Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

outpace
post Aug 27 2015, 08:53 PM

574 posts

Guys, after service, would the engine turn to black really fast, I mean real fast like less than 100KM after oil change.

SC told me that it's normal. Googled a bit on web, it's very common for diesel engine, but petrol turbo engine?

This was after the first oil change at 15,000KM, for the Volkswagon 1.4TSI engine.

On the right is the new oil from the bottle ( Castrol Edge Fully Synthetic), the dark oil on the left side of paper was from the engine, 1 day after the oil change.
Normal?

outpace
post Jan 1 2016, 11:45 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Dec 31 2015, 11:04 AM)
it's 2 litres bottle, so RM160 for 4 litres
outpace
post Jan 3 2016, 10:20 AM

574 posts

Sorry and thanks.

Need to see what's good about ester based oil. I'm non technical person looking around in you guys' technical discussion.

lol esters:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ester#List_of_ester_odorants
Can't really understand the fruit thingy.

This post has been edited by outpace: Jan 3 2016, 10:28 AM
outpace
post Jan 20 2016, 09:30 PM

574 posts

The mechanic's advice is not untrue, to certain extent. I bought a used car, about 7 years old, the flywheel oil seal came off after 1st or 2nd use of fully synthetic oil.

I guess the oil mUST have washed the sludge that hold the harden oil seal, and it detached. ( that oil was Repco if recalled correctly, I used the Petronas/ mobil semi or less well known fully)

Of course, after I replaced the flywheel oil seal, all the time fully oil and semi oil. treat your car nice, it will reward you with peace of mind.

This post has been edited by outpace: Jan 20 2016, 09:33 PM
outpace
post Apr 25 2016, 08:35 PM

574 posts

Good share
Not sure about the idea of putting magnet at the filter
outpace
post Apr 25 2016, 08:37 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Apr 24 2016, 10:33 AM)
Guy,

Is there any Caltex Station which with the Car Workshop?? Would like to try out their engine oil, can't just buy the engine oil and went to the workshop cause they don't entertain people who get their own engine oil.

Hope you guy can share the location if any, around Selangor or KL.

If you bring your own oil, they will just charge service fee, no?

outpace
post Apr 27 2016, 01:03 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Apr 27 2016, 08:40 AM)
I've tried few workshop, but all not willing to do it.
wa, bringing oil and filter to workshop no longer accepted?
The few shops you went really teruk, but of course they have their right. Try until you get someone to do loh.
Normally RM15
outpace
post Apr 28 2016, 09:31 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Apr 27 2016, 02:12 PM)
Can't really blame them, if they allow one customers another might follow. How about anyone here know any workshop at bukit tinggi area or PJ do carry Caltex Havoline engine oil?
what's the difference of earning on self bring and on shelf?
Ya, not blaming, It's their call for the 20 minutes thing.

Even they say RM30 to RM50 we also have to pay if it's their equipment and labour.

Too many fake oil around, so I only get oil from a trusted source. A bit difficult if no one willing to do leh, try other if turned down by one, until we get one loh.

outpace
post Sep 5 2016, 08:04 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Sep 3 2016, 11:55 AM)
morning ,

just want to ask a question , is motor oil and engine oil is SAME >>  ??

i got many extra motor oil but my car engine oil just 3 litre which i think is not enough for me when i change it , so can i add on motor oil > > ????
Some high end motorbike engine oil in the bike workshop cost a lot more per litre than my car engine oil.
outpace
post Nov 9 2016, 08:04 PM

574 posts

Used the Lexus fully synthetic oil, brought from Sparepart shop for very cheap price, skeptical about it, can't really recall the performance at that time.

outpace
post Nov 25 2016, 08:43 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 24 2016, 06:31 AM)
Other  factor  such  as ?
Your car's problem, fuel injector, software to your petrol tank.

Leave your innocent engine oil alone...
outpace
post Nov 29 2016, 07:25 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 26 2016, 11:21 AM)
Old  saga  gt  fuel  injector ?
Sorry, my bad.

