[V25] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

quovadis123
post Sep 5 2014, 05:02 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 5 2014, 04:54 PM)
Forget CC and BB.

KBK Mummy 2 is the thing now! I was fortunate to get in on his 2nd sale; missed out the first one. So sad...

Here are PolterGeist and IceGeist. BEAUTIFUL!

What is the fortunate price for this PolterGeist and IceGeist?
quovadis123
post Sep 5 2014, 05:11 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 5 2014, 05:06 PM)
I got it at retail. Both of them for us$35 (Pol=$15; Ice=$20) plus $7 shipping. Affordable right? The Mummy 2 is really beautiful and very detailed and solid. And IceGeist is triple-shot; PolterGeist is doubleshot. REALLY NICEEEEE!
Ya.. It's more reasonable compared to cc. smile.gif
At least cheaper than HHKB keyboard itself. laugh.gif
quovadis123
post Sep 5 2014, 05:22 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 5 2014, 05:12 PM)
hahahaha... yeah, cheaper than the HHKB blanks key cap set!
Ya. It's about the price of tri-color cc last time.
Link provided: http://elitekeyboards.com/products.php?sub...d=cf5f_sku_3blk
quovadis123
post Sep 5 2014, 05:28 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(plurbuddyskuppy @ Sep 5 2014, 05:27 PM)
hai all bros, im going for buy mkb tonite.
im going lowyat mall.
budget 400.
any suggestion. im prefer chery blue one. because got click sound. brows.gif
filco Majestouch 2 TKL.
quovadis123
post Sep 5 2014, 11:09 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(schokolade @ Sep 5 2014, 10:58 PM)
I havent started making a keycap yet..however I've started making something else...its CNC ready, but I just wanna do some design adjustments coz what I made looks almost like a TEX alu case.

but here's a sneak peak at what I've done..just a quick rendering. tongue.gif

based on the pic here, the case has exactly the same measurements to fit a poker 2 case...what I plan on doing is to find a suitable local manufacturer to machine a good quality aluminum block.

still needs some tweaking, but at least there's progress.
Do you want to form a dream team on building a new custom keyboard?
dadude may interested.. thumbup.gif
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 08:23 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 05:22 AM)
For those who just bought their HHKB from Amazon JP, how much is the total cost and what kind of proxy did you use? Also, how long does it take to arrive on doorstep?
Less than RM800 to your doorstep.
~5 - 7 business day to reach your doorstep.
You want to get HHKB? laugh.gif

QUOTE(plurbuddyskuppy @ Sep 6 2014, 03:15 AM)
tq u all. i just bought razer blackwidow ultimate 2014.

My condolence. I tot you want to get a proper keyboard w/ mx cherry blue.
Do you even know your keyboard using cloned switch?

Please don't thank us, it's an insult to us when we recommend Filco and yet you bought a Razer.

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Sep 6 2014, 08:29 AM
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 09:16 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 09:12 AM)
Yeah, rather than forking out RM1k+ for a custom ergo clear, I might as well try a HHKB and most probably 55g mod it. What proxy did you use?
Tenso.
HHKB ~21900yen, HHKB type-S 29800yen.
Some people like type-S, some people like normal edition. wub.gif
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 09:39 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 09:34 AM)
Really tempted to buy the type-S, but the normal version+o rings and lube might be even cheaper and yield a probably even result. Do you use Paypal or CC on Tenso? I wonder if they charge Paypal fees, it might even more expensive.
normal version + o-ring?
You must be kidding me and even look down on HHKB type-S. The housing of type-S is different from normal.

