4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

~Camcorder Thread~, All Brands - DV, DVD or HDD

FuGZ
post Oct 12 2008, 06:19 PM

334 posts

hi guys, hmm.. so i found this thread =)

alot of questions here, wish i could discuss it now but time isn't much of a friend for me right now.

so, before i get back here, check out www.camcorderinfo.com for reviews. -XIII-, sometimes spec don't matter, 3ccd or true HD resolution, end of the day it's the picture that matters. build quality from step 1 of the camera is what that counts most. the site i mentioned does picture quality and sometimes head to head comparisions.

Have a visit at my site at www.point8cam.com. Enjoy guys.
FuGZ
post Dec 19 2008, 11:05 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(0zkilla @ Dec 2 2008, 09:42 PM)
Panasonic GS-180 3CCD miniDV camcorder is a good one smile.gif, i have it too
i had the GS-230, love the size.

long time neva post here.. here's my rig =D

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Dec 19 2008, 11:06 PM
FuGZ
post Dec 22 2008, 03:03 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Dec 22 2008, 12:10 PM)
nice one, how much did u invest for the cam + acc?
let's use the picture as reference. total cost of things shown in picture is about RM5.4k.

inclusive of
- Canon HV20
- Raynox HD6600 lens
- Tiffen UV Filter
- Canon Wide Angle Lens Hood
- Rode NTG2
- Rode Deadcat
- Balanced XLR cable
- Sign Video Pro JR XLR Adapter
- Sony's cheapest tripod
- 3rd party brand 2700mAh battery
FuGZ
post Dec 22 2008, 07:18 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 22 2008, 06:43 PM)
Er..do u know how much is the HV30 being sold?What the price difference and quality between those 2 cams?thanks smile.gif
market price 4299. if you're really interested, i can work a price for you, that's if you're ready to spend =) we're talking 3k region.

anyhows, hv20 vs hv30? for PAL systems, just the LCD, body colour and zoom placement. for NTSC, they have an extra 30p shooting mode on top of the 60i and 24p but that doesn't apply to us.

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Dec 22 2008, 07:19 PM
FuGZ
post Dec 26 2008, 09:08 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Dec 22 2008, 07:28 PM)
wow!!!...that's really a great cam and accessories you got...what usually you do with your cam?...are you some kind of doing a production-thingy?... hmm.gif
shoot of course! you can check out my site at http://www.point8cam.com. No broadcasting production thingy going on but, i have plans for a few things =)

However, i haven't had the chance the shoot anything with the mic yet, or at least make proper use of it. Thinking of getting a smaller mic for compact purposes.
FuGZ
post Dec 30 2008, 07:27 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Dec 28 2008, 02:40 PM)
it seems,your camcorder is a HD,for you to upload for youtube,do you need to downgrade the quality?...as i'm sure the original sizes is much more bigger as its a HD...mind to share what tools/software/how to produce such a nice/small/good videos as what your posted in you site... smile.gif
i didn't downgrade the quality. after rendering it back to HDV format (exact same, can be used to feed back into tape), i uploaded them as it is. I used to compress it to H.264 for vimeo, but youtube has a 1GB limit. 1 hour of HDV = 11GB.

Main software used was Adobe Premiere, After Effects and various 3rd party plugins. Sometimes Adobe Audition just for audio.

QUOTE(jonglik @ Dec 29 2008, 08:08 PM)
currently in my mind is.. JVC Everio GZ-MG330
budget less than rm1.5k.. if possible.. but if the quality is better, i dun mind adding few more hundred.. but the best still is less than rm1.5k tongue.gif
http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content/JVC-G...eview-35711.htm
here's the camera's review. If you're willing to spend abit more, i'm able to get you access for a HD camcorder for less than 2k. Samsung's SC-HMX10. You can check out the review from the same site, and check overall camera ratings.

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Dec 29 2008, 11:48 PM)
I was wondering what was that furry thing. Then I realized, its the boom mic.. oh wait.. what is it called again?
Shotgun mic to be precise. Suitable for boom application as well, i mounted it on my cam with a shock mount. here's a clearer picturer without the deadcat (Rode, refers to their windcutter/windmuff as the deadcat).

QUOTE(komag @ Dec 30 2008, 02:42 PM)
want to buy samsung VP-MX20 camcoder . is it good ?
looks like a quick snapper to me. check out reviews, in US, i think they refer it to the SC-MX20. you can check it out at www.camcorderinfo.com
FuGZ
post Dec 31 2008, 10:00 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Dec 31 2008, 12:56 AM)
Wooo! That looks awesome man. May I ask what camera are you using and how much it costed you? hehe thanks smile.gif
thanks! it's a Canon HV20, now replaced by the HV30. bought it for 2.9k about 3 months ago.

