Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 02:35 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 02:32 PM) 30mm sigma art lens has been released for quite a while already, I remember is 2013. What I know is 50mm art lens is exp compare to non art lense. ( The 50mm art just release like few months ago ). But bokeh in 50mm art lense is really sux. I've check the price is around RM1490 for Sigma 30mm art lense, and canon F1.4 is around RM1200. and 50mm Sigma Non Art Lense cost around RM1400 as well. So I don't see any big gap between 3 of them. At most is just RM200 difference. I already knew 30mm cannot compete with 50mm due to focal length. What I said is in terms of photo taking, whether which one can give me a much better photo taking feel during shooting. I do have a portrait lense, but because it is not a prime lens, I tend to change it frequently. So I need to find a sweet spot for me to get a better photo taking. Now I try to use 50mm for shooting for a day, and another day for 30mm shooting. And compare both in which one I feel is better. fix your zoom lens at 30mm and 50mm? easy job with simple taping.
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 02:37 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 12:25 PM) Base on those 3 lenses, their prices are quite similar. Of course canon lense is the cheapest among 3, then the 30mm and lastly 50mm. My friend said he's quite enjoy playing 30mm than 50mm as 30mm after mount it is 50mm. Its just whether I prefer tele or more wide. Though canon lense cheap, but its bokeh is abit disappointment compare to the other 2. While I personally think 50mm Sigma has the best bokeh from all 3. But 30mm is kinda like a good spot range to take portrait and street photography. do you really will notice the bokeh difference between the lenses? ask yourself. other than those pixel peeper or pro photographer that wants very smooth bokeh, most lenses will produce bokeh enough for a lot of us who is just hobbyist.
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 04:42 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 04:31 PM) What distortion??  you really need to stop nit picking not important things.
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 04:47 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 04:43 PM) Ehhh... Such as? Mind enlightened me? You mean the bokeh affect?  yeap, go out, shoot pictures, worry less about gears, post pictures ask for c&c, that's how you improve instead of thinking about gear all day. you asked about gear related questions which people gave reply already but if u keep asking them without any evidence in you really need it, people will get bored with u already. sometimes i feel guilty too when keep thinking about gear. and that guy's reply is actually directed to u, but u agreed with his post pulak then u are doing what he is saying not good to do.
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 05:14 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 20 2014, 04:59 PM) @Jet23sky, I'm not bashing you.. You should just go out and shot more post what ever you think it's best here and ask for critic. If you are confident enough, post it over POTN and Photomalaysia for feedback also. From there we can know where's your current progress. Just like what mention by Sifu Kentang Emas... No one really give a hoot bout bokeh. If you tell people you gonna shoot portrait @ f1.4. Pro's most prolly will laugh at you. Ever heard of F8 and be there ? Shooting at F2 with 50mm in close range get oof ear. oof eye brow, oof face that some what blend with the background, PP is tedious for these kind of pic just to bring back the details.  Well, good pictures with thin dof always poison gao gao for example https://500px.com/photo/86241525/kim-natura...tm_source=500pxthis guy always shoot at f1.4 or little narrower depends on DOF requirement https://www.facebook.com/dd1photos?fref=ts
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 05:35 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 05:17 PM) Cause I love to play Bokeh effect. That's why I tend to test it out and verify the effect, whether it pleased my eyes or not. Its true that maybe Pro will laugh at my topics on this, but I, treat this photography as hobby and taking good photo to share with my frens. Sometime my perceptive is diff with Pros. Cause I never attended class or school. All learn by myself, keep shooting, gain experience.  just get what fits your budget, how u like it after trying it and u will enjoy shooting afterwards. considering too much only cause frustration that might affect your shooting experience. like last time even though many said the tamron 70-200 is quite bad with noisy motor and not so good build quality. but i still bought it because of the good price i got offered and i am not rich. end up after using it for 1 year. i created some pictures that I myself really liked it. start shooting with what you have or what you can get, enjoy from looking at the pictures not the gears
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 06:10 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 20 2014, 05:47 PM) you are right again sifu...its NOT the gear that limit the photog but the photog unable or yet to maximise the gear capability..... QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 20 2014, 05:49 PM) Ya, I always enjoy looking photo than gears. That's why I never change gear for so long till now cause I still want to explore the best of Canon 50D.  but i know it's a lot easier to say than done haha. I also enjoy reading reviews or browsing around flickr for certain lens/ body to satisfy my curiousity. But at the end when you saw awesome pictures around the net taken by entry level body with cheap kitlens you will rethink are your picture really going to improve using more money to buy gears instead of practicing? changing gears can often lead to pushing you to take more pictures with new kits (since you wanna molest the camera/ lens gao gao to confirm yourself you bought something awesome) but the cost behind this is a little too high unless you are super rich.
