i will absolutely go for savvy, myvi just receive tooo much bad fc problem, almost 10 got 9 complain for it ( imean auto car)
just go for savvy, and well take care it, it will serve u best, and further it is AMT
MyVi vs Savvy
Aug 30 2006, 01:13 AM
1,278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i will absolutely go for savvy, myvi just receive tooo much bad fc problem, almost 10 got 9 complain for it ( imean auto car)
just go for savvy, and well take care it, it will serve u best, and further it is AMT |
Aug 30 2006, 10:25 AM
4,883 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
My sister got a green manual savvy. and before i gotmy neo, it's a damn nice car to drive. once i got my neo, rarely drive the savvy unless i really have to
sorry for going off topic. my feedback: for a city driving car, savvy is a good choice since it's small but the clutch will kill your driving spirit if you are in a very bad jam. go for the AMT instead. in terms of space, it's only ok-ish. atleast i can ferry two of my friends for TT easily as compared to my neo where the back seat fella have to cramp his legs. myvi should be better than the savvy if compared to passanger space. though, i'm very eager to try a myvi. been a long time since it was launched and yet haven't sat in one yet. plus not to mention that it's hard to find a test unit in kepong. 1.3DVVT in a small frame, i don't think that it'll be that underpowered (refering to manual version of course) |
Sep 4 2006, 08:23 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
for me myvi is more intresting
Sep 4 2006, 08:40 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Ninja Turtle State |
i'll go for myvi.
Sep 4 2006, 09:51 PM
4,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
increase budget a bit, get satria neo.....
it all comes down to what will u use the car for... if u know u'll gonna be picking up friends, go for myvi.. more space.. myvi is actually a toyota passo and the chassis is quite stiff and it can handle corners with a few bars or so better than savvy for sure.. the manual myvi can be a fuel saver and provide more performance than the auto version... savvy, amt, erm, its basically a renault under the hood.. limited rear legroom too... savvy got 3 star euro ncap rating unofficial rating for myvi is 4 stars... (refered to daihatsu counterpart) |
Sep 4 2006, 11:14 PM
4,427 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - PENANG - |
If I show you some accidents pictures of some of the MyVi Club members, you'll sure want to get a MyVi for the safety reasons...
The cabin area are practically untouched. Even the windows are intact without a crack after the car fliped sideways into longkang... Unlike the Savvy accident pics where you can actually see the front pillars bending down slightly. You may argue on the accident may be of different force of impact... Yup... But the fact still remains to be unproven by Savvy supporters. The Passo/MyVi/Sirion platform beats the Savvy platform by 1 star in Euro NCAP ratings. That's 4 stars versus 3 stars. and You've seen Jeremy clarkson explaning how you can get your leg amputated and ribs broken in a 3 star car (3 stars is with air bags and our dear malaysian version doesn't comes with it). Acceleration: If you want handling, get a savvy.. Honestly, that's where the car excels best. But it's pure sluggish when it compares to a 1.3 litre engine of the MyVi. I'm driving a MyVi 1.3 Auto and my friend in a 1.6Waja was complaning about his pickup againts my car. and I've rode in my friend's 1.3 manual and the difference was tremendus. I'm saying it's a 0 to 100 car in less then 10 seconds. Yes, that's a family car which can do less then 10 seconds which the savvy can't. And honestly, the handling isn't bad either. Doing corners are actually better then many cars... Just that it looses to the Savvy... Big deal!!! Yup. Savvy is a great car... And Yup... MyVi is also a great car... But think about this... If you want handling, Myvi is just as good. Good enough to be modded into a drift car. If you want power, MyVi has plenty of it to even beat cars with bigger engines. If you want to mod, hack... drop in a k3-VET turbo engine with tiptronic gear shift on the myvi and lets see it fly. What mod can the Savvy do besides from a little 3rd party bars and from Proton itself? If you want comfort, there's no doubt about MyVi. If you want petrol savings, go for savvy... But you'll regreat it when you consider the resale value.. HAhahaha..... I've supported Savvy enough la actually... |
Sep 5 2006, 12:50 AM
15,278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 24 2006, 02:59 AM) i'm in a same dilemma myself. if you can fit in the car, why not? planning to get a new car. Savvy looks quite nice - GREY one only. some i still don't like the colour. makes them look ugly. BUT i like the fact that it's AMT and 1.2L for such a price. Myvi looks nice - i don't mind any color. i like the size, the space, the everything - but auto will cost more and i'd really like to have auto. so price vs price, it's Myvi 1.0 manual vs Savvy 1.2 AMT. another reason to get the Savvy is that it's not so common. see Myvi so common until don't feel like getting it already. and yeah, i was a Savvy-looks-basher and sort of still one but i admit that the grey and green one looks nice, and that Savvys look really nice with the bodykits. (although deep in my heart i still don't like the toilet seat hood and awkward back view) other reasons for getting Savvy in my book, is that people don't quite like it so therefore lesser demand, therefore lesser theft target. LOL. ok well i have no proof on this, just a POV of mine. i have torubles seating in the sawi - kinda tight and cramped for my (ever enlarging) size |
Sep 5 2006, 12:51 AM
15,278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(n305er @ Sep 4 2006, 11:14 PM) If I show you some accidents pictures of some of the MyVi Club members, you'll sure want to get a MyVi for the safety reasons... SAUCE PLEASE!!!! The cabin area are practically untouched. Even the windows are intact without a crack after the car fliped sideways into longkang... Unlike the Savvy accident pics where you can actually see the front pillars bending down slightly. |
Sep 5 2006, 01:11 AM
838 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Nowhere |
think bout air bags and think bout when u gonna fetch 3 or 4 peoples or chiqs while clubbing or go somewhere?