MyDevil, i envy the shape of the HF100 and the rest of the new ones!
FuGZ
post Dec 31 2008, 02:47 PM

334 posts

MyDevil, good thing you went with the HF100 smile.gif

Suemitraa, it's alright. i looked up down left right for this price. i bought the lens. From the picture it goes like this:-

1. 43-52mm step up ring
2. Raynox HD-6600 Wide Angle Lens
3. Tiffen 72mm UV Lens
4. Canon XH-A1 Lens Hood

Ah'ha, SR12e.. i've always liked how sony handycams felt when holding them.
FuGZ
post Dec 31 2008, 05:23 PM

334 posts

you might have to resort to ebay i'm afraid.
FuGZ
post Dec 31 2008, 07:42 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Dec 31 2008, 07:03 PM)
Wooo! That sounds awesome man haha. I'm planning to start a webshow. So thats why I'm buying the SR12e. I currently own a sony DCR16e. i think tongue.gif
quite old, served me well. still going to use it for the webshow too biggrin.gif
SR12E, i can't find it. how old is that? Cool a webshow, sounds interesting.

I started point8cam with this camera. And still 100 percent working! hehe.. Currently 8 years old. Pretty good camera actually. Manual focus ring, LANC input, mic input jack available.

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Dec 31 2008, 07:43 PM
FuGZ
post Jan 1 2009, 06:05 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Jan 1 2009, 08:54 AM)
You haven't seen my bulky Pana video cam. Now, can't even find the tape  biggrin.gif
must be those mini VHS? i had one as my first.

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Jan 1 2009, 11:11 AM)
The SR12e is one of sony's latest camera's in the HD line tongue.gif. The DCR model i told you about, hmm I think I got that when I was 12, that was probably 2002 or so
oops, i was refering to the DCR actually, mistyped. DCR-TRV16 i'm guessing?
FuGZ
post Jan 1 2009, 08:56 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Jan 1 2009, 06:26 PM)
Oh haha. yeap i think so too.. The box is somewhere in my room. LOL.
Aish, now on Amazon, the price went up again. Haiseh man, better just buy it at RM3000 and live with it
really want the SR12E? i can help you with the price. i have access to 2 close friends who happen to be sony dealers and another friend who's in a camera shop. Let me know if you're really interested.
FuGZ
post Jan 5 2009, 07:28 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Suemitraa @ Jan 3 2009, 11:11 PM)
haha he has to talk to his friend at Sony on Monday first. hopefully if its a good price, I might just buy it tongue.gif
i'll talk to a friend who works at a camera shop, he gives better prices than the sony dealers i know. he'll be back at work tomorrow. Give you an answer tomorrow night ya.

Added on January 6, 2009, 2:18 pmSuemitraa, i've pmed you the prices already

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Jan 6 2009, 02:18 PM
FuGZ
post Mar 27 2009, 11:02 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 27 2009, 07:26 AM)
Canon HF100 loh, the 24fps Cinema mode
It's 25p here in Malaysia and Europe. 24p only available for NTSC systems, and it isn't true 24p either but it is still a good camera. From reviews and user experiences, the HF10/HF100 picture quality is superior over the HS200 but the HS200 has the sexy manual focus ring.

Suemitraa, haven't you got your SR12E yet?
FuGZ
post Mar 27 2009, 02:31 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 27 2009, 01:56 PM)
Actually does it matter either 25p, 24p or 30p since mostly now all the TV and player are multi system? Once you feed in the media, it will auto detect and sure the picture will display. smile.gif
generally, 25p system cameras are more expensive than 24p capable ones. When they're just 24PF but not true 24p, sure it's fine of most LCDs but a different story if editing all the way to DVD authoring or for streaming purposes. I'm not too sure if LCDs actually do well with the juddering effect by 24PF, and it requires the removal of pulldown where as true 24p simply does not, and 25p does not need any pulldown removal at all. Anyhows what i'm trying to say in my previous post is, the malaysia standard is PAL 25p.

most players in the PAL countries playback NTSC mediums as NTSC, but in NTSC countries on the other hand, not all players have PAL playback capability. Even so, it's prolly the 4% speed up to match the frame rate, but i'm guessing this is changing.

CPURanger, personally no fan of CMOS or 3 chip cmos.. You still suffer from rolling shutter, so 3CCD systems are well with motion and panning. As for CMOS vs 3MOS, i can't really tell you which is better cuz i don't own one, but i think Vimeo should have samples you could judge through, and even thorough reviews from www.camcorderinfo.com

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Mar 29 2009, 12:00 AM
FuGZ
post Mar 27 2009, 08:52 PM

334 posts

jimlim007, talk about the 500D letdown! but too bad cmos suffers from bad panning artifacts and rolling shutter.
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 27 2009, 08:34 PM)
like Qlympus using cmos, other giant like canon & nikon, sony in dslr all using cmos, then u already know the answer tongue.gif
but isn't the SD9 3CCD? only the HS100 and above have 3MOS? In the usual case of consumer cams, the CMOS based camcorders would be a winner in lowlight, given the CMOS sensor size being no tiny one. Pannys are pretty much the big boys when it comes to the prosumer/professional line. At least their consumer cams offered adequate manual controls.
FuGZ
post Mar 28 2009, 11:34 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Mar 28 2009, 05:25 PM)
Regarding HD resolution, I notice for example Sony SR12e specs, 1920 * 1080i, Canon and Panasonic
claims to have full HD. Is it true 1080p or just 1080i or gimmick ?
true 1080p is somewhat a different in camcorders than LCD TVs.

