Noob question, pick up truck as good as WRX?

TSxuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 01:13 PM, updated 12y ago

4,436 posts

icon_question.gif Really noob here, don't flame OK?

I am wondering, with those pick-up truck whose performance numbers are like those of performance car... and half the price of performance car... why does one need a performance car?

I am of course being a total noob and comparing pick up like Isuzu V-Cross/Triton VGT versus WRX/Golf GTI.

Their numbers are almost the same... 200ps/350Nm, 4WD and sold for around RM 100K. I can buy two of these one, say a TritonVGT and one Isuzu V-Cross, still got extra spare cash to buy accessories some more.

Honestly, I don't know why anyone would still want those performance car...

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
SUSkawakubo
post Jul 8 2014, 01:15 PM

59 posts

fark!...need to digest what uve written there....., when ur born??

arza04
post Jul 8 2014, 01:16 PM

303 posts

Gear ratio
Handling
sylar2000
post Jul 8 2014, 01:17 PM

258 posts

not every1 like pickup truck..
dares
post Jul 8 2014, 01:22 PM

834 posts

Bring your pickup truck to Sepang.
zenockl85
post Jul 8 2014, 01:26 PM

23 posts

cos is pick up truck different with performance~ if u using just for transportation any car u also can buy ~ myvi is 1/4 price of performance go add turbo u also can go up to that 200hp/350nm ,

beside the normal different thing, mostly man buy car is present his face ~
most important ting ~ if u going out ~ pick up truck u need invite girl come to ur car , performance girl will automatic come to request go in to ur car ~ XD drool.gif
hightechgadgets8

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

and girls will most probably get in the Impreza than the pickup
nickchk89

Vodka martini,shaken,not stirred
2,909 posts

What? doh.gif u smoke what lately?
kww
post Jul 8 2014, 01:33 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 01:13 PM)
icon_question.gif  Really noob here, don't flame OK?

I am wondering, with those pick-up truck whose performance numbers are like those of performance car... and half the price of performance car... why does one need a performance car?

I am of course being a total noob and comparing pick up like Isuzu V-Cross/Triton VGT versus WRX/Golf GTI.

Their numbers are almost the same... 200ps/350Nm, 4WD and sold for around RM 100K. I can buy two of these one, say a TritonVGT and one Isuzu V-Cross, still got extra spare cash to buy accessories some more.

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
Performance is not about just that number....
BTW, did you sit in a performance car before?
TSxuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 01:42 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jul 8 2014, 01:16 PM)
Gear ratio
Handling
What is gear ratio? what does it mean? icon_question.gif

Yes, I have test driven a Golf GTI before....it's errrm... Fast!

Can I expect the handling of a the Triton to be good on winding country road?

travis_ckf
post Jul 8 2014, 01:49 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

My theory is simple

If u need to bring more stuffs, get the pickup. Otherwise, settle for a car.

That's all sweat.gif
crayzee
post Jul 8 2014, 01:57 PM

901 posts

Bro, 200ps/350nm might be the same, but the weight of pickup truck is nearly 2 tonnes and acceleration might be worst than a saga doh.gif
alpha0201
post Jul 8 2014, 02:41 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 01:42 PM)

If you're expecting a pick-up truck with a car-like handling & comfort, you will be severely disappointed.
McFD2R
post Jul 8 2014, 02:52 PM

1,074 posts

I almost fainted when I read the question.
TSxuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 03:01 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Jul 8 2014, 02:52 PM)
don't lar like this bro.... Totally car noob mah!

cloudstrife07
post Jul 8 2014, 03:13 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

handling (center of gravity, suspension setup, steering feel, blablabla)
weight (net weight, weight distribution)
gearing (ratio, gear feel)
braking (brake distribution, braking distance, blablabla)
and many more.

in short, u cant simply compare by numbers alone.

Deja Vu
post Jul 8 2014, 03:23 PM

1,863 posts

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
shocking.gif

Some basic differences
- chassis dynamics (high center of gravity, aerodynamics, body roll)
- steering feel
- gear ratio (lower gears tend to b shorter for trucks)
- NVH
- twitchy truck rear end due to missing weight at rear end
- diesel vs petrol torque curve and power delivery

In summary, since u hv driven a Golf GTI u can try test driving a truck to feel it yourself.

This post has been edited by Deja Vu: Jul 8 2014, 03:24 PM
kww
post Jul 8 2014, 03:43 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 01:42 PM)

Why not go test drive a Triton and drive the same way you drove the golf gti? If you can't feel the differences, our conversation end here.
SUSnm7
post Jul 8 2014, 03:46 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(sylar2000 @ Jul 8 2014, 01:17 PM)
not every1 like pickup truck..
in that, you mean no chicks like pickup truck???
SUSnm7
post Jul 8 2014, 03:47 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 8 2014, 01:49 PM)
My theory is simple

If u need to bring more stuffs, get the pickup. Otherwise, settle for a car.

