Plz advice me on open playstation cafe

SUSSammich!
post Aug 11 2014, 03:24 PM, updated 12y ago

620 posts

I have a brand new idea to open play station café. It will be like cyber café but instead get to play play station and stuff like that. My question is that I would like if anyone who have experience open cyber café or similar to share their exp? Like are there any obstacles or is it just like other normal businesss just register and open?
dewill
post Aug 11 2014, 03:31 PM

1,720 posts

those dream is old
iamme97
post Aug 11 2014, 03:35 PM

61 posts

Cyber cafe lately many xlaku nemore, playstation cafe seems like a good idea. but just like pcs, bfore this gaming pcs arent so common thats why people go to CCs. Now a lot of ccs have been closed down already.
SUSSammich!
post Aug 11 2014, 03:44 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(dewill @ Aug 11 2014, 03:31 PM)
those dream is old
I will make it work. I just need some insight into starting the business so can overcome hurdle easier.

QUOTE(iamme97 @ Aug 11 2014, 03:35 PM)
Cyber cafe lately many xlaku nemore, playstation cafe seems like a good idea. but just like pcs, bfore this gaming pcs arent so common thats why people go to CCs. Now a lot of ccs have been closed down already.
Ya I also got think like that. A lot ppl got PC but dun haf console. Sure hook 1. But is it easy to open? Just like normal business license register rm60 my name then open shop?
iamme97
post Aug 11 2014, 03:58 PM

61 posts

I dont know about the whole registering thing. But should think of how many consoles you need and for every console you have, you need the games which would cost you Rm180 or so each and not to mention for every console as well. and thats only for 1 game per console. Imagine how many games you would have to buy. 1 new game comes out, thousands melayang already.
iamme97
post Aug 11 2014, 04:01 PM

61 posts

Unless you open a cc with 5 ps4s or so and a freaking cool cafe that would be a great idea. 3 in 1 bro. wink.gif
yuen1985
post Aug 11 2014, 04:07 PM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

QUOTE(iamme97 @ Aug 11 2014, 04:01 PM)
Unless you open a cc with 5 ps4s or so and a freaking cool cafe that would be a great idea. 3 in 1 bro. wink.gif
Agreed thumbup.gif
SUSSammich!
post Aug 11 2014, 04:29 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(iamme97 @ Aug 11 2014, 03:58 PM)
I dont know about the whole registering thing. But should think of how many consoles you need and for every console you have, you need the games which would cost you Rm180 or so each and not to mention for every console as well. and thats only for 1 game per console. Imagine how many games you would have to buy. 1 new game comes out, thousands melayang already.
I just plan buy 1 game and use for many console. Or get 2nd hand also shud b cheaper

QUOTE(iamme97 @ Aug 11 2014, 04:01 PM)
Ya im working on the cool café idea. Need feedback from serious gamers. Then need carry out my survey
seiluen
post Aug 11 2014, 04:29 PM

550 posts

how much u gonna charge per hour to sustain your profit?
SUSSammich!
post Aug 11 2014, 04:50 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ Aug 11 2014, 04:29 PM)
how much u gonna charge per hour to sustain your profit?
haven't think yet as it will depend on the cost of the whole set up. I think maybe rm5 will be reasonable if the cost is not that high.
seiluen
post Aug 11 2014, 04:57 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 11 2014, 04:50 PM)
haven't think yet as it will depend on the cost of the whole set up. I think maybe rm5 will be reasonable if the cost is not that high.
you going for PS3 or PS4 cafe ?
shankar_dass93
post Aug 11 2014, 04:58 PM

2,955 posts

My personal suggestion to you would be to open up a cyber cafe with Playstations consoles in it. by doing so, you would be able to attract more PC gamers to switch to console gaming even easier.

You could then further develop your business by coming out with a membership card in which customers would be able to collect points and then redeem them for a elected free gaming time of lets say 1 hour or so after spending a given amount.

Games wouldn't be that expensive as you could always source for sellers especially from lowyat.net under the console couch section as their prices are pretty decent.

And since you're planning on opening up a cafe, do ensure that the prices are really affordable and that you start serving various fast food meals such as burgers, carbonated drinks and snacks as i believe that it would be the most appropriate selection of foods for your given target market.

This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Aug 11 2014, 05:01 PM
dewill
post Aug 11 2014, 05:00 PM

1,720 posts

build your cafe more like japan or taiwan cc hub.
malaysia too cheapskate where we sit side by side without privacy on our game play.
kayz1e
post Aug 11 2014, 05:01 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

console cafes existed more than 10 years ago, as early as the PS1... back in the late 90's ...

but i like your idea, please have faith and work towards your dreams
shankar_dass93
post Aug 11 2014, 05:03 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Aug 11 2014, 05:01 PM)
console cafes existed more than 10 years ago, as early as the PS1... back in the late 90's ...

but i like your idea, please have faith and work towards your dreams
As far as i know, it was only game shops that used to rent out their ps1 and ps2 right ?
SUSSammich!
post Aug 11 2014, 05:08 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ Aug 11 2014, 04:57 PM)
you going for PS3 or PS4 cafe ?
Not sure yet but probably going for PS4 as PS3 is old generation liao so probably would phase out in 1 year or 2.

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Aug 11 2014, 04:58 PM)
My personal suggestion to you would be to open up a cyber cafe with Playstations consoles in it. by doing so, you would be able to attract more PC gamers to switch to console gaming even easier.

You could then further develop your business by coming out with a membership card in which customers would be able to collect points and then redeem them for a elected free gaming time of lets say 1 hour or so after spending a given amount.

