Team Vodafone McLaren Mercedes V2, Malaysia GP Qlfy: Heikki P3, Lewis P4

verx
post Sep 4 2006, 02:00 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Sep 3 2006, 06:57 PM)
And due to the erratic Mr.Dennis, the technical staffs always change. Just take a look at the car nose design..They changed to slim aligator style a couple of years ago. A whole buch of gremlins appeared. Then, change to wide nose again (almost won) and then, back to aligator style again this year. At the launch of this year's machine, I already know McLaren is going to wait for another year to challenge for the crown. That design simply doesn't work!!
shakehead.gif Ron Dennis might have taken his eye of the ball sometimes but this is still a guy responsible for McLaren dominance in the 80's with Senna and Prost as well as the late 90's with Mika. McLaren has never been shy to try innovative designs and sometimes it will bite us in the ass. To criticise Ron, the change of technical staff, the car design, etc just shows how clueless u r. The FIA changes rules every season and the team that reacts best to the changes will end up as the frontrunner of that season. This is a sport where even a 0.01% difference could mean u finish as runner-up rather than champions

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Sep 4 2006, 12:05 PM)
I just don't get it.. You see sometimes McLarens are so good and then, they flop the year after. After that, they come back into play again. Very flambuoyant. Somehow I think they are a big team but they do not know how to capitalise on their resources such as money and skills. They hv abundance of sponsors but they do not spend more on researches. There is another factor though... the politics in F1 and FIA. Sincerely, I felt the two parties are more Ferrari (specifically, M.Schumacher) sided. We hv seen too many things where the two old men doing things in favour of the Italian team. This is such a big hindrance for McLaren to win!!
There is no foundation in accusations of the FIA being biased as the reason why we haven't been consistently winning. Our time will come don't worry. I have no doubt about it.
verx
post Sep 4 2006, 02:37 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 4 2006, 02:33 PM)
The only clear McLaren dominance was with Senna & Prost.
Both were busy racing each other.
No one seems to noticed other drivers  laugh.gif
It's like both of them were the only contenders for the world title.

Honestly, I would not call the win by Mika in the late 90's as a dominance.
Quite lucky though...just a few points shy to the 2nd place driver.
Michael broke his leg and all.
But still a history.
No doubt though Mika was a fine F1 driver  thumbup.gif

Kimi will be like that and maybe more after he passed the 30 years age.
The older you get, the more mature you'll become.

Can't forget the challenge he gave to Montoya in a Williams.
Kimi always aggressive but always smart too and he knows when to yield.
Even if he needs to lock up his front wheel.
Gifted racer.

Kimi Raikkonen Vs JP Montoya
yeah i agree with u that the late 90's wasn't really dominance. 98 was a dominant year for McLaren and if the FIA didn't ban the use of beryllium in engines i'm pretty sure things would been very different
verx
post Sep 5 2006, 12:44 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Sep 4 2006, 11:37 PM)
Yeah.. You say I m clueless.. It is ok.. But why FIA sided Ferrari and Todt. Why not Mclaren and Dennis? What happened in the middle? Why Ferrari get all the benefits?
explain how the FIA have sided with Ferrari and Todt and what benefits they are getting instead of just running your mouth saying things u heard from some other ppl rather than using your own brain
verx
post Sep 10 2006, 06:22 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 10 2006, 01:08 PM)
wonder how many will con'd supporting macca if kimi leaves for ferrari..
i will still be supporting McLaren and i know most will too
there were many macca fans before kimi joined the team so i don't see the problem

a few maybe like this one here will stop supporting of cos
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 10 2006, 02:57 PM)
Kimi all the way...bye bye macca  tongue.gif
bye bye
not gonna miss ya tongue.gif

P.S. won't it be weird to see kimi in red??...*shrugs*
verx
post Sep 11 2006, 12:56 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 11 2006, 12:17 AM)
His goal is the world title...since macca failed to give him that...maybe Ferrari can.
macca gave him a championship winning car last season.
he failed to deliver.

that said...i'm kinda sad he's leaving as he is a great driver.
all the best to him. smile.gif
verx
post Sep 11 2006, 11:44 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 11 2006, 11:29 AM)
anyways, that was lame. I still can't believe that the steward punishes Alonso for that. C'mon, I see cars that are closer than that but are not punished. Even if Schummi wins the WC this year, it's hollow. WTF were they thinking? This sports has enough conterversional decisions now, and this does not look good for the FIA's image.

and for those who still feels that Alonso is guilty, look at the qualifying fact again.
1. The laptime is around 1.22. He went out of the pit with around. 1.26 remaining.
2. He need to cross the line before the clock reaches 0.
3. he needs about 2 second to speed up and get the heat back into his tyre, which leave him around about 1.24
4. He crosses the line with about 2 seconds to spare.