I use cc.
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 09:49 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 09:46 AM)
After watching several sound video on comparison of both dental banded normal and type S, I just prefer the normal version. Also I don't think the extra price is worth it. So, I guess waiting for a day to verify my identification on Tenso is normal?
Yup. It's normal for a day for identification verification.
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 11:30 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:21 AM)
Yeah, gonna try to make a 55g HHKB. The only thing that I'm worry about is probably the layout which will be pretty difficult to get used to.
Why you want to mod 45g to 55g hhkb?
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 11:37 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:34 AM)
Because I really like my 87U 55g and probably think that the 45g is a tad lighter to my liking and the 87U is a bit bulky to bring to places. I might end up selling the mix 45g 55g realforce if I'm liking the 55g HHKB
Maybe still wait you get your HHKB first only you will know which you like.
Some people like 45g more than 55g.
Depends on your own pref.

I like my MX brown Filco more than my HHKB and Novatouch. sweat.gif
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 11:52 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:42 AM)
Not intending to compare both switch, I just afraid that I might end up not liking the switch after forking so much cash on it. I actually was planning to go for custom but after getting used to the Topre, maybe next time.
Yup, I'm gonna play with the 45g first, who knows I might actually prefer the lighter weight.
Since you will be getting another keyboard (HHKB), what you claimed that end game for 1st keyboard is not valid anymore. sweat.gif
Welcome to the curse path of mkb. thumbup.gif
Only strong ppl will can ends the game. wub.gif
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 12:06 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(nemesis94 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:54 AM)
Yeah, I knew that the statement would be wrong when I buy my first Mech.  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  . I guess my end game right now would probably be a Korean custom or maybe my 55g HHKB with tons of Clacks and Bros.  tongue.gif
Erm.. I don't think you can end game, honestly. yawn.gif
Really think you can't end.
end of story.

Note: You can quote this post back after you really end the game with your "future" Korean custom.
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 06:08 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(SetsunaFSeiei Exia00 @ Sep 6 2014, 05:31 PM)
How do you guys store your keycaps?
Store in a box.
quovadis123
post Sep 6 2014, 11:24 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

Picture of the night

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Sep 6 2014, 11:38 PM
quovadis123
post Sep 7 2014, 09:53 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

Not give a damn on first world issue and cont' post my picture of the day

quovadis123
post Sep 7 2014, 10:14 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(rifles @ Sep 7 2014, 09:49 AM)
Want to ask sifu here..Actually i'm new to mechanical keyboard. I've read the 1st page about the differences about switches.
I'm looking for the switches which is quiet when i press the key, is it the MX black switches should i look for?
Whats the meaning of tactile?
linear switch (red, black) and tactile (brown) are also quite silent switches.

Tactile = you will experience a bump upon reach the actuation force.

Take a look at both MX Black (linear) and MX Brown (tactile). You will notice MX Brown (tactile), "pin" moved 2 times when the switch is pressed.
The tactile bump/feedback notify the keyboard user the key is pressed.
So, tactile switch is good for typing use.
user posted imageuser posted image
quovadis123
post Sep 7 2014, 11:01 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 7 2014, 09:15 AM)
But the blank white keys or printed white keys on a black case is very beautiful!
You might as well order the caps and save shipping cost smile.gif

White blanks really beautiful.
Do you type on the cc keycaps? Frequent type on cc?

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Sep 7 2014, 11:17 AM
quovadis123
post Sep 7 2014, 11:24 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(rifles @ Sep 7 2014, 11:21 AM)
thx for the video sharing. So linear should be the one i look for.
Ya. Either Linear like Red or Black or soft Tactile like Brown are also quiet.
Black is heavier version of linear switch. If you want lighter version, then choose for Red.
Preferable, you go and test the switch in store first, to see which you prefer more.
quovadis123
post Sep 7 2014, 11:44 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 7 2014, 11:39 AM)
Keycaps arrived few days ago.

Btw I would say BSP is the same as Cherry OG, please don't follow the GHer saying.
Most of them, I bet, never tried to compare and start to blindly saying, or maybe for the sake of following OGness.
Pure bullshit.

I buy, I try, I speak.
shocking.gif Original Cherry PBT. wub.gif
So much love.
Me poorfag HHKB user, only can use cheap stocked keycaps. sweat.gif
Luckily, got Novatouch, next time can try on these kinds of keycaps.
Novatouch FTW. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:20 PM