Will you buy car equip with CVT?
For me BIG NO NO!!
Problematic Gearbox.
Expensive Maintenance
CVT(CHAT), User may share your exprience here.
Aug 12 2014, 11:11 AM, updated 12y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
103 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Will you buy car equip with CVT?
For me BIG NO NO!! Problematic Gearbox. Expensive Maintenance |
Aug 12 2014, 11:14 AM
3,582 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
problematic?...high maintenance
u sure? u sure u didn't did a typo which u should typed DCT? |
Aug 12 2014, 11:18 AM
Aug 12 2014, 11:21 AM
17 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
hmmm Honda CVTF oni around rm150... i rmb buying it for rm128 if not mistaken for a 4 litre Honda Original CVTF.. jz chg da CVTF once every 30k km and right now i still have no issue with my CVT GB...
Aug 12 2014, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 12 2014, 11:18 AM) its 2X more expensivebut service interval is also 2X of those auto box so it all equals to zero what is your car anyway? the car i'm using does not have problem seldom hear CVT have problem DCT have way more problem |
Aug 12 2014, 11:23 AM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
I got a CVT car, the new 1.8 altis. Its abit laggy but ultimately if u dont track ur car, its responsive enough. Maybe its the new gen ones that is good
Aug 12 2014, 11:50 AM
639 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Old gen cvt unreliable especially on the first Muranos. New ones no prob lar.
Aug 12 2014, 11:59 AM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
I notice on slight hills CVT is better because normal auto will take some time to downshift, before downshift rpm is low so it feels no power...
Aug 12 2014, 12:13 PM
819 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Moon's Dark Side |
Aug 12 2014, 12:14 PM
239 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anyone has any experience on Audi's multitronics CVT as well as Mercedes Autotronic ? Are they durable ?
So far we have (some naming not sure, please correct if deem fit) : Nissan Xtronics ![]() Honda CVT Toyota CVT ![]() Audi Multitronics ![]() Mercedes Autotronic ![]() Subaru Lineartronic Don't know what else, but most of these are to be fitted on lower power output car, meaning it has lower torque tolerance limit. Though there is improvement to it, i.e. landmark case being Audi A4 1.8T being able to withstand a high torque of 300NM ? This post has been edited by amdxp: Aug 12 2014, 01:46 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 01:09 PM
Aug 12 2014, 01:17 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
Honda Multimatic S (Also a CVT)
Aug 12 2014, 01:27 PM
76 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(amdxp @ Aug 12 2014, 12:14 PM) Anyone has any experience on Audi's multitronics CVT as well as Mercedes Autotronic ? Are they durable ? Subaru CVT on my Forester is good for 350Nm on paper. So far no problem with the gear box. In fact very fun.So far we have (some naming not sure, please correct if deem fit) : Nissan Xtronics Honda CVT Toyota CVT Audi Multitronics Mercedes Autotronic Subaru CVT Don't know what else, but most of these are to be fitted on lower power output car, meaning it has lower torque tolerance limit. Though there is improvement to it, i.e. landmark case being Audi A4 1.8T being able to withstand a high torque of 300NM ? |
Aug 12 2014, 01:36 PM
134 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Kluang, Johor |
cvt is still less problematic than semi-automatic and dual clutch
Aug 12 2014, 01:45 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Bro, your Mirage has lots of problems. ..doesnt mean other CVts also got problem...my Inspira 3 years plus, no problem...new Honda City also Cvt. ..
CVT is a hell lot more reliable compared to dual clutch/DSG etc. Like it or not, CVT is here to stay..Personally, I like CVT...hate the sudden shift shock of old TC box. melvinho I thought your flywheel problem fixed? Now what GB problem?? This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 12 2014, 01:47 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 01:49 PM
503 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: CatCity |
I guess you are referring to 2nd gen Honda City CVT gearbox.
This problem only happen in Msia although the same gearbox is also used in India, Thailand & Indonesia. Honda found out the driving pattern of Msian is different than others. Some SC oso failed to advice their customer on correct maintenance for CVT. The new Honda City CVT gearbox with torque converter should be more reliable. Only time will tell |
Aug 12 2014, 01:50 PM
239 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
From the few pics I posted above, looks like Subaru and Audi has more robust CVT belt.
Toyota, Nissan and Merc belt looks a bit soft. And yup, CVT is here to stay. Looks like with 9 spd auto, DCT, CVT etc being introduced, manual is set to be less popular. But all are here to stay |
Aug 12 2014, 01:53 PM
3,391 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
I will not buy CVT cars either. It doesn't sound lively at all. And too much transmission loss.
I do agree CVT oil is more expensive. City 01 4AT - Transmission oil required 2.5L of Honda ATF-Z1 . RM22 X 3 bottles = RM66 , + labour charge RM 20 = RM86 for 20,000km City 03 CVT- RM128 for 4 litres Honda CVTF. +labour charge RM20 = RM148 for 30,000km. And nowadays CVT can repair or not like those normal Torque Converter auto gearbox ??? I can see advertisement everywhere offering repair service for normal auto, but CVT I really never seen before . |
Aug 12 2014, 02:03 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
CVT transmission loss?
Aug 12 2014, 02:18 PM
1,197 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Saga CVT...
Problem:- 1. So called rubber band effect. 2. Cold start & u will get the Jump effect. (sudden acceleration and follow by rubber band effect ) 3. overheat when driving aggressively. 4. downhill cvt will maintain constant speed. overtake while downhill = MAX engine REV. 5. Reverse noise very loud... ppl tot my engine rosak or what. 6. CVT oil not cheap 7. not really fuel safe The gooding:- 1. smooth acceleration. 2. S mode quite nice to play with. 3. cheap car, no complaint .. actually not so cheap only. |
Aug 12 2014, 02:23 PM
Aug 12 2014, 02:25 PM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: earth |
how to know cvt is overheat?
Aug 12 2014, 02:33 PM
1,197 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Aug 12 2014, 02:40 PM
Aug 12 2014, 02:46 PM
303 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
I dont know if mine is expensive, my exora bold cvt..but so far 45k km driven no problem or warning sign whatsoever appear
cvt fluid change interval every 60,000km is RM160 cvt oil filter interval every 60,000km is RM235 total RM 395 for 60,000km This post has been edited by arza04: Aug 12 2014, 02:47 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 03:05 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
People who dislike CVT, please dont buy CVT.
Wonder why people bother to convince strangers on an internet forum otherwise. Few years ago, I had a hard time trying to convince my photography group to migrate from film to digital. Now ALL of them prefer digital. This will be the same between CVT vs AT This post has been edited by bananadriver: Aug 12 2014, 03:09 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 03:06 PM
2,152 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Gombak Setia |
For Subaru, the CVT are using timing chain type of propulsion. So no rubber band overheating issue.
Gearbox oil change recommended at 40,000km interval which cost RM468 (6 litre of CVT oil). 5 year or 100,000km warranty. And the most powerful engine to be mated with Subaru CVT is the Subaru WRX. (265hp 350nM 6spd CVT). Only the Subaru WRX STI are too powerful to be mated with the CVT gearbox. This post has been edited by EyraYus: Aug 12 2014, 03:07 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 03:29 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
proton suprimas using what cvt?
Aug 12 2014, 03:33 PM
97 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Dlm jamban |
QUOTE(boradai @ Aug 12 2014, 03:29 PM) ![]() Punch This post has been edited by newmaster: Aug 12 2014, 03:34 PM |
Aug 12 2014, 03:49 PM
60 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Currently, i notice only chinese car and proton are using punch cvt.
Aug 12 2014, 03:53 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Aug 12 2014, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 12 2014, 01:45 PM) Bro, your Mirage has lots of problems. ..doesnt mean other CVts also got problem...my Inspira 3 years plus, no problem...new Honda City also Cvt. .. Now is alternator problem.CVT is a hell lot more reliable compared to dual clutch/DSG etc. Like it or not, CVT is here to stay..Personally, I like CVT...hate the sudden shift shock of old TC box. melvinho I thought your flywheel problem fixed? Now what GB problem?? Part change so far. 1) Rear Spoiler 2) Flywheel 3) Starter Motor 4) ABS Motor 5) Brake Master Pump 6) Alternator LEMON.. I DRIVE LEMON. My CVT stuck @ 2.5k RPM. I step the padel until floor also stuck @ 2.5k and burning smell came out.LEL. |
Aug 12 2014, 04:14 PM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: earth |
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 12 2014, 04:07 PM) LEMON.. I DRIVE LEMON. your car got no warranty? that sounds really a lemon unit. i love the smoothness of 'gear change' in cvt, hate the rubber band effect... but now I am getting used to it already. sometimes, I just used the paddle shift to 'eliminate' rubber band feel. |
Aug 12 2014, 04:20 PM
2,294 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
It is RM27k to replace the CVT GB for the 2003-2009 City at Honda. Nuff said.
Aug 12 2014, 04:26 PM
1,216 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Cut Throat Land |
QUOTE(katijar @ Aug 12 2014, 04:20 PM) now it is only rm2,500 each halfcuthttp://www.mudah.my/Honda+City+CVT+Auto+Ge...7238.htm?last=1 |
Aug 12 2014, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 12 2014, 04:07 PM) Now is alternator problem. yes...it really looks like u'r driving a lemonPart change so far. 1) Rear Spoiler 2) Flywheel 3) Starter Motor 4) ABS Motor 5) Brake Master Pump 6) Alternator LEMON.. I DRIVE LEMON. My CVT stuck @ 2.5k RPM. I step the padel until floor also stuck @ 2.5k and burning smell came out.LEL. i revved my mirage to 4k RPM already...once until 5k RPM when i'm really angry |
Aug 12 2014, 09:33 PM
888 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
I always treat cars for what they are. So anything equipped with CVT I'd take it steadily. However comparing a Persona and Accord with conventional auto, with a Honda City and Saga CVT, for city driving the CVT is unmatched. They're so much more comfortable. The Accord's auto is refined and smooth enough, but still the cars with CVT feels more relaxed.