That's all sweat.gif
You need to add one more criteria to your theory as well...

if you want to be "parking hero"... pickup truck as well...
mujinkun
post Jul 8 2014, 03:56 PM

845 posts

Basic to get a fast car.

a) Power to weight ratio

b) Higher HP and Torque (manageable)
theanswer
post Jul 8 2014, 03:58 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Jul 8 2014, 02:52 PM)
i oso kenot brain sweat.gif
TSxuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 04:15 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jul 8 2014, 03:43 PM)
Why not go test drive a Triton and drive the same way you drove the golf gti? If you can't feel the differences, our conversation end here.
I will head to the nearby Mitsubishi SC for a test drive...

k!nex
post Jul 8 2014, 04:25 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Test drive also like...cannot give u a clear idea I think..

Pickup trucks biggest problem at high speeds is that crosswind at highways can make the truck body wobble easily because of the high ride height. You can feel that there is a force that is pushing the truck sideways...

Then the rear leaf spring suspension is not helping too. With no load the back, the rear will hop if corner fast on uneven roads, so you will lose traction and bang tree.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 8 2014, 04:26 PM
travis_ckf
post Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Well a modded diesel pickup could give sportscars a run for its money due to its massive torque. Just forget bringing it to the track as it wouldn't handle corners well. wink.gif
gahpadu
post Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM

1,438 posts

why buy truck..if u can buy used ford tdci...fews mode u can draw 200whp from the engine...but..its auto
k!nex
post Jul 8 2014, 04:34 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM)
why buy truck..if u can buy used ford tdci...fews mode u can draw 200whp from the engine...but..its auto
The thing is, this car cannot buy new ones anymore.. Ford don't sell it already. too bad la.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 8 2014, 04:34 PM
ericmaxman
post Jul 8 2014, 05:19 PM

-
7,951 posts

Actually OP has a point.

Why buy a sports car that can't kaotim some IKEA shopping?

Buy ranger/dmax/navara, get sports car performance and the practicality...
bananadriver
post Jul 8 2014, 06:10 PM

it's not a stupid question. it's only stupid if you are unsure but pretend that you have the answers. anyway I see there are already a few summarized answers in point form, given by the kind forumers above.

anyway, to visualize the differences in a simple way, is imagine yourself, wearing running shoes and clothes, and running down the track. and next imagine yourself, wearing slacks, shirt, tie and a coat, carrying a heavy briefcase, running down the same track. which version of you will you think runs faster, and easier to turn corners? tongue.gif
TSxuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 08:18 PM

4,436 posts

Test driven the Triton VGT 2.5 this evening. I love the red colored variant.

The power is there, 178Ps can really give pecutan yang hebat!

However, the handling is rather stiff and off-road like. With the Triton, I dare not take sharp corner, the roll is felt more.

Compared to the Golf GTI, Golf GTI is nimble, agile and zippy fast probably due to its lighter weight and lower center of gravity. I terms of raw power, the Triton is no pushover. FC will be greater with the Triton.

But Golf GTI is double the price, and that is the biggest bone of contention.

Does a regular salariiman like me need to compromise and get a Triton that is "almost a sport performance vehicle" or go all out and get the real stuff?

kadajawi
post Jul 8 2014, 08:41 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jul 8 2014, 03:43 PM)
He may not survive that.

Keep in mind that this pickup truck is an absolute beast. 411 hp, tuned suspension, etc.

Pickup trucks are meant for hauling stuff, or, when modified, to do this:

For 90k you could get a Peugeot 208. It doesn't have as much power, but it will handle much better. Or spend a little more on a 208 GTI. Or Polo GTI. There are other options that make more sense than a pickup, if you just want to have power/go fast. Keep in mind that trucks roll and crash easily. They are much more likely to crash than regular cars, and that's with people who probably don't think of it as a sports car.

Btw. a Mercedes Actros can have 625 hp and 3000 Nm at 1100 rpm. Do you think it's a good choice for racing?

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 8 2014, 08:46 PM
6UE5T
post Jul 9 2014, 01:16 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 08:18 PM)

However, the handling is rather stiff and off-road like. With the Triton, I dare not take sharp corner, the roll is felt more.

Compared to the Golf GTI, Golf GTI is nimble, agile and zippy fast probably due to its lighter weight and lower center of gravity. I terms of raw power, the Triton is no pushover. FC will be greater with the Triton.

Does a regular salariiman like me need to compromise and get a Triton that is "almost a sport performance vehicle" or go all out and get the real stuff?

Buy what you can really afford, don't force your self to buy something out of your capability.
If you're happy enough with such pick up truck then just buy it but again it's nowhere near a sports car. You can upgrade the power to make it quite fast in straight line but performance is not just about going straight, there's braking performance and cornering performance to make it a complete package.
k!nex
post Jul 9 2014, 01:25 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 08:18 PM)

Regular salary man don't jump into performance vehicles.. Fuel is expensive and tyre also expensive... Besides that you pay more for roadtax too compare to a Golf GTI and Pickup truck tyres are not cheap... Look at the size. Regular salary man buy fuel efficient vehicles, save money and buy houses rclxms.gif

1 thing good about the Triton vs Golf GTI, if you come out from toll plaza and try to squeeze in lanes during traffic jam, in the Triton, small cars don't dare squeeze u coz they will only hit your tyres or your side step since you're a truck.
kadajawi
post Jul 9 2014, 03:16 AM

544 posts

Pickup trucks are amongst the worst handling cars there are. Any conti will do better, no matter how powerful. If you want good handling, get a Fiesta, 208, Polo. They will drive circles around the pickup.

