Can you try later? Switch the phone off and leave it overnight? Or am I the only person to have this problem? JXDMYBD14.0 by the way
Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V13, MIUI 6 official developer released :)
Aug 22 2014, 09:23 AM
1,836 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Mars |
Can you try later? Switch the phone off and leave it overnight? Or am I the only person to have this problem? JXDMYBD14.0 by the way
Aug 22 2014, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 22 2014, 09:23 AM) You're using original charger or oem one. If original, then no choice. If oem, then you know why. Original of course. I can't even find OEM chargers for China products. How ironic. Anyway, if you have Xiaomi PB, try charging using that. Unlike direct plugon charger that do trickle charging after reaching 100%, Xiaomi PB will switch itself off after reach 100% for a short while. Its one of the best safeguard that not all PB has. See if the same "hot" temp re-occur after that 100%. Wonder if your phone battery spoil or not. I want my life back. This phone is giving me headaches. QUOTE(GameSky @ Aug 22 2014, 09:24 AM) You charge your phone with it turned off too?Even if I turned off the phone for charging the chip should not have turned off also.. I don't know how to do another experiment. By the way it's left for more than 5-6 hours since fully charged. I couldn't wait until it to reach 100% then I fell asleep already. was 99% liao.. But at least now I know I shouldn't leave it charge overnight. |
Aug 22 2014, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 22 2014, 10:25 AM) Nah. I think I'm cool with v14. When I charge it with a power bank it's perfectly cool.I think I just don't let it overcharge again next time. Nothing can be done now. Lesson learnt, no more China phones for me. They are cheap and have good specs but they have compromised little things that you won't notice when buying a phone, e.g. Mic quality, speaker quality, battery quality, motherboard, techincal support & etc. The original charger also looks and feel flimsy. Looks fugly too to be honest. That's the only thing that they should've copied iPhone but did not. |
Aug 22 2014, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 22 2014, 11:34 AM) You can use Samsung phone's 2 amp charger if someone have them. Agreed. Even their firmware updates brings havoc more than help. Havoc havoc ha ha havoc havoc. As for quality of stuff, I agree, overall they are good but the small things that makes up the stability and actual quality, I still prefer my S4. Most likely will upgrade to S6 next year or Note 4 even tho way they are more expensive but less problematic overall and overall apps stability is better (yes, the small stuff matters to me too). I'm done with this phone. Let me use it for a few months more and see what happens next. By the way, I did another experiment with a power bank, same thing, the phone still gets charged and heated even after a long period after 100. Suspecting they don't have this charge protection thingy installed on their battery. |
Aug 22 2014, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(hazril @ Aug 22 2014, 12:24 PM) i laughed at your response bro...sempat lg tu selit lagu havoc... Hehehe.. i think you should upgrade your firmware...since my 1st phone which is htc desire till now,i always charge my phone overnight...no such problem encountered bro...give it one last try upgrading your firmware and see the outcome... But does the new firmware has a new kernel? I don't know how to check. If the kernel is the same I think changing the ROM wouldn't make much diff leh bro.. QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 22 2014, 12:40 PM) About update, even Samsung also screws up a lot lar. Their S4 kitkat is so buggy on initial official release, up to now, I still no want update, prefer to stay at 4.3 with its more stable system. Even then, my widget screen update will freeze permanently unless I reboot whenever I activate/deactivate 4G data connection. Is it? This is my first Android phone.. I only flashed my Kindle Fire before.. Iphone firmware update is MUCH less problematic coz they do not have to deal with variety of hardware assembly, screen layout, etc. Just only 1 choice unless you jailbreak. So if you choose stability and stagnancy above all, iphone is still the phone to go for. More choices means more headache. For iPhone usually those Americans that got their hands first on the latest firmware will start writing articles regarding the latest firmware whether it's a worthy upgrade or not / got issues with the new firmware or not... unlike Android, we have find answers ourselves in the specific phone thread, e.g. in S4 XDA to post a new thread asking around who's