Plus for economy driving some conventional autos can easily be confused. Both CVTs I use "know" when you are driving economically. They don't have to hunt for gears, they just lock the engine RPM wherever suitable and the seamless ratio change takes over. But of course for CVTs, I still have worries whenever I need plenty of torque for a long period of time, like climbing uphill when the car is heavy, or when I want to overtake up hill. Also shorts burst of acceleration when overtaking. The quick drop in ratio scare me a little when I imagine how hard the metal belt is being put to work. Perhaps there's no need for worry, but I do anyway. I'll buy a CVT equipped car, absolutely, but only when I know I don't need the power. |
Aug 12 2014, 09:42 PM
1,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Cool Name Place |
People have to test drive a CVT car before purchasing and see if they prefer it to Auto. The feeling of driving a CVT is different compared to conventional 4-speed or 6-speed auto.
Aug 12 2014, 09:58 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: East |
bought the City vtec in May 2005 shy of months the CVT problem had just been remedied, by CVTF oil. Aware of it, still slight concern of the CVT reliability. but then , there wasn't much choice in the market, save for hyundai accent that time. there was no fiesta, pug, etc thruout the maturity ownership, often high rpm 6k rpm and hit rl 6800rpm for few years...surprisingly, the CVT still ok...I rmb reading one article interview the honda technician that the said unit City CVT is made to actually withstand a 160hp so that whay I dare push the gb abit. I think it about maintenance save for lemon, which u can have in any brand, have my sympathy. Whay u no consider selling it. fiesta cute also... |
Aug 12 2014, 10:14 PM
84 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Aug 12 2014, 10:51 PM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 12 2014, 11:18 AM) QUOTE(k!nex @ Aug 12 2014, 01:53 PM) I will not buy CVT cars either. It doesn't sound lively at all. And too much transmission loss. Buy manual, would never meet with such issue.I do agree CVT oil is more expensive. City 01 4AT - Transmission oil required 2.5L of Honda ATF-Z1 . RM22 X 3 bottles = RM66 , + labour charge RM 20 = RM86 for 20,000km City 03 CVT- RM128 for 4 litres Honda CVTF. +labour charge RM20 = RM148 for 30,000km. And nowadays CVT can repair or not like those normal Torque Converter auto gearbox ??? I can see advertisement everywhere offering repair service for normal auto, but CVT I really never seen before . |
Aug 12 2014, 11:09 PM
174 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Now is getting more vehicles equip with CVT, whether you like it or not, this will be the future trend!
Aug 12 2014, 11:10 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Aug 12 2014, 09:42 PM) People have to test drive a CVT car before purchasing and see if they prefer it to Auto. The feeling of driving a CVT is different compared to conventional 4-speed or 6-speed auto. and they will say that cars with cvt lack of power cuz they do not feel the rubber band effect |
Aug 13 2014, 10:05 AM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
CVT rubber band effect is more of the TCU issue than the hardware.
Aug 13 2014, 10:10 AM
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
Aug 13 2014, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 13 2014, 10:05 AM) correctcase in example is the Mitsu INVECS III CVT and Nissan's X-tronic CVT both are manufacatured by the same company - JATCO both both have different "software" - i.e. the TCU (transmission control unit) the INVECS III have bad rubber band effect on low speed acceleration the X-Tronic has an improved experience |
Aug 13 2014, 10:26 AM
292 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Bangsar/Puchong |
So heavy footer not recommended using CVT, is it? Correct me if i'm wrong.
Aug 13 2014, 10:30 AM
1,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Cool Name Place |
Aug 13 2014, 10:32 AM
Aug 13 2014, 10:34 AM
292 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Bangsar/Puchong |
Aug 13 2014, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 10:32 AM) first time i see overheated invecs III Mine 3 years +....never see that symbol even when driving long distance. i drive maintain at 5 - 6k rpm for very long time in manual mode oso so far no prob *touch wood* but mine comes with a CVT cooler, which maybe explains some thing But I heard the old slyphys have cvt overheat issues.....Inspira has actually improved Cvt cooler comapred to Lancer... |
Aug 13 2014, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 12 2014, 04:07 PM) Now is alternator problem. I think yours is more like lemon car issue rather than CVT problem...Part change so far. 1) Rear Spoiler 2) Flywheel 3) Starter Motor 4) ABS Motor 5) Brake Master Pump 6) Alternator LEMON.. I DRIVE LEMON. My CVT stuck @ 2.5k RPM. I step the padel until floor also stuck @ 2.5k and burning smell came out.LEL. MR_alien....your Mirage has so many problems? This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 10:47 AM |
Aug 13 2014, 10:47 AM
Even EPS motor can overheat and stated in the manual eg, If xxxx symbol appear, means EPS overheated; will harder to turn the steering, or stop one side and let it cool down; not for racing.
Most pple like drive 'auto' like put D forever even on stationary >30min. |
Aug 13 2014, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 13 2014, 10:47 AM) Even EPS motor can overheat and stated in the manual eg, If xxxx symbol appear, means EPS overheated; will harder to turn the steering, or stop one side and let it cool down; not for racing. Stationary > 30 min in D? Leg not tired pressing brake pedal? I always switch to N when stationary, etc at traffic lights.Most pple like drive 'auto' like put D forever even on stationary >30min. |
Aug 13 2014, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 10:32 AM) first time i see overheated invecs III I don't think it is due to CVT cooler. All inspira CVT comes with CVT cooler installed at factory.i drive maintain at 5 - 6k rpm for very long time in manual mode oso so far no prob *touch wood* but mine comes with a CVT cooler, which maybe explains some thing |
Aug 13 2014, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 10:50 AM) Stationary > 30 min in D? Leg not tired pressing brake pedal? I always switch to N when stationary, etc at traffic lights. Very common. Saw it everytime with the brake light so bright on my face. That's why we have so many gearbox failure eg, DSG, CVT, AT, MT (not gearbox but clutch wear fast), yes even MT some pple just engaged in 1 and on the pressed on the clutch that long. |
Aug 13 2014, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 10:12 AM) correct Maybe its a combination of both...my new City EarthDream CVt is even more responsuve than most AT b segment car like VIOS.case in example is the Mitsu INVECS III CVT and Nissan's X-tronic CVT both are manufacatured by the same company - JATCO both both have different "software" - i.e. the TCU (transmission control unit) the INVECS III have bad rubber band effect on low speed acceleration the X-Tronic has an improved experience And yeah, can feel rubber band effect at low speed acceleration on my Inspira ,.while the new City, not noticeable at all. |
Aug 13 2014, 10:59 AM
Aug 13 2014, 11:40 AM
Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM
some benefits of CVT, very smooth driving. You cannot get this with MT or old AT boxes, totally no jerking at all. Very nice to ferry loved ones. Another benefit of CVT is, can easily overtake cars on the highway at highspeeds, really effortless as the torque is accesible so easily.
Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 13 2014, 10:54 AM) Very common. Saw it everytime with the brake light so bright on my face. That's why we have so many gearbox failure eg, DSG, CVT, AT, MT (not gearbox but clutch wear fast), yes even MT some pple just engaged in 1 and on the pressed on the clutch that long. Actually, i never know what's the correct thing to do....glad my habits is the right one...LOL.Dug some info with good explanation to share: http://www.topgear.com.ph/features/columns...tuck-in-traffic QUOTE(bananadriver @ Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM) some benefits of CVT, very smooth driving. You cannot get this with MT or old AT boxes, totally no jerking at all. Very nice to ferry loved ones. Another benefit of CVT is, can easily overtake cars on the highway at highspeeds, really effortless as the torque is accesible so easily. Yep, for passenger comfort and normal driving, CVT is really gooding...no shift-shock nonsense....This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 11:46 AM |
Aug 13 2014, 12:03 PM
39 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Here is my review for cvt transmission, i have been using it for 2.5 years. Car model saga flx 1.3.