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Jul 9 2014, 03:16 AM
TSxuzen
post Jul 9 2014, 10:24 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 9 2014, 03:16 AM)
Pickup trucks are amongst the worst handling cars there are. Any conti will do better, no matter how powerful. If you want good handling, get a Fiesta, 208, Polo. They will drive circles around the pickup.
Thanks, road handling is very high on my priority list. So I can now strike off pick up my to buy list now... it is a slow short listing by process of deduction.

zenockl85
post Jul 9 2014, 11:40 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 9 2014, 10:24 PM)
Thanks, road handling is very high on my priority list. So I can now strike off pick up my to buy list now... it is a slow short listing by process of deduction.
wan a good handling car is dry or wet road condition , I think Subaru car is the 1 u can experience it ~

6UE5T
post Jul 10 2014, 12:05 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jul 9 2014, 11:40 PM)
wan a good handling car is dry or wet road condition , I think Subaru car is the 1 u can experience it ~
Or Lancer Evo.
kadajawi
post Jul 10 2014, 02:38 AM

544 posts

Well, for handling go conti (especially Ford) or WRX STI, EVO, GT-R, GT86. The Japanese can make great handling cars, but their normal passengers have a different focus (which is ok, not everyone wants good handling, some prefer comfort).
dtna7
post Jul 10 2014, 04:26 AM

456 posts

A pick up truck diesel is now assumed to have "sports car" performance now? Wow... doh.gif

If the pick up truck has torque(not performance mind you) like a Saga or Myvi, it"ll be an extreme slow ass that even a Viva will start honking at the back. doh.gif

Don't even mention the league of hot hatches, these Triton diesel pickups won't even overtake a normal C segment cars like Altis/Civic/Focus in a straight line. In corners they will run rings around it like a big giant trying to catch a mouse.

Key points
- A diesel engine because it needs to produce enough torque to move that heavy ass
- Torque is sufficient to move from low to mid rpm so that you can get the thing moving from stationary easier
- Makes the car start going easier, but hardly build high speed afterwards
- In an uphill from stationary, a pickup may feel like a hero, but after that falls short very quickly when it needs to go faster

blush.gif

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 10 2014, 04:28 AM
sylar2000
post Jul 10 2014, 09:31 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 8 2014, 03:46 PM)
in that, you mean no chicks like pickup truck???
i notice thailand chick craze for man with pickup truck..
but not for average chicks around..

TSxuzen
post Jul 10 2014, 10:14 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jul 9 2014, 11:40 PM)
Subaru... darn lansi, cannot test drive their WRX or STI.

Evo X now cost RM 330K. Way out of my budget.

SUSnm7
post Jul 10 2014, 10:28 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2014, 10:14 AM)

PM zenockl85 la... i am sure he can fix you up with something...

do they even have test drive models or not first? if dun have then there is nothing you can do about it la...

but if they have... sometimes they don't want to attend to you because they think you are just there for a joyride... happened to my friend once before trying to test drive other cars (was trying to test drive the clio rs without any intention to buy it at all)... they were right at that point la... maybe his face already told them his true intentions...
tungfunglaw
post Jul 10 2014, 05:03 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 10 2014, 04:26 AM)
A pick up truck diesel is now assumed to have "sports car" performance now? Wow... doh.gif

If the pick up truck has torque(not performance mind you) like a Saga or Myvi, it"ll be an extreme slow ass that even a Viva will start honking at the back. doh.gif

Don't even mention the league of hot hatches, these Triton diesel pickups won't even overtake a normal C segment cars like Altis/Civic/Focus in a straight line. In corners they will run rings around it like a big giant trying to catch a mouse.

Dude, have u sat in a re-chipped triton b4? It's no problem at all winning those traffic lights drag against a stock golf gti. Last time a triton was able to keep up with my 200+hp rb20 from 40-80+kmh.

Their sprint to 100-ish is absolutely mind-bogging but of course, just like what you've mentioned, they'll struggle after that. And their body-roll is damn scary too.

dtna7
post Jul 10 2014, 06:49 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 10 2014, 05:03 PM)
Dude, have u sat in a re-chipped triton b4? It's no problem at all winning those traffic lights drag against a stock golf gti. Last time a triton was able to keep up with my 200+hp rb20 from 40-80+kmh.

Their sprint to 100-ish is absolutely mind-bogging but of course, just like what you've mentioned, they'll struggle after that. And their body-roll is damn scary too.
Are you listening to yourself?

