My New Toy, UPDATE PG. 12 -> UPGRADED LIAO

TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 06:03 AM, updated 19y ago

10,530 posts

56k warning!!! tonnes of pix!!! spoiler used to help reduce loading time. click on spoiler to view pix

also, dont mind the quality of the pix... cam i had wasnt that good... had a dirty lens and also i aint a professional photographer tongue.gif

UPDATE!!: My Rig has been transferred into the new case... for those of you who hasnt seen the case i suggest going thru the pix on this page first before moving on to the pix of the installed rig

pictures of the installed rig can be seen HERE

UPDATE 2!!!: Doom has also bought the case and pix of his rig in it can be seen HERE thumbup.gif

GREETINGS HUMANS!!!!

i just came back after 2 weeks in singapore.... and naturally being an LYN forumer... a trip to singapore without a visit to Sim Lim Square is not a trip at all!! laugh.gif

being the kinda feller who likes to waste money (its true... i have TWO "financial controllers" doh.gif) i of course bought a few things... but nuttin big like GCs or conroes or PSUs (alhough i did see a Tagan 1000W (1kw) going for SGD$699 drool.gif moneyflies.gif )

spent sometime at uglyvamps shop and bought some UV stuff... fans, fan filters bla bla bla.... but then again...im pretty sure u aint interested in that.... I AM posting in the Casings & Modifications section after all....

so heres my new full aluminium TOY!! (yes yes... my financial controllers did scream at me sweat.gif )

on with the pr0n pix.... brows.gif

lets begin with the exterior

more....

NEXT: case internals...continued at next post

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Oct 26 2007, 07:25 PM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 06:03 AM

10,530 posts

PART 2: Case internals

more....

NEXT: MORE PIX!!!

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 19 2006, 06:18 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 06:11 AM

10,530 posts

PART 3: more pix!!!

some of u may have figured out what this case is judging by the exterior and especially the interior...

Lian-Li PC-7B Plus (which has a rear 8cm fan mind u)

or

Lian-Li PC-007B which is EXACTLY like this case...

(yes the PC-7B and the PC-007B are two different cases... PC-007B aint available here if im not mistaken)

and if ur wondering why i aint posting this in the Lian Li League thread.... its simple....................

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 19 2006, 06:20 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 06:12 AM

10,530 posts

PART 4: MORE N MORE PIX!!!

ok....im done with the pix... i promise the next post will be the last of my rants biggrin.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 19 2006, 06:13 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 06:12 AM

10,530 posts

whoah....34 pix altogether... sweat.gif yeah yeah...i know i got overexcited... but i just wanted to share my joy with the rest of the world!!! laugh.gif

seriously....thank god for spoilers laugh.gif

anyway....my take on the case...

-beautiful.. i like the touches that came with it.. especially the fan filter mesh is easily removable and replaceable even for the rear.. meaning u can use the rear as an intake as some of them lian-lis do.. and not forgetting the 3pin-molex converter
i plan to leave the rear as exhaust by the way..
-brushed aluminium.... need i say more?
-the case is LIGHT!!! its so much different than my current STEEL HEC case which is SO FRIGGIN HEAVY that it hurts my back to carry it to the next room!!! i aint sure of the weight of the case itself but when weighing in the case to check it in at changi airport, the case + box + the screws and everything else came up to only around 7kgs!! shocking.gif
-of course without the lian-li sticker at the front i got it way cheaper than with the lian li sticker la... price will be posted up at end of post... so read on!! biggrin.gif

my dislikes of the case...
-my main dislike would be the side panel.... it aint that easy to put on.... its not the typical slide in panel but u kinda have to slot it in downwards aligned with the top.. then close it then slide it in towards the front...sheesh! kinda hard to describe but if u see it up close and personal then ull know la..
-PSU bracket as mentioned earlier..
-screws!! they gave normal screws!! i wish they would have given thumbscrews for the drives instead. anyone knows where i can find thumbscrews with the smaller threads meant for FDD and ROMs??
-rear mobo tray looks like theres not much space for cable management...still unsure yet though... gonna have to figure that one out myself sweat.gif
- the fan isnt that loud... im used to louder fans (got 3x deltas in my case right now to give u a clue) but im guessing its because of the mesh... i think once i remove the rear it should be better... not sure about the front as i plan to replace it with the plastic filter which may or may not add to the noise

but seriously.... i dont have much issues with the case... even my dislikes are tolerable actually...

