, again, it'll take some time if I were to clay one whole car so, in term of speed, the clay cloth/block wins.
QUOTE(vknight @ Dec 5 2015, 04:07 PM)
Any idea where can buy a clay mitt? I saw the Anti rain for RM80...anything else recommended?

Osren also have it at about the same price (I think la....hiihi).
TSKrisMas
post Dec 9 2015, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 9 2015, 04:38 PM)
So I got myself a bottle of Turtle Wax Zip wax. It's a wash+wax solution. Instructions ask me to use warm water but if I use cold water, what would happen?
Doesn't say anything about using warm water in the instructions at their WEBSITE.... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSKrisMas
post Dec 30 2015, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(windskill @ Dec 29 2015, 11:31 AM)
Anyone knows where to get DeWalt DWP849x in Malaysia?
I've seen plenty of them around in hardware shops that sells DeWalt...price could defer and should cost you on the high side of RM600 but shouldn't reach RM700.

Congrats on the new car.

I just want to add a few words only in addition to all the good advice above.....

1. Work Clean - anything that touches the car paint must be as clean as you can get it cleaned. Eg. when washing the car, wring off the cloth to force out those dirt that you've just 'wiped' off the car so that it won't go back onto the surface of the paint to minimise wash-induced swirls (scratch).

2. If you want to apply anything onto the car, be it onto the paintwork (wax/sealant), glass (water repellants), plastic (dressings), leather (protectant) etc., the rule of thumb is SURFACE PREPARATION. Get the surface as clean or as defect free as you possibly can, then only you apply anything onto it. This would ensure the effectiveness and performance of the products applied.

3. For detailing products, in general, the 'good-things-don't-come-cheap' quotes applies..... tongue.gif . Do look for, at the very least, products from a well established brands like Soft99, Turtle Wax, etc. If you can afford, try to consider the other 'better' brands like Meguiars, Sonax, Mothers, 3M, etc. My suggestion for a decenet enough brands to start off are those from Osren.

Cheerio

TSKrisMas
post Dec 30 2015, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 30 2015, 03:42 PM)
.... Save the rest of my cash for ICE in March... LOL...
I hope the 'ICE' you mentioned has got something to do with either diamonds or entertainment system cuz the liquid type is a total waste of money and the paste is OVERLY over-priced for it's quality.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSKrisMas
post Dec 31 2015, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Dec 30 2015, 10:02 PM)
Just a question, if waxing by hand, does circular motion or straight line motion matter? Which gives better result? Viewing guide from auto geek and what they do is in straight line motion.
If not done properly, stop-go (straight line) motion would leave access (thicker) layer at the point where you change (reverse) direction. Some waxes *could* be difficult to buff if applied too thick. Circular motion is continuous, less chance for it to happen. I prefer circular motion for wax/sealant application and straight line motion for spot polishing/compounding.
TSKrisMas
post Dec 31 2015, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Dec 31 2015, 04:31 PM)
Polish will remove the stain but it won't protect it from staining again. You'd need to put on a layer of 'protection' after polishing - wax or sealants. Just a note: I use the term 'protect' very loosely. By protection I mean the wax/sealant would provide a 'temporary' sacrificial layer of protection against stain/contaminant/etc. sticking to the paint....like putting foundations on the face before putting on make-up so that you can easily wash it off...I know...I know...not a great analogy but...err...you get the point..... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0244sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:47 AM