Recommendation for New Tyre 205/55R16, Intend to get new tyres to replace NCT5

TSEkash
post Aug 12 2014, 09:29 PM, updated 9y ago

232 posts

Hi Lowyat members,

Just got my new car not long ago, personally feel that the stock tyres (NCT5) for 205/55R16 is quite noisy sweat.gif . So, it comes to my mind to get it replaced with something better. Appreciate your comments/advice on this icon_question.gif .

I drive a lot in city, so I would say 90% city drive and 10% on highway. I consider myself a normal driver (not too fast but not too slow). In highway, the fastest I would go probably around 140-150km/h (dry) and 90-100km/h (wet), but in city, max I can go is around 100-110km/r (dry) and 70-80km/h (wet).. but as you know, KL famous with its worse traffic, so my average speed in KL can vary from 20km/h to 90km/h.

For me, in comparison with NCT5 doh.gif , I would prefer tyre that has good noise reduction (quiet) and comfort, good (or at least not bad) in handling/performance and normal durability (can reach 30k km).

Through my browse here, I saw lot ppl suggesting Yoko AdvanDB, PS3, 3ST, efficientgrip, and etc rclxub.gif . For my driving pattern, which tyre is better and suits me? Any idea on the price range? My budget can go from 300-450 per piece.

BTW, anyone got any comments on Nitto NT830?

Also, I would trade in the NCT5, quotations for trade in and new tyres are welcomed.
xxboxx
post Aug 12 2014, 10:41 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

From these top 10 manufacturers, survey for their comfort tyre. For Goodyear as an example, survey about Efficient Grip.

1 Bridgestone
2. Michelin
3. Goodyear
4. Continental AG
5. Pirelli
6. Sumitomo Rubber Industries, Ltd.
7. Hankook Tires
8. Yokohama Rubber
9. Cheng Shin Rubber
10. Cooper Tire and Rubber
ADJ
post Aug 13 2014, 11:12 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

Lowest priced comfort tyre would be the Bridgestone Turanza GR-100 for your size and requirements:
https://www.facebook.com/OsAutocareCentre/p...44986055607222/

http://www.bridgestonetyre.com.my/media/html/gr100/
TSEkash
post Aug 13 2014, 12:30 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Aug 13 2014, 11:12 AM)
Lowest priced comfort tyre would be the Bridgestone Turanza GR-100 for your size and requirements:
https://www.facebook.com/OsAutocareCentre/p...44986055607222/

http://www.bridgestonetyre.com.my/media/html/gr100/
Any comment from you on this tyre??
jaycee1
post Aug 13 2014, 01:22 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

Currently using Yokohama C Drive 205/60/16 on our Accord, and C Drive 2 195/60/15 on our Citra and used up a few sets of Michelin PS3 195/50/15 on my Satria.

The Accord's C drive is due for change with 30K on them. Maybe in a few weeks.

Those are decent tyre.

But if budget can be stretched, The Advan DB and PS3 are fairly safe choices.
ADJ
post Aug 13 2014, 02:35 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(Ekash @ Aug 13 2014, 12:30 PM)
Any comment from you on this tyre??
not yet, as my tyres are not yet due for a change so soon, but surveying my options came across this.
here are some actual Malaysian user opinions:

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?s=...dpost&p=1866155
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2014, 05:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

if want silent and comfort, i guess it's AdvanDB or Michelin P3ST (note: It's Primary 3 ST, NOT THE SAME AS PS3 - Pilot Sport 3)

i have just changed to CDrive2...ok for comfort and noise (but after half used, dunno lar)..but comfort wise, probably CC5 is still better, but CDrive2 supposely have better grips in wet condition. So far, driving my CDrive2, haven't encounter aquaplanning yet...last 2 days heavy rain....maybe still new gua...but i have experience quiet a number of aquaplanning on my old CC5 with about 40km usage...maybe old liao, can't remember how it performs when still new.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 05:28 PM
calvin
post Aug 13 2014, 07:11 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 05:21 PM)
if want silent and comfort, i guess it's AdvanDB or Michelin P3ST (note: It's Primary 3 ST, NOT THE SAME AS PS3 - Pilot Sport 3)

i have just changed to CDrive2...ok for comfort and noise (but after half used, dunno lar)..but comfort wise, probably CC5 is still better, but CDrive2 supposely have better grips in wet condition. So far, driving my CDrive2, haven't encounter aquaplanning yet...last 2 days heavy rain....maybe still new gua...but i have experience quiet a number of aquaplanning on my old CC5 with about 40km usage...maybe old liao, can't remember how it performs when still new.
Bro u changed back to the same sized tyre ?
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2014, 07:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Aug 13 2014, 07:11 PM)
Bro u changed back to the same sized tyre ?
Nope...changes to 215/60/R16....because tried 2 shops dun have 205/60/R16...and i was in a hurry....kinda regret...the donut looks a bit big...LOL...Accord also lose to me....tongue.gif
calvin
post Aug 13 2014, 07:37 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 07:26 PM)
Nope...changes to 215/60/R16....because tried 2 shops dun have 205/60/R16...and i was in a hurry....kinda regret...the donut looks a bit big...LOL...Accord also lose to me....tongue.gif
whoa =.= 215/60 somemore .. you raise your ride height by 27mm sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2014, 07:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Aug 13 2014, 07:37 PM)
whoa =.= 215/60 somemore .. you raise your ride height by 27mm  sweat.gif
So much ar?..27mm about 1 inch... dunno how to calculate....but car still fell stable...i dont whack corner at 120km/h...