Games wouldn't be that expensive as you could always source for sellers especially from lowyat.net under the console couch section as their prices are pretty decent.
And since you're planning on opening up a cafe, do ensure that the prices are really affordable and that you start serving various fast food meals such as burgers, carbonated drinks and snacks as i believe that it would be the most appropriate selection of foods for your given target market.
Thnx rclxms.gif very good suggestion thumbup.gif Just like what I was thinking but wif some extra smile.gif

QUOTE(dewill @ Aug 11 2014, 05:00 PM)
build your cafe more like japan or taiwan cc hub.
malaysia too cheapskate where we sit side by side without privacy on our game play.
I never been to Taiwan. What is it like in japan or Taiwan cc hub?
shankar_dass93
post Aug 11 2014, 05:29 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 11 2014, 05:08 PM)
Not sure yet but probably going for PS4 as PS3 is old generation liao so probably would phase out in 1 year or 2.
Thnx rclxms.gif very good suggestion thumbup.gif Just like what I was thinking but wif some extra smile.gif
I never been to Taiwan. What is it like in japan or Taiwan cc hub?
No worries, so do i get some profits for giving you some constructive suggestions ? brows.gif

Joking man, do feel free to post anything that you need and ill try my best to reply.

Cheers.
Bonescythe
post Aug 11 2014, 05:45 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Wud location u plan to open. Important for your business on going.

As usual, good location, rental dam expensive.
bad location, I dunno wad to say
ShinG3e
post Aug 11 2014, 06:09 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

First, you need a cyber cafe license.

i don't think they are gonna issue it anymore for KL. Not sure about other states.
wodenus
post Aug 11 2014, 06:37 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 11 2014, 04:29 PM)
I just plan buy 1 game and use for many console

This is going to be hard because everyone wants to play the popular games. Anyway how are you going to get a license for it? if it doesn't have PCs you can't call it a cybercafe.

Bonescythe
post Aug 11 2014, 07:01 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

If you organize competition with handsome prizes.. gonna be good.

look at dota 2 smile.gif

Champion = millionaire smile.gif
Jordy
post Aug 11 2014, 07:39 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Playstation cafe has been done. I was a previous owner of a cybercafe (back in year 2006) and there were already a few cybercafes with playstations then. By the time I wanted to incorporate the idea with my cybercafe, the market for it cooled down.

It is not a sustainable business due to the high maintenance cost. Playstation isn't like computers, they are not made to withstand long hours of daily activity. Virus infections on playstation isn't common, but it could happen especially if your firewall is weak.
-ZeN-
post Aug 11 2014, 08:55 PM

353 posts

I just point out a few things:

Cybercafe license? - Might still needs it, since is entertainment gaming area, which I dont think they are issuing anymore at other states and so on also. Rarely.

Games - Well, you sure NEED original, and you can just buy 1 disc and use for all console. Even if you buy digital, your account with the game can only be accessible by what? 2 concurrent connection? And the game can only be play 1 account at a time. (Talking bout PS4, X1 is worst i guess)

Hardware/Software - Not build to be 24 hours, and also 1 more thing is.... how do you let the player save their own progress? By user? So each PS4, every time they need to add their user to whichever PS4 they get? Then they need ps+ subscription for the save games progress uploads?
SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 08:23 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 11 2014, 05:45 PM)
Wud location u plan to open. Important for your business on going.

As usual, good location, rental dam expensive.
bad location, I dunno wad to say
Open in Penang is it ok? I know KL sure will haf bigger and more profitable market but Im based Penang.

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Aug 11 2014, 06:09 PM)
First, you need a cyber cafe license.

i don't think they are gonna issue it anymore for KL. Not sure about other states.
means now cannot open cyber café anymore? If register as entertainment (pusat hiburan) business ok?
SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 08:31 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 11 2014, 06:37 PM)
This is going to be hard because everyone wants to play the popular games. Anyway how are you going to get a license for it? if it doesn't have PCs you can't call it a cybercafe.
Ya I heard that license difficult to get but I dun understand why. Isnt it just like other normal business just register? Why is it moe difficult to get license for playstation café? Just as entertainment outlet cant?

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 11 2014, 07:39 PM)
Playstation cafe has been done. I was a previous owner of a cybercafe (back in year 2006) and there were already a few cybercafes with playstations then. By the time I wanted to incorporate the idea with my cybercafe, the market for it cooled down.

It is not a sustainable business due to the high maintenance cost. Playstation isn't like computers, they are not made to withstand long hours of daily activity. Virus infections on playstation isn't common, but it could happen especially if your firewall is weak.
Hope can share your experience here since u r veteran. Playstation got high maintenance? Cos not like computer that always need upgrade I only need to buy once until new platform comes 5 or 6 years later.

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 11 2014, 08:55 PM)
I just point out a few things:

Cybercafe license? - Might still needs it, since is entertainment gaming area, which I dont think they are issuing anymore at other states and so on also. Rarely.

Games - Well, you sure NEED original, and you can just buy 1 disc and use for all console. Even if you buy digital, your account with the game can only be accessible by what? 2 concurrent connection? And the game can only be play 1 account at a time. (Talking bout PS4, X1 is worst i guess)

Hardware/Software - Not build to be 24 hours, and also 1 more thing is.... how do you let the player save their own progress? By user? So each PS4, every time they need to add their user to whichever PS4 they get? Then they need ps+ subscription for the save games progress uploads?
Ya I also got consider before. Obstacle could be when want to connect internet play. In that case, internet play can only play by 1 machine while others play offline wif frens shud b ok right? 2 player mode just like arcade. If an online version game really popular then I can just buy another copy.