for those who height not more than 170cm, maybe savvy still acceptable la... but for those who more than 175cm... daihatsu/toyota product vs proton product... which 1 do u prefer? unless u don't ever care bout quality... anyway it's just my 2 cent la... This post has been edited by aH wAi: Sep 5 2006, 01:13 AM |
Sep 5 2006, 07:07 AM
Sep 5 2006, 08:24 AM
4,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
ah... i see both airbags deployed...
not bad for a small car... crumple zones did their job... cabin still safe... all windows untouched ? warning if consider myvi, the rear seats, are crap for anyone above 160cm.... your neck will be at the top of the headrest with no way to increase the height.. but myvi is a better car to drive adn to mod in my POV |
Sep 5 2006, 12:55 PM
1,981 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ||| Royal Creek ||| |
my experience, myvi handling is so-so only. what u'd expect from mini MPVs? acceleration wise i dun think it's underpowered. can hit 140km/h++ above quite easily. well, for town drving it's ok but for long distance is kinda nightmare. i found out the seat is abit stiff. fc is great 15.9-16.3km/l (my 1.3 sxi stock).
Sep 5 2006, 02:13 PM
Correction, MyVi is not a Mini MPV. It's a K-Car (Below 1.3litres) hatchback (Boot door directly connected to the body roof and opens upwards).
MPV (Multi purpose Vehicle) is supposed to be able to be used conviniently for family and business purposes such as carrying lots of goods while still fetching 4 people like the Unser or Avanza. Cars like MyVi are not capable of carrying goods like that dispite the folding chairs feature. |
Sep 5 2006, 02:21 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(MoNnY @ Sep 5 2006, 08:24 AM) warning if consider myvi, the rear seats, are crap for anyone above 160cm.... i'm close to 180cm and i find the rear seats are roomy all-over. |
Sep 5 2006, 05:12 PM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
MyVi is also good for long distance as the spaciousness is rewarding. I would also choose auto (for MyVi or Savvy) since it is more relaxing to drive.
If I'm going to speedy drive, I won't be getting MyVi or Savvy at all. I would take 6-speed manual japanese cars. |
Sep 5 2006, 08:21 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(MoNnY @ Sep 5 2006, 08:24 AM) ah... i see both airbags deployed... i think you mean savvy....not bad for a small car... crumple zones did their job... cabin still safe... all windows untouched ? warning if consider myvi, the rear seats, are crap for anyone above 160cm.... your neck will be at the top of the headrest with no way to increase the height.. but myvi is a better car to drive adn to mod in my POV i've sat in a savvy before,cannot sit straight best part is,the sales man sits the same way,but says it is comfortable(ofcourse it's comfortable if your ALONE in the back seat! try sitting 3 people? long distance will be the last thing on your mind.. |
Sep 6 2006, 08:08 PM
3,028 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: 梅田,大阪 //Sabah |
QUOTE(n305er @ Sep 5 2006, 02:13 PM) Correction, MyVi is not a Mini MPV. It's a K-Car (Below 1.3litres) hatchback (Boot door directly connected to the body roof and opens upwards). K-Car is at 660 cc maximum based from Japanese law...MPV (Multi purpose Vehicle) is supposed to be able to be used conviniently for family and business purposes such as carrying lots of goods while still fetching 4 people like the Unser or Avanza. Cars like MyVi are not capable of carrying goods like that dispite the folding chairs feature. |
Sep 6 2006, 09:16 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
The last time i checked, we're in m'sia.....
does it really matter the cc's? i sure don't think it looks like any minimpv |
Sep 6 2006, 09:24 PM
3,028 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: 梅田,大阪 //Sabah |
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Sep 6 2006, 09:16 PM) The last time i checked, we're in m'sia..... K-Car originates from there........K-Car strictly have fixed dimensions, 660 cc max...does it really matter the cc's? i sure don't think it looks like any minimpv MyVi is not a K-Car, because, the platform itself, is based from 1st generation Toyota Yaris/ Vitz, which itself is not a K-Car.... |
Sep 6 2006, 09:25 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
I have bumped my head on the top of small cars (especially my old kancil) to avoid them at all costs.. the myvi is really good, leg and head room
This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 6 2006, 09:27 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:17 AM |