LEAGUE
CUP
XBOX LIVE
TRAINING
EDIT
DATA
SYSTEM SETTING
CREDIT

but the rest of the menus and text are in Japanese. So are players name but with the editing function, can change players' name.

It helps that the manual is in English so there's some basic guidance what the Jap menus mean. Should be just a matter of time before the boys are PESinsight or WE forums do the translations.

This post has been edited by terranova: Dec 12 2006, 08:52 PM
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 06:21 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(coriandery @ Dec 12 2006, 06:16 PM)
I think we need to start a new league, right? wink.gif
Depends on online playability. If not laggy, and can navigate through all that Jap menus, then YES.

terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 07:08 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 12 2006, 06:22 PM)
bro, have u got urs? menus all in Japanese ah? smile.gif
Yep. Yes.
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 08:42 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 12 2006, 07:57 PM)
hmm i dont see any EDIT function there
There is a basic editing function - for name of players and abilities. It's not a comprehensive editor as per past WE series i.e. no jersey, emblem, etc edit. It's in the bottom half of the main page. Refer my edited post #51 above.

This post has been edited by terranova: Dec 12 2006, 08:53 PM
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 08:43 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Dec 12 2006, 07:30 PM)
@Terra,
time to kick some balls with ya!!!
U mean it's time to kick my balls, that's what u really mean. I miss those days. Yes let's GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL.
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 09:24 PM

1,161 posts

I really really REALLY hate to admit it, but I think I prefer FIFA07.
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 10:44 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 12 2006, 10:29 PM)
I think you got used to FIFA07...play for a while more and you might enjoy WE X smile.gif
I think you may be right. Guess I need time to re-calibrate to WE.

@scpt - cannot edit team names or emblem, only player names and attributes. Stuck with the funny names and emblems. Arsenal and Man U fully licensed though. Not Chelsea and others.

@ munky - can use d-pad to control players.

Initial impressions. Jap menu giving me a headache, SHOOT power bar rises too fast, soft tap also fly ball over goal, overall speed of game slower than FIFA07, graphics not exactly next-gen (wife commented "eeee why like that one?"), player movement on the field not smooth animation and realistic. Gameplay still up to WE standard except shooting power hard to control.

This post has been edited by terranova: Dec 12 2006, 10:51 PM
terranova
post Dec 12 2006, 11:41 PM

1,161 posts

@ coriandery - thanks. fortunately, most of the key menus are explained in the english manual. not comprehensive but most of the key areas are well covered in the manual.

Game lags a little on Live when there's too many players in the last third of the field. you can have in-game chats as well.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 10:35 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(coriandery @ Dec 13 2006, 12:55 AM)
Have you played anyone locally or have they all been people overseas?  I noticed playing FIFA 07 that playing people here, there was next to no lag compared to playing people elsewhere.
That's expected I guess. The further they are away from the network, the greater the expectation of lag due to distance. Also, Stimx isn't exactly top-notch connection. So far I've only played with guys in HK and Japan.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 10:44 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Dec 13 2006, 10:38 AM)
hoho, my copy is on the way to my house...!!! rclxm9.gif

terra, tonight we rock..but please ease on me k? im just a noobie in WE blush.gif
Don't buaya la u.

OK we're on for tonite. If I can figure out the menus and create a game. So far, I only join people's game. Dunno how to create.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 11:28 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 13 2006, 10:53 AM)
Erk...you mean the menus aren't explained in the manual? tongue.gif
Only the main and next-branch sub-menus are explained. Anything beyond the first branch of the menu is left for u to figure out. Hard to explain, or perhaps I'm just lazy. But I think you'll know what I mean after get yours. smile.gif

Anyone wants to attend Jap classes at YMCA?
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 03:09 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(coriandery @ Dec 13 2006, 12:43 PM)
I got my copy. 

My review: Awesome. biggrin.gif  A few gripes though; d-pad is terrible, but the analogue stick is fine.  I had to switch the layout of the controls, because the run button defaults to the left-bumper as opposed to the left trigger.  Odd.

The manual is pretty extensive, I think creating a custom match over Live shouldn't be too hard. Will give it a shot tonight against anyone else who is online. smile.gif

Editing player names is a little tricky, since you can't see the player faces or player number when you're editing the name.  So you can only go by nationality and player age (or if you can read Japanese obviously).  So I managed to edit the entirety of Chelsea without a problem (since they're my team) and the starting line-ups of Man Utd and Arsenal.  I may refer to my copy of PES6 on the PS2 and see if the line-ups are similar.

FIFA 07 is now officially dead to me.
Yep I had the same problem with the initial controller layout. Had to swap R1/L1 to R2/L2.

Re. editing team name, what I did was go to training, selected the team listing and took a snapshot of the team roster with players' jeysey numbers (which corresponds to real life). Then compared the Jap-text in Edit mode and edited to English. Yeah it's a drag for those who don't read Jap. So far, only edited Man U.

terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 03:10 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(coriandery @ Dec 13 2006, 03:08 PM)
Luckily the WE achievements are fairly easy. biggrin.gif
Any links to the WE X achievements in English?
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 03:11 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 13 2006, 11:42 AM)
Eh ur back in KL or still in hong Kong? Haha...

YMCA offers Jap classes? berapa duit? tongue.gif
Was just joking. Sorry. In HK but going back to PJ this weekend for a short break.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 04:29 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 13 2006, 03:22 PM)
Just wondering, do they use kanji, or hiragana and katagana in the games?
I think they use kasumi, hitomi & ayane. oops sorry wrong game. tongue.gif

p/s : me likey the santa-hat emoticons.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 04:38 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Dec 13 2006, 03:20 PM)
achieve360points.com has them
just look for WE10 & WE2007 to compare them
thanks.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 06:02 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(coriandery @ Dec 13 2006, 05:51 PM)
I've got a feeling it will reset to Japanese names on Live though.  Will have to try later.
The translations don't work on Live.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 07:12 PM

1,161 posts

IF someone has XSATA, then perhaps can try to import saved game to see if that works.
terranova
post Dec 13 2006, 10:36 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 13 2006, 08:11 PM)
IINM kanji words are the one that mostly rounds or only few strokes for each character.
hiragana and katagana are the one that looks like chinese words, squares and alot strokes.
Well, kasumi, hitomi & ayane are also well rounded and have excellent strokes.
terranova
post Dec 14 2006, 02:16 PM

1,161 posts

After 2 nites of playing, I have a feeling I'm gonna go back to FIFA07 more quickly than I thought.

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Dec 14 2006, 07:23 AM)
got my copy, test it...feel it, basically it is just a port from ps2 to xbox360. And the graphics are even worst when compare to PES6 (PC ver). i will post up the screenie after work today so you guys can notice the different.

graphics wise, like terra's wife mentioned b4, "yeeeee, why like that 1". when first i boot up the game i can't believe this is a next gen game. well nvm, since WE is more concern bout gameplay.

gameplay, nothing special. if you played on PS2 version b4, you can skip this version unless you wanna try out the xbox live feature. .

live, no lag, tried it with local player (thomassux) and it is like playing LAN.

@Terra,
sorry didnt kick ball with you yesterday night, tonight we kick ball,k?
So it was u lah playing with thomassux last nite. No wonder ... I invite him also he never bother to answer .... feel like second-wife now. cry.gif

Ok, tonite we play, after I let terencey trash me in FIFA07 first. Then I let u trash me in WEX. Btw, I feel like trash right now. blink.gif

Oh yea, my wife didn't say "yeeeee, why like that 1", she said "eeeee, why like that one". See the difference? tongue.gif

0.0185sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:40 PM