mingyuyu
Oct 20 2014, 07:37 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 20 2014, 07:11 PM) see, that's the key. know your requirement. people who say "i buy wide aperture already i shoot wide aperture la." are ones you can avoid listening too. yeap. very important point. i switched to m4/3 then only i realized smaller sensor is sometimes an advantage. you can shoot really wide open most of the time and get correct focus + enough DOF (something i always wanted from a dslr). can't imagine how people shoot f0.95 with leica using manual focus
mingyuyu
Oct 21 2014, 02:11 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 21 2014, 07:11 AM) Tokina 16-28 f2,8 canon 17-40 f4 Both selling at 1.9k each for 2nd hand lens. Many prefer canon over tokina lol. Tokina really that bad? try the lens then you know the answer. this is not the first time you ask this question and people answered before right?
mingyuyu
Oct 21 2014, 06:42 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 21 2014, 05:26 PM) The review all over the internet. Both lens is good. I yet to make up my mind which lens should i buy. again as i would say, if both of them have scored really close, it's left for your preference to decide. by the way you reply, you still haven't try both of them right?
mingyuyu
Oct 22 2014, 01:29 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 22 2014, 10:32 AM) tried out tokina. Not really good. The flare is bad. Canon also not that good. Increase my budget for another better lens Canon EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM or Canon EF 16-35mm F2.8L USM II or maybe the new Tamron UWA. i will choose the 16-35 f4. used the 16-35 f2.8 for many times before, corner performance really bad at f2.8 and the price is quite high too.
mingyuyu
Oct 22 2014, 02:33 PM
B A N N E D
Not my shot but saw this on facebook a car photographer. Here's the before after of the shot, very impressive editing. http://pepperyandell.com/bna/abducted.htmFull story behind why he did such heavy editing and not get it correct in the camera. https://www.facebook.com/pepperyandell/phot...?type=1&theaterThis post has been edited by mingyuyu: Oct 22 2014, 02:34 PM
mingyuyu
Oct 22 2014, 05:12 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 22 2014, 04:15 PM) Haha needs a lot of skill in pp cars especially handling the background angle/ perspective and lighting. QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 22 2014, 04:54 PM) your f2.8 lens is version I or II ? II . not mine, friend's unit.
mingyuyu
Oct 27 2014, 05:40 AM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 26 2014, 09:00 PM) 600D, body only will cost about RM 900 - 1100 that was a pretty good price i sold my 550D + 18-135 that both just over warranty for 1.1k
mingyuyu
Oct 27 2014, 10:53 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 27 2014, 10:42 PM) Now i need to get a telephoto zoom lens with limited budget Canon 70-200 F4 IS USM Tamron 70-200 F2.8 VC USD Sigma 70-200 F2.8 OS HSM 3 of them around the same price range for a 2nd hand lens. Which is the prefer lens? The tamron beats the sigma easily. Ask yourself if you need f2.8, then the answer is obvious.
mingyuyu
Oct 28 2014, 10:11 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 28 2014, 01:27 PM) I've always wanted to have 70D ever since last year, so basically I've saved up enough money to buy one. Selling my 600D might ease a little "damage". That's basically why. Also, is it wise if I sell my 24-105mm f4L and buy the 18-135mm IS STM?  Its definitely better to have 18mm on crop sensor. IQ and build quality wise, the L wins easily.
mingyuyu
Oct 29 2014, 05:52 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 29 2014, 10:11 AM) ok sifu...its a preference...  it depends on what you shoot imo, there are so many fields in pro photography and not every of them need a FF. take wildlife and sport as example, a lot of them still go for 1D(not S not X) series or 7D that use APSH or APSC for more reach. another example would be macro/ closeup product photography, the smaller sensor provides more magnification at further focusing distance, saves you from always stopping down to f16 or even more to get sufficient DOF, requires less powerful strobe kit too.
mingyuyu
Oct 31 2014, 11:28 AM
B A N N E D
mingyuyu
Oct 31 2014, 01:36 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 31 2014, 01:17 PM) My friend's unit  that lens was up on sale for like more than 1 month already? I thought 2 super rare 200mm f1.8L on sale at the same time
mingyuyu
Nov 5 2014, 06:05 AM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(leonghan @ Nov 4 2014, 05:59 PM) good picture nicely made b&w and composition, love it.