- smoot ride, reads no 'push back' feeling when accelerate. When trying to overtake, you press down the gas pedal, rpm shoot up, maintain at 4k rpm but car speed climb too slowly. Power delivery was delayed for at least 2-3 seconds. Solution , switch to sat mode when driving in highway. Town drving in d mode. - good for hill climb. Can maintain speed when climbing up hill but engine sound will be rough and harsh due to high rpm while climbing hill. Solution. Insullate the car with sound deadening material , but it is a saga so meh.... - jerky in the morning, traffic jam. Solution , let go brake, let the gearbox do the work, once u feel the car is rolling only you can start giving some gas. Or else it will jerk. Rubber band effect is strong there. - fuel saving ? Not really. 11-12l per km for a small car. You can argue that is driver issue or traffic condition but for me this fuel consumption figure is alright but can be better. I test drove the old sylphy n inspira. The rubber band effect is there. Maybe cvt is not for me but i just going to make use of what i have for now. I have yet to test drive the new city. |
Aug 13 2014, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM) Yes, most younger people do not appreciate this factor. For those who ferry parents, grandparents, or babies, will really love this smoothness. They will praise your driving very good because no jerking. actually just thanks to CVT haha! babies drink milk also wont spill. |
Aug 13 2014, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(bananadriver @ Aug 13 2014, 12:04 PM) Yes, most younger people do not appreciate this factor. For those who ferry parents, grandparents, or babies, will really love this smoothness. They will praise your driving very good because no jerking. actually just thanks to CVT haha! babies drink milk also wont spill. THIS. Guys, if want to impress your future mother-in-law with "driving skill", buy a CVT. I guess family man like us will appreciate CVT a lot more than vroom-vroom kaki. This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 12:23 PM |
Aug 13 2014, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 13 2014, 12:03 PM) Here is my review for cvt transmission, i have been using it for 2.5 years. Car model saga flx 1.3. 1) I don't think power delivery is that slow...it's just perception, more likely like 0.5 to 1 second. For my Inspira...going from 120km - 160km/h is really fast...My City also accelerate pretty fast. No complains at all...its more engine issue than CVT characteristic. - smoot ride, reads no 'push back' feeling when accelerate. When trying to overtake, you press down the gas pedal, rpm shoot up, maintain at 4k rpm but car speed climb too slowly. Power delivery was delayed for at least 2-3 seconds. Solution , switch to sat mode when driving in highway. Town drving in d mode. - good for hill climb. Can maintain speed when climbing up hill but engine sound will be rough and harsh due to high rpm while climbing hill. Solution. Insullate the car with sound deadening material , but it is a saga so meh.... - jerky in the morning, traffic jam. Solution , let go brake, let the gearbox do the work, once u feel the car is rolling only you can start giving some gas. Or else it will jerk. Rubber band effect is strong there. - fuel saving ? Not really. 11-12l per km for a small car. You can argue that is driver issue or traffic condition but for me this fuel consumption figure is alright but can be better. I test drove the old sylphy n inspira. The rubber band effect is there. Maybe cvt is not for me but i just going to make use of what i have for now. I have yet to test drive the new city. 2) Engine rough sound - Again Engine issue....not CVT. 3) Jerkiness - This might be Punch CVT issue or need tuning....doesn't experience any jerkiness with Inspira or City. 4) FC - The gearbox can only do so much, if stuck in jam, any car also die....but Campro engine is known fuel sucker. However, if you put CVT in the similar cars, you can get better FC...ex: City vs VIOS vs Almera....City winrar in FC, as proven in PaulTan's test. All 1.5L engine, not the latest engines...VIOS especially ancient...LOL. I think most of the things you highlight is an Engine issue rather than typical CVT characteristic for fair comparison. This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 12:38 PM |
Aug 13 2014, 12:34 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Aug 13 2014, 12:54 PM
1,216 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Cut Throat Land |
those who says/complain
CVT lacks torque, cannot climb hill, jerky, rubber band, overheat etc etc etc usually drives a proton. comparing proton CVT to other CVT sounds not right. CVT's main advantage is fuel saving coupling it with a primitive fuel guzzling engine just doesn't make sense. modern CVTs comes equipped with torque converters which minimises the rubber-band effect. now, whose and which CVT are we discussing about here? |
Aug 13 2014, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM) Not only that,for torque converters, which is basically just a fluid coupling. When D selected but on brakes - basically you just tell the TCU to "please decouple so my engine won't stall" - and the one of the thing it can do this is from torque converter (since everything is connected from engine to tires, and D selected), 'decoupling' via the fluid - simply converting them to heat. for clutch coupling, if you are unlucky with a dumb TCU (most likely will be), will just confused whether you want to move, or creeping, or stop. In the end, the clutch is semi-engaged, or intermittently on/off engaged - just like the dumb ass manual driver that float his car on a slope with clutch play in the entire duration of the red light. |
Aug 13 2014, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 13 2014, 12:54 PM) those who says/complain TS started with his saga's cvtCVT lacks torque, cannot climb hill, jerky, rubber band, overheat etc etc etc usually drives a proton. comparing proton CVT to other CVT sounds not right. CVT's main advantage is fuel saving coupling it with a primitive fuel guzzling engine just doesn't make sense. modern CVTs comes equipped with torque converters which minimises the rubber-band effect. now, whose and which CVT are we discussing about here? and now it turned into a general CVT discussion |
Aug 13 2014, 01:42 PM
Aug 13 2014, 01:55 PM
Aug 13 2014, 02:00 PM
Aug 13 2014, 02:08 PM
Aug 13 2014, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 13 2014, 02:08 PM) it's normal price. nothing to be alarmedjust that labor is expensive. i know it's rm 60/hour. but they need to take 1 hr to do the job? or the rm65 is inclusive of labor for other oil change also? if u think ur CVT is jerking, just ask the SC to reset the TCU for you INVECS III has an adaptive TCU - it adjusts setting according to your driving style - i.e. it "learns" your driving style QUOTE The INVECS(*2) -III CVT smart transmission incorporates MMC's proprietary Adaptive Shift Control and Optimal Shift Control technologies that enhance easy-to-drive qualities by automatically selecting the gear ratio best suited to road conditions and to the driver's individual style and preferences http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/en/corpor.../detail833.html |
Aug 13 2014, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 02:00 PM) why so ekspensip? You got free service, apa lu mau compare wei...wait until free service over lar...then you will kecoh...btw...you sure they pump in correct CVT oil? Mitsu must use DIAQUEEN III, even Inspira also use DIAQUEEN III until they change it to Proton OEM brand, but clearly stated for Mitsubishi...(maybe they get better price, buy in bulk and then repackage). Petronas CVT oil? Dunno wor....pray later your CVT no koyak after warranty over....i use petronas lubricants or whaterver they pump in that comes free with my car servicing so cost is zero. Same here for Inspira RM 2xx for CVT oil. Honda City is cheaper though, RM1xx only according to the maintenance schedule. This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 13 2014, 02:37 PM |
Aug 13 2014, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 02:19 PM) You got free service, apa lu mau compare wei...wait until free service over lar...then you will kecoh...btw...you sure they pump in correct CVT oil? Mitsu must use DIAQUEEN III, even Inspira also use DIAQUEEN III until they change it to Proton OEM brand, but clearly stated for Mitsubishi...(maybe they get better price, buy in bulk and then repackage). Petronas CVT oil? Dunno wor....pray later your CVT no koyak after warranty over.... nah. my triton ATF change is more or less the same price. not surprised at allSame here for Inspira RM 2xx for CVT oil. Honda City is cheaper though, RM1xx only according to the maintenance schedule. what i am surprised is the labor charge - it is just a matter of opening the drain plug and filling in the correct amount of oil, and a new washer for the drain plug. they charge by the hour and usually an ATF change is a 30 min job (hence RM30) maybe they use diaqueen. maybe they don't. never notice also. cvt koyak, then go buy new car. no car is meant to last forever. |
Aug 13 2014, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 02:44 PM) nah. my triton ATF change is more or less the same price. not surprised at all Maybe his RM65 labor include changing engine oil and other stuff?? Proton charge me RM90 labor minimum everytime...change oil and CVT oil also included i think. But if no change CVT oil also RM90....you do at Mitsu or outside Workshop?what i am surprised is the labor charge - it is just a matter of opening the drain plug and filling in the correct amount of oil, and a new washer for the drain plug. they charge by the hour and usually an ATF change is a 30 min job (hence RM30) maybe they use diaqueen. maybe they don't. never notice also. cvt koyak, then go buy new car. no car is meant to last forever. And yeah, not last forever, but i prefer my car not to die a premature death yah.... |
Aug 13 2014, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 02:48 PM) Maybe his RM65 labor include changing engine oil and other stuff?? Proton charge me RM90 labor minimum everytime...change oil and CVT oil also included i think. But if no change CVT oil also RM90....you do at Mitsu or outside Workshop? mitsu sc.And yeah, not last forever, but i prefer my car not to die a premature death yah.... *touch wood* even honda SC cocked up with their city's cvt last time. |
Aug 13 2014, 02:53 PM
1,138 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 13 2014, 01:55 PM) Mitsubishi sc recommended to flushing your cvt everytime it replace cvt oilMit ASX CVT oil 6 lit and another 6 lit for flushing the cost almost rm 600 How about proton inspira .. Proton sc recommended to do flushing or replace oil only |
Aug 13 2014, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 02:53 PM) Yep...that is why everyone keeping high alert when it comes to CVT fluid replacement!!!! I check the bottles at my Proton SC when they change my CVT oil...just to make sure no screw up. Later they put Saga CVT oil...Kanasai....you know lar...in bolehland SC, apa pun boleh. |
Aug 13 2014, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Aug 13 2014, 02:53 PM) Mitsubishi sc recommended to flushing your cvt everytime it replace cvt oil i did my CVTF change earlier 12k KM due to the sc change my flywheels and starter motor. They drain off my existing CVTF and reuse back.Mit ASX CVT oil 6 lit and another 6 lit for flushing the cost almost rm 600 How about proton inspira .. Proton sc recommended to do flushing or replace oil only After that only i feel the car jerk and RPM stuck @ 2.5k |
Aug 13 2014, 03:11 PM
A reuse?! That is not CVTF change at all.
