Hard-modding Gallery, Show us your L33T soldering skillz here

mADmAN
post Sep 9 2006, 12:05 AM

10,530 posts

yo shah.... u think u can make a fan controller to control the FFB1212EHE?

3.0A

brows.gif
TSShah81
post Sep 9 2006, 12:32 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 9 2006, 12:05 AM)
yo shah.... u think u can make a fan controller to control the FFB1212EHE?

3.0A

brows.gif
Actually I have a 4.0A prototype ( brows.gif ) fan controller that I build for fun. But I never tested its full potential. Don't have any powerful fan with me. The most powerful I have is an NMB 120mm fan that suck 0.35A laugh.gif doh.gif

But when you start playing with higher amps, the heat load gets bigger and you'll start seeing big heatsinks attach to the regulator.
sHawTY
post Sep 9 2006, 12:55 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Shah81 @ Sep 9 2006, 12:32 AM)
Actually I have a 4.0A prototype ( brows.gif ) fan controller that I build for fun. But I never tested its full potential. Don't have any powerful fan with me. The most powerful I have is an NMB 120mm fan that suck 0.35A laugh.gif  doh.gif

But when you start playing with higher amps, the heat load gets bigger and you'll start seeing big heatsinks attach to the regulator.
Seduce us!!! wub.gif wub.gif

Show us that so called prototype!!! drool.gif drool.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 9 2006, 01:31 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Shah81 @ Sep 9 2006, 12:32 AM)
Actually I have a 4.0A prototype ( brows.gif ) fan controller that I build for fun. But I never tested its full potential. Don't have any powerful fan with me. The most powerful I have is an NMB 120mm fan that suck 0.35A laugh.gif  doh.gif

well....ive got FOUR Delta FFBs for u to test simultaneously dude.... see if the controller can handle all of it at one go brows.gif

EDIT: forgot to ask....

is ur prototype pwm based or is it based on voltage reduction? can make pwm based ah?

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 9 2006, 12:17 PM
TSShah81
post Sep 10 2006, 12:29 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 9 2006, 12:55 AM)
Seduce us!!! wub.gif  wub.gif

Show us that so called prototype!!! drool.gif  drool.gif
Regarding your last question on how to get 9V.....

You can use a 7809 voltage regulator. This regulator can supply max 1A, so it should be fine for your fan.

I'll put picture of the prototype later (bateri kamera habis).....but the design is not that efficient happy.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 9 2006, 01:31 AM)
well....ive got FOUR Delta FFBs for u to test simultaneously dude.... see if the controller can handle all of it at one go brows.gif

EDIT: forgot to ask....

is ur prototype pwm based or is it based on voltage reduction? can make pwm based ah?
I use a voltage regulator. I can build a pwm based for sure but a bit "leceh". Why suddenly want to use pwm?? rolleyes.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 01:30 AM

10,530 posts

coz voltage regulator might not work with the FFBs i have... i tested the fans and they work at 7v... but 5v mampus... was wondering if PWM might be able to bring it lower...

besides.. i was reading online that pwm doesnt produce as much heat as regulator
TSShah81
post Sep 10 2006, 02:56 AM

480 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 10 2006, 01:30 AM)
coz voltage regulator might not work with the FFBs i have... i tested the fans and they work at 7v... but 5v mampus... was wondering if PWM might be able to bring it lower...

besides.. i was reading online that pwm doesnt produce as much heat as regulator
Oh...in that case, it should work for your FFBs since we are turning the 12V on and off. We only control the frequency but the voltage will always be 12V.

But 4 FFBs......3A X 4 = 12A sweat.gif sleep.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 12:28 PM

10,530 posts

aiks?? sweating??? why la?? better make it 15A just to be safe man... give some extra room brows.gif

u think it can be done ah?? can getthe right materials from jalan pasar?

