QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 11 2017, 10:48 AM)
I kena the 20% duty thingy. End up add close to RM250 to the cost (customs + handling fee + GST). DHL called me to ask if i pay, I also told them there shouldn't be a duty but she keep saying got. No choice but to pay.
I think need to inform ANOVA prior to sending the item that it shall be declared a certain way? Can declare as gift ah?
I think it’s because they mentioned the word cooker on the invoice and the closest thing they can find with cooker on their tax rate table with the word cooker on it is rice cooker and that is why.
Rice cooker’s duty rate is different compare to other electrical appliances and I was charged the rice cooker rate so I remember and DHL told me I must pay them the duty as they have already paid the custom so like you, there is nothing I could do there.
I have already told Anova the issue and suggest that they call it immersion heater on the invoice instead as there is no import duty for immersion heater in April 2017 but I think they just don’t care.
I don’t think Anova will declare it as a gift for you by the way as they are not some sellers on Ebay, correct me if I am wrong on this one.
Edit: It’s 20% like you said if I remember correctly. Duty for other electrical appliances are lower compare to rice cooker, I am not sure why though.
This post has been edited by dunni: Jan 22 2018, 04:29 AM