A pickup truck to make the century sprint at 6.5sec? doh.gif

You'd need to spend A LOT to make that happen with a pickup truck, which isn't the point of this thread, is it?
OC4/3
post Jul 10 2014, 08:40 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2014, 10:14 AM)

Who ask you to buy new sweat.gif
Used EVO X is like 160k 170k nowadays
But err if you know nothing about car getting an EVO X is not exactly the most clever thing to do
Beside knowing the car itself,you also have to know how to drive to enjoy it(How to take racing line,control understeer/oversteer,weight transfer etc)
Not to mention performance car consumable are more costly(18" performance tyre,brake pad for Brembo,SST oil etc etc)
TSxuzen
post Jul 10 2014, 09:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 10 2014, 08:40 PM)
Who ask you to buy new sweat.gif
Used EVO X is like 160k 170k nowadays
But err if you know nothing about car getting an EVO X is not exactly the most clever thing to do
Beside knowing the car itself,you also have to know how to drive to enjoy it(How to take racing line,control understeer/oversteer,weight transfer etc)
Not to mention performance car consumable are more costly(18" performance tyre,brake pad for Brembo,SST oil etc etc)
OK OK... no Evo for me (too hardcore).. looks like I am leaning towards the Golf GTI most likely the Tech Spec. It is a good entry level car for a noob like me who wish to partake in a more exhilarating drive.

dtna7
post Jul 10 2014, 10:31 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2014, 09:10 PM)
OK OK... no Evo for me (too hardcore).. looks like I am leaning towards the Golf GTI most likely the Tech Spec. It is a good entry level car for a noob like me who wish to partake in a more exhilarating drive.
I thought you are going for a pickup turbodiesel? blink.gif
The GTi is a great car. But it's down on horsepower compared to the others. But it's the most usable and mature looking.

Focus ST is better if pure driving experience is what you want. The best is, pf course the Megane 265. But u have to accept the cheap looking interior.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 10 2014, 10:31 PM
TSxuzen
post Jul 11 2014, 02:30 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 10 2014, 10:31 PM)
I thought you are going for a pickup turbodiesel? blink.gif
The GTi is a great car. But it's down on horsepower compared to the others. But it's the most usable and mature looking.

Focus ST is better if pure driving experience is what you want. The best is, pf course the Megane 265. But u have to accept the cheap looking interior.
My initial wants is a high performance car with exceptional road handling. My question wrt turbo diesel pick up was more of curiosity because when I look at the performance numbers they are the same, with half the price of GTI or WRX. So it got me thinking whether can one replicate that kind of driving pleasure with those pick up. Of course now I know it cannot.

Hmmmm, wrt Focus ST, yeah, it can be considered as well. Btw GTI and ST, which gives a better road handling? E.g less body roll when taking fast corners, more stable etc....

I have also read about Suzuki Swift excellent road handling.... If she can be just as good as the GTI, then I may consider, I don't need fast car, because of our traffic speed limit. What I need is a zippy car that can take corner well, minimum body roll, good accelaration, not sluggish.

Thanks in advance for your advise.

pai3355
post Jul 11 2014, 04:47 AM

210 posts

u can try testdrive swift sport, it is a lot more cheaper and very good handling at corners. But this car is not fast enough la
TSxuzen
post Jul 11 2014, 11:16 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jul 11 2014, 04:47 AM)
u can try testdrive swift sport, it is a lot more cheaper and very good handling at corners. But this car is not fast enough la
Fast is moot point if one is not ever going to the track. Being fast on our road is inviting traffic summons, which I have no intention of getting it. Hence fast is not high on my priority list, but good handling, good acceleration (power & torgue), good fc numbers are high on my priority list.

Yeah, I will definitely check out Swift 1.6 sport variant this weekend.

Again from a non-hardcore motor sport enthusiast, why spend RM 200K or more if I can find a similar car that cost half of it and still give one the same performance or slightly lower. Again, I am thinking from a reasonable man perspective, not from a fan-boy perspective.

I could use the money saved to mod the car should I chose to.

Quazacolt
post Jul 11 2014, 11:56 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 11 2014, 11:16 AM)
Fast is moot point if one is not ever going to the track. Being fast on our road is inviting traffic summons, which I have no intention of getting it. Hence fast is not high on my priority list, but good handling, good acceleration (power & torgue), good fc numbers are high on my priority list.

Yeah, I will definitely check out Swift 1.6 sport variant this weekend.

Again from a non-hardcore motor sport enthusiast, why spend RM 200K or more if I can find a similar car that cost half of it and still give one the same performance or slightly lower. Again, I am thinking from a reasonable man perspective, not from a fan-boy perspective.

I could use the money saved to mod the car should I chose to.
then just a mundane point a to b car la

anything that's exhilarating/spirited driving WILL involve traffic summons.