To me, the millage you having looks just too drastic to be the fault of 15W40 or 20W50.
unless I can rule out all other possibilities, I would not blame engine oil first.
outpace
post Aug 14 2017, 07:35 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 12 2017, 02:09 AM)
Volkswagen good?? brows.gif
VW prodict is fine, especially when you always floor the pedal, maybe because they fake their emission so they able to punches carry more pounds per displacement?
It was their SC that suck big time

outpace
post Jun 27 2018, 01:37 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 25 2018, 12:46 PM)
which has better cold start viscosity generally speaking,

full syn, or semi syn?
you can say most of the EO that provide wider range of protection at cold and running heat are full syn, but strictly speaking cold start viscosity got nothing to do with full syn / semi syn / mineral.

Full syn is generally more "stable" or slower to degrade/breakdown from its original condition when it was new.

lower number perform better during cold start.

outpace
post Jul 6 2018, 07:28 AM

574 posts

It's a funny world, so many of us wanna try cap ayam brands from mystery companies, but there is someone doesn't trust a winning F1 team partner's oil picked from the shelf.

outpace
post Jul 6 2018, 11:42 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jul 6 2018, 10:35 AM)
lol, and gaining a few hp on "party-mode" which burning oil-fuel mixture? biggrin.gif
It's always interesting to guess what are they doing with the steering wheel when they turn / press here and there for their party mode / high tea mode / in-lap mode / race finishing mode..

See these teams are comfortable to use Petronas with their 800HP ++ Mercedes F1 engine ?
http://www.f1i.com/news/296324-wolff-red-b...l-supplier.html

Using Petronas oil is time when you can be patriotic and be cool at the same time, different from the "proud" monent when I drove my old P1 on the road. Petronas F1 marketting at its best hahaha
outpace
post Jul 12 2018, 10:38 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jul 12 2018, 01:40 AM)
Erm, you sure the eo used by the team is anything close to what they offer on the shelf? Just my 2cent, there's almost nothing on the car that are off the shelf.
You are right, that's why I ended wih "F1 marketing at its best".

I simply want to say I don't see any reason to trust petronas less than any other big brands.

outpace
post Jul 12 2018, 10:45 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(jamespaul @ Jul 12 2018, 01:28 PM)
Wait there is Group 2 oil masquerading as Synthetics?? Which one??? I need to avoid that.

From my understanding is only Group 3 promoted to be synthetics (as their performance have improved tremendously).

But, if you are right, then API and ACEA should do something about it
Interested to know too.

Bought a 15W50 Petronas Syntium 1000 Fully Synthetic (old stock) for my 1.5 engine that use 0W30 all the while, any comment sifu? beside saying it's an overkill for the 9 years old car

This post has been edited by outpace: Jul 12 2018, 10:47 PM
outpace
post Jul 14 2018, 03:32 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(e-lite @ Jul 13 2018, 04:25 PM)
Want to introduce you guys to a proper "Racing Oil" gem I found:-

Mobil Super 20W-50 / Mobil Special 4T
Grade SAE  20W-50
Viscosity, ASTM D445 
cSt @ 40 ºC 166
cSt @ 100 ºC 18.7
Sulphated ashes, weight %,        ASTM D 874 0.9
Pour point, °C, ASTM D97 -24
Flash point, ºC, ASTM D92  266
Density @ 15,6 ºC g/ml, ASTM D4052 0.8875
Total base number mg KOH/g, ASTM 2896 8.1
Zinc ASTM D4951 wt% 0.14

Source: https://www.mobil.com/English-MY/Passenger-...l-Special-20W50
https://www.mobil.com/English-MY/Passenger-...pecial-4T-20W50

There is a lot of formulation under the same name so keep up to date with the latest ones with correct specifications

Sold in MR DIY for RM12 ++ per liter

I will be running this for my KTM 390 motorcycle
good price compare to engine oil in motorbike workshop
outpace
post Nov 5 2018, 07:50 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 3 2018, 08:14 AM)
why the engine oil doesnt turn black after 3000km ? My car is persona iafm , odo 60k, the colour of the EO still the same as day 1 I pour in the oil . EO is liqui moly 10w40 semi synthetic. Could it be fake oil ?
was it because it is not hydro carbon based hence no residual of carbon dissolved in your Liqui Moly?

viscosity and fuel usage remain the same?

look forward for enlightenment

0.1250sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:41 AM