wat i plans are for the case...
- side panel window (but of course!!)
- top window maybe??
- UV!!!!!!!!!!! gotta wait til the stuff im gonna order in the AC Ryan bulk rlhh is organizing to arrive first though..
- would like to spray the interior black... but ianho says leave it alone.... should leave the natural aluminium shine as it is... kinda 50/50 on this... what do u guys think?

whether or not ill mod the case is still yet to be seen as ill be going to US in ocober and intending to look for nicer cases there (namely the Chenbro Gaming Bomb II or the Akasa Eclipse (aka Global Win YCC-61F1)) with the hopes of getting it cheaper there. so have to wait til i get back from the states. who knows? i just might sell off the case oso.... see how la

in case some of u are wondering... i didnt get taxed at the airport... the lady at the customs lane asked me whats in that huge brown box on my trolley and i just said PC casing.. then she said "PC?" and just let me through...

anyway... to finish things off....

Click HERE for Manufacturer's Website

Clik HERE for price at Potterhouse Singapore (Singapore Online Store)

Click HERE to compare price with Lian-Li PC-60B
-this case has removable mobo tray plus some exras (the plus kit or sumthin like that) which i was told would only cost RM50 at ATE (that cheap ah?)
-this case also has a puny 8cm rear fan tongue.gif

comparing the 2, the price diff is almost RM230 which i think is well worth it with what i got... especially the rear 12cm fan.

the same Lian Li case as the GT i was told costs slightly over RM300 for the black but only has a small 8cm rear fan.. now imagine what the price would be like if the case had a lian li sticker in front whistling.gif

so yeah...im happy with my purchase... thumbup.gif will post more pix (oh no!!! tongue.gif ) once ive transfered my rig in it... not sure when that will be sad.gif

so in the end...im happy as i REALLY like this case... one of my cats prefers the box though

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 19 2006, 06:25 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 02:29 PM

10,530 posts

hahahahhaha.....im guessing its a rebranding oso....

even if u go to the lian-li site and check out the list they state the PC-007B (which is exactly like this case) they list it out as PC-007B (OEM)

its possible that the case came from the same factory (in taiwan as u can see at the box) and the GT people just put their own sticker on them...

QUOTE(ianho @ Aug 19 2006, 10:11 AM)
Dont put spoiler lar. Just load it up. Kacau kacau oni hafta click spoiler. As long as ure pix r about 800X600 boleh lar. Nonid spoiler.

This is about pimping, so PIMP with pics man. Gogogo with the edit button.  tongue.gif
crazy ah dun wanna use spoiler?? loading time gonna be hell man... 34 pix...even loading the pix into imageshack last night oso quite slow tongue.gif dun wanna be so cruel la...but if u wan... u can always edit out the spoiler urself man... u have da powah wat brows.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 19 2006, 07:49 AM)
err... how bout the cat?? wanna sell it? tongue.gif

wanna c more pic & wat have u done to ur case smile.gif
that cat been with this family for 9 years man... hell no!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

potterhouse is selling it at roughly RM297 (SGD129) which is expensive... i got it for a lil cheaper than that at RM275 (SGD 119 WITHOUT discount) and like i said earlier... the lian li version we have here which only has an 8cm rear fan already 300+ for black.... imagine what the price would be if it has a rear 12cm fan... and knowing expensive brands..... they probably would have sold it for an extra RM100 just for the rear 12cm fan

the case is now sitting snugly back it its box..... havent transferred anything yet... feeling very lazy today...wanna rest like hell after my sleepless nights at work while in singapore

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 19 2006, 02:29 PM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 02:40 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(zahri @ Aug 19 2006, 09:58 AM)
sweet....

what is the price tag on that casing bro ?

usually do they tax you on PC stuff ? Casing ?
if u read the last post of my rants ive already stated what happened at the customs lane at the airport...

