post Sep 13 2006, 05:50 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Yalah ... you in Canon family mah smile.gif
ac98
post Sep 14 2006, 09:35 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 13 2006, 09:43 PM)
FTZ has a lot selling body only
Mmm ... for your info, Canon's Body Only package for the EOS 400D might be coming to Malaysia soon when the Full Package is smooth selling. Reason why they're not coming ashore so soon is becoz Canon Malaysia might wanna cater for the first timer DSLR users (of course) and to let retailer make more profit out of new stocks.

For those who are new to DSLRs ... you WILL need the EF-S18-55mm kit lens trust me, it's a very good lens. I got myself some very nice sweeping sceneries of seasides, the sky, sunsets, as well as some very good portraits. Frequent travellers will find this lens very useful as it is lightweight and the F3.5 is more than enough to cater for indoor photography as well as wide angle coverage for the outdoors.
ac98
post Sep 14 2006, 09:38 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 14 2006, 07:37 AM)
plastic & magnesium
It's magnesium alloy ... lighter than metal, stronger than plastic, cheaper than fiber/titanium tongue.gif
ac98
post Sep 14 2006, 09:40 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 14 2006, 12:25 AM)
THeres a CANON Fans thread already. Just converge there and share experiences and future meets lor.
'There' as in where? tongue.gif
ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 08:53 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 14 2006, 11:23 PM)
Guys, need u'r help. Tell me if this is normal.
If I hold my 400D and shake it "lightly" I can hear a slight rattle. I know the sound is confined to the body because the rattle is there even after i removed the lens. Is this normal?  blink.gif

Thanks!

Edit : I found out where the noise comes from.. its from the built-in flash. If its lifted up, the sound disappears. Some thing must be lose.
Nothing is loose, the sound you heard is from the spring latch of the pop-up flash. When the flash pops up the spring will tighten until you push the flash back down again. Relax, the sound is there in every EOS model ever since the 1st day Canon incorporated pop-up flash into their cameras cool.gif
ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 09:00 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 15 2006, 08:09 AM)
Yes. i  bought it at Boeing. I really don't know if its AP/ori. I thought these things applies to handphones only.  laugh.gif
As for a review, i think u better read those online. I'm still a noob.

ok, see if u guys can answer this one for me. Lets say I'm sitting in my room @ night and I take a picture with Full Auto and one with Aperture Priority mode, ISO 800 (both taken with flash). The Auto shot takes it at 1/50, ISO 400 while the Aperture Priority shot takes it at 0.8secs (yes, the flash did fire). Thats strange right? Can anyone explain this to me? Thx!
At whatever aperture you set on the camera, it'll need that particular shutter speed to achieve a correct exposure. The flash will fire at both settings coz it's too dark. There's nothing strange about it.
ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 09:05 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 15 2006, 08:57 AM)
zomg
oh really?
Including a 300D, I owned 2 EOS models already ... no big deal-lah! You dun throw away your car just becoz you hear a soft squeek in the engine right? shakehead.gif
ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 04:04 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 15 2006, 09:29 AM)
The aperture was set around F5.0 or F6.0 The reason i find it strange is, if Auto @ ISO 400 takes it at 1/50, why does Av mode @ ISO 800 takes it at 0.8sec?
Thanks!
Dun wanna confuse here, but let you answer your own question :

At ISO800 and Av Mode, you're twice as high the light sensitivity as in the Auto Mode, right? So at 0.8sec the camera actually needed at least 50 times as slow a shutter speed to achieve the correct exposure.

That means ... assuming you didn't shift away from where you sat, the camera actually chose a darker side to focus in Av Mode and thus achieved that exposure setting.

The camera actually chose ANOTHER way to achieve focus, that's all.

ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 05:11 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 15 2006, 04:09 PM)
^ ah, u may be right.. the camera might have focused on something darker.. Thanks for the pointer man. Very much appreciated.
You're most welcome. It's has nothing to do if it's 350D or 400D or any SLR for that matter, it's how they seek out brighter sections to focus.

Sometimes we really dunno how a camera thinks ... but it's always true that they have a 'mind of their own' sweat.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 12:19 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(taikin @ Sep 27 2006, 10:13 AM)
i just got myself a 400D, on the very same night, my Auto Dust Cleaning System is spoiled, I discovered it by turning it off holding the shutter button partially, then I can use the camera perfectly

When I try to clean from Menu, Clean Now function, it displays the infamous Error 99 of Canon DSLR
Send it back to Canon to have it rectified ASAP. Being a new set, they will give priority to you thumbup.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 12:21 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 27 2006, 12:00 PM)
^ So if u bring back to the shop..are u getting a 1 to 1 replacement or its going to the factory for warranty? The latter definitely sucks.. I remember buying an Asus PDA that came with a faulty battery and they told me it had to go back to Penang for repairs. After wasting 3 hrs and giving them a piece of my mind,  i had a replacement. In Malaysia, we consumers are treated like dirt.
1 to 1 swap is not possible for items costing thousands like a DSLR. Be patient with the rectification, it's just a factory defect and will be solved just like the warranty agreement mentioned.