Thus I doubt in no way he can impede Massa's lap. I mean he has to push the car to get within that time. Any logical thinking man can see that. this is crap. I won't watch any of the remaining races after this.
yeah i agree
it was a ridiculous decision
i watched qualy and i didn't get the impression that massa was being blocked
this type of decisions bring the sport into disrepute and it's not one that the sport needs right now
verx
post Sep 11 2006, 01:27 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(weiheng @ Sep 11 2006, 12:29 PM)
I read somewhere saying Alonso hv to let Massa pass by eventhough by doing that means you cant make a fast lap.. rules is rules
no there's no rule saying that. only that u can't block a driver on his flying lap. alonso was always a good distance ahead of him and was in no position to block him at all. massa went slower cause he got distracted. but isn't that why this qualifying format was introduced rather than the 1 at a time style. in the previous qualy format similar to the one we have now, drivers were getting compromised lap times all the time and no one was penalised

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 11 2006, 12:38 PM)
I think steward made a correct dicision..  he come out late so what?  who make him come out so late?  blame who? blame FIA?  Blame Massa? 

the fact is Massa is in his lap and he is just in his flying lap.. he is in front of Massa while Massa doing his lap time... 

If that is dangerous to risk him out.. so.. don't come out.. stay in the pit .. stay in P10..
it's statements like this that convinces me that there are alot of morons here. alonso had every right to come out when he did to try to improve his lap time. that's the whole idea of the current qualy system. the position massa was in made no difference cause alonso was driving fast enough.

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 11 2006, 01:28 PM
verx
post Sep 11 2006, 05:08 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(weiheng @ Sep 11 2006, 04:29 PM)
is it? lol I'm not too sure of that. but nevertheless he has to let Massa pass by.
no he doesn't have to. and why should he? to catch massa on massa's slowing down lap and compromise his own lap time? no driver in their right mind would have done that. schumi included. and for that matter...schumi wouldn't have been so distracted by the car in front of him. massa is a mediocre driver. alonso being penalised for massa's mistake is ridiculous

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 11 2006, 05:10 PM
verx
post Sep 12 2006, 12:45 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(weiheng @ Sep 11 2006, 05:22 PM)
what slowing down lap? it's Massa flying lap la..
read my post carefully. what do u do after a flying lap? u slow down...if alonso let massa past him he would have caught massa on his slowing down lap....sheesh rolleyes.gif
verx
post Sep 12 2006, 01:37 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(weiheng @ Sep 12 2006, 01:10 AM)
when ppl doing his flying lap and u r not u should let ppl pass. the same apply to massa. if massa didnt let alonso pass then he should be penaltised as well..
talking is easy. letting ppl past is not. how many times have we seen the car behind being bottled by a slower car because he caught him at the wrong point. alonso did the right thing by staying out in front so that massa had no way to catch him. there is NO rule saying he must let the car behind pass because then the rule would be too vague. what would be considered acceptable distance? so should every car on the same lap let massa thru as well?? rolleyes.gif
verx
post Sep 12 2006, 01:50 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

sometimes a little common sense goes a long way.
i have watched f1 for quite a number of years now and i remember during the good old fights between schumi and mika where they tried to distract each other during qualy. it's gamesmanship and it's part of the sport.
verx
post Sep 12 2006, 02:20 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 12 2006, 01:56 AM)
Can't forget this move ever since it happen smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnxo89MTVo8...related&search=
i remember watching that live and jumping up and down when he pulled it off.
Absolutely Awesome.
2000 was a great year for F1. smile.gif
verx
post Sep 12 2006, 01:04 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(weiheng @ Sep 12 2006, 12:40 PM)
i dun know let ppl pass is a must or a courtesy.. when u hv no prob when other team  doing it or being penalised but u start to whine when Ferrari is involved..