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 19 2006, 11:12 AM)
is the quality still the same wif original lian li??
not bad la if still same.
how bout prices??
prices in RM as stated in previous post...i used a 2.3 exchange rate
TSmADmAN
post Aug 19 2006, 09:35 PM

10,530 posts

i bought mine in singapore... doubt its available in malaysia... and the one with side window.... i didnt see any in Sim Lim Square... only saw the normal black ones like mine..
TSmADmAN
post Aug 21 2006, 01:35 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 20 2006, 06:37 PM)
dude, faster pimp it. Can't wait to see how it looks like when  it's all pimped out. drool.gif
wait wait... havent even transfered my rig into it yet... too lazy tongue.gif its been sitting in its box snugly ever since i took the photos tongue.gif will do it as soon as possible.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(r0_01 @ Aug 20 2006, 08:30 PM)
Nice case...just remove the GT logo and you can pass it of as a lian li biggrin.gif

anyway, is Sim Lim Square in Singapore a good place to buy casings? how's the price and variety there compared to Malaysia?
and will there be a problem bringing it across the causeway by car? i heard PCs are not taxable..but what about casings?
price in SLS im not sure la.... but in terms of variety.. they have hell of alot all over the place man... good place to look for stuff.... SLS is a better version of LYP...only thing its in singapore tongue.gif

as for tax... dont think so ler... if u read post #5 i already stated what happened at the airport.... but i another forumer mentioned that he didnt have any problems crossing the causeway with a PC case....

@shah & ianho
bid somemore la oi!!!!! laugh.gif
TSmADmAN
post Aug 21 2006, 11:21 PM

10,530 posts

i doubt it.... its not on the manufacturers webbie oso.... only have this model and modded abit here and there...

u can check it out... link at first page.
TSmADmAN
post Aug 21 2006, 11:30 PM

10,530 posts

already stated in previous posts (page 2 to be exact) dude ...

go read

hehehhee

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
TSmADmAN
post Sep 4 2006, 10:20 PM

10,530 posts

UPDATES!!!!

ive finally installed my rig into the new case... actually its been running for a week now... just havent had time to take pix...

anyway, not sure if the pix are too big... but at least im using spoilers tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif and forgive the pix quality as i just got muhself my first ever digital camera in the form of a brand spanking new Sony DSC-S600 camera and i have yet to read the manual. besides... im still not a professional photographer wink.gif also dont mind the fingerprints.. i aint that hardworking to be wiping them off tongue.gif

of course... any comments would be appreciated notworthy.gif

first up... pix of the internals...spent a lot of time doing cable management... resleeving some of the wires.. extending/shortening wires etc etc...
fans used are the original fans from the case on the front intake and XP-120... rear exhaust fan using a UV blue fan from uglyvamp.

different angle shots of the internals
from the front
from the rear

pix of it in action and on my workstation

in the dark... a lil blurry..but u get the idea..
LED fan with UV reactive mesh filter from uglyvamp.... the LEDs will be cut out one of these days and fan blades sprayed to fluoro yellow when i have the

time..
[/spoiler]

next....

my first attempt at cable folding... i think i did a pretty decent job..
i also used some double sided tape to get it to stick to the case structure...but for some reason this part refuses to stick properly doh.gif

heres a pic of the front with the front panel off... i mentioned earlier that i wanna replace the filter with uglyvamps plastic replaceable filters.. i removed the original mesh so there it is..

a closeup of the front filter... look at the amount of dust....and this is from the PC being on 24/7 for 7 days shocking.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Sep 5 2006, 12:22 AM
TSmADmAN