The save game also I got think. I will rent memory card to the players. So let say if they want save game, I will sell them the memory card rm100 but can be refundable anytime. So maybe 1 week later they 1 quit plau liao can just return me and I return them the rm100.

I think the hardware wont so fragile kua cos some hardcore gamers especially kids at home play very long hours also. My café will open at most 12 hrs so got 12 hrs rest.

Wat u guys think?
wodenus
post Aug 12 2014, 08:48 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 08:31 AM)
Ya I heard that license difficult to get but I dun understand why. Isnt it just like other normal business just register? Why is it moe difficult to get license for playstation café? Just as entertainment outlet cant?

It's technically gambling, or so they say it is anyway smile.gif

SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 08:50 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 12 2014, 08:48 AM)
It's technically gambling, or so they say it is anyway smile.gif
wtf? how to link playstation to gambling lol. If like dat anything can be gambling la lol.

How about u think I can register as restoran/café business then offer some small food then say playstation as café specialty?
ah_suknat
post Aug 12 2014, 09:00 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

definitely you need pusat hiburan license.
which is quite hard to get and you need to pay undertable money to who authorize it.

why not incorporate to kbox?
girls come they can sing
boys come they can play

since the license is same anyway.

but arent you said you want to quit thinking bout business?

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Aug 12 2014, 09:01 AM
marcus_bread
post Aug 12 2014, 09:01 AM

506 posts

first thing come to my mind is... huge capital (PS console, monitor which is usually big in screen size, n also those games) plus the earning yield is very low %. how u gonna charge for the price per hour? assuming CC is charging RM2/hr if u charging anything more than that i believe ppl wil go after CC instead of PS.
SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 09:54 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 12 2014, 09:00 AM)
definitely you need pusat hiburan license.
which is quite hard to get and you need to pay undertable money to who authorize it.

why not incorporate to kbox?
girls come they can sing
boys come they can play

since the license is same anyway.

but arent you said you want to quit thinking bout business?
I think just give it a shot la. As long as I can control myself so not like gambling all and addicted shud b ok. If know lost then shud know how to stop than to borrow money or wat.

If apply kbox still need same license and difficult get right? I wonder why so difficult. Is it like they very limited to give and not really encourage? Or a lot of rules need to conform to?

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Aug 12 2014, 09:01 AM)
first thing come to my mind is... huge capital (PS console, monitor which is usually big in screen size, n also those games) plus the earning yield is very low %. how u gonna charge for the price per hour? assuming CC is charging RM2/hr if u charging anything more than that i believe ppl wil go after CC instead of PS.
I think of charge like rm5. CC and PS is different thing. Cos the games play is different so offer different experience. Depend on the set up cost la. I can source for cheao big screen tv cos tv nowadays is cheap if dont include the special feature like smart tv and internet tv all. Just basic big screen tv shud able get around rm1k.

Console cost about 1k then games lo. Earning yield I also need to calculate see if feasible or not. But at the moment im doing the business plan first only can calculate all those.

marcus_bread
post Aug 12 2014, 10:56 AM

506 posts

big screen (assuming 32") wil take up lots of space and thus u needed a large shop which the rental wil cut into ur profit. and also i don think u wil prepare normal chair for ur customer to sit there and play and wat u can have for customer to sit comfortably playing PS wil b Sofa. so once again sofa wil b bigger than chair which mean u really need a big shop. unless u only plan to have few PS in the shop but then the turnaround is too slow to recover ur cost.

U really need detail write up plan. but in my opinion it is not doable. anyway wish u ALL the BEST. afterall this is my opinion and it mean no offense. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by marcus_bread: Aug 12 2014, 10:57 AM
ShinG3e
post Aug 12 2014, 11:04 AM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 08:23 AM)
Open in Penang is it ok? I know KL sure will haf bigger and more profitable market but Im based Penang.
means now cannot open cyber café anymore? If register as entertainment (pusat hiburan) business ok?
yea accordingly to a cc owner that i know located in KL. if other location not sure.

and i saw his license is registered under entertainment category.
-ZeN-
post Aug 12 2014, 11:43 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 08:31 AM)
Hope can share your experience here since u r veteran. Playstation got high maintenance? Cos not like computer that always need upgrade I only need to buy once until new platform comes 5 or 6 years later.
Ya I also got consider before. Obstacle could be when want to connect internet play. In that case, internet play can only play by 1 machine while others play offline wif frens shud b ok right? 2 player mode just like arcade. If an online version game really popular then I can just buy another copy.

The save game also I got think. I will rent memory card to the players. So let say if they want save game, I will sell them the memory card rm100 but can be refundable anytime. So maybe 1 week later they 1 quit plau liao can just return me and I return them the rm100.

I think the hardware wont so fragile kua cos some hardcore gamers especially kids at home play very long hours also. My café will open at most 12 hrs so got 12 hrs rest.

Wat u guys think?
Do you have PS4?

Cause PS4 doesnt use memory card anymore, i think is pendrive format already.
Which bring up another thing is, you cant control the user to access the backend.
Just simply "reformat" your whole PS4 to factory default -> Yeay~!!

And i just thinking, cause i notice some digital games, sometime license lock, and you need to be online to verify the license. So i think even if you login the master account with all the games inside to all PS4, it will not allow i guess concurrently so many acc.
Also, sub account to play the main account game, might not be able to due to license verification? Just thinking.