Aug 13 2014, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Aug 13 2014, 02:53 PM) Mitsubishi sc recommended to flushing your cvt everytime it replace cvt oil if you change the CVTF frequently need no flush la waste of money onlyMit ASX CVT oil 6 lit and another 6 lit for flushing the cost almost rm 600 How about proton inspira .. Proton sc recommended to do flushing or replace oil only |
Aug 13 2014, 03:19 PM
Aug 13 2014, 03:20 PM
Aug 13 2014, 03:22 PM
Aug 13 2014, 03:23 PM
1,138 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Aug 13 2014, 03:25 PM
Aug 13 2014, 04:04 PM
Aug 13 2014, 04:10 PM
Aug 13 2014, 04:13 PM
Aug 13 2014, 04:29 PM
434 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
I tend to have a different approach to this. I leave it at D. CO in my mind, if you shift it from D to N to D so often (esp when u in a slow moving jam) you tend to put more stress on the auto gearbox. owever if it is a major NON-MOVING-FOR-LONG-TIME jam or a traffic light that takes ages to turn green, I would shift to N and wait. So for me, it really depends how long my car stops, and not on a crawling stop-and-go traffic. In fact, to do that there may be more dangerous.
Just sharing. Of course I could be wrong Myth No. 5: It's best to shift an automatic transmission into Neutral at red lights. This myth stems from the idea that keeping the transmission in Drive while stepping on the brake wastes fuel and causes unnecessary wear on the driveline. In fact, actual engine wear and fuel loss are minimal. Regularly shifting from Neutral and back into Drive when the light turns green, then immediately stepping on the gas, can wear — albeit slightly — on the transmission, driveline and engine mounts. Ultimately, these stoplight antics probably won't amount to any measurable harm or good; they're likely just a habit by folks who need to keep their hand busy with the gear selector. Our advice? Get a stick shift. source: http://www.cars.com/go/advice/Story.jsp?se...h&story=ydMyths QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 11:45 AM) Actually, i never know what's the correct thing to do....glad my habits is the right one...LOL. Dug some info with good explanation to share: http://www.topgear.com.ph/features/columns...tuck-in-traffic Yep, for passenger comfort and normal driving, CVT is really gooding...no shift-shock nonsense.... |
Aug 13 2014, 04:49 PM
>> In fact, actual engine wear and fuel loss are minimal.
Who cares about engine wear and fuel loss. Those are very insignificant. Concerned is on transmission wear. >>Regularly shifting from Neutral and back into Drive when the light turns green, then immediately stepping on the gas, can wear This will wear. There's some slack time for those hydraulic ancillary to complete their job (i.e. to engage a gear) before an auto engages. If one shift to D and immediate step on the gas, the engine will just free rev (like in N) for short time, and then suddenly engage ('duk' sound from the gear) and the car sudden surge forward. Just shift to D (while on a brake), wait for some split second, or 1 sec, then pedal your way out. |
Aug 13 2014, 04:52 PM
434 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
fr traffic lights that turns fairly fast I leave it at D. Let's agree to disagree
Aug 13 2014, 07:23 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Aug 13 2014, 07:26 PM
Aug 13 2014, 09:05 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Saga CVT count ?
So far 3 times CVT light up with different situation 1st, was testing brake do a couple times of hard braking from around 80 to 100 to a complete stop, CVT light up engine cant move. 2nd, Slight downhill, see bump speed around 50 or 60kmh brake( not hard braking ) CVT light up. This both after restart engine problem solve. 3rd, speeding around 120-130kmh and out of a sudden without braking CVT light up |
Aug 13 2014, 10:24 PM
27 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 13 2014, 01:03 PM) Here is my review for cvt transmission, i have been using it for 2.5 years. Car model saga flx 1.3. To be honest bro, i think it is really the saga's cvt only, not all the cvt are behaving like that. So far, i have driven only 2 types of cvt before, the Prius E-CVT and Altis's 7 speed CVT, so i can only tell the characteristics of these 2 cvts. For Prius's CVT, you can't feel the gear switching and changing like you normally will feel from normal AT or DCT/DSG. This, you got no feeling at all. At first, i though it was slow but when i tested it with OBD and apps, it shows from 0-100km/h, within 10 second. Well, it is not sports car fast but i can say it is relatively fast, with 1425kg in weight. If you floor the accelerator pedal, no tyre spinning will happen caz of traction control and VSC, you don't get to spin the tyre. Then if you look at dashboard, the speed shown will jump quite fast and suddenly, you reached 150km/h. The CVT for Prius is using timing chain so no replacement nor rubber effect will be detected; transmission fluid is WS grade so no need to change within the lifespan of the car, but if you want to get it replace every 100k km, be my guess. It is exceptionally quiet, smooth, powerful and not so fun to drive like manual or DSG/DCT but if you opt for something comfortable for you and ur passenger, or piece of mind during busy traffic period, CVT is a very good choice.- smoot ride, reads no 'push back' feeling when accelerate. When trying to overtake, you press down the gas pedal, rpm shoot up, maintain at 4k rpm but car speed climb too slowly. Power delivery was delayed for at least 2-3 seconds. Solution , switch to sat mode when driving in highway. Town drving in d mode. - good for hill climb. Can maintain speed when climbing up hill but engine sound will be rough and harsh due to high rpm while climbing hill. Solution. Insullate the car with sound deadening material , but it is a saga so meh.... - jerky in the morning, traffic jam. Solution , let go brake, let the gearbox do the work, once u feel the car is rolling only you can start giving some gas. Or else it will jerk. Rubber band effect is strong there. - fuel saving ? Not really. 11-12l per km for a small car. You can argue that is driver issue or traffic condition but for me this fuel consumption figure is alright but can be better. I test drove the old sylphy n inspira. The rubber band effect is there. Maybe cvt is not for me but i just going to make use of what i have for now. I have yet to test drive the new city. Altis's CVT is 7 speed but Toyota has made a kinda funny "features" and for some reasonss, UMW added a simulated gear changing sound whenever you press the gas pedal to imitate the gear changing incident like normal AT has, but you dun get the feel of gear changing but only the gear changing sound. For CVT, gear ration basically is quite wide, though Altis's cvt is 7 speed but still, because of the unique characteristics of cvt, gear changing can't really be felt. This 7 speed cvt is relatively smooth, no jerky nor lag in power, easy control and transmission of power is almost instant, whenever you press the gas pedal, the engine and transmission will feed the car up to the speed that you want, say overtaking other vehicle is easy, no delay and fast. Between car with AT, DSG/DCT and cvt, i will go for cvt over the other 2 options. Only if the reliability and durability of DSG/DCT has significant improved, no way i will go for it though they are the most fun to drive. No offense to P1, but my dad's saga also have the same behavior like you have described. Once compare with the CVT in Prius and Altis, i am curious as well why so much different between Toyota and P1. |
Aug 13 2014, 10:39 PM
237 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
CVT is the future...
so far no issue for me... |
Aug 13 2014, 11:17 PM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 13 2014, 10:54 AM) Very common. Saw it everytime with the brake light so bright on my face. That's why we have so many gearbox failure eg, DSG, CVT, AT, MT (not gearbox but clutch wear fast), yes even MT some pple just engaged in 1 and on the pressed on the clutch that long. Not really, for me I put it to N while pressing my brake, too lazy to pull up the handbrake.. |
Aug 13 2014, 11:25 PM
2,551 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras / Ampang |
I always change my CVT fluid every 20k km, so far still working strong(touch wood).
And I always shift to N and press brake. If the waiting time is too long, I just use handbreak... |
Aug 14 2014, 04:13 AM
18 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
hi guys, anyone have change cvt oil of saga flx outside proton service centre? how much the cost? oil brand used? thank you.
