How to know if you been cheated at AIRCOND SHOP?, I got scammed? first time repair aircond

Quazacolt
post Sep 8 2014, 03:34 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Sep 7 2014, 08:36 PM)
nope condensor is the one in front of the car, sandwhich with radiator,

also they may have over filled the system, supposed to weigh the amount of refrigerant wan not agak agak fill

but this is the beauty of outside mechanics keep trial and error until full system replaced and their pockets fully lined
Highly agree on overfilling.
heck the second hand kancil i gotten it was "upgraded" (by previous owner) to a bigger compressor with bigger pipings/expansion valve, and what that did is that it over pressured the air cond system and sapped way too much power from the small measly 660 cc engine doh.gif

my air cond shop generally prefers to avoid second visit, so if a part is not performing well already, replacement is advised.

however for the kancil they suggested against replacement (of the compressor) since it's still working and as they are confident that it'll last long, i don't mind trusting them and so far experiences has been very positive for the 2 cars i've sent there nod.gif
expansion valves were replaced to minimize the pressure, and the drier replaced since we do not know it's previous condition.
bananadriver
post Sep 8 2014, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Aug 23 2014, 09:26 PM)
UPDATE 7/9/14: Went back to the shop and scolded the manager. After another round of soap bubble leak checking and even checking with nitrogen gas (not sure what that's for), he finally said something similar to what my first mechanic said, i.e. that my pressure valve (was it 'valve' or something else? can't remember) might be relieving the gas due to high pressure that's why it all leaves the system so suddenly. Therefore I'm getting more and more convinced that it's not in fact a 'leak' per se. A leak would mean GRADUAL decline in cooling effect right? In my case it runs very well and very cold for about 3-5 days after refilling gas, then all of a sudden next day I start my car and it's just blowing hot air because the gas is not there any more.
Anyway he refilled the gas for free and asked to drive around for 3 days and get back to him and he'll check if there's any gas leaked out or gone completely so he can do further diagnosis.
Any opinions? Any significance in the fact that the loss of gas is not gradual, instead seeming to be very abrupt?
Drillz of my car:

I had a problem with "sudden" not cold aircond with my car. It wasnt gradual, it was sudden. The culprit was a malfunction fan motor that costs Rm65.

This post has been edited by bananadriver: Sep 8 2014, 04:08 PM
vios2002
post Oct 3 2014, 05:24 PM

167 posts

some time really hard to find honest people.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0140sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:24 PM