10,530 posts

as with all cable management...there will surely be some "damage" aka hidden and ugly mess of bunch of wires tongue.gif so heres mine sweat.gif

full view of the back

closeup of the top part.. what ur looking at is the
-24 pin atx cable connect to to a 24 -> 20 pin converter (the snakey cable)
-sata power cable (black)
-molex cable (green)
- more cable folding...black ribbon IDE cables folded. the positioning of the connectors on this board makes it easy to hide the 20 pin cables as i can use the FDD cables to hide it from view thumbup.gif
dont mind the masking tape at the back...thats just for my reference coz i kinda screwed up the front panel connector housings.. and the replacement connector housings i got dont have any markings on them sweat.gif

closeup of the bottom part at the back of the HDD bay... this is where everything else goes.. the molex and sata power cables from above are routed to come

down here

and heres a closeup of the rest of the cables routed in to the empty cdrom bays...

and the BIGGEST "damage" of all....

the guest room laugh.gif
its all cleaned up now in case ur wondering tongue.gif

pix of the case on muh workstation

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 5 2006, 02:13 AM
TSmADmAN

10,530 posts

some pix of muh old HEC case... its still friggin heavy even though its been emptied out!!!!

the case has served me excellently for over 2 years... now its time to move it as my HTPC case...thats gonna be one HUGE HTPC case !!! laugh.gif

muh top blowhole has FANGS!!! the cutting was done by my best friend using an angle grinder and a jigsaw... it was more of a last minute decision.. and nuttin better to do oso.. we figured if it screwed up we could always cut it to the typical square window laugh.gif

ok...im done with the pix.. now to comment on the installation..

installing the mobo was a PURE B1TCH!!!! the friggin mobo stand offs given with the case had different sized threads and only the smaller threads could be used with the holes on the mobo tray. not only that...they didnt use the normal sized screw threads as with other mobo stand offs...yes..u guessed it...their screws are smaller mad.gif i think i managed to screw up some of the mobo stand offs sweat.gif even the friggin 'screwdriver' thingy they gave with the case for the mobo stand offs broke off while simply tightening the stand offs... so friggin annoying! plus the top part of the case which covers the PSU from sight made it REALLY difficult to screw in the topmost left corner mobo screw with the XP120 installed.

not only that.. the mobo tray didnt have markings for ATX or any markings for that matter... so i had to put the mobo in and out of the case to align the atx holes.. the number of times the mobo went in and out in and out in and out could rival a pr0n star!!! doh.gif

other than the mobo issue...everything else went superbly well, even cable management was easy with this case (compared to my HEC). after the mobo installation and PSU installation... everything just flowed on nicely.

overall im really happy i got this case.. even with all the hardware installed its still friggin light compared to my loaded HEC case... now when i carry the case from 1 room to the other i wont be going "MCH! MCH! MCH! MCH!" all the way...hehehheheh so thumbs up for me on the case!!

once again...any comments would be greatly appreciated... so dont be shy to leave comments especially on improving the cable management WITHOUT cutting the case. also, dont bother commenting on the cable sleeves... i was planning to sleeve them all to black but couldnt get any black sleeves anywhere. now i wonder what kinda cases i can get during my trip to the US of A in October brows.gif

oh yeah.... my cat approves of it too!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Sep 5 2006, 12:14 AM
TSmADmAN
post Sep 5 2006, 01:45 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ALIAS.JG @ Sep 4 2006, 10:41 PM)
hehe i have that exact same casing like you hec one, now it's been replaced with my cm c5 but i'm having second thoughts about shifting back to it since cleaning the filter in my cm is so tedious not like the removable one in the hec
i agree....the front intake filter is SO EASY to remove and clean... even this case isnt as easy to remove and clean the filter... plus..i also like the front USB ports area... theres so much space behind the flip down door that i actually removed the USB ports and put all my toggle switches for my fans and ccfls there... nicely hidden thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Sep 5 2006, 12:11 AM)
Nice casing there~  thumbup.gif

btw, i realy dislike the spoiler  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
laugh.gif didnt want the non broadband people to suffer maaaaaaa hehehe

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 5 2006, 12:13 AM)
Wah! What did u do with the hammer in the messy pic man. U hammered the mobo into the case ar?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  Those funny sized mobo standoffs r a Lian Li trademark lar. If u had taken the time instead of being impatient to put everything in, it wud haf worked out nicely. They all fit nicely 1.