80/110kph is achieved in 10-15 seconds +/- even on mundane point a to b car.
even a friggin kancil 660 manual can do that without much sweat
and *MOST* cars can deal 80/110kph cornering/speeding with ease.

so yea, non hardcore? dont want summons? go get the cheapest proton saga or perodua myvi. it'll fit your needs.
whatever saved go mod TRD, put super huge gt wing spoiler, get beng hid/led/wheels voila done.
SUSnm7
post Jul 11 2014, 03:12 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 11 2014, 02:30 AM)
My initial wants is a high performance car with exceptional road handling. My question wrt turbo diesel pick up was more of curiosity because when I look at the performance numbers they are the same, with half the price of GTI or WRX. So it got me thinking whether can one replicate that kind of driving pleasure with those pick up. Of course now I know it cannot.

Hmmmm, wrt Focus ST, yeah, it can be considered as well. Btw GTI and ST, which gives a better road handling? E.g less body roll when taking fast corners, more stable etc....

I have also read about Suzuki Swift excellent road handling.... If she can be just as good as the GTI, then I may consider, I don't need fast car, because of our traffic speed limit. What I need is a zippy car that can take corner well, minimum body roll, good accelaration, not sluggish.

Thanks in advance for your advise.
wow.... you are all over the place...

like quazacolt says... anycar is capable of breaking the speed limit nowadays.... and as for how fast can a car go... it depends highly how much the driver values his own life...

of course, the GTi is not a bad handling car.. but when it comes down to other cars in market... it is not the best... it does make up for it in better ride qualities and stuff....

as for the suzuki swift sport... that is a cheap car looking from comparing it with the golf GTi... but, really... once you've seen it.... you'd think twice before spending RM100k on that car.. the golf might be twice that value, but at least you get your worth when you buy that... and worst, the SSS is not really a whole lot fast in terms of acceleration, if you place it side by side a GTi...

so, your needs are just covering a whole lot of area... what you need to is prioritize what is your wants and needs such as price, value, performance-handling, performance-acceleration, looks, quality and etc...

what it feels now is that you are looking for a cheap car which can does everything from the handling of a lotus elise, to the acceleration of the R35 to the ride comfort of a Maybach and cost no more than a honda civic.. which evidently doesn't quite exist in this world..

so, you need to tie down your requirements in order to filter the list of cars in the market...
TSxuzen
post Jul 11 2014, 04:14 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 11 2014, 03:12 PM)
wow.... you are all over the place...

like quazacolt says... anycar is capable of breaking the speed limit nowadays.... and as for how fast can a car go... it depends highly how much the driver values his own life...

of course, the GTi is not a bad handling car.. but when it comes down to other cars in market... it is not the best... it does make up for it in better ride qualities and stuff....

as for the suzuki swift sport... that is a cheap car looking from comparing it with the golf GTi... but, really... once you've seen it.... you'd think twice before spending RM100k on that car.. the golf might be twice that value, but at least you get your worth when you buy that... and worst, the SSS is not really a whole lot fast in terms of acceleration, if you place it side by side a GTi...

so, your needs are just covering a whole lot of area... what you need to is prioritize what is your wants and needs such as price, value, performance-handling, performance-acceleration, looks, quality and etc...

what it feels now is that you are looking for a cheap car which can does everything from the handling of a lotus elise, to the acceleration of the R35 to the ride comfort of a Maybach and cost no more than a honda civic.. which evidently doesn't quite exist in this world..

so, you need to tie down your requirements in order to filter the list of cars in the market...
Thanks, it is darn hard to get a good car, I hope you understand my predicament. I love to enjoy the pleasure of driving but I do not wish to pay a king's ransom for it. Mine is hard earned money and I want to stretch it.

But thanks to all of you guys for engaging me in my banter... through you folks I learn so much more about car. I'll still lurk around this forum and learn more until I find something I like. I am in no hurry, it is after all, a hobby buy.

tungfunglaw
post Jul 11 2014, 05:13 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 10 2014, 06:49 PM)
Are you listening to yourself?

A pickup truck to make the century sprint at 6.5sec? doh.gif

You'd need to spend A LOT to make that happen with a pickup truck, which isn't the point of this thread, is it?
Dude, stop using those useless data provided by manufacturer. Are u saying a pickup able to keep up with my rb20 is an illusion? doh.gif

Do u think u can get consistently 6.5sec on the street? I've sat in a chipped MK5 b4, yes it's damn fast due to the DSG.

A unichip-ed /alphatech-ed(which is just a rm2-4K) triton/hilux/ranger is producing arnd 200+ hp too, maybe even more. So u think they're really slow?

cool2.gif

Quazacolt
post Jul 11 2014, 05:50 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 11 2014, 04:14 PM)
Thanks, it is darn hard to get a good car, I hope you understand my predicament. I love to enjoy the pleasure of driving but I do not wish to pay a king's ransom for it. Mine is hard earned money and I want to stretch it.

