8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Kop Talk 2014, Liv 3-0 Spurs | Moreno SOLO RUN & GOAL

Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 12:43 AM

128 posts

Awww APOEL has just made Group F less interesting. Putting Roma in there would be fun!

This post has been edited by Cloud0890: Aug 29 2014, 12:43 AM
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 12:53 AM

128 posts

Early SPI projections:
A: Atletico Madrid (83.9% to advance), Juventus (67.7)
B: Real Madrid (98.8%), Liverpool (74.5%)
C: Benfica (66.9%), Leverkusen (64.0%)
D: Dortmund (80.8%), Arsenal (69.5%)
E: Bayern (90.6%), Man City (72.4%)
F: Barcelona (96.0%), PSG (86.7%)
G: Chelsea (91.0%), Schalke (64.0%)
H: Shakhtar (63.5%), Athletic Club (60.8%)
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 12:55 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Yluxion @ Aug 29 2014, 12:52 AM)
but then group f is Barca + PSG. What clashes Liverpool would cause?
What it means is Liverpool has to make way for clubs that would otherwise clash with those in groups other than F.
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 12:57 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Nasri8 @ Aug 29 2014, 12:53 AM)
when i check their tered, dunno to laugh or feel sad liao laugh.gif
Shhhh, inb4 they call you ABU.
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 01:01 AM

128 posts

Feels weird seeing just ONE Italian representative in the CL these days. Germany and even France are better than them now. How sad...
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 01:05 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(bitebug @ Aug 29 2014, 01:03 AM)
Roma, Juventus
2 ma
Ah yes but I don't see Roma going through in that group. tongue.gif Whereas Monaco's Group C is up for grabs!
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 01:14 AM

128 posts

A: Atletico Madrid (83.9% to advance), Juventus (67.7)
B: Real Madrid (98.8%), Liverpool (74.5%)
C: Benfica (66.9%), Leverkusen (64.0%)
D: Dortmund (80.8%), Arsenal (69.5%)
E: Bayern (90.6%), Man City (72.4%)
F: Barcelona (96.0%), PSG (86.7%)
G: Chelsea (91.0%), Schalke (64.0%)
H: Shakhtar (63.5%), Athletic Club (60.8%)

If everyone were to advance as according to the statistics here then we will be facing Atletico/Benfica/Dortmund/Bayern/Barcelona/Shakhtar.
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 06:16 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Aug 29 2014, 02:29 AM)
Present for me. 2009 squad is one of the worst RM team I know. Transition period.
Even a "bad" Madrid team had Robben, Sneijder, Cannavaro, Higuain, Ramos, Marcelo - not too bad compared to the rest of the competition while Liverpool had Dossena, Babel, Spearing, Riera, Benayoun. It's just that their manager at the time, Juande Ramos, was just bad.

By the way guys, this happened during Legia Warsaw's game. notworthy.gif

Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 10:41 PM

128 posts

"For sure this is another stage in which I will learn things -- I have the fortune to have great coaches, Carlo, [Jose] Mourinho, [Manuel] Pellegrini, and also my father was a coach. My way of playing as a midfielder you must understand the game tactically. This is another opportunity. You take something from all your coaches." - Xabi Alonso

Lol still holding a grudge towards Rafa. tongue.gif
Cloud0890
post Aug 29 2014, 11:30 PM

128 posts

UEFA has confirmed that, under new proposals, the top eight seeds would comprise of the defending Champions League winners along with the seven domestic league winners of the top-ranked UEFA nations.

Initial talks over the seeding system took place earlier this year, and the plans were approved by the club competitions committee in May.

UEFA president Michel Platini, and other top officials, hope the new rules will prevent defending league champions seeded lower than other teams from their country.

Chelsea and Arsenal were both in pot one in this month's draw and seeded higher than Premier League holders Manchester City.

The new rules would prevent top-ranked domestic champions from being drawn in the same group.

Had the rules been introduced this season it would have meant Manchester City were placed in pot one.

The plan needs approval from the UEFA Executive Committee before it can be introduced but it is hoped it would take effect from next season.

UEFA's next Executive Committee meeting takes place on September 18 in Nyon.

UEFA has also confirmed to Sky Sports News HQ that it has received no complaints from any club involved in the Champions League this season following Thursday's draw in Monaco.
Cloud0890
post Aug 30 2014, 09:03 AM

128 posts

Liverpool centre-back Daniel Agger is set to complete a move back to his first club Brondby before Monday's transfer deadline.

The Danish Superliga club's chairman Jan Bech Andersen confirmed on Aug. 1 that he wanted to sign Agger. Sources have told ESPN FC that they are on the verge of agreeing a deal with Liverpool for the 29-year-old.

Agger, 29, has struggled to maintain his spot under manager Brendan Rodgers but the news of his return to Brondby -- for the cut-price fee of 3 million pounds -- will come as a shock to the Anfield faithful.

Agger has been unavailable for Liverpool's opening two league matches because of a knee problem, and the move is seen as an opportunity for him to regain form and fitness after a disappointing 12 months.

Agger still has plenty of value despite his age and track record of lingering injuries. On reasonable wages of 120,000 pounds per week, the Danish national team captain could have expected around 10 million pounds for the left-footed center-back from bigger clubs. Man City famously bid 20 million in 2012 and Barcelona tried to snag him for 15 million pounds the following season.

Agger reportedly told Liverpool he wouldn't go anywhere but back home to Denmark, regardless of rumored interest from Atletico Madrid and Napoli -- but Reds fans should prepare themselves for the loss.