Aug 14 2014, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(briantft @ Aug 13 2014, 10:24 PM) The CVT for Prius is using timing chain so no replacement nor rubber effect will be detected; transmission fluid is WS grade so no need to change within the lifespan of the car, but if you want to get it replace every 100k km, be my guess... Not even a chain. It is more similar to an auto than CVT.And that WS no need to change bullshit from UMW... |
Aug 14 2014, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(briantft @ Aug 13 2014, 10:24 PM) To be honest bro, i think it is really the saga's cvt only, not all the cvt are behaving like that. So far, i have driven only 2 types of cvt before, the Prius E-CVT and Altis's 7 speed CVT, so i can only tell the characteristics of these 2 cvts. For Prius's CVT, you can't feel the gear switching and changing like you normally will feel from normal AT or DCT/DSG. This, you got no feeling at all. At first, i though it was slow but when i tested it with OBD and apps, it shows from 0-100km/h, within 10 second. Well, it is not sports car fast but i can say it is relatively fast, with 1425kg in weight. If you floor the accelerator pedal, no tyre spinning will happen caz of traction control and VSC, you don't get to spin the tyre. Then if you look at dashboard, the speed shown will jump quite fast and suddenly, you reached 150km/h. The CVT for Prius is using timing chain so no replacement nor rubber effect will be detected; transmission fluid is WS grade so no need to change within the lifespan of the car, but if you want to get it replace every 100k km, be my guess. It is exceptionally quiet, smooth, powerful and not so fun to drive like manual or DSG/DCT but if you opt for something comfortable for you and ur passenger, or piece of mind during busy traffic period, CVT is a very good choice. bro, thanks for the detail write up of the cvt from diff manufacturer. So far i have no experience in driving both of the toyota's mentioned but i did ride in one of the prius taxi in singapore and i have to agree with you that the ride of the prius is smooth and the vehicle move forward with no sign of jerkiness even in low speed. Altis's CVT is 7 speed but Toyota has made a kinda funny "features" and for some reasonss, UMW added a simulated gear changing sound whenever you press the gas pedal to imitate the gear changing incident like normal AT has, but you dun get the feel of gear changing but only the gear changing sound. For CVT, gear ration basically is quite wide, though Altis's cvt is 7 speed but still, because of the unique characteristics of cvt, gear changing can't really be felt. This 7 speed cvt is relatively smooth, no jerky nor lag in power, easy control and transmission of power is almost instant, whenever you press the gas pedal, the engine and transmission will feed the car up to the speed that you want, say overtaking other vehicle is easy, no delay and fast. Between car with AT, DSG/DCT and cvt, i will go for cvt over the other 2 options. Only if the reliability and durability of DSG/DCT has significant improved, no way i will go for it though they are the most fun to drive. No offense to P1, but my dad's saga also have the same behavior like you have described. Once compare with the CVT in Prius and Altis, i am curious as well why so much different between Toyota and P1. as for driving experience, i only manage to test drive the previous version slyphy and preve. As for the slyphy I found that the ride was smooth and the pick up was rather 'mild' for a 2.0 car , (maybe i am so used to my manual mazda 323 that i own before the saga , shift down and rev up, can feel the 'push back' feeling As for the preve, i do not feel the same feeling of lacking power that i found in my saga. Maybe the engine is much more powerful. The other forumers here are right, some young blood like me do not know appreciate the 'smoothness' yet. i am looking forward to test drive those cvt rather than my current ride. i think only then i will appreciate the cvt advantages of a real CVT. proton cvt esp for the saga.....i rest my case. only hope i have is to change the car as soon as i can. |
Aug 14 2014, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 13 2014, 12:32 PM) 1) I don't think power delivery is that slow...it's just perception, more likely like 0.5 to 1 second. For my Inspira...going from 120km - 160km/h is really fast...My City also accelerate pretty fast. No complains at all...its more engine issue than CVT characteristic. bro, thanks for the reply. 2) Engine rough sound - Again Engine issue....not CVT. 3) Jerkiness - This might be Punch CVT issue or need tuning....doesn't experience any jerkiness with Inspira or City. 4) FC - The gearbox can only do so much, if stuck in jam, any car also die....but Campro engine is known fuel sucker. However, if you put CVT in the similar cars, you can get better FC...ex: City vs VIOS vs Almera....City winrar in FC, as proven in PaulTan's test. All 1.5L engine, not the latest engines...VIOS especially ancient...LOL. I think most of the things you highlight is an Engine issue rather than typical CVT characteristic for fair comparison. from the way i see it, inspira use engine and gearbox that was tune from mitsu. and the mitsu engineers get it right. fuel consumption of my 1.3 campro really can fight with a 2.0 hahaha....thinking of it right now, make me think why i didn;t get the myvi or any older 1.8 or 2.0 used before i buy the saga. *regret* |
Aug 14 2014, 08:38 AM
Aug 14 2014, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 14 2014, 08:34 AM) bro, thanks for the reply. Inspira sucks fuel in city also...normal about 7km/l for me coz I drive short distance and heavy jam at Bandar Utama/Ldp/Kota Damansara .Can go even lower when in stand still traffic....but since its 2.0l, ok lah.from the way i see it, inspira use engine and gearbox that was tune from mitsu. and the mitsu engineers get it right. fuel consumption of my 1.3 campro really can fight with a 2.0 hahaha....thinking of it right now, make me think why i didn;t get the myvi or any older 1.8 or 2.0 used before i buy the saga. *regret* Surely your saga is better? |
Aug 14 2014, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 14 2014, 08:45 AM) Inspira sucks fuel in city also...normal about 7km/l for me coz I drive short distance and heavy jam at Bandar Utama/Ldp/Kota Damansara .Can go even lower when in stand still traffic....but since its 2.0l, ok lah. so far, the best fuel consumption i ever get from my car was 17 cents/ km which translate to 12.35 km/l for a 70% highway and 30% town driving. Ipoh to seremban .... 90-120 kmh all the way. Surely your saga is better? worst fuel consumption is 9-11 km/l when i drive to work from pj to kl back and forth to work. avg speed 30 km/h hahaha... no heavy rev, and try to minimize start and go as much as i can in slow traffic., just let the car glide in d used to do a lot of high rev due to lack of power but i didn;t measure the fuel bill but the needle sure drop very fast. 7km/l for a 2.0 car comfort. I think it is worth it. Maybe i will be wrong. Wait till i own a 2.0 then i will know . This post has been edited by Icetea87: Aug 14 2014, 09:10 AM |
Aug 14 2014, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(briantft @ Aug 13 2014, 10:24 PM) Prius's transmission is not exactly a cvt as you know it. The name cvt (eCVT) is there just so the customer won't be too confused. And also, the rubber band effect is not because of the transmission using rubber/belting. It is because of the TCU unable to decide which ratio to use, and keep changing the ratio, and thus you feel the rubber band effect. |
Aug 14 2014, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(briantft @ Aug 13 2014, 10:24 PM) Altis's CVT is 7 speed but Toyota has made a kinda funny "features" and for some reasonss, UMW added a simulated gear changing sound whenever you press the gas pedal to imitate the gear changing incident like normal AT has, but you dun get the feel of gear changing but only the gear changing sound. For CVT, gear ration basically is quite wide, though Altis's cvt is 7 speed but still, because of the unique characteristics of cvt, gear changing can't really be felt. This 7 speed cvt is relatively smooth, no jerky nor lag in power, easy control and transmission of power is almost instant, whenever you press the gas pedal, the engine and transmission will feed the car up to the speed that you want, say overtaking other vehicle is easy, no delay and fast. CVT don't have '7-speed', '8-speed' per se. CVT has almost infinite number's of gear ratio. the 7-speed here on altis is actually just 7 virtual gear ratio that makes the cvt behaves like a 7-speed auto when you choose to, because it feels more sporty. under normal operation, CVT is smooth and there's no '7-speed' thing.and for the simulated gear changing sound... Altis got this??? i'm not sure, never sit in the a 2014 Altis before. for me it sounds... very unlikely. hopefully other ppl can clarify. |
Aug 14 2014, 11:38 AM
*double post
This post has been edited by efaceninja: Aug 14 2014, 11:45 AM |
Aug 14 2014, 12:29 PM
In Invecs III CVT also got stimulate gear changing
Aug 14 2014, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 14 2014, 12:29 PM) CVT don't have '7-speed', '8-speed' per se. CVT has almost infinite number's of gear ratio. the 7-speed here on altis is actually just 7 virtual gear ratio that makes the cvt behaves like a 7-speed auto when you choose to, because it feels more sporty. under normal operation, CVT is smooth and there's no '7-speed' thing. This is what i don't really understand why Toyota put the simulated gear changing sound, perhaps to ease the perception/curiosity/neverouness of driver in general regarding though AT, it will give you the sound (not the feel) of gear changing in AT but not CVT.and for the simulated gear changing sound... Altis got this??? i'm not sure, never sit in the a 2014 Altis before. for me it sounds... very unlikely. hopefully other ppl can clarify. As for the CVT transmission, it does have certain sets of gear ratio (could be from 1.12 to 2.113 as for example for first gear/first set). It is wider and the ECU will have it selected as according to the input from driver (depends on the speed), which is different the AT with fixed gear ration. 7-speed CVT means it has a upper and lower gear ration to be selected as according to the input from driver, not really the definition of infinite as in math. I am not sure about other variant of Altis caz here in MY we have 3 models, 1.8E, 2.0G & 2.0V, and i only find the simulated sound in 2.0V. To be honest, i find it really funny and something like "extra piece of fish" (in cantonese)..... |
Aug 14 2014, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:12 AM) Not even a chain. It is more similar to an auto than CVT. Hmmm, not getting the info from UMW but some of the 3rd generation pre-FL Prius owners went to inspect the transmission fluid and turn out it is still relatively clean. And also my Prius too, approaching 80k km and the fluid still can be considered as like new. I am not sure why, but compare to Camry and Vios, i realize Vios's transmission fluid tend to getting dirty and replacement of fluid needed like every 50k-60k. My last ride, Vios, i found the transmission fluid to be relatively dirty after just 60k km.And that WS no need to change bullshit from UMW... For my opinion, if after inspection and found the transmission fluid is dirty, get it replace. Overall cost will be less than RM500 including labor and new transmission fluid. |
Aug 14 2014, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(briantft @ Aug 14 2014, 01:23 PM) This is what i don't really understand why Toyota put the simulated gear changing sound, perhaps to ease the perception/curiosity/neverouness of driver in general regarding though AT, it will give you the sound (not the feel) of gear changing in AT but not CVT. yes, CVT does has an upper end ratio and a lower end ratio. but in between, it is supposed to be almost infinite (limited by TCU i suppose), not just 7 speed. the 7-speed is only when you switch to "sport mode", instead of almost infinite gear ratio, the TCU set it to a pre-defined set of 7 ratio. If you but it in D, then its the almost infinite gear ratio mode. if you fully accelerate in normal CVT mode, you won't see the engine RPM goes up and down in between gear change, because there's no gear to change. instead, RPM just roar to 5k maybe 6k RPM, and hold there, while the speed keep going faster and faster.As for the CVT transmission, it does have certain sets of gear ratio (could be from 1.12 to 2.113 as for example for first gear/first set). It is wider and the ECU will have it selected as according to the input from driver (depends on the speed), which is different the AT with fixed gear ration. 7-speed CVT means it has a upper and lower gear ration to be selected as according to the input from driver, not really the definition of infinite as in math. I am not sure about other variant of Altis caz here in MY we have 3 models, 1.8E, 2.0G & 2.0V, and i only find the simulated sound in 2.0V. To be honest, i find it really funny and something like "extra piece of fish" (in cantonese)..... and when you say "... for example for first gear/first set...", it means that your understanding on CVT is wrong already. CVT don't have first gear/first set, because, it only got ONE set. this ONE set can keep changing in diameter and thus the ratio. this is my understanding on CVT gear. driven on old gen City's CVT and also CKD Jazz Hybrid's CVT. |
Aug 14 2014, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 14 2014, 03:12 PM) yes, CVT does has an upper end ratio and a lower end ratio. but in between, it is supposed to be almost infinite (limited by TCU i suppose), not just 7 speed. the 7-speed is only when you switch to "sport mode", instead of almost infinite gear ratio, the TCU set it to a pre-defined set of 7 ratio. If you but it in D, then its the almost infinite gear ratio mode. if you fully accelerate in normal CVT mode, you won't see the engine RPM goes up and down in between gear change, because there's no gear to change. instead, RPM just roar to 5k maybe 6k RPM, and hold there, while the speed keep going faster and faster. good info bro, btw, i will attach the simulated gear switching/changing of Altis's cvt. Pay attention about 2:00 onward:and when you say "... for example for first gear/first set...", it means that your understanding on CVT is wrong already. CVT don't have first gear/first set, because, it only got ONE set. this ONE set can keep changing in diameter and thus the ratio. this is my understanding on CVT gear. driven on old gen City's CVT and also CKD Jazz Hybrid's CVT. Well, i can't tell for sure for every cvt, because there are many different setting of cvt, please refer to the link below for the variances of cvt as according to different manufacturer. For Toyota & Nissan, these 2 are adapting not so convention cvt set up as their CVTs are made up of a pulley system, with cones at each pulley, all connected by a chain belt. These cones move closer together or further apart to increase or decrease the diameter at which the belt operates. The ratio here is important, and is selected automatically based on factors like gas pedal position, vehicle speed and engine speed.