fair or not fair.. he deserved 0 point in this race. He cut the chicane and do u think he deserve being penalised? what if Schumi cut the chicane?

and at last he also DNF. u said he rev his engine too hard? he was up to 6th place after first corner.. up to 5th place after Heifield's speeding in pitlane. Did u see him attacking? Rev engine too hard? bullshit..
it's not whether ferrari was involved or not. i'm not a renault fan and i don't really like alonso although i respect him but i'm trying to be objective by stating that the stewards were wrong to penalise him and why i think so.

u however prejudge me unfairly by saying i whine only when ferrari is involved which isn't the case, have tried to justify the steward's cock up in an attempt to "protect" your dear ferrari because they are undoubtedly the beneficiaries of the stewards' cock-up but the fact is i'm not blaming ferrari; i'm blaming the FIA. and then u go on to call alonso's claim bullshit as if u had renault's telemetry to show that alonso wasn't pushing as hard as he could. rolleyes.gif
verx
post Sep 13 2006, 10:50 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 13 2006, 12:28 AM)
Yeah.
Once joined Ferrari, no way he's gonna change team.
Ferrari's so good, even Michael never change teams.
Kimi's gonna be the next Michael Schumacher as in winning a lot of world titles.

Alonso 'kasi busuk' nama McLaren lah.
Haishh... sweat.gif
it was Michael along with Todt and Brawn that made Ferrari good. they were nowhere before Michael joined them. he never changed teams because he had a passion for the team. Michael is a special driver. to claim Kimi will be the next Michael is premature. Kimi hasn't convinced me that he will be able to repeat what Michael has done with Ferrari or even Benetton.

Alonso's attitude is abit of a problem but he has proven that he has the talent to be among the best. I'm sure Ron will be able to give him a few lessons on PR tongue.gif
verx
post Sep 13 2006, 02:39 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Sep 13 2006, 10:56 AM)
but v cannot doubt tat kimi is great....coz he's 2nd to WDC during 2004 n 2005
no that just proves he lacks something. champions are champions. schumi won 2 world titles with benetton when williams were the faster car. and alonso proved he can win under pressure last season despite having the 2nd best car.

now don't get me wrong, i like kimi as a driver and i do see him winning a WDC, but i am one bit not impressed that he went and signed a pre-contract with ferrari so early in the year before mclaren could counter offer. they say actions speak louder than words and so it seems.

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 13 2006, 01:31 PM)
exactly my point.
See Rosberg..so good in GP but bad in F1.
Or maybe it's the Williams car that suxx  tongue.gif

A lot of differ between GP and F1.
Anyways, we'll see.

Either it's true his good or just talk only.
Once hired, given a crappy car...after few years then move to Ferrari again  laugh.gif
Same old story  tongue.gif
Remind me of a 'particular' McLaren driver  tongue.gif
Guess who  tongue.gif
u must compare rosberg's performance in comparison to his teammate and i think he has done well.
many ppl have said hamilton is really talented, so we'll have to wait and see.

and u talk as if ferrari are the only team that drivers want to drive for.
in fact with schumi retiring and todt and brawn likely to follow, they might just go back where they were before. the fact is u never know who will have the best car the next season or in the long term.

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 13 2006, 02:40 PM
verx
post Sep 13 2006, 05:19 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 13 2006, 05:02 PM)
Williams were the faster car when Michael was in Benetton but the problem is
Williams has no drivers as good as Senna.
Williams started to get the game back up in San Marino but tragically the car
has a lot of problems and Senna died because of it.
Some say the car's too low on the ground in order to get more speed.
Also, Hill with Williams nearly won the title of not because of Michaels controversial
manouver on Hill in Austrllia 1994.
It was a close fight.
all the cars were very low back then...it was only after senna's death that safety measures were given more importance. and controversial or not, michael was considered still a rookie then. i personally don't know how ppl can claim he's been a great sportsman but that's just me tongue.gif

Rosberg performance compare to whom?
Mark Webber?
IMHO, Webber performed better.
More points than Rosberg.
u have a point. but i still think he's done quite well with a very poor williams car.