This post has been edited by Cloud0890: Aug 30 2014, 09:07 AM
Cloud0890
post Aug 30 2014, 09:22 PM

128 posts

Liverpool FC Under 18s have beaten Manchester United Under 18s by 4 goals to 0 at the Academy in Kirkby. thumbup.gif
Cloud0890
post Aug 30 2014, 09:44 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Aug 30 2014, 09:39 PM)
Lel.  Calm first.  Let's celebrate after our match.
This. I'm more concerned about the Spurs game than Manoor's result. Spurs is in good form and we are not. Sturridge has only scored 2 in the past 8 PL games. Have yet to see the fluid attacking play from last season.
Cloud0890
post Aug 30 2014, 10:04 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Aug 30 2014, 09:50 PM)
What? Like what?

That post clearly points out what is the loop holes with our diamond formation, it stated in order to play the pressing games, you need the 3 midfiled that form the diamond to press together. But now Liverpool only Hendo is doing the pressing.

Anyway, I don't really understand what you're trying to say there. I just agree with the analysis and comparison with Juventus in that post.
It's not just that though. Coutinho's performance last season and so far this season has shown that he is ineffective when shoved out wide. I'm surprised BR is continually doing this despite numerous poor performance from him last season in that position. When played in the middle alongside Hendo though, Coutinho has shown the tenacity to do the dirty work and he can certainly press well from that position. When we are playing with Lucas/Allen alongside Hendo so far this season, we have lacked the offensive impetus from the middle. These players are good at maintaining possession but that's all they are doing, we rarely looked like making a breakthrough when in possession. More often than not our mid players are forced to feed the ball out wide only to lose it because of inept full backs or isolated wingers.
Cloud0890
post Aug 30 2014, 10:34 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Aug 30 2014, 10:14 PM)
I think its because BR prefer to play 4-3-3 now, and with Sturridge in the mid, Sterling on the another flank, Coutinho got to play at another flank. Currently we only have Lallana and Markovic to play at either flank, but Lallana still injured, and Markovic is starting to breakthrough to 1st 11.
I can see that when Lallana is fully fit, and when Markovic get the chance, we can see Coutinho take back his no.10 roles.

Like that post says, we lack a player like Vidal, and like you say, can show the tenacity to do the dirty work, as well as provide offensive impetus from the midfield. Maybe we can try experiment on combining Hendo & Coutinho as 1.  laugh.gif
It sure look complicated to us as a fans, with not much knowledge in football managing..haha
QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 30 2014, 10:25 PM)
Pretty much nail on the head. I just want to add that we played Coutinho outwide because the other wide players i.e. Markovic and Lallana, were recovering from injuries. We also just signed Balotelli and Lambert was held back for option B. Coutinho definitely played a lot better in midfield last season especially at Anfield against City, Arsenal, Spurs etc. I think Rodgers tend to use him in this position when playing at Anfield, and Allen away from home. Not sure whether it's due to rotation or that he felt Coutinho tends to disappear playing away from home. But i like him better in midfield than as a no 10. He can be a Modric type of a player - he's got the acceleration, footwork, passing range, tenacity etc.
Yup definitely understand the need to play him out wide for a 4-3-3 because of the lack of options at the moment. But personally I would've preferred us sticking to a diamond and let Sterling play in Suarez's role to partner Sturridge upfront. He too is more effective in the middle than out wide. We don't seem to score many from crosses anyway. Wingers just don't seem to work for us.
Cloud0890
post Aug 31 2014, 12:00 AM

128 posts

newcastle v crystal palace game looks epic
Cloud0890
post Aug 31 2014, 02:22 AM

128 posts

Costa is a baws

If only we managed to snap him up 1 summer ahead of Chelsea. Whoever scouted him as a target at the time definitely had the foresight to spot a talent.
Cloud0890
post Aug 31 2014, 10:50 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Aug 31 2014, 09:33 AM)
That scouting credit solely belongs to a. Madrid scouts only n Flores & Simeone for grooming him when he was a nobody.

Any tom d*** n harry scout can spot a 20 goal striker pls.
No one outside of those at Atletico expected him to be what he is today so that is some good vision there albeit not as good as those who spotted him in the first place. Oh and he wasn't a 20 goal striker when we targeted him (I only count league goals btw, I don't rate cup goals against minnows). So our Tommy, Dicky and Harry were doing a good job. Atletico also loaned him out for many seasons only to buy him back to loan him back out again before becoming what he is today, so they aren't exactly the ones who deserve all the praise for "grooming" him.
Cloud0890
post Aug 31 2014, 07:06 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Aug 31 2014, 11:44 AM)
You must be kidding. There's no way LFC scouts can lay claim to the emergence of Costa. It's preposterous to even suggest this. He may not be banging 20 goals a season "fiiiigurativelyyy" but he is already a highly prolific striker when we start chasing his signature. His name is already circulating in the elite market when BR n his scouts r busy chasing the likes of Iago Aspas. He wasnt doing too well until 2011, n thats credited to Flores n Simeone further made him who he is today. Check the stats pls.
Please do remind me how am I laying claim on behalf of our LFC scouts to Costa's emergence. All I'm saying is our scouts did a good job at identifying him as a talent before the rest of the European big boys took notice. Yup, no one else of significance were interested in Costa when we were, just too bad Falcao left at the time and he decided to extend his contract.
Cloud0890
post Aug 31 2014, 07:31 PM

128 posts

Our last competitive clean sheet came way back in March against Spurs at Anfield. Defence and Mignolet not good enough.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:08 AM