What all this means is that a CVT doesn’t shift at all like a traditional gearbox. The ratios are always changing in order to find the perfect combination for speed, fuel efficiency or both. They even come with buttons/OD/paddle swifter to help shift between pre-set ratios which helps mimic a traditional automatic. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continuously_...le_transmission I am interesting to know more about Honda's cvt, Audi's multitronic or even Mitsubishi's INVECS. Different manufacturer has different setting on their cvt transmission which the philosophy behind is really interesting. This post has been edited by briantft: Aug 14 2014, 03:23 PM |
Aug 14 2014, 05:00 PM
Proton's Punch CVT ie the ones in Saga/Preve uses a wet clutch, whereas those in Sylphy/Altis uses torque converter. So it stands to reason that a clutch-based transmission will definitely be less smooth and jerks more than that of a torque converter, especially during low speed. It has less to do with Campro being refined or not.
The reasoning behind using a wet clutch is for efficiency, as for how efficient it is....well it seems different people has different results. I have heard so many complaining CVT (any CVT, not just Proton/Mitsu/Honda etc. etc.) is inefficient la, pickup slow la, sucks power la, sucks fuel la. It is really starting to get tiring. You cannot drive a CVT like a normal AT car and expect the same characteristics. If you want to buy a CVT car, invest some time in learning how to drive one for the best results, instead of stomping on the gas pedal and shouting "WHY WON'T YOU GO??!!!" One thing is true though, CVT is more fragile than regular slushboxes and overheats relatively easily. If you intend to buy a car to touge every weekend, look somewhere else. This post has been edited by dares: Aug 14 2014, 05:02 PM |
Aug 14 2014, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 14 2014, 06:00 PM) Proton's Punch CVT ie the ones in Saga/Preve uses a wet clutch, whereas those in Sylphy/Altis uses torque converter. So it stands to reason that a clutch-based transmission will definitely be less smooth and jerks more than that of a torque converter, especially during low speed. It has less to do with Campro being refined or not. Great, thanks for the info bro. I can't tell the different in terms of mechanical set up of torque converter or wet clutch but if compare between Altis and saga, saga's cvt is really jerky and inefficient. I almost thought saga is using normal 4-speed AT instead of cvt. For the complaints regarding CVT, may be due to manufacturer's defect, may be due to the driver's bios perception and expectation or even, they though CVT is like AT, should have the push/gear changing feel and sound and so on. Even me, when i just got my Prius, i even called back to service center ask if the transmission was something wrong caz i can't hear or feel any gear changing. It takes time to get familiar with cvt caz it is really different than AT.The reasoning behind using a wet clutch is for efficiency, as for how efficient it is....well it seems different people has different results. I have heard so many complaining CVT (any CVT, not just Proton/Mitsu/Honda etc. etc.) is inefficient la, pickup slow la, sucks power la, sucks fuel la. It is really starting to get tiring. You cannot drive a CVT like a normal AT car and expect the same characteristics. If you want to buy a CVT car, invest some time in learning how to drive one for the best results, instead of stomping on the gas pedal and shouting "WHY WON'T YOU GO??!!!" One thing is true though, CVT is more fragile than regular slushboxes and overheats relatively easily. If you intend to buy a car to touge every weekend, look somewhere else. |
Aug 14 2014, 09:52 PM
be it a torque converter based or wet clutch based, a car has to respond to its user needs and also the driver feel when driving. if other company can deal with torque converter, why proton stick with wet clutch? isn't it torque converter easier to fix and give better respond to the driver esp in the klang valley where traffic jam is normal and low speed travelling is almost unavoidable?
not to be rude, but when i pay money. i expect the car to drive well be it at or cvt or manual. jerkiness in the morning and low speed is not something that we should experience esp for a new car. for now, the cheapest car in the market with cvt will be the saga , and i believe a lot of ppl buy the cvt saga for the daily usage. if we want people to adapt to new tech, we must introduce the advantages and convenience of the tech. if not , we will forever stuck with the 4at like what perodua and toyota do. This post has been edited by Icetea87: Aug 14 2014, 10:03 PM |
Aug 14 2014, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:52 PM) As I've mentioned, the choice to use wet-clutch is for efficiency reason, ie, to reduce drivetrain loss.QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:52 PM) if we want people to adapt to new tech, we must introduce the advantages and convenience of the tech. if not , we will forever stuck with the 4at like what perodua and toyota do. I don't quite understand your point. I think Proton has made the advantages of CVT abundantly clear in their marketing materials.Your complaints about the car should drive as smooth as a torque converter is understandable; the same complaints can be levied upon any automatic clutch-based transmissions. When I had my FLX SE, I would alternate between this CVT car and a 4AT Vios regularly. Personally I don't find any problem with the jerking because I can adapt to both cars. There are also many who drives their Preve/Saga/Exora etc. etc. without any complaints, it was just a matter of adapting your driving style to the gearbox. However, since even those Ford/VW owners complain about their dual-clutch gearboxes not behaving like regular slushboxes, I guess not everyone can live with that. If the driver insists on driving a clutch-based car like a torque converter, I suggest said driver to just stick to torque converters. This post has been edited by dares: Aug 14 2014, 10:55 PM |
Aug 14 2014, 11:48 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
I owned 2008 Honda City VTEC (ex-car from 2008 - 2010)
I don't face any problem though (service at recommended milage), But I dare not say the durability cuz I wasn't using that long. Bought 2 years and sold because need to move to other countries. The CVT experience It is awesome for a 1.5 liter car, FC is nothing to complain. I can manage to tail CAMRY 2.4 at high who is driving high speed (with CVT set to manual and driving at high rpm) Overall, I said CVT is a good technology. That is why you can see that many cars are switching OLD GB to CVT GB *CVT jz need to maintain it at recommended millage and remember to change to Neutral when you are at traffic light (I believe all cars are the same actually) |
Aug 15 2014, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(defg @ Aug 14 2014, 11:48 PM) I owned 2008 Honda City VTEC (ex-car from 2008 - 2010) IDK why those years model city vtec owners like to drive that car fast kao kao. I went to KLIA before....got a johor plate auntie or lady drove the car about 180kmph i believe should be idsl...I was about 150 160 then...she drove pass me like I'm a kancil...The CVT experience It is awesome for a 1.5 liter car, FC is nothing to complain. I can manage to tail CAMRY 2.4 at high who is driving high speed (with CVT set to manual and driving at high rpm) Got one time IDK on which interstate highway, from kl, 3 lanes road can see pretty far one... not short horizon like genting....to kuantan or some place i forgot, I chasing TWO 'racing' cars, a MB and a BMW....dono wat model coz I was very concentrating but im guessing a E class n 5s ...I should be around 160 170 that time, but it was difficult keeping up with them...partly the road was hilly and long curvy at that time....the 1500cc couldnt keep up, I could feel my car is out of breathe, I couldnt push further the car limit and i think max around 170 @ 5-7k rpm for sometime, the gap was pulling I could no longer faster no matter how i floored it. i suppose their CC was big...then all i can remember the last sight in fact memorable, was they are like , at a distant of another hill oredy...but the two still close together....i believe they should be in 190 200... The city cvt was a master of its own for such a small cc car...and the cvt experience is unforgettable. I'm quite impressed because I m pretty much a car noob all the time If that car model up the HP to 120-160hp also ok liao, and put on a low stable chassis...it could have been a classic and a keeper...but the design that time.... == hehe This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 15 2014, 01:04 AM |
Aug 15 2014, 03:10 AM
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:52 PM) be it a torque converter based or wet clutch based, a car has to respond to its user needs and also the driver feel when driving. if other company can deal with torque converter, why proton stick with wet clutch? isn't it torque converter easier to fix and give better respond to the driver esp in the klang valley where traffic jam is normal and low speed travelling is almost unavoidable? Clutch based gearboxes will have an easier time getting good efficiency ratings. Other manufacturers are taking the other route to cater for their more "traditional" drivers. Everyone else who opt for clutch based are more interested in getting the efficiency ratings up. They're slightly more difficult to program to be smooth, and will have the occasional slip-ups like not engaging when you want them to at very low throttle inputs, or no creep. But sooner or later they will be as smooth and intuitive, and most probably be cheaper.Proton, Ford, VW (just to name a few), are helping the development of this technology, either by engineering them directly, or funding the companies who make them by using them in their own products. So it's more like, "why can't other companies deal with wet clutch?" This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Aug 15 2014, 03:11 AM |
Aug 15 2014, 07:36 AM