But thanks to all of you guys for engaging me in my banter... through you folks I learn so much more about car. I'll still lurk around this forum and learn more until I find something I like. I am in no hurry, it is after all, a hobby buy.
if it helps, browse through my runs on my youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/Quazacolt/videos

an inspira is a very standard point a to b car, however in the videos you can see most of them are over 80/110kph, with relative ease.

at some points tires making music as well.

how much it cost? just a bit over 60k brand new rolleyes.gif
but came with free lemonade la... and only mine had it so eh, who knows if you get better luck.
Quazacolt
post Jul 11 2014, 05:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 11 2014, 03:12 PM)

rofl the bolded.

but yeah as you said: most importantly is ts to find his exact requirements and filter through from there.
dtna7
post Jul 11 2014, 07:09 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 11 2014, 05:13 PM)
Dude, stop using those useless data provided by manufacturer. Are u saying a pickup able to keep up with my rb20 is an illusion?  doh.gif

Do u think u can get consistently 6.5sec on the street? I've sat in a chipped MK5 b4, yes it's damn fast due to the DSG.

A unichip-ed /alphatech-ed(which is just a rm2-4K) triton/hilux/ranger is producing arnd 200+ hp too, maybe even more. So u think they're really slow? 

cool2.gif
Firstly, i don't know how you concluded i "use useless data provided by manufacturer". doh.gif

Secondly, I am not interested in your rb20. It was mentioned that the pickup truck can be as fast as a GTi. Hence I rubbish that a pickup truck can do 6.5s on a century sprint in stock. (8s is not even reachable)

And then you went on to the mod region. doh.gif
Even a potong saga can be as fast as you want it if you pour cash on it.
Since you bring out the "mod" topic (which was clearly out of context), do you know what a GTi can do with a stage 1 chip? (at a mere RM 3k, just an ECU Tune)

Honestly, I don't know why I am entertaining you.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 11 2014, 07:10 PM
kadajawi
post Jul 11 2014, 08:27 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(sylar2000 @ Jul 10 2014, 09:31 AM)
i notice thailand chick craze for man with pickup truck..
but not for average chicks around..
Maybe those chicks were guys?

The Ford Raptor does 100 in around 6.6s, mind you we're talking about a petrol V8 with 400+ hp. That a diesel pickup with some small modifications can do it... kind of unlikely.

The Swift Sport seems a good choice. I think what you're looking for is a car that makes you feel like going fast, and is fun at that, it doesn't actually have to be fast. (Of course the Viva gives you that feeling even more... laugh.gif ). Alternatives are the Peugeot 208 GTI, Renault Clio RS, Ford Fiesta ST, or if you don't need so much power the regular versions of these cars could be what you want. Do test drive please.

@Quazacolt: Have you watched Chris Harris driving his Citroen 2CV? 12 hp, and he's having the time of his life. You can't lift off in corners, despite massive body roll, because if you lose momentum you'll be slow for the next 10 minutes. The Top Gear guys keep repeating the most fun you can have is in a small, cheap car, because you can drive like a racing driver without ever risking your license. laugh.gif And there are small, "cheap" cars that are fun to drive. I won't forget driving an old Ford Ka. No power milo tin, but boy is it flat in corners. My girlfriends old Fiesta too, it handles pretty well, and the atrocious sound proofing ensure you'll feel like you're driving fast. laugh.gif
TSxuzen
post Jul 11 2014, 08:34 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 11 2014, 08:27 PM)

The Ford Raptor does 100 in around 6.6s, mind you we're talking about a petrol V8 with 400+ hp. That a diesel pickup with some small modifications can do it... kind of unlikely.

The Swift Sport seems a good choice. I think what you're looking for is a car that makes you feel like going fast, and is fun at that, it doesn't actually have to be fast.[SIZE=14] (Of course the Viva gives you that feeling even more... laugh.gif ). Alternatives are the Peugeot 208 GTI, Renault Clio RS, Ford Fiesta ST, or if you don't need so much power the regular versions of these cars could be what you want. Do test drive please.

@Quazacolt: Have you watched Chris Harris driving his Citroen 2CV? 12 hp, and he's having the time of his life. You can't lift off in corners, despite massive body roll, because if you lose momentum you'll be slow for the next 10 minutes. The Top Gear guys keep repeating the most fun you can have is in a small, cheap car, because you can drive like a racing driver without ever risking your license. laugh.gif And there are small, "cheap" cars that are fun to drive. I won't forget driving an old Ford Ka. No power milo tin, but boy is it flat in corners. My girlfriends old Fiesta too, it handles pretty well, and the atrocious sound proofing ensure you'll feel like you're driving fast. laugh.gif
Bingo! I think you have just put the correct words in my mouth!

Yay! I will definitely test-drive Swift Sport this weekend...BTW I checked out ford malaysia website, mana ada Fiesta ST? You mean Focus ST izzit?