it's hard to determine really. most HDV consumer camcorders have a REAL sensor of 540 horizontal lines, that's where's the 1080i comes from. you have 2 fields in 1 frame, 2 * fields (540 each field) = 1080i. 1080p on the other hand isn't full HD, cuz it's 1440 * 1080, not a vertical res of 1920. the 1440 will be stretched. as for its 24p, 25p, or 30p capability, i'm not too sure, but with the camcorder's power to generate 2 fields at the same time for a frame, hence you get progressive frames. Either that or could be frame interpolation from a field of 540 lines. It could be different with the canon XH-A1 or Sony FX i'm guessing. Resolution and storage type limitations come from the HDV stream itself. So whatever you shoot will be wrapped into the 50i/60i stream via firewire.

AVCHD on the other hand, i'm not too about the very details about it. But footage shot are read at a resolution of 1920 * 1080, better yet supports card and drive storage.

There's always been a war between AVCHD and HDV being which is the best in terms of quality and compression rate. in the world of consumer cams, i'd go with something which has more (manual) controls over the shot, a HDV cam i ended with (which happens to give the best controls + picture quality even when compared to AVCHD cams). There's really not much diff between the quality between AVCHD and HDV expect for the AVCHD playback on PC which requires more power. But what i really want, is a Panasonic HMC150 (AVCHD) over the Canon's XH-A1 (HDV) but that's pretty much prosumer line.

However, new models this year will include Panny's HS300 and Canon on the other hand, the HF S10/S100 and HV40. Finding a good review is a b****, it's best to find reviews who understands them thoroughly. http://www.camcorderinfo.com

Either the Panny or Canon, i doubt you'd have a big regret over it really.
FuGZ
post Mar 29 2009, 11:20 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Mar 29 2009, 08:26 PM)
Hi.

Between Canon HV30 and Canon HF100 which one is better choice. Been reading the reviews from camcoderinfo.com but the review on image quality too complicated to understand for noobs like.  rclxub.gif . Also what bad for them I think should be good enough for me. tongue.gif

I going to use it to shot my family video and watch it on LCD tv. Anybody know street price for both coz I saw the price on Canon website around 4K  sweat.gif .
If you like the idea of storing media not into tape, then go ahead with the HF100. If you like manual focus with a rolling *something* (i don't know what to call it, it's not a knob nor a ring) than a button than adjusts focus with clicks, then the HV30 but bear with the tape.

In terms of image quality, there's not a BIG difference. Hence, according to your purpose, you can't go wrong with either one.

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Mar 29 2009, 08:34 PM)
IM looking forward to get the Sanyo CG10 - the list price in Malaysia is RM1298 but Amazon selling at USD$199.99 only. So maybe with some discounts this can be had for RM1k to RM1.1k

HD2000 is list at USD$599.99 - not sure Malaysian prices

The way I see it for myself, I feel 720 is enough. No need Full HD. And using SD card. Dont want HDD
Probably cuz Malaysia units are PAL systems. PAL systems are generally more expensive and NTSC otherwise. To make it more simple to understand, camcorders in EU and Malaysia would shoot at 25p or 50i (25 progressive frames or 50 interlaced) instead of 24p, 30p and 60i. But for these Sanyos, i'm not sure if they follow the correct framerate according to country. But i think i'd get a Sanyo over a Flip Mino, you got more accessories to add on later. and 720p for such purpose is sweet, just right for a quick shoot and upload of some HD streaming!

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 29 2009, 11:05 PM)
wow, just below rm2k  thumbup.gif like that i no need to sell off my DSLR, is better to buy separate camcorder since DSLR with HD also not really reliable (mono sound, noise at night>camcorder, etc)
True, and camcorders (for now) are still quicker to set up for a point and shoot situation, and no much worry about being OOF due to a smaller sensor/output.

This post has been edited by FuGZ: Mar 29 2009, 11:22 PM
FuGZ
post Mar 30 2009, 10:27 AM

334 posts

From google, it looks like i can't find a CG10 that shoots are 25 fps.

Does it matter? It doesn't really if you're using just 1 camera. But if you're gonna incorporate footage from another camera bought from Malaysia (which most likely is 25p/50i instead of 30p unless it's a Sanyo), then you're gonna get into abit of quality trouble. Of course, that's only for editing purposes.

But knowing the purpose these Sanyo cameras were built for, they make excellent PnS, no edit or quick edit to share/upload kinda thing. So the frame rate isn't a biggie.

However, if the US is selling it cheaper, then of course it's no system and deal breaker. Just would be a hassle if you need it serviced under warranty.

I'm really waiting for the Lumix GH1 though. It seems to be the only still camera that shoots video at proper rates (by this i mean they made a 24p and 25p model for respective countries). It's no SLR but so far it's heading the right way.
FuGZ
post Apr 8 2009, 01:34 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:11 PM)
hi guys, click for Sanyo Xacti HD2000 Camcorder Review.  Got head-to-head pounding with Panasonic HDC-SD20 vs Canon HF20 vs Canon HF S100.
is it just me or did they deliberately leave out on the stabilizer test?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3864sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:19 PM