QUOTE(defg @ Aug 14 2014, 11:48 PM) I owned 2008 Honda City VTEC (ex-car from 2008 - 2010) Bro...VTEC 2008 use 5AT box wor...your car the face is like Optimus Prime right?I don't face any problem though (service at recommended milage), But I dare not say the durability cuz I wasn't using that long. Bought 2 years and sold because need to move to other countries. The CVT experience It is awesome for a 1.5 liter car, FC is nothing to complain. I can manage to tail CAMRY 2.4 at high who is driving high speed (with CVT set to manual and driving at high rpm) Overall, I said CVT is a good technology. That is why you can see that many cars are switching OLD GB to CVT GB *CVT jz need to maintain it at recommended millage and remember to change to Neutral when you are at traffic light (I believe all cars are the same actually) |
Aug 15 2014, 09:23 AM
210 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Kuala Lumpurr |
my mom owned suzuki swift since 2006 and so far no cvt problem yet
Aug 15 2014, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 14 2014, 10:53 PM) As I've mentioned, the choice to use wet-clutch is for efficiency reason, ie, to reduce drivetrain loss. to further elaborate my point, what i am trying to say is, since the introduction of saga cvt, most of the users from conventional torque converter based trans are slowly migrating to CVT, why not make the migration as plain and smooth process for them? engineering term=idiot proof it , zero learning curve. I don't quite understand your point. I think Proton has made the advantages of CVT abundantly clear in their marketing materials. Your complaints about the car should drive as smooth as a torque converter is understandable; the same complaints can be levied upon any automatic clutch-based transmissions. When I had my FLX SE, I would alternate between this CVT car and a 4AT Vios regularly. Personally I don't find any problem with the jerking because I can adapt to both cars. There are also many who drives their Preve/Saga/Exora etc. etc. without any complaints, it was just a matter of adapting your driving style to the gearbox. However, since even those Ford/VW owners complain about their dual-clutch gearboxes not behaving like regular slushboxes, I guess not everyone can live with that. If the driver insists on driving a clutch-based car like a torque converter, I suggest said driver to just stick to torque converters. wet clutch type require a small fraction of time for the clutch to engage which sound similar to like what normal manual driver would do. release clutch to the bitting point before u press the gas pedal. To adapt to the CVT gear box , you will need to release break, give it a sec to engage clutch before u can press gas in order not to jerk. i believe the above step is not necessary for a torque converter based cvt. correct me if i am wrong?? Frankly speaking, i test drove the saga in a smooth traffic before i bought it , i was impress with it smoothness. when the car is going on on a constant and smooth traffic is a joy to drive, Things get nasty not when during start and go traffic and stop and up hill traffic where to roll back is so prominent due to the clutch type of cvt. Both of these situations were not tested during my test drive. i agree with you that we need to change the driving style in order to adapt to the cvt or DSG (test drove golf mark 7). or AMT(test drove Savvy) . different gear box thinks and behave differently. that's y i still prefer a manual box but due to family requirement, i have to go for automatic. |
Aug 15 2014, 11:20 AM
>>To adapt to the CVT gear box , you will need to release break, give it a sec to engage clutch before u can press gas in order not to jerk
Regardless of gearbox type, all need this. Even manual you need to 'depend' on your left foot speed & accuracy. |
Aug 15 2014, 11:26 AM
want to have new, better technology but cannot tolerate when asked to change habit a little. everything want to be perfect for ourselves. have we looked in the mirror lately?
This post has been edited by bananadriver: Aug 15 2014, 11:27 AM |
Aug 15 2014, 11:29 AM
I agree with the idiot-proof part, it's a give-and-take I guess, new tech vs old habits.
QUOTE(Icetea87 @ Aug 15 2014, 11:14 AM) wet clutch type require a small fraction of time for the clutch to engage which sound similar to like what normal manual driver would do. release clutch to the bitting point before u press the gas pedal. To adapt to the CVT gear box , you will need to release break, give it a sec to engage clutch before u can press gas in order not to jerk. i believe the above step is not necessary for a torque converter based cvt. correct me if i am wrong?? For some applications such as certain dual-clutch or single clutch stepped transmissions (eg, Savvy's AMT, Smart forfour), drivers are even advised to release the throttle when shifting, like how you would do with a manual transmission, so that it won't jerk as it engages the next gear. Again, not everyone can accept that, especially when driving in congested traffic where it can get tiring very quickly. |
Aug 15 2014, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(bananadriver @ Aug 15 2014, 11:26 AM) want to have new, better technology but cannot tolerate when asked to change habit a little. everything want to be perfect for ourselves. have we looked in the mirror lately? just my opinion here, technology is here to improve life.No one is perfect , yet no technologies are 100% acceptable for all ppl. If we can find way that can combined our old habit and improve life, why not? constructive Criticism and opinion helps to give idea to other people about the product and the improvement they can look forward to. if the tech cannot be change, then be it. that's why we have different product to cater diff market needs |
Aug 15 2014, 12:11 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 15 2014, 07:36 AM) My City is last batch still VTEC with CVT 7 Speed (facelift from 2006 Model) and is a Thailand Spec I believe the one you are saying is the later model which using I-VTEC and Traditional AT GB |
Aug 15 2014, 12:19 PM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
I own a Honda City 2006 VTEC. No problem with my gearbox if you consistently change the CVT oil. CVT gearbox is much more durable, combined with lightweight and simple design. -> How I know? Coz I've opened up another City's gearbox. Don't expect everything to be forever new. Simple stuff like transmission oil and the O-rings should be replaced once in awhile. The shift solenoids in the CVT gearbox doesn't really go kaput. Just don't forget to change the oil. Nuff said.
![]() This post has been edited by ultramankaiser: Aug 15 2014, 12:23 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 01:17 PM
unfortunately my city vtec, fully serviced under honda, normal driving, after 6-7 years, SA quoted RM27,000 to replace the cvt gb due to bad condition. before that no sign of failure. Hopefully you all wont have a shock if this happen to you later on...
This post has been edited by katijar: Aug 15 2014, 01:18 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(ultramankaiser @ Aug 15 2014, 12:19 PM) I own a Honda City 2006 VTEC. No problem with my gearbox if you consistently change the CVT oil. CVT gearbox is much more durable, combined with lightweight and simple design. -> How I know? Coz I've opened up another City's gearbox. Don't expect everything to be forever new. Simple stuff like transmission oil and the O-rings should be replaced once in awhile. The shift solenoids in the CVT gearbox doesn't really go kaput. Just don't forget to change the oil. Nuff said. Wanna ask, when you change your CVT oil, did you do a full flush or just drain and change only? I am wondering if full flush is needed since some people mentioned they did it.![]() QUOTE(defg @ Aug 15 2014, 12:11 PM) My City is last batch still VTEC with CVT 7 Speed (facelift from 2006 Model) and is a Thailand Spec Yep, that's the one....front grille looks like the Autobot Leader Optimus Prime...LOL.I believe the one you are saying is the later model which using I-VTEC and Traditional AT GB This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 15 2014, 03:14 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 03:54 PM
I've never opened up a CVT, but I would love too!
Aug 15 2014, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(katijar @ Aug 15 2014, 01:17 PM) unfortunately my city vtec, fully serviced under honda, normal driving, after 6-7 years, SA quoted RM27,000 to replace the cvt gb due to bad condition. before that no sign of failure. Hopefully you all wont have a shock if this happen to you later on... That would be a shock of a lifetime...wat did the cause of damage after any diagnosis? I'm very curious and concern of this matter too if there was no signs which is scary. So wat happen now or then....This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 15 2014, 05:30 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 15 2014, 05:29 PM) That would be a shock of a lifetime...wat did the cause of damage after any diagnosis? I'm very curious and concern of this matter too if there was no signs which is scary. So wat happen now or then.... The IDSL CVT is known to have problem...Honda has acknowledge this, strange thing is only happens mostly in Malaysia, not in Thai or other countries around this region. There was an article at Paultan not too long ago, with the Honda Head engineer explanining. Honda new Earthdream CVT in the latest City and Jazz has specifically addressed this problem and the new CVT comes with a TC(Torque Converter) as well. |
Aug 15 2014, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 15 2014, 05:40 PM) The IDSL CVT is known to have problem...Honda has acknowledge this, strange thing is only happens mostly in Malaysia, not in Thai or other countries around this region. There was an article at Paultan not too long ago, with the Honda Head engineer explanining. Honda new Earthdream CVT in the latest City and Jazz has specifically addressed this problem and the new CVT comes with a TC(Torque Converter) as well. actually idsl or vtec same plagued by this cvt problem but then honda oredy rectified it also thru cvtf oil in tead of atf oil as d gb oil...I wonder if its this problem but it wud have jerkiness...but he sed no sign of failure is d most scary part. |
Aug 15 2014, 06:01 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I have both the City IDSI and Proton Exora Bold CFE. Both CVT but both different characteristic, even though CVT.
