anova sous vide power consumption

dunni
post Jan 20 2018, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(tantung @ Jan 19 2018, 01:54 PM)
Got my Anova in Dec at S$140 from their SG distributor. Loving it.

Just wanna share that I've managed to hunt down local distributor that sells the polycarbonate containers. Cambro & Rubbermaid Commercial. Cost is roughly the same as buying from Amazon but without the shipping charges. If anyone is interested I can share the contact. Right now Rubbermaid 6qt is on offer at RM33.

On power consumption, I've gathered research from online sources and estimated it to be about RM2 for a 24 hour cook at 60C in a container with lid.

Would like to seek advice on which vacuum sealer you guys are using.
PM me the contact please.

I don't use vacuum sealer though, all I use is ziplock bag + water displacement method to get the air out.

I think that any vacuum sealer from taobao.com would work. If they didn't require special bags to seal them, I'd have definitely bought a vacuum sealer. If I am not mistaken, the bags cost even more than ziplock bags and that is why I didn't buy a vacuum sealer at the end.

This post has been edited by dunni: Jan 20 2018, 07:53 PM
dunni
post Jan 22 2018, 04:13 AM

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 21 2018, 12:18 AM)
I have a couple of vacuum sealers and yeah you do need specific bags which I ended up getting from AliExpress

One of the sealers I bought from Amazon and is USA voltage so needs a transformer to use - bit of a pain.

In the end I ordered the silicone bags from Anova and use those - more convenient as can be washed / dishwasher and reused. Just use the water displacement method
I have two sandwich size silicone bags bought from Anova as well but they are so small I still have to use ziplock bags as I mainly cook meats with bone with my Anova. I think they have came out with something bigger now, I am going to buy one soon.

Reason I bought them is because silicone doesn’t release harmful substances even if you boil it at 100 degree Celsius (I could be wrong) as I am a bit skeptical with how people claim that normal plastic bags don’t release harmful substances after it has been heated.
dunni
post Jan 22 2018, 04:21 AM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 11 2017, 10:48 AM)
I kena the 20% duty thingy. End up add close to RM250 to the cost (customs + handling fee + GST). DHL called me to ask if i pay, I also told them there shouldn't be a duty but she keep saying got. No choice but to pay.

I think need to inform ANOVA prior to sending the item that it shall be declared a certain way? Can declare as gift ah?
I think it’s because they mentioned the word cooker on the invoice and the closest thing they can find with cooker on their tax rate table with the word cooker on it is rice cooker and that is why.

Rice cooker’s duty rate is different compare to other electrical appliances and I was charged the rice cooker rate so I remember and DHL told me I must pay them the duty as they have already paid the custom so like you, there is nothing I could do there.

I have already told Anova the issue and suggest that they call it immersion heater on the invoice instead as there is no import duty for immersion heater in April 2017 but I think they just don’t care.

I don’t think Anova will declare it as a gift for you by the way as they are not some sellers on Ebay, correct me if I am wrong on this one.

Edit: It’s 20% like you said if I remember correctly. Duty for other electrical appliances are lower compare to rice cooker, I am not sure why though.

This post has been edited by dunni: Jan 22 2018, 04:29 AM
dunni
post Jan 22 2018, 04:39 AM

QUOTE(arubin @ Aug 20 2014, 06:55 PM)
I'm keeping an eye on the sous vide scene too. I have to say these devices are quite expensive and none of them are officially available in Malaysia just yet.

Interestingly enough, a pair of Malaysians created a budget solution that integrates with either your rice cooker or slow cooker to simulate sous vide. You might have heard of them before. They were feature in The Star about a year ago.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...r-Codlo-device/

The device is not out yet but they have said they will eventually make it available in Asia on release.

No review on it yet so not sure how good it might be but I have some concerns about it not having a circulator for the water since its merely a power plug control.
Stay away from this Codlo device because it sucks.

My friend recommended me this one when he bought it as it’s made by our own Malaysian and thank god I didn’t buy it at the time as I don’t have time to do so at the moment.

After only a few months usage, the start button stops working and my friend raise the issue to the company and they send him a replacement unit and the replacement unit’s screen stops working after 2 weeks usage. He got so fed up he doesn’t even bother to talk to the company anymore.

I got an Anova instead of Codlo after that because of the price.

He got an Anova after my recommendation but now he is using a China brand sous vide device as it’s cheaper and unlike Anova that doesn’t cut off the power after the time’s up, the China brand one does. It’s only 200 ringgit plus if I remember correctly.

0.1091sec    1.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:26 AM