Quazacolt
post Jul 11 2014, 09:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

Have you watched Chris Harris driving his Citroen 2CV? 12 hp, and he's having the time of his life. You can't lift off in corners, despite massive body roll, because if you lose momentum you'll be slow for the next 10 minutes. The Top Gear guys keep repeating the most fun you can have is in a small, cheap car, because you can drive like a racing driver without ever risking your license. laugh.gif And there are small, "cheap" cars that are fun to drive. I won't forget driving an old Ford Ka. No power milo tin, but boy is it flat in corners. My girlfriends old Fiesta too, it handles pretty well, and the atrocious sound proofing ensure you'll feel like you're driving fast. laugh.gif

this? no i haven't watched that, however now that you mentioned - thanks! was a really interesting video/insight!

i suppose i could really relate a bit to my family/sis's kancil 660 manual... it gotten me to enjoy driving in a whole different perspective... it's slow sure... but hey on a good downhill i can pull 130-140kph anyways tongue.gif

and of course it poisoned me into the world of shift sticks, manual transmission biggrin.gif
kadajawi
post Jul 11 2014, 10:11 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 11 2014, 08:34 PM)
Bingo! I think you have just put the correct words in my mouth!

Yay! I will definitely test-drive Swift Sport this weekend...BTW I checked out ford malaysia website, mana ada Fiesta ST? You mean Focus ST izzit?
Try the other cars I've mentioned too. Maybe the non GTI, non RS, non ST versions will be enough for you (and they'll be much easier on your wallet biggrin.gif ). There is a Fiesta ST, just not in Malaysia (yet). Likewise there is a regular Clio (the Clio RS is expensive, to say the least), but not yet in Malaysia (though Renault has apparently said it's going to come, and it will have around 120 hp). No info on pricing yet. Probably your best bet is the Fiesta Ecoboost.
tungfunglaw
post Jul 12 2014, 12:37 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 11 2014, 07:09 PM)
Firstly, i don't know how you concluded i "use useless data provided by manufacturer". doh.gif

Secondly, I am not interested in your rb20. It was mentioned that the pickup truck can be as fast as a GTi. Hence I rubbish that a pickup truck can do 6.5s on a century sprint in stock. (8s is not even reachable)

And then you went on to the mod region. doh.gif
Even a potong saga can be as fast as you want it if you pour cash on it.
Since you bring out the "mod" topic (which was clearly out of context), do you know what a GTi can do with a stage 1 chip? (at a mere RM 3k, just an ECU Tune)

Honestly, I don't know why I am entertaining you.
Everybody know it's a comparison between an apple & an orange.

I'm providing a real-life scenario where a 100k truck + additional 2-4k will be able to produce some serious HP like a stock golf gti. Then u went berserk with all those paper performance data bla bla bla..

Who doesnt know a stock truck has no chance against a hot hatch? doh.gif

Btw, what can that stage 1 does? cool2.gif Oh wait..i was told my 3rd gear pulls harder than his gti..i wonder what when wrong... rolleyes.gif

Mavik
post Jul 12 2014, 06:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 12 2014, 12:37 PM)

I'm providing a real-life scenario where a 100k truck + additional 2-4k will be able to produce some serious HP like a stock golf gti. Then u went berserk with all those paper performance data bla bla bla..

Who doesnt know a stock truck has no chance against a hot hatch?  doh.gif

Btw, what can that stage 1 does?  cool2.gif  Oh wait..i was told my 3rd gear pulls harder than his gti..i wonder what when wrong... rolleyes.gif
Well I have seen dyno charts where a 3.0 Navara was able to push around 280ps on the wheel, which is a lot more than what a Stage 1 Golf Mk6 GTI pushes. Both were dynoed on the same dyno machine.
Vervain
post Jul 12 2014, 07:35 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 12 2014, 06:56 PM)
Well I have seen dyno charts where a 3.0 Navara was able to push around 280ps on the wheel, which is a lot more than what a Stage 1 Golf Mk6 GTI pushes. Both were dynoed on the same dyno machine.
The torque figure gap is much bigger as well whistling.gif . even our neighbour is using pickup as a track car.
dtna7
post Jul 12 2014, 10:40 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 12 2014, 12:37 PM)

Who doesnt know a stock truck has no chance against a hot hatch?  doh.gif

Btw, what can that stage 1 does?  cool2.gif  Oh wait..i was told my 3rd gear pulls harder than his gti..i wonder what when wrong... rolleyes.gif
Whatever Mr Out Of Context doh.gif
SUSnm7
post Jul 14 2014, 11:38 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 11 2014, 04:14 PM)

i think it's not darn hard to get a good car... it is just very hard to get a car that satisfies everything that you can possibly expect / want....

you either end up with a car that can do most of what you expect it to do and cost way too much or you end up with something that is easy on the wallet but does only maybe half of what you expected to get.... buying a car is very seldom just what you see on paper or what the salesman tries to sell you.. you might need to look further into things like can you afford to maintain it? road going resale value should you 2 years down the road decided you want to go full uncle or full track junkie on the car? and etc....

you just need to understand what can you sacrifice to balance out between your needs and what you are willing to pay for...

as for how every person values a car's worthiness... it is very different... for a track junkie... maybe he would think paying 260k for an impreza is much more worth than paying 220k for a GTi or Beemer 335i with M Sport pack and a stylistic young exec who wants to be a chic magnet might consider the GTi for it being the classier hot hatch with more luxurious amenities.. there is no saying which is wrong... just what is right for you..

so, the best is to now dig around your phonebook and re-engage your petrol head friends who might possibly have any possible cars in your target list and see if they can give you a ride and even better... if they can let you drive it... and if they are willing to share, the quips of owning the cars they have..

from there on, make up your mind...

for me, no car is the right car as there are different cars for different situation.. there will be days i would want to be in a less bone rattling ride but still be fast.. there will be days i want to let out my teenage side and go on a rampage zig-zagging in the traffic like i am trying to run away from loan sharks... there will never be such a car that can satisfy myself....