City IDSI: Aimed for best fuel economy but also has reserves for quick sprints in city driving. If your foot is very light, you can even drive at 1500RPM doing 60-70Km/h (Yes, it maybe slow for others). If you want to challenge others on acceleration at green light from 0-90Km/h, the CVT will surprise your opponent. I tried racing with a ricer-boy, old CD3 accord (Auto box also), and my acceleration was on par with him. Yes I can hear his engine+sports exhaust revving high. And this is just in D. Not even S gear. Exora CFE: Thanks to Turbo + CVT, it makes the car drives more powerful than N/A 2.0 I've driven, even for an MPV. The tranny's programming kept the engine revving below 2500RPM in D gear, hardly I reach 3000RPM even when I am trying harder. I haven't tried L gear, but I wouldn't want to try as it's already furiously quick on normal roads. FC , because it's still new, it's doing 13L/100km now. But I believe after 1000KM it will do better. Maintenance: The City did encounter once encounter clutch slippage/vibration when accelerating from standstill, at around 90K, but that was solved after going to Honda SC and changed the oil. Both Exora and City uses wet clutch but I think City's wet clutch slippage (normal operation) during idling/dragging is abit more aggressive than the Exora, cause the moment I let go of the brake, the City clutch tend to launch the vehicle more aggressive than Exora . The Exora can also engage the clutch more aggressively, but thats only if you jab the accelerator pedal harder. |
Aug 18 2014, 09:05 AM
If you did emergency brake. the cvt will went in to limp mode?
Aug 18 2014, 10:19 AM
1,604 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(arza04 @ Aug 12 2014, 02:46 PM) I dont know if mine is expensive, my exora bold cvt..but so far 45k km driven no problem or warning sign whatsoever appear Even more expensive than Honda City. I guess Proton can go and f**k spiders.cvt fluid change interval every 60,000km is RM160 cvt oil filter interval every 60,000km is RM235 total RM 395 for 60,000km |
Aug 18 2014, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 15 2014, 05:29 PM) That would be a shock of a lifetime...wat did the cause of damage after any diagnosis? I'm very curious and concern of this matter too if there was no signs which is scary. So wat happen now or then.... cause of damage: none provided by honda sa.wat happen: went for other honda sa to have 2nd opinion, he said need to bring all the past receipts so that he can check further and only can do during weekdays ... at the end just sold it to used car dealer without fixing it... actually before that oledi need to replace this and that every 2-3 months ... so, just gave up. |
Aug 18 2014, 12:54 PM
Aug 22 2014, 03:02 PM
Will your cvt produce whining sound?
Aug 22 2014, 03:09 PM
Aug 22 2014, 05:22 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 22 2014, 03:02 PM) My uncle's Preve has a loud reverse whining sound. My family Exora has also a reverse whining sound, but much lesser than Preve, despite same gearbox code. With the radiator fan running (it's louder than Preve) , it will drown/muffle the whining noise even further. The Honda City, the whining sound is very minimal, close to unnoticeable, when reversing (you wont notice it unless you switch off your aircond fan and listen carefully). There is also very minimal whining noise when decelerating (sounds like aeroplane jet engine) But overall, it does not affect operation and reliability of the gearbox. This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Aug 22 2014, 05:26 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 01:12 PM
231 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
So...CVT has no effect on fuel consumption...but it seems to me it kinda take some toll on it...
im using Saga 2014 SE....anyone can eloborate to me ?.. |
Aug 24 2014, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Zaszo @ Aug 24 2014, 01:12 PM) So...CVT has no effect on fuel consumption...but it seems to me it kinda take some toll on it... Well it shouldn't have any toll on fuel consumption, and in my experience the driver has more effect on the FC. In most cases even with torque converter CVTs the fuel consumption can actually improve, and more and more CVTs are actually bettering FC of manuals.im using Saga 2014 SE....anyone can eloborate to me ?.. People tend to make CVT's FC worse (or not reaping the benefit of CVTs) because they drive it with a throttle input like that of a conventional (and older) TC automatics. Once the engine has reached a certain optimal RPM point it'll stay there for as long as it can (that depends on YOUR throttle input). For every CVT (yes, same goes for Proton's) I notice that they can even lock the RPM at 1500 and the car still accelerates (rather modestly) until the ratio is too big and you've reached higher speeds. Usually the engine is happy staying at 2000 while you're accelerating towards highway speed, IF you allow it to stay at 2000 rpm. To get the same FC with a conventional stepped gearbox, you will be accelerating considerably slower and you'd still have to let the engine go beyond 2000 rpm. In fact, you can never match the FC with a conventional auto at all given that scenario. You'd have better luck with a manual, but it is a manual. In short, it doesn't give better FC results, it ALLOWS better FC results. YOU have the greater part in making that happen. It's even better than a conventional manual for economy driving because it's a lot more consistent. This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Aug 24 2014, 04:14 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Aug 24 2014, 04:05 PM) Well it shouldn't have any toll on fuel consumption, and in my experience the driver has more effect on the FC. In most cases even with torque converter CVTs the fuel consumption can actually improve, and more and more CVTs are actually bettering FC of manuals. Well said. i used to drive my FLX SE and keep it under 2K RPM in urban roads. It is not fast but perfectly driveable if you can keep yourself from mashing the throttle. At 2k RPM I can reach 80kmh max. I get about 12-13 km/l for that 1.6l Campro in mixed city and highway.People tend to make CVT's FC worse (or not reaping the benefit of CVTs) because they drive it with a throttle input like that of a conventional (and older) TC automatics. Once the engine has reached a certain optimal RPM point it'll stay there for as long as it can (that depends on YOUR throttle input). For every CVT (yes, same goes for Proton's) I notice that they can even lock the RPM at 1500 and the car still accelerates (rather modestly) until the ratio is too big and you've reached higher speeds. Usually the engine is happy staying at 2000 while you're accelerating towards highway speed, IF you allow it to stay at 2000 rpm. To get the same FC with a conventional stepped gearbox, you will be accelerating considerably slower and you'd still have to let the engine go beyond 2000 rpm. In fact, you can never match the FC with a conventional auto at all given that scenario. You'd have better luck with a manual, but it is a manual. In short, it doesn't give better FC results, it ALLOWS better FC results. YOU have the greater part in making that happen. It's even better than a conventional manual for economy driving because it's a lot more consistent. I also wanna add to your last statement.....a CVT makes it waayy easier to get good FC than traditional stepped transmissions. If you drive with an eye on an instant FC gauge you would know what I mean. You can almost control the instant FC with your throttle all of the time.....whereas with stepped trannys there is less control because when it shifts the instant FC can dramatically go either way. |
Aug 24 2014, 06:33 PM
Im noticed the different too...but it cant help when u are overtaking a car...not to say long huge lorry..
Aug 24 2014, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(Zaszo @ Aug 24 2014, 06:33 PM) Im noticed the different too...but it cant help when u are overtaking a car...not to say long huge lorry.. If your CVT has stepped auto mode like Saga FLX / Exora, before you overtake, switch to that mode and stepped on the throttle. This will make the CVT "jump" to a lower gear ratio without going through the intermediate ratios. Essentially this is like downshifting on a traditional stepped transmission.If it has manual mode/paddle shifters, use it to manually downshift to a lower gear ratio like the above. If it has neither, just switch to low ratio mode (L or S or B on the shifter) and whack the throttle. After overtaking, switch back to normal D mode. This post has been edited by dares: Aug 24 2014, 07:06 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 07:35 PM
Never had problem overtaking, already more than 2 years using cvt
but mine is cvt terbo lo |
Aug 24 2014, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 24 2014, 04:51 PM) Well said. i used to drive my FLX SE and keep it under 2K RPM in urban roads. It is not fast but perfectly driveable if you can keep yourself from mashing the throttle. At 2k RPM I can reach 80kmh max. I get about 12-13 km/l for that 1.6l Campro in mixed city and highway. Yeah, it's much easier. You only have one thing to get control of and that's the throttle. Acceleration isn't as detrimental to FC compared to a stepped transmission.I also wanna add to your last statement.....a CVT makes it waayy easier to get good FC than traditional stepped transmissions. If you drive with an eye on an instant FC gauge you would know what I mean. You can almost control the instant FC with your throttle all of the time.....whereas with stepped trannys there is less control because when it shifts the instant FC can dramatically go either way. |
Aug 24 2014, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 24 2014, 07:05 PM) If your CVT has stepped auto mode like Saga FLX / Exora, before you overtake, switch to that mode and stepped on the throttle. This will make the CVT "jump" to a lower gear ratio without going through the intermediate ratios. Essentially this is like downshifting on a traditional stepped transmission. what does it mean by auto mode ?If it has manual mode/paddle shifters, use it to manually downshift to a lower gear ratio like the above. If it has neither, just switch to low ratio mode (L or S or B on the shifter) and whack the throttle. After overtaking, switch back to normal D mode. |
Jan 2 2018, 08:15 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,296 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 10:32 AM) first time i see overheated invecs III Boss boss asx still there a?i drive maintain at 5 - 6k rpm for very long time in manual mode oso so far no prob *touch wood* but mine comes with a CVT cooler, which maybe explains some thing Nak tengok CVT cooler how the fix.. vertically or horizontally? This post has been edited by alwinnng: Jan 2 2018, 08:15 PM |
Jan 2 2018, 10:00 PM
Jan 3 2018, 01:43 AM
Jan 3 2018, 08:59 AM
Jan 5 2018, 09:09 PM
| Change to: | 0.0744sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:18 PM |