Bold text.
actually, most drivers would love to drive for Ferrari.
Fast cars...high budget..who wouldn't?
currently, yes of course they have the fastest car and biggest budget, but who's to say they will have the fastest car for the next 5 years? all i'm saying is if McLaren has the fastest car next season, won't it make Kimi look stupid? tongue.gif
it's not like McLaren doesn't have a big budget
verx
post Sep 13 2006, 10:13 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 13 2006, 06:10 PM)
wow.. sound so pro.. how u know McLaren never ask him for futhur contract before Ferarri Sign him?

come on.. talk fact..  where is the pre-contract?  Todt clearly said that is no pre-contract.. and when he sign.. that is a contract..
u know u could actually contribute positively instead of trying to be an ass.
todt obviously claims there isn't any pre-contract. it's one of the things that go on behind the scenes and it's hard for us fans to know exactly what is going on.
but u must remember it was no secret kimi didn't have any contract from 2007 onwards so he having signed a pre-contract is not impossible and not illegal. the best way is to take it from a third party. flavio briatore had claimed before the race he tried to sign kimi and failed because kimi had already signed a contract with ferrari. so take it as what u will.
verx
post Sep 16 2006, 11:32 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Sep 16 2006, 09:58 AM)
I think most of the McLaren fans are more driver sided.. I think we are both thinking the same way.. ha ha..  biggrin.gif
i think every team has supporters that just support their drivers...Schumi for one has alot of fans from germany who would claim they support ferrari
and the sudden surge in the number of renault fans definitely has something to do with alonso winning the WDC title.
i say, speak for yourself, just don't assume for everyone else
verx
post Sep 18 2006, 11:06 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 18 2006, 12:30 AM)
If Kimi won the WDC with Ferrari...then he's better than Michael.
Michael joined Ferrari in 1996 and finally won his 1st WDC with Ferrari in 2000.
Imagine if Kimi joined Ferrari instead of Sauber on his debut for Formula 1?
This just proves that u know nothing about F1. Michael didn't win his title till 2000 because Ferrari were a lousy team and they had to build from scratch. Kimi would NEVER in his lifetime emulate what Michael did with Ferrari. It's like if Kimi won a WDC with Sauber. (OK that was an exaggeration but u get the point)

QUOTE(fariz @ Sep 18 2006, 06:52 AM)
Kimi will not be better than MS. He is good, but not as good.

MS built the Ferrari to what it's today. Kimi just inherited the car.

Same as what Rossi is doing to Honda and Yamaha
Exactly my point. Some ppl just don't get it rolleyes.gif
verx
post Sep 18 2006, 04:48 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 18 2006, 03:40 PM)
It makes me sick when people here calling names, patronizing, flamebaiting
calling others 'an ass' etc.
Let's make a decent discussion here.  shakehead.gif

Educate ourselves here:

Formula 1 Results Archive (1950 / 2006)

Michael got 2nd place in the WDC twice...1997 and 1998.
Quite competitive in 1996 and 1999.
I don't think Ferrari has a lousy car with all those achievements.
That's just a lame excuse.
The points were quite close.

Kimi haven't race in a Ferrari yet and you already patronizing him.

Go Kimi...broke all Schumi's record and let your driving do the talking.

Had enough with Schumi.
Glad he retires.
Sometimes he makes me sick  smile.gif

Kimi all the way.
It makes me sick when i get accused for nothing. Your comment earlier was a ridiculous assumption and i just gave my opinion on it.
The only reason why Ferrari were better in 1996 onwards was because Schumi went to the team but Ferrari were by no means competitive before that. The circumstances are so different if u want to compare to now where Kimi is joining a very competitive team which should be challenging for the title next season.

I'm not patronizing Kimi, I'm just stating that Kimi won't be able to emulate what Schumi did regardless how good a driver Kimi is. I've always like Kimi since his Sauber days but he's no Schumi.

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 18 2006, 04:14 PM)
Good say brother..  only idiot will call people idiot.. and only an ass will call people ass... 

He sound we all know nothing about F1..  and he know everything about F1..  oh man..  cool..  he don't even talk fact that saying Ferarri giving a pre-contract to Kimi...  wow.. know so much about F1..  yeah!
pfft...What a cheap shot....your post is as hypocritical as it gets. You have contributed nothing at all to this thread, preferring to flamebait ppl here. When u come up with something better then post here.

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 18 2006, 05:00 PM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1383sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:18 PM