Hardware, erm quite fragile, cause the controller as for me not much of hardcore gaming, already got wear and tear on the rubber. For the main console wise, if your power line is not so stable, will have the Optical Disk drive issue.

SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 11:49 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 12 2014, 11:43 AM)
Do you have PS4?

Cause PS4 doesnt use memory card anymore, i think is pendrive format already.
Which bring up another thing is, you cant control the user to access the backend.
Just simply "reformat" your whole PS4 to factory default -> Yeay~!!

And i just thinking, cause i notice some digital games, sometime license lock, and you need to be online to verify the license. So i think even if you login the master account with all the games inside to all PS4, it will not allow i guess concurrently so many acc.
Also, sub account to play the main account game, might not be able to due to license verification? Just thinking.

Hardware, erm quite fragile, cause the controller as for me not much of hardcore gaming, already got wear and tear on the rubber. For the main console wise, if your power line is not so stable, will have the Optical Disk drive issue.
Good input there. I have not bought ps4 yet. I din know can't use memory card anymore. If use pen drive then it will be cheaper lo. Cos pendrive is cheap. I dun think. Ppl so naughty 1 to format my ps la haha.

If like u say then I might need buy original. What if I offer 1 ps4 and another Xbox? Then have variety will more attractive?
-ZeN-
post Aug 12 2014, 12:23 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 11:49 AM)
Good input there. I have not bought ps4 yet. I din know can't use memory card anymore. If use pen drive then it will be cheaper lo. Cos pendrive is cheap. I dun think. Ppl so naughty 1 to format my ps la haha.

If like u say then I might need buy original. What if I offer 1 ps4 and another Xbox? Then have variety will more attractive?
PS4 and Xbox, same thing and xbox1 seem worst, due to their strict "sharing" games policy and DRM.
Plus both platform not much "local coop" game.
Also if really playing local coop, you do you differ the cost of the pricing? Charge per hour per console, or per head?

haziqnet
post Aug 12 2014, 12:26 PM

1,305 posts

just for suggestion...

yes license for cybercafe already been froze now...no one can open cybercafe anymore except for 1 malaysia cybercafe...

Im not sure how to apply license for playstation gaming centre but i think it will be harder to get...

so my suggestion for u if u really want to open playstation gaming centre i assume u already successfully get the license...

- the min charge per hour are not less than RM5.00
- to play online u need to xtra charge them by hour, daily or month.
- put a deposit payment. If they break any of your hardware or accidentally drop the controller there are no refund even the controller is still in good condition. There is probability that the controller already have some minor defect that we dont see.
chrommed
post Aug 12 2014, 01:34 PM

189 posts

console alone wont be profitable. sell toys, dvd, and foods also. make it a console cafe, not a cyber cafe with console. you still get income from consoles, but it will not be your main income. take a look at petronas or other petrol station for example, lots of people come to fill up gas, but they will also buy foods from there. I go there for my banking need usually.
SUSSammich!
post Aug 12 2014, 03:20 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Aug 12 2014, 01:34 PM)
console alone wont be profitable. sell toys, dvd, and foods also. make it a console cafe, not a cyber cafe with console. you still get income from consoles, but it will not be your main income. take a look at petronas or other petrol station for example, lots of people come to fill up gas, but they will also buy foods from there. I go there for my banking need usually.
If I term it console café does the license I need can belong to café category? icon_idea.gif
seiluen
post Aug 12 2014, 05:41 PM

550 posts

by just provide one xbox and one ps4 will not be attractive at all bro. take this into consideration

assume that u put 5 unit PS4 and 3 unit Xbox . console+ tv is not expensive afterall.. the costing part is the games. if u have 5 PS4..u need to prepare same copy of game at least 3 pcs? for example fifa,PES,WWE etc...or you are expecting everyone will playing different games. you need to have at least 30-40 title..then at least customer will feel that you have 'alot choices'

-ZeN-
post Aug 12 2014, 07:57 PM

353 posts

Also i keep thinking about the timing issue.
You set fix time? then how about people waiting then that guy who playing half way cant save yet due to no checkpoint?

Like seiluen says, really need to install on all console, if it is DISC 1 then worst, surely each console need to install, if all at once play same game la i mean.
Ahquek89
post Aug 13 2014, 01:00 AM

21 posts

Try to target malays customer. Don't invest too much in the business.
SUSSammich!
post Aug 13 2014, 08:36 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ Aug 12 2014, 05:41 PM)
by just provide one xbox and one ps4 will not be attractive at all bro. take this into consideration

assume that u put 5 unit PS4 and 3 unit Xbox . console+ tv is not expensive afterall.. the costing part is the games. if u have 5 PS4..u need to prepare same copy of game at least 3 pcs? for example fifa,PES,WWE etc...or you are expecting everyone will playing different games. you need to have at least 30-40 title..then at least customer will feel that you have 'alot choices'
I think no need provide all games la. Probably the few famous ones and those that can play fast or online play. What game is popular?

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 12 2014, 07:57 PM)
Also i keep thinking about the timing issue.
You set fix time? then how about people waiting then that guy who playing half way cant save yet due to no checkpoint?

Like seiluen says, really need to install on all console, if it is DISC 1 then worst, surely each console need to install, if all at once play same game la i mean.
Like I mention above maybe just provide fast games like street fighter and football? Cos like long long games such as Final fantasy usually ppl dun have the stim to play at public places long games.