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 10 2006, 12:30 PM
TSShah81
post Sep 10 2006, 01:40 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 10 2006, 12:28 PM)
aiks?? sweating??? why la?? better make it 15A just to be safe man... give some extra room brows.gif

u think it can be done ah?? can getthe right materials from jalan pasar?
Yeah can be done and components should be available at jalan pasar. But a single channel with 15A.....that's like building an amplifier already shocking.gif laugh.gif

The best method is to build a 4 channel controller with 5A each so you can control the fan individually. A little bit faster on the CPU but a tad slower on the HD.....keeps everything cool at the right speed icon_idea.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 10 2006, 08:21 PM

10,530 posts

eh eh...not 15A per channel la bro... i meant 15A combined tongue.gif

but 4x5A (= 20A rclxm9.gif) is better huh? hehehehhehehe..... anyway...me got a project for u one of these days if ur willing.

will PM u when i can think of the specifics brows.gif
soulfly
post Sep 10 2006, 09:36 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

15A sure drains the psu a lot....lol!
sHawTY
post Sep 11 2006, 01:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 10 2006, 09:36 PM)
15A sure drains the psu a lot....lol!
Yeah...
15A... sweat.gif

It sucks half of my psu amps... sweat.gif
radmaszeal
post Sep 11 2006, 06:23 PM

boredom is caused by lack of ignorance
1,546 posts

15 amps alot wor. 13amps household plug oso can kill ppl..........
TSShah81
post Sep 16 2006, 05:00 PM

480 posts

Some update!!!!!

Bought a Gecube 9550XT 128mb card this week and the card arrive yesterday. Today the card look totally different brows.gif

The Vgpu and Vdd have been modded cool.gif

Vgpu

Vdd
TSShah81
post Sep 16 2006, 05:04 PM

480 posts

Now with more Vdd, we'll need some extra cooling on DDR2 chip right icon_idea.gif cool.gif

The GPU will be watercooled.......cheapo syscooling kit smile.gif
GKWong
post Sep 17 2006, 12:52 AM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(Shah81 @ Sep 16 2006, 05:04 PM)
Now with more Vdd, we'll need some extra cooling on DDR2 chip right icon_idea.gif  cool.gif

The GPU will be watercooled.......cheapo syscooling kit smile.gif
wow! issit a chipset heatsink? u cut it wit hacksaw? lol
mADmAN
post Sep 17 2006, 03:54 AM

10,530 posts

w00t!!! benchies dude!!! BENCHIES!!!!
sHawTY
post Sep 17 2006, 09:01 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Gila la ko ni shah... sweat.gif

Aku tau, tu ko potong dari amd stock heatsink kan? laugh.gif

Taknak tunjuk heatsink GPU ke? blink.gif
TSShah81
post Sep 17 2006, 03:12 PM

480 posts

I cut those ramsink from a cpu heatsink I bought for RM5 at lowyat second hand shop.....dunno what the heatsink is for laugh.gif
Benches later, need to sort out somethings first. It seems the GPU is not a really good batch.....need a lot of voltage to get up to speed sad.gif
The DDR2 is preety good. It's a Samsung 3.3ns ram rated at 300MHz. At 2.0V, I manage to squeeze 340MHz out of it artifact free.....with the help of my monster heatsink.

@sHawTY
GPU is watercooled.
mADmAN
post Sep 17 2006, 03:56 PM

10,530 posts

huh???? 3.3ns?? damn.... and 340 only?? i managed to get 425 highest with my old 9550 on infineon 2.8 ns WITHOUT vmod man tongue.gif.... after vmod tak sempat as u know what happened la tongue.gif laugh.gif

im still tempted to send my 6800 to u for vmod man.... at least if burn then can move to PCIe... but no moneyyyyyyyyyyy

EDIT: shah.. remember my 9550 heatsink?? any idea how i can use it ah?? feel sayang la the heatpipe no being used... cant think of anywayy to fit it to my NB and cant think of other uses for it tongue.gif any thoughts?

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 18 2006, 01:12 AM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:48 PM