Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion

sHawTY
post Sep 10 2006, 12:13 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Sigh...
So my trustworthy chipset heatsink has been beaten by jing ting chipset heatsink...? shakehead.gif rclxub.gif

Ohh...
What the heck...

HR-05 still looks better than any other chipset heatsinks... laugh.gif

I'm lovin it!!! wub.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 12 2006, 07:27 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Sep 12 2006, 03:45 AM)
The name jing-ka-ling-ling doesn't sounds CONvincing. laugh.gif
Ugh.. I am having an SLi mobo right now.. getting a good north/southbridge cooler will be a pain in the arse. The jing-ka-ling-ling (laugh.gif) is tempting me, but the price scared me. H@H@H...
Then, go for Thermalright HR-05 SLI... rclxms.gif
No problem with SLI motherboard... thumbup.gif

Care to get one for your motherboard? brows.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 19 2006, 10:29 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

There's one more chipset heatsink that is quite powerful i think... wink.gif

I said that by the looks of it laa... tongue.gif

Ohh, and by the way, it's damn beautiful too...
Plus, it's Cute... wub.gif

This is what i'm talking about:

"Microcool Northpole XE Whisper"

Cool right? brows.gif

Hey powerslide, what do you think of this chipset heatsink? brows.gif

Cute eeh? laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 19 2006, 11:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Yeah madman, that pc cooler is sexier than the microcool heatsink...

But wait until u put a 40MM fan on the top, it'll be damn ugly... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 20 2006, 08:32 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 19 2006, 08:21 PM)
got any web tht show detail of thermalright hr-05?
Here you go:

http://www.thermalright.com/a_page/main_product_hr05.htm
sHawTY
post Sep 20 2006, 09:24 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Sep 20 2006, 09:13 AM)
shawty,

i lup the microcool..its cute n its work well  wub.gif but not the price  tongue.gif

y dun u get one..make a comparison against ur hr-05  thumbup.gif

madman,

its this same as the one u posted?

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=90850

looks like not very well engineered  tongue.gif
I'd love to get the microcool chipset heatsink...
But the price... shocking.gif

And with i'm using an intel chipset board, i have to buy another retention module just to hook that chipset heatsink to my board... doh.gif

Then the price? rclxub.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 27 2006, 09:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Sep 25 2006, 12:18 PM)
The problem is i am at Melaka  icon_question.gif , looking for anyone selling HR-05  sweat.gif
Well, if u want, i can buy it for you from OP LYP and post it back to you, just pay price of that heatsink together with the postage fees and it'll be yours... wink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Sep 27 2006, 09:12 PM
sHawTY
post Sep 29 2006, 06:45 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Sep 29 2006, 04:36 AM)
wer u get the zalman? im waiting n waiting no bulk for it at all
Yeah, i was about to ask the same question oso... laugh.gif

And by the way, hey powerslide, do u think that the zalman chipset heatsink would perform better if it comes with a fan? brows.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Sep 29 2006, 06:45 AM
sHawTY
post Sep 29 2006, 11:16 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Sep 29 2006, 08:32 AM)
from JB here, bought at SG for SGD22 hmm around RM50 I think... the CPU cooler is Coolermaster Hyper TX .. SGD49
That zalman chipset heatsink, can you give us the temperature differences before u change the heatsink and after you've changed it...

By the way, is that CM heatsink is Hyper TX?
I thought it's name is Hyper 7? blink.gif

Correct me if i'm wrong... rclxms.gif

***Thermalright HR-05 at SLS how muchie? [after changed the currency to RM] brows.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 29 2006, 02:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Waah, not so much different aa?
Well maybe u've bought the wrong chipset heatsink loo...

Since u've alraedy gone to SG, why didn't u buy the one that Uglyvamps sells in his UVNIUM shop in SLS? blink.gif

It's full copper, and for sure it's better than you're zalman... icon_rolleyes.gif

Hey, you live in SG or in Malaysia?
If u live in malaysia and goes to SG a lot of times, do PM me, as me and powerslide are kinda interested to buy a thing or two... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 30 2006, 02:36 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Sep 29 2006, 10:32 PM)
what you people using to read the ds3 chipset temp? coz in easytune5 I get around 40c but in everest ultimate edition I get around 33c

the hr05 can fit ds3.. I saw people.. using it in vr-zone..