QUOTE(Ahquek89 @ Aug 13 2014, 01:00 AM)
Try to target malays customer. Don't invest too much in the business.
Y malay?
haziqnet
post Aug 13 2014, 08:55 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 13 2014, 08:36 AM)
I think no need provide all games la. Probably the few famous ones and those that can play fast or online play. What game is popular?
Like I mention above maybe just provide fast games like street fighter and football? Cos like long long games such as Final fantasy usually ppl dun have the stim to play at public places long games.
Y malay?
my best suggestion for u instead of opening consoles station how about u open a gameshop...at the gameshop u still can put ur idea to give people to play the games and charges them but u dun need to have any entertainment licence for it...just put the consoles u let the people to play with as a demo...even its a demo u still can charge hourly...if u only put less than 5 consoles to operate i dun see it will be a problem....
SUSSammich!
post Aug 13 2014, 08:58 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Aug 13 2014, 08:55 AM)
my best suggestion for u instead of opening consoles station how about u open a gameshop...at the gameshop u still can put ur idea to give people to play the games and charges them but u dun need to have any entertainment licence for it...just put the consoles u let the people to play with as a demo...even its a demo u still can charge hourly...if u only put less than 5 consoles to operate i dun see it will be a problem....
Good idea thumbup.gif

But honestly im not much of a gamer to have the knowledge and interest to open a game shop. I mean if open game shop sure need knowledge on ps3, xbox, wii, etc etc. No knowledge and passion open sure fail haha
IrVine1987
post Aug 13 2014, 09:01 AM

193 posts

back to 90s, the shop let ppl rent sega... u doing something running backward ?
MoMoTear
post Aug 13 2014, 09:03 AM

104 posts

Console gaming is different from PC gaming. Mostly console people will play RPG game that need to be save for several check points and consume a lot of time to play it. Console gamers will prefer to have their own console to play at home because more comfortable, if open playstation cafe would attract those who play sports game like PES,fifa,NBA or some fighting game to try out the console before they buy it.

This post has been edited by MoMoTear: Aug 13 2014, 09:04 AM
haziqnet
post Aug 13 2014, 09:09 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 13 2014, 08:58 AM)
Good idea thumbup.gif

But honestly im not much of a gamer to have the knowledge and interest to open a game shop. I mean if open game shop sure need knowledge on ps3, xbox, wii, etc etc. No knowledge and passion open sure fail haha
u think many people open a gameshop because there are gamers? no la...because it is profitable...just to think of it, u can sell original games / hmm hmm games for modified xbox like X360 and PS3...u also can sell consoles, toys, accessories and anything that is suitable for a game shop...
haziqnet
post Aug 13 2014, 09:12 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(MoMoTear @ Aug 13 2014, 09:03 AM)
Console gaming is different from PC gaming. Mostly console people will play RPG game that need to be save for several check points and consume a lot of time to play it. Console gamers will prefer to have their own console to play at home because more comfortable, if open playstation cafe would attract those who play sports game like PES,fifa,NBA or some fighting game to try out the console before they buy it.
i agree with you...console gamers who love to play RPG or Action games wont go to a shop because it will cost a lot to them...but for player like football game, GTA series, Watchdogs, WWE and etc i think yes there are people who will go to a shop and play...
SUSSammich!
post Aug 13 2014, 09:15 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(IrVine1987 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:01 AM)
back to 90s, the shop let ppl rent sega... u doing something running backward ?
Rent sega? I never heard this shop b4. Is it rent the whole console take home? Then ppl not return how? haha

QUOTE(MoMoTear @ Aug 13 2014, 09:03 AM)
Ya I also think like u. Ppl who play rpg and all will want to play their own swet time at home at late night. So more popular title can provide in shop is those quick games where can challenge fren for fun only. Probably some FPS online game also ok cos connect to PSN.

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Aug 13 2014, 09:09 AM)
u think many people open a gameshop because there are gamers? no la...because it is profitable...just to think of it, u can sell original games / hmm hmm games for modified xbox like X360 and PS3...u also can sell consoles, toys, accessories and anything that is suitable for a game shop...
Ya I understand. But I mean my knowledge in console gaming not that much like wat u mention the accessories, tricks to handle the console and others. When customer ask some question they have problem I cannot answer time malu la.. and they will think this shop suck and go others
underGr0und_8
post Aug 13 2014, 09:23 AM

2,236 posts

You should reverse the mode of business. Cafe came first, console gaming as bonus for people who came to you cafe, play for free. Your main source of income is from the F&B side instead of gaming.

If you still plan to focus on gaming, dont only do like cc style which charge base on hours of playing. You should be focus on selling console/games/accesories. And by then you can have the best of both world. But make sure you calculate the profit margin first

Do consider also the damages caused by gamer, like smack the controller or tv. It is not like PC where you can use cheap mouse or keyboard. A dualshock4 is about rm 180.

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Aug 13 2014, 09:30 AM
IrVine1987
post Aug 13 2014, 09:43 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 13 2014, 09:15 AM)
Rent sega? I never heard this shop b4. Is it rent the whole console take home? Then ppl not return how? haha
Ya I also think like u. Ppl who play rpg and all will want to play their own swet time at home at late night. So more popular title can provide in shop is those quick games where can challenge fren for fun only. Probably some FPS online game also ok cos connect to PSN.