got the same problems etc. Totally different experience. QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 22 2014, 12:42 PM) That's why I prefer Xiaomi PB, cheap and yet it has more protection features and quality than most below RM200 pb. But then I can't always charge my phone over a PB. I think it's got to do with the chip inside the charger or the chip inside the battery. Anyways, I read this and I think it's pretty useful: QUOTE I often see many misconceptions about iPhone batteries, and Li-ion batteries in general, so I thought I'd write a mini-guide to address this issue. iPhones have Lithium ion batteries. All Li-ion batteries have a limited life span, ie a finite number of charge cycles that they can undergo before becoming useless. The number of cycles you can achieve is determined in part by how you treat the battery. The two biggest enemies of Li-ion batteries are heat and over-voltage charging. The latter is mainly taken care of by charger design (ie trickle charging and cutoffs). Heat is a bigger problem. Batteries get hot when they are charging. Heat is also related to the other big reducer of Li-ion battery lifespan: Deep charge cycles. Li-ion batteries function optimally and have the longest lifespan when discharged to around 60-80% then charged to full. Full (or deep) discharges* reduce the lifespan of the battery. Full discharges are bad due to intrinsic chemistry (small permanent changes inside the battery reduce its life) and also recharging from a low charge will inevitably heat (causing more permanent chemical changes) the battery more than shorter, more frequent charges. Often people recommend infrequently fully discharging Li-ion batteries and sometimes even report better life after such treatment. This treatment of batteries is a legacy of times when Ni-Cad batteries were the predominant type and the subsequent conflation with Li-ion technology. The apparent 'improvement' results only from the recalibration of the electronic gauge used to display the remaining battery percentage. Directly gauging a battery's current level of charge is not actually possible. The percentage shown is an average 'expected' value based on previous uses of the battery after being monitored by software for a period of time. If the calibrated values become inaccurate the battery gauge will also be inaccurate. A full discharge will recalibrate the software gauge, often resulting in more accurate battery-level readings. This in no way affects the battery at all. All that happens is the software is more accurate at reporting the estimate charge remaining. You will get no more performance from your batter by doing a full charge even if it appears to be so (actually, by doing a full discharge, you have reduced the lifespan of your battery by a tiny amount). Apple actually recommends infrequent full discharges. My guess is that they see this as a trade off; they know they are reducing the battery life by some tiny amount, but also receive far fewer customer support complaints due to poorly calibrated battery gauges being perceived as faulty devices. * For the purposes of this guide a 'full discharge' is defined as reaching around 5-10%. For Li-ion batteries a 'full discharge' is not truly a complete discharge. Li-ion batteries have a cutoff within the battery to prevent complete discharge. If a Li-ion battery is completely discharged it can not be recharged. So when your device containing a Li-ion battery reports the battery is empty this is the cutoff coming into play and preventing permanent damage to the battery. TL;DR DO: Charge frequently. Small, frequent charges are best. Charge your battery first if you are going to leave it unplugged for an extended period. Charge your battery in a cool spot. DO NOT: Let your battery get hot. Fully discharge your battery. Let your battery sit at low charge for extended periods. Believe the lie that full discharges improve battery lifespan. |
Aug 22 2014, 07:58 PM
Aug 23 2014, 03:40 AM
QUOTE(jokeserv @ Aug 23 2014, 03:19 AM) Guys wanna ask is there a way to bypass the miui browser. Right now when I click Google maps link or YouTube link it loads into miui browser. Any help? Why would you not use the default one? It's safer than chrome IMO. Plus, speed ain't bad. Only thing if you require translation then you'll need google chrome, otherwise the miui browser is one of the best. E.g. When you copy a link in whatsapp, once you open up the miui browser. It automatically asks you whether to head to the copied URL.I see in app manager can uninstall the browser. Is it safe to do so? Will I still be able to recover it if I do factory reset? |
Aug 23 2014, 11:18 PM
Aug 24 2014, 08:20 PM
Is it advisable to erase all apps & data upon upgrading to KitKat? V23 or v22 better?