Aren't you glad you bought a Malaysian set and not a 'AP' set? tongue.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 01:48 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Sep 27 2006, 12:29 PM)
to invest sum of more than thousand of ringgit, better opt for ori than AP... thumbup.gif we'll never know wat will turn up to be... sweat.gif
... but not everyone thinks like you and I, they rather save hundreds of ringgit and take the risk whistling.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 03:35 PM

3,758 posts

Hmm ... I won't deny that for now, but having put so many options under the cleaning function, there will be potential problems. Like you said, the next firmware might solve it, alongside some other potential drawbacks.
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:33 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:25 PM)
Err.. was reading some mag and they recommend this particular lens for EOS Rebel users that are basically pok kai but still wanna upgrade from the kit lens.

Tamron 18-22mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Macro  (Supposed to be USD389)

Is it available in KL? If so, how much can i expect it to be?

About RM1599 on the street, won't run too far from USD.

ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:50 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:34 PM)
ok..ask u one question..where are good places to buy lens?
Also, if the lens says MACRO, will it fare well on taking normal pics? e.g Landscapes?
Yes, they can be used on potraits properly but I dun recommend landscapes or anything that require infinity focussing.

Shooting portraits will render the results ultra-sharp (that is more than SUPER sharp) creating highlights to skin texture, colour and dress material, in the case of fashion photography.

I have not tried using a Macro lens on landscapes coz technically, I felt that it's just not right ... dunno.

This post has been edited by ac98: Sep 29 2006, 03:51 PM
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:54 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 29 2006, 03:36 PM)
>_> sweat
already stated macro u still take landscapes doh.gif doh.gif
Can one ... you can drive a Kancil into the jungle also mah ... even so, I dun understand why a Kembara also cannot tahan harsh off-road, already cakap Full Time 4x4 blink.gif doh.gif

Can use Macro for Potrait/Landscape one, since I also use Kit Lens for macro sometimes, hehe ... different results-lah, may not be what you wanted.
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 04:06 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:55 PM)
So for an all rounder lens, can i say the best bet is a prime lens?
Sorry ah, stupid ppl always asks lots of questions.  tongue.gif
Nolah! You're smart to ask rclxms.gif

Sometimes all you need to do is open your mouth and ask, those people are smart. Those people who are stupid are those that ask again ... and again ... and again ... and again ... and again ... the same damn question and never gets it!!

Back to your question ...

No no ... an 'All Rounder' lens should be a lightweight zoom lens, preferable a wide angle zoom to cover most of your shooting needs i.e wide angle, close-up to mild telephoto.

I dunno about your budget, but I tend to get the 17-40mm F4L in replacement of the Kit Lens that's supposed to come with the camera when I change over to a EOS 30D (Yeah, just take away one zero from my 300D and pay so much extra).
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 04:22 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:55 PM)
So for an all rounder lens, can i say the best bet is a prime lens?
Forgot to explain to you also ... Prime lenses are lenses with Fixed Focal lens, here are my favorites (some others are simply out of my reach for the time being) :

1. EF 50mm F1.4 - A very decent potrait lens you can use indoors or outdoors.
2. EF 100mm F2 - Wanna give some oomph to your stage photos? This is the one I am considering.
3. EF 300mm F4L IS - How can I exclude this one?! A kickass huge bugger, with IS!

This post has been edited by ac98: Sep 29 2006, 04:23 PM
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 05:19 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 05:05 PM)
I don't think an L lens can cost less than 2K right? So i might as well not dream. I did see a 50mm IS at Midvalley today. Can't remember but i know its less than 2K.

Hmm..this is a really expensive hobby.

The EF 17-40mm f4L USM cost about RM2500 now. Yeah, no L-lenses are below RM2K, slightly above got.

Photography is not an expensive hobby ... it's a damn bloody !$@%#^$# expensive hobby laugh.gif
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 05:21 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Sep 29 2006, 05:13 PM)
ac98

17-40 F4L too limit in tele range , why not u add some budget for 24-105F4L IS USM ,I would think tht one would be quite nice ,although the wide angle not that good .

You didn't get me, I wanted the 17mm wink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0175sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:47 AM