Ya I understand. But I mean my knowledge in console gaming not that much like wat u mention the accessories, tricks to handle the console and others. When customer ask some question they have problem I cannot answer time malu la.. and they will think this shop suck and go others
nope, play in the shop, cafe i guess, sometime can request maggi, same like cyber cafe.

if u really wan to do this, the original game will kill u.

and nowadays console quite cheap, just the game kinda expensive, but still affortable.

how much u going to charge them for 1 hour ?

some cafe let them play for free. so what is ur attractive point of selling ?
GKilla
post Aug 13 2014, 09:45 AM

453 posts

i believe there's something like this in Singapore. Called Touch Cookie gaming Cafe which has been around for a few years.

https://www.facebook.com/gamingcafe

I only know this because I follow Xian (Evolution 2013 champion for Super SF4 who plays Gen) and the Street Fighter 4 scene there. They usually organize tournaments and attract a good crowd.

Nice concept but not sure if their business can sustain.

This post has been edited by GKilla: Aug 13 2014, 09:45 AM
SUSSammich!
post Aug 13 2014, 09:51 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(IrVine1987 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:43 AM)
nope, play in the shop, cafe i guess, sometime can request maggi, same like cyber cafe.

if u really wan to do this, the original game will kill u.

and nowadays console quite cheap, just the game kinda expensive, but still affortable.

how much u going to charge them for 1 hour ?

some cafe let them play for free. so what is ur attractive point of selling ?
Got café give play free? Where? My attractive point is play station lo cos not much café offer this kind of experience.

QUOTE(GKilla @ Aug 13 2014, 09:45 AM)
i believe there's something like this in Singapore. Called Touch Cookie gaming Cafe which has been around for a few years.

https://www.facebook.com/gamingcafe

I only know this because I follow Xian (Evolution 2013 champion for Super SF4 who plays Gen) and the Street Fighter 4 scene there. They usually organize tournaments and attract a good crowd.

Nice concept but not sure if their business can sustain.
Cant understand much from the facebook. Is it like cyber café but have console?
IrVine1987
post Aug 13 2014, 10:03 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 13 2014, 09:51 AM)
Got café give play free? Where? My attractive point is play station lo cos not much café offer this kind of experience.
Cant understand much from the facebook. Is it like cyber café but have console?
i dun really remember which cafe, but i think around johor bahru, some with wii also, free to play for sure, they just try to make it more homely feel,

this concept fail due to too long queue and most important things makanan not so good

cafe for food la, other just additional only.

some pub also.

but the only survive only dart (amoi can play together)

if play alone, balik rumah play la.

open a dart cafe will be nice. amoi shot shot shot, shake shake shake

same to snooker, 100 years also still working concept.

games will be lame after sometime, any u need to keep hunting new games for them.

This post has been edited by IrVine1987: Aug 13 2014, 10:06 AM
zecks
post Aug 18 2014, 01:18 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 08:23 AM)
yesterday at first avenue the playstation cafe nt really a lot ppl also. u still dare open ar
SUSSammich!
post Aug 18 2014, 01:21 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(zecks @ Aug 18 2014, 01:18 PM)
yesterday at first avenue the playstation cafe nt really a lot ppl also. u still dare open ar
yesterday? I never heard about it. Can give more detail? How is the café like?
SUSSammich!
post Aug 18 2014, 01:22 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(zecks @ Aug 18 2014, 01:18 PM)
wat the name of café? I will check out. Thnx for info notworthy.gif
zecks
post Aug 18 2014, 01:24 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 18 2014, 01:22 PM)
wat the name of café? I will check out. Thnx for info notworthy.gif
cinema floor... i forgot wat name le.. smalll place.. besides the arcade there
SUSSammich!
post Aug 18 2014, 01:29 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(zecks @ Aug 18 2014, 01:24 PM)
cinema floor... i forgot wat name le.. smalll place.. besides the arcade there
Ok thnx. Ill check it out. Im sure I can make better than them after look at what mistake they made or service they lack.

How about play for free? Hows that sound? tongue.gif

U interested when I launch?
zecks
post Aug 18 2014, 01:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 18 2014, 01:29 PM)
Ok thnx. Ill check it out. Im sure I can make better than them after look at what mistake they made or service they lack.

How about play for free? Hows that sound? tongue.gif

U interested when I launch?
o_O u give f2p(free to play) for playstation cafe ?
depends on games ba..
i dun play bf/fifa/
SUSSammich!
post Aug 18 2014, 01:43 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(zecks @ Aug 18 2014, 01:39 PM)
o_O u give f2p(free to play) for playstation cafe ?
depends on games ba..
i dun play bf/fifa/
then wat games u play? single player games? wat game u wanna play then I provide lo. Cos its u who play not me rite
zecks
post Aug 18 2014, 02:08 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 18 2014, 01:43 PM)
then wat games u play? single player games? wat game u wanna play then I provide lo. Cos its u who play not me rite
rpg-ish like ff maybe?.. i think most ppl go for re, bf, cod type smile.gif
SUSSammich!
post Aug 18 2014, 02:19 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(zecks @ Aug 18 2014, 02:08 PM)
rpg-ish like ff maybe?.. i think most ppl go for re, bf, cod type smile.gif
ok thnx for the input thumbup.gif
max_cavalera
post Aug 19 2014, 02:14 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Good idea. But dont charge so expensive. Rm10 per hour is an over kill. Rm3-4 per hour is workable but dont justify the cost. Perhaps u can rent a small space inside any owner cc and do small setup thr. See how the market reacts.
Wan316
post Nov 14 2014, 05:21 PM

I personally miss the old days when me and frens would hang out in one of our homes, and play games after games,talking smack, play fighting games (like the arcades SF,KOF,Tekken and Smash Bros) My advice is if you could emulate that feeling of just hanging out and play games with frends that would be awesome!
EmilyGoh
post Nov 18 2014, 06:10 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 11 2014, 03:24 PM)
I have a brand new idea to open play station café. It will be like cyber café but instead get to play play station and stuff like that. My question is that I would like if anyone who have experience open cyber café or similar to share their exp? Like are there any obstacles or is it just like other normal businesss just register and open?
I open selling & repaire before

if u instist to open play station cafe ... here kinda problem

1. U may keep changing new disc (games) and upload the latesat one to make more customers
2. High output and risky ( nowdays all likes PS4 ... Xbox ... how much gonna repair if broken )
3. Stealing ( kinds of kiddo nowday ... headache)

More thing u gonna buy to support .. Console, devices...