I live in Jb.. work in Sg and ya.. I often go to SLS when I off days.. ya I can help you guys buy stuff but not the big item like casing or mobo coz kastam is very strict recently due to hari raya...

I don't really like those led fan or uv stuff.. coz not really into that anymore..
Hey powerslide, we got ourself some good news here!!! drool.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 30 2006, 03:29 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Sep 30 2006, 02:10 PM)
Bulk need to wait damn long, i think at least 2-3 weeks. Now i itchy want push my OC higher  laugh.gif
You've already got you're self a good XP90C...

Isn't that enough? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 30 2006, 08:15 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Sep 30 2006, 03:39 PM)
Thinking of changing the northbridge heatsink  tongue.gif , cos even no OC also hot to touch already  sweat.gif
Northbridge is an important part that is involved in oc'ing...

Want better overclocking, go change the heatsink...

There's lot of choices for northbridge heatsink nowadays...

And for me, the best is still HR-05... thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Sep 30 2006, 11:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Sep 30 2006, 08:34 PM)
Yah HR-05 looks good  whistling.gif , may i know how much u got yours?  tongue.gif
Err...
That time i was so desperate to cool down my 975X chipset, so down i go to OP... sweat.gif

That time oso i can't find any bulker for HR-05 here in LYN... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 2 2006, 09:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 2 2006, 03:43 PM)
@shawty...
hey man me also bought coz of desperado man... my dfi came and nuthin to cool the chipset down.... so went to op to buy.....got riped off bt well the cooling is well worth for the money still...

Seems like there's some number of people here that is also desperate then go to OP...

If we're not in desperate mode, then we'll never go to OP leh... tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 2 2006, 11:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 2 2006, 11:35 PM)
Actually i did emailed Thermalright b4, they said it's not supported but then i see ppl fitting it on DS3 without any problem la  laugh.gif
This happens because Thermalright didn't even bother to try HR-05 on new motherboards leh... tongue.gif

But since you see people fit it on DS3 without any problems, then you can also report to thermalright that HR-05 do fit in DS-3 board... flex.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 3 2006, 07:01 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 3 2006, 12:32 AM)
haha..TR aso tell me ultra 120 not suitable to use on s478 platform  laugh.gif

as a guy n enthusiast we bought it..fix it..cant fix in we mod it!  tongue.gif
You mean you did try Ultra 120 on socket 478? shocking.gif

So what happens?
Can use ultra 120 on socket 478? shocking.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 3 2006, 11:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 3 2006, 06:21 PM)
shawty,

din tried yet..no budget yet to get a ultra 120  tongue.gif

if u guys cant get hr-05 jus mod laa..get a 40mm fan n screw it onto the stock sink..
Mod a HR-05 shakehead.gif

Err...
I will never do such things...

Sayang gile beb... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 4 2006, 09:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Rlhh @ Oct 4 2006, 07:47 PM)
I dont think facing the IO plate will be blocked because AFAIK, the chipset cooler is taller than the standard caps.

P/s : I don't think theres a need for HR-05 on this motherboard anyway, not worth to get it on a low end board because there won't be much difference, save the money and get a better board.
Yup, that's right...
The original heatsink is enought for that chipset... icon_rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 5 2006, 11:58 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Oct 5 2006, 09:07 AM)
are this statement direct to me?  sweat.gif my board is not this one, mine one have 3 PCI and have SDRAM & DDR RAM slot.
So mean I do not need to buy a cooler for my nb right?

yawn.gifT: I have another question. When I check using speedfan, it will show there temp1 and temp2, as I has test, the temp2 is for my processor temperature, so the temp1 is for? rclxub.gif  Normally how you guys know which one is for which item leh? icon_question.gif

Edited to add: forget to tell, the temp1 temperature is around 61C to 63C, so hot... sweat.gif temp1 lower is 39C and highest is ~47C
Why don't u use an easier way to find out the temperature of you're processor and chipset?

Wanna know how?

Easy, go get you'reself PC Wizard 2006

Here you go:
http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php

Click on the link, then go to the bottom of the page, then download it, install it, run it then click on the icon that looks like a "meter" that has positive and negative symbols in the icons...

Got that?
Now go download, install then run it to know the temperature of you're processor and norhtbridge... rclxms.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:20 AM