Is it bad...sweat.gif????

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 07:41 PM
calvin
post Aug 13 2014, 07:45 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 07:40 PM)
So much ar?..27mm about 1 inch... dunno how to calculate....but car still fell stable...i dont whack corner at 120km/h...

Is it bad...sweat.gif????
nah just cosmetics and the rebounds going over bumps nod.gif

Sample formula:
---------------------

stock = 185/55/R16
Ride height = 185 * 0.55
= 101.75

new = 215/65/R16
Ride height = 215 * 65
= 139.75

So your height difference is 139.75 - 101.75 = 38mm

eek my wrong calculation last time sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2014, 07:51 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Aug 13 2014, 07:45 PM)
nah just cosmetics and the rebounds going over bumps  nod.gif

Sample formula:
---------------------

stock = 185/55/R16
Ride height = 185 * 0.55
                = 101.75

new = 215/65/R16
Ride height = 215 * 65
                = 139.75

So your height difference is 139.75 - 101.75 = 38mm

eek my wrong calculation last time  sweat.gif
So is the rebound suppose to be better?? Means comfortable rite?

Er bro, stock is 205/60/R16 lah.

205 * 0.6 =123mm

New is 215/60/R16

215 * 0.6 = 129 mm,
So difference= 129-123=6mm only!!! smile.gif You sked me lar!!! 38mm!!!
calvin
post Aug 13 2014, 07:52 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 07:51 PM)
So is the rebound suppose to be better?? Means comfortable rite?

Er bro, stock is 205/60/R16 lah.

205 * 0.6 =123mm

New is 215/60/R16

215 * 0.6 = 129 mm, 
So difference= 129-123=6mm only!!! smile.gif  You sked me lar!!! 38mm!!!
lol doh.gif tongue.gif i thought you fixed this on your new bought ride .. haha
SUSMatrix
post Aug 13 2014, 07:53 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Aug 13 2014, 07:52 PM)
lol  doh.gif  tongue.gif  i thought you fixed this on your new bought ride .. haha
FUIYO!!!! 215/60/R16 on City!!!! Wahhllaluuuuweeeeeehhhhhhh!!!!!!!

On Inspira lah!!! Hahaha!

The Inspira tyres quiet worn for front, anyway 40k liao, just change all to new tyres with same size...no more money for City's tyres...just lerave it be...found its not so bad after all....use until botak baru change...lol.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 07:55 PM
TSEkash
post Aug 13 2014, 11:39 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 13 2014, 01:22 PM)
Currently using Yokohama C Drive 205/60/16 on our Accord, and C Drive 2 195/60/15 on our Citra and used up a few sets of Michelin PS3 195/50/15 on my Satria.

The Accord's C drive is due for change with 30K on them. Maybe in a few weeks.

Those are decent tyre.

But if budget can be stretched, The Advan DB and PS3 are fairly safe choices.
What do you think about the C drive and PS3? Which is more quiet, C Drive or PS3? But definitely PS3 on the high side, but not sure if is comfort/quiet.. If is better than NCT5, is good to consider (but the saw seems need 460 per piece). How about AdvanDB? seems not much ppl selling it.

TSEkash
post Aug 13 2014, 11:46 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 05:21 PM)

I tot Primacy 3ST is cheaper than PS3, so ideally it's less comfort than it? or is it cause different main foucs? Can it last for 30k km? cos I saw lot bad comments on the durability of Michellin, but they didn't mention how bad it is.

I see, but I saw some ppl in lowyat mention C Drive2 has poor wet grip, which looks quite contradict compare to the advertised details. and C drive2 is much cheaper than P3ST/PS3.

TSEkash
post Aug 13 2014, 11:58 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Aug 13 2014, 02:35 PM)
not yet, as my tyres are not yet due for a change so soon, but surveying my options came across this.
here are some actual Malaysian user opinions:

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?s=...dpost&p=1866155
I swa this too, but seems not enuf review.. the shop you shared seems quite cheap, PS3 for my size cost only Rm400 per pc...
SUSMatrix
post Aug 14 2014, 12:35 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Ekash @ Aug 13 2014, 11:46 PM)
I tot Primacy 3ST is cheaper than PS3, so ideally it's less comfort than it? or is it cause different main foucs? Can it last for 30k km? cos I saw lot bad comments on the durability of Michellin, but they didn't mention how bad it is.

I see, but I saw some ppl in lowyat mention C Drive2 has poor wet grip, which looks quite contradict compare to the advertised details. and C drive2 is much cheaper than P3ST/PS3.
P3ST is top of the line comfort tyres from michelin. PS3 is performance tyres, not comfort tyres.
TSEkash
post Aug 14 2014, 01:06 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 14 2014, 12:35 AM)
P3ST is top of the line comfort tyres from michelin. PS3 is performance tyres, not comfort tyres.
Just notice this too, thx! But does the 3ST works well (at least not bad in wet or dry condition)?
Their prices seems not vary much, PS3 at 400-460, and for 3ST 430-460.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:03 PM