Imagine that you had buy 20 PS4 10 Xbox ....

I got think that before PS3 comes out but still risky to open it
EmilyGoh
post Nov 18 2014, 06:12 PM

27 posts

Well... about the supplier or repair man I can intro u to them... Since the price is affordable
SUSSammich!
post Nov 18 2014, 06:19 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(EmilyGoh @ Nov 18 2014, 06:10 PM)
I open selling & repaire before

if u instist to open play station cafe ... here kinda problem

1. U may keep changing new disc (games) and upload the latesat one to make more customers
2. High output and risky ( nowdays all likes PS4 ... Xbox ... how much gonna repair if broken )
3. Stealing ( kinds of kiddo nowday ... headache)

More thing u gonna buy to support .. Console, devices...
Imagine that you had buy 20 PS4 10 Xbox ....

I got think that before PS3 comes out but still risky to open it
Hi Emily where is your location? Currently still in ps3 business?
EmilyGoh
post Nov 18 2014, 06:24 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Nov 18 2014, 06:19 PM)
Hi Emily where is your location? Currently still in ps3 business?
My location at Batu Caves area... currently the shop still got but I sold to my fren relatives to run it

Where is ur location besides?
SUSSammich!
post Nov 19 2014, 12:18 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(EmilyGoh @ Nov 18 2014, 06:24 PM)
My location at Batu Caves area... currently the shop still got but I sold to my fren relatives to run it
Where is ur location besides?
penang
EmilyGoh
post Nov 19 2014, 01:05 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Nov 19 2014, 12:18 PM)
penang
I see ... Now ur location still very popular in games?

Mine here I heard from supplier some of non-supplier seller forced to shut down the shop because some suppliers do walk in shop in shopping mall and their price is lower than non-supplier seller ...

choonyink
post Nov 19 2014, 02:13 PM

456 posts

Very interesting topic.
I am 21yo, a college student. My opinion may represent some Y gen's opinion.
Do u ever heard of Meeples board game Cafe? It is located in SS15 Subang Jaya.
Like some of the members mentioned, better not do it like a cyber cafe style. Do it like a Fnb cafe + gaming. It will be good to spend time there, like a short chilling session after class.
Aim for people who can spend, make it non smoking area and u may charge higher. I don't reli play board games, but i can still go hangout with frens and spent hours with them in that board game cafe. I think doing it like a cafe style can attract both real gamers and casual gamers. I don't reli love playing playstation, but with frens together, Fifa seems pretty fun to me because ppl can play together...

This post has been edited by choonyink: Nov 19 2014, 02:14 PM
SUSSammich!
post Nov 19 2014, 02:40 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Nov 19 2014, 02:13 PM)
Very interesting topic.
I am 21yo, a college student. My opinion may represent some Y gen's opinion.
Do u ever heard of Meeples board game Cafe? It is located in SS15 Subang Jaya.
Like some of the members mentioned, better not do it like a cyber cafe style. Do it like a Fnb cafe + gaming. It will be good to spend time there, like a short chilling session after class.
Aim for people who can spend, make it non smoking area and u may charge higher. I don't reli play board games, but i can still go hangout with frens and spent hours with them in that board game cafe. I think doing it like a cafe style can attract both real gamers and casual gamers. I don't reli love playing playstation, but with frens together, Fifa seems pretty fun to me because ppl can play together...
I never been to the café u mention. How does it work? Do u pay like rm5 to play the game there for 1 hr or how? Then free flow drinks or 1 complimentary drink or something?
zDarkForceSz
post Nov 19 2014, 07:48 PM

1,938 posts

Hi, about the business you talks about.

1) Console like PS4 is not cheap (compare to PC) and if overheat is another issue.
2) PS4 games is not cheap. Lets say they want play online like FIFA you need how many disk?
3) Your console control going to wear & tear faster than ever. And beware of theft because those controller are now wireless.
4) And for console, normal pc monitor are too small and u need tv like 32" you need how many of them =.=
5) Customer won't help u take care stuff.

PC cyber cafe on the other hand use easier to maintain those hardware.
Keyboard + mouse only cost you how much compare to a PS4 controller.

Just my opinion.
wild_card_my
post Nov 19 2014, 07:58 PM

6,562 posts

Dude, the PS4 games and consoles are overpriced. If anything you should make a PC cafe that is more of a cafe and less of a PC gaming place.

I know a lot of people who would LOVE to yamcha at a place where they can play co-op games. Just install a screen and an emulator with the correct types of UI, and arcade sticks on the tables and let them enjoy themselves.
choonyink
post Nov 19 2014, 08:10 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Nov 19 2014, 02:40 PM)
I never been to the café u mention. How does it work? Do u pay like rm5 to play the game there for 1 hr or how? Then free flow drinks or 1 complimentary drink or something?
It is charged by hourly rate. Forgot the price but I think at least RM5/hour.
No complimentary drink or what, it is a good idea to give free flow if u manage to achieve economies of scale.
But take note that board games are much cheaper even thou they have like 100 games.
I think if can, do a survey near location where there is a lot college students. Don't look down at college students, their spending power is pretty good. The board game cafe I mention, their customers are mostly college students or mid 20s youngsters. But that's in kl/selangor, not sure about Penang.