Dont use spoilers in here lar. As long as they're 1024 n below size they're fine. This section is all about pimping. Ppl come here expecting to c pix pix pix. Bugger u gif me extra work editing all ure posts.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
laugh.gif i KNEW it was gonna irritate u... hahahahahhaha.... as mentioned above its just to help loading time...i was just trying to be nice.... flex.gif

the hammer was to whack the stupid 'screwdriver' thingy's head (the black part) back into the chrome part coz the damn thing came off... in the end the chrome part tore laugh.gif

QUOTE(benzene88 @ Sep 4 2006, 10:23 PM)
dude... i admire ur rig...  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Sep 5 2006, 12:32 AM)
simple casing the outside, nice interior ... i love wat u did wiv ur interiors, very neat n nice..
QUOTE(Doom @ Sep 5 2006, 01:00 AM)
Wow what a nice case you have there, i might ask my friend to get it for me next time when he return from SG.

btw does the rubber gromet you install on your rear exhaust fan comes with the casing or u got it from Vampzone ?

anyway nice case at nice price... too bad if MY forumer purposely go there and grab the case would be the same price as getting original Lian Li case ....transportation ... mah ....

so i will wait for my friend there ....
thanks guys.... thumbup.gif

@Doom
actually if a malaysian (mainly from KL) goes down to SLS just to get the case itll end up costing MORE than a lian li tongue.gif i was there for work... so my lodging and transportation was all paid for thumbup.gif

the rear rubber gromets u see are actually part of a fan vibration dampener kit...vantec should have the gromets in the vibration dampener kit... although mine aint vantec...bought mine from forumer tnghian when he was bulking it a few months back.
TSmADmAN
post Sep 5 2006, 05:16 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 5 2006, 02:23 AM)
the GT case now costs SGD 99 in SLS. =) I was there last week but i didn't buy it even though ianho recommended it cos i guess i wasn't really sure what i really wanted lolx but now i regret! >.<

my next trip think i might buy 2 cases cos at 99 buckaroos it's practically dirt cheap lolx. and plus can give uncle ianho to cut cut more more lolx
S$99?? thats quite cheap...i got mine a lil more than that... rugi la u didnt buy...

but on the other hand good oso.. coz it makes me the only one in LYN who owns this case laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

as far as we know la tongue.gif

QUOTE(heeren @ Sep 5 2006, 11:25 AM)
hahhaahah u basketball...u practically untung alot when u were at sg ok tongue.gif...casing literally paid by big boss tongue.gif
eh eh....shoosh!! dun wan them to know!! later next round go SG boss cut down our allowance laugh.gif

QUOTE(Acey @ Sep 5 2006, 02:00 PM)
Jantan Gila a.k.a. madman, wanna sell the HEC?
sorry dude.. as of this moment i have no intentions of selling it... but just out of curiosity, PM me the price ur willing to pay for it.. bought it brand new at RM280.. so mebbe a price that includes the mods etc?? brows.gif
TSmADmAN
post Sep 5 2006, 06:03 PM

10,530 posts

2 years...

but this case can only open 1 side panel... the other side cannot open one

keep in mind i aint selling the case... just curios to know notworthy.gif
TSmADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 01:10 AM

10,530 posts

aawww maaaaaaannnnn....now i aint the only one with this case no more... my uniqueness is gone cry.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif kidding kidding.... glad u made the purchase thumbup.gif

its a nice case right??? how much u got it for dude?
TSmADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 12:17 PM

10,530 posts

@gengstapo
not yet bro.... havent had the time to bling it up yet... hhehehe... lets just wait for Doom's update.
TSmADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 08:18 PM

10,530 posts

eh?? got navy blue oso??? didnt know that.... heh... can take pix of the navy blue one?? wanna see ler..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:25 AM