Aug 24 2014, 08:42 PM
Aug 25 2014, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(Max2006 @ Aug 24 2014, 09:21 PM) You can just leave it as that way after the update. Use it for a while. If everything ok, then good. If got problem, then do a full wipe. That's how i did last week. First I thought it's ok after I updated. But after 2 times of freezing, i decided to do a full wipe. Until now. So far so good. I can't seem to remove some of the Google Apps. Hmm.. By the way, if I was on the 4.4 kernel, once I go downgrade to 4.3, what happens to the kernel? I don't think we have the option to flash another kernel do we? |
Aug 25 2014, 08:52 AM
Aug 25 2014, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(blitzx @ Aug 25 2014, 10:58 AM) What the difference between the china set xiaomi with the version they sell Xiaomi Malaysia? other than the warranty? In China there are two versions of MI3, One is TD-SCDMA with the nVidia Tegra 4 chip, and another version which is able to be used in Malaysia, the WCDMA version with Qualcomm Snapdragon 800. So don't buy the wrong version. |
Aug 25 2014, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Aug 25 2014, 04:41 PM) Guys, a question here regarding Xiaomi powerbank 10400mah. I've been charging my new powerbank for almost 1 hour using my laptop. But it still stuck at second level. Is it normal or my powerbank is faulty? Use a proper wall charger to charge it. Unless your USB port is 3.0, else it'll take more than 8 hours to fully charge it. It's an original Xiaomi powerbank which i got from flash sales. If its faulty, throw away dy zzz Use your phone charger to charge it la. |
Aug 26 2014, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 25 2014, 09:19 PM) Today I dropped my Mi3 from car roof height and it survived. One really bad chip at the back top left, and some smaller chips here and there on the back cover. Really not bad... Bro get a proper protection man. The original TPU soft case is gooding. Fits the phone like a glove.On a sidenote, my bro's wife dropped hers and didnt fare well. Shattered screen... QUOTE(lkyoong @ Aug 26 2014, 12:19 AM) Ok i got a wierd MI Powerbank question. And why would you want to do that? Unless you really need power, else I'd say avoid it! Your powerbank would probably take longer time to charge. So does your phone.I remembering seeing somewhere (cannot remember) that you can charge the powerbank and also power up your phone. Any danger in this like overheating? Also i got this crazy idea of using one powerbank to charge up another powerbank. Basically daisy chain the power bank. First unit gets power from adapter then plug the output of the first unit to the input of the second unit. I tried it and seems to work but worry if got any damage long term charging in this way. |
Aug 26 2014, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 01:33 PM) Tak tahu translate coz cannot fully read all words. Asked ppl to translate for me and I google translate some of them to make sense also. 10K pb not in the report list. Bukan not tested.The rough (not sure correct or not) bottom line is CCTV China has conducted adhoc test on over 224 powerbanks in China, 9 failed battery weight impact test (whatever that is) with high risk of explosion upon short-circuit, 6 exploded, 20 units (not sure what is it), 17 units with overstated capacity. 53.1% of pb were not qualified. In short, brands including Xiaomi 5200 mah pb has shown abt 50% to 75% of actual capacity. 10K pb not tested. Plus, the Xiaomi Powerbank that was tested by CCTV wasn't purchased through the official Xiaomi channels. So the tested ones could be fake product. |
Aug 26 2014, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 01:42 PM) It's not the same thing! Adui.. U translated using Google I reckon. Not reported and not tested is different. It could be they have tested, but not reported to have fake ratings. QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2014, 01:46 PM) The REPORT is by CCTV and is in today's Chinese newspaper. Don't know which one tho coz I was alerted to it by a colleague after he read abt it in newspaper. Just ignore the stupid news. They did not buy the powerbank from official channels. COULD BE FAKE PRODUCT!If you can't read the report properly, then don't post it and try to translate it. You completely brought up a different story. |
Aug 27 2014, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(ytkwong @ Aug 27 2014, 02:33 PM) urm, just wondering any fellow mi3 owners having problem with sound? both on sound recorder as well as video recorder. you hear alot of voice during replay. I had problems with WhatsApp for sound recording, it sounded like Robot in the v14 firmware. Sometimes had to click play 2 times to play the recording too. The WhatsApp sound recording was ok for KitKat on MIUI.But the voice recording on the default voice recorder was really clear. What firmware are you on by the way? Please state which firmware you are on in the future before asking any questions so that we can pinpoint your problems more accurately. Apps react differently on different firmware. Especially Jellybean vs Kitkat. |
Aug 27 2014, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(chatwarrior @ Aug 27 2014, 03:51 PM) Is it true that the Xiaomi Mi:3 is very slower in battery charging ? My friend said it takes a much longer time compared to Samsung S3, any truth ? 2100mAh on the S3 vs 3050mAh on the Mi3. Of course it takes longer to charge. Besides, if you want faster charging, you can use other chargers with 2.1A output to charge your MI3. The one that came with the MI3 is only 1A output. |
Aug 27 2014, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(chatwarrior @ Aug 27 2014, 04:13 PM) No need to give me that foul sign la. What foul sign? I'm surprised that your friend expect to charge a bigger battery with the same speed of a lower capacity battery.Does it mean the 2.1A charger will be twice faster than 1A ? How much and where to buy ? Well, some say the max mi3 can input is 1.6A, some say capped at 1.2A, do more research on it. If the Mi3 can take 2A input, yes it will twice as fast. But not recommended by Xiaomi themselves. |
| Change to: | 0.0374sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:08 AM |