Hope it helps. notworthy.gif
alvinhalo
post Nov 20 2014, 05:28 PM

Iam a owner currently running 8 xbox360 for playing/renting, easy to maintain with HDD game, 1hrs for RM4. downside is controller cannot withstand for 6 month. And must has strong connection with authorities.
SUSSammich!
post Nov 21 2014, 09:37 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(alvinhalo @ Nov 20 2014, 05:28 PM)
Iam a owner currently running 8 xbox360 for playing/renting, easy to maintain with HDD game, 1hrs for RM4. downside is controller cannot withstand for 6 month. And must has strong connection with authorities.
Strong connection with authority? Y? U not doing anything illegal right
alvinhalo
post Nov 21 2014, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Nov 21 2014, 09:37 AM)
Strong connection with authority? Y? U not doing anything illegal right
U dont has gaming license, how to open shop/cafe.. backdoor is ur way

wild_card_my
post Nov 21 2014, 01:59 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(alvinhalo @ Nov 20 2014, 05:28 PM)
Wired controllers?

Those kids smash the controllers? Those 360 controllers are very sturdy
Beouwolf
post Nov 21 2014, 04:01 PM

38 posts

back in my day when i was 14, there is 1 CC at my place that actually provide playstation...still remember that the PS2 were just release, and almost everyday the playstation room is full, but the boss has sold the cc to other ppl, then no more playstation room...i am a huge fans of playstation, so i do think open a playstation cafe will be a good idea, the rest is up to u
wild_card_my
post Nov 21 2014, 04:03 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Beouwolf @ Nov 21 2014, 04:01 PM)
back in my day when i was 14, there is 1 CC at my place that actually provide playstation...still remember that the PS2 were just release, and almost everyday the playstation room is full, but the boss has sold the cc to other ppl, then no more playstation room...i am a huge fans of playstation, so i do think open a playstation cafe will be a good idea, the rest is up to u
Was this in SS19 Subang Jaya?
Beouwolf
post Nov 21 2014, 04:12 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Nov 21 2014, 04:03 PM)
Was this in SS19 Subang Jaya?
no bro,hehe...that was on Kuantan Pahang, good old days and i still remember that me and my friend used to play Crash Team Racing on the PS1...this post brings back a lot of good old sweet memories
boarulez
post Sep 28 2017, 09:34 AM

359 posts

Hi guys 2017 now , I've seen gamesbond success. Anyone doing this ? Coz I think it's a good idea for FIFA fans .
byeworld
post Sep 28 2017, 11:05 AM

34 posts

Recently I saw this youtube interviewing a Nvidia rated cyber cafe at Taiwan maybe good for your reference:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-mr-O7_uN0&feature=youtu.be
imran85
post Sep 28 2017, 03:12 PM

92 posts

Is this still active? I still agree that its a great idea.
yazhen
post Sep 29 2017, 11:03 AM

35 posts

this sound interesting, last time I used to play PS1 at those gameshop. biggrin.gif
hope you can success in this business, then I can go play play. tongue.gif
scorptim
post Sep 29 2017, 11:56 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Aug 12 2014, 03:20 PM)
If I term it console café does the license I need can belong to café category?  icon_idea.gif
Your core business should be a cafe to do this, focus more on the f & b and the ps is just additional entertainment in your cafe.

Honestly I think this would be better than focusing on the ps because you can't make much from it. Rm5 per hour even if you have 5 consoles is only rm25 per hour. Hardly enough to sustain your cafe.

I would suggest to only have 2-3 ps in the cafe, each one with 1 type of famous game, preferably games where you can compete with others.

Don't charge people hourly for playing the games. Instead make it a requirement to have a meal for people to play. So the people who bought a meal can play and compete with other customers. The winner will stay on and be challenged by the next challenger but the maximum timeframe is for 1 hr. If the player manage to keep winning for the hour then they get a prize (free dessert/cake/drink perhaps). Then also have a point system in place to calculate each player/customer wins, the customer with the highest point for each month gets a prize (latest original PS4 game prrhaps)

I think if you do that it should drive up your f & b sales but high chances it will be full batang cafe unless one of the ps you use it for more girlish games (dancing game perhaps), just to get some wimminz to come. if not much female customers come, then just get one of your female staff to go and dance 1-2 rounds every 1 hour interval or so (make sure u hire lenglui and your uniform also shud be kinda sexy) that way at least the customers got some other entertainment and can cuci mata watch ur worker dance also.

Just a suggestion though
boarulez
post Oct 2 2017, 10:38 AM

359 posts

So sad , went to majlis, they said need lesen hiburan but aready stopped giving out .
Lyu
post Oct 2 2017, 10:52 AM

772 posts

It was famous long time ago
Dunno since when "gone" without trace

Good idea ...
milkang
post Oct 2 2017, 11:25 AM

why do you wanna do this?
nakedtruth
post Oct 2 2017, 07:04 PM

931 posts

last year i went to one playstation cafe in sermeban..
i saw alot of crowd and i think it can sustain.
then this year i went back but the cafe is gone..
not sure what is the main reason for closure...

0.0385sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:01 PM