This post has been edited by nm7: Jul 14 2014, 11:43 AM
SUSnm7
post Jul 14 2014, 11:54 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 11 2014, 05:13 PM)
Dude, stop using those useless data provided by manufacturer. Are u saying a pickup able to keep up with my rb20 is an illusion?  doh.gif

cool2.gif
it's not surprising that some un-expected cars is fast on the road... i've got outsprinted in a flat out run from the lights by a land cruiser before...but then, that thing has a 2JZ in it spewing out black smoke all the way...

i don't doubt pickups are fast on the road.. but bone stock ones in Malaysia... i doubt it can push you back into the seat as hard as some of the more dedicated petrol head cars even in stock form..

if mods come into the picture.. hell... i think sometime ago someone tried building a superfast isuzu d-max or something like that in Johor that can do 10s quarter mile runs... everything is possible if money is no object..

anyways, kinda out of topic as TS wants something that is exhilarating to drive... not something outright scary if he wants to take it go for some spirited driving...
SUSnm7
post Jul 14 2014, 12:02 PM

192 posts

blink.gif

The Swift Sport seems a good choice. I think what you're looking for is a car that makes you feel like going fast, and is fun at that, it doesn't actually have to be fast. (Of course the Viva gives you that feeling even more... laugh.gif ).
well, there is a difference between fun and downright scary... it can be fun if you are within the limit of the car, but once over it... totally different story... but then, it's very specific to every individual... and this certainly does not apply to someone with a death wish...

at one point in time when grassroot autocross events were gaining popularity in town that small cars like kelisa was sweeping up the competition in it's own categories... then those fellas started swapping cars to be more competitive and swift was one of the more obvious choices before they headed into the big boys territory...
tungfunglaw
post Jul 14 2014, 02:41 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 14 2014, 11:54 AM)
it's not surprising that some un-expected cars is fast on the road... i've got outsprinted in a flat out run from the lights by a land cruiser before...but then, that thing has a 2JZ in it spewing out black smoke all the way...

i don't doubt pickups are fast on the road.. but bone stock ones in Malaysia... i doubt it can push you back into the seat as hard as some of the more dedicated petrol head cars even in stock form..

if mods come into the picture.. hell... i think sometime ago someone tried building a superfast isuzu d-max or something like that in Johor that can do 10s quarter mile runs... everything is possible if money is no object..

anyways, kinda out of topic as TS wants something that is exhilarating to drive... not something outright scary if he wants to take it go for some spirited driving...
2JZ.. drool.gif

Mainly those pickups are modified just for drag. For me, hp vs hp, pickups nowadays are a force to reckon given that what the Thais has innovated.

What is more scarier is that their HP is more cheaper compares to petrol's.

tungfunglaw
post Jul 14 2014, 02:46 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 12 2014, 10:40 PM)
Whatever Mr Out Of Context doh.gif
with those pick-up truck whose performance numbers are like those of performance car...

Tell me, which part of my argument not related to the question of TS? cool2.gif

Mavik
post Jul 14 2014, 02:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 12 2014, 07:35 PM)
The torque figure gap is much bigger as well  whistling.gif . even our neighbour is using pickup as a track car.
Wow that is incredible. What sort of competition does your neighbour partake in? I haven't seen a pickup during the local track days as well as local competitions yet. I have seen MPV's such as a VW Sharan as well as the Exora Bold during track days.
Mavik
post Jul 14 2014, 03:58 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Well, at least we know that it isn't easy to drift in a pickup truck
OC4/3
post Jul 14 2014, 08:06 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 14 2014, 02:54 PM)
Wow that is incredible. What sort of competition does your neighbour partake in? I haven't seen a pickup during the local track days as well as local competitions yet. I have seen MPV's such as a VW Sharan as well as the Exora Bold during track days.
The only competition i think pickup truck take part in is Drag Racing laugh.gif
Thailand have a lot of them,they even get own dedicated categories to race
SUSnm7
post Jul 14 2014, 08:35 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 14 2014, 03:58 PM)

Well, at least we know that it isn't easy to drift in a pickup truck
The country where even keiichi tsuchiya is a total noob in drifting.

This post has been edited by nm7: Jul 14 2014, 09:00 PM
dtna7
post Jul 14 2014, 08:48 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 14 2014, 02:46 PM)
with those pick-up truck whose performance numbers are like those of performance car...
Tell me, which part of my argument not related to the question of TS?  cool2.gif
I suggest you go back and find your dusty dictionary that you don't know where you have put them and look for the word "as fast as". doh.gif

I am done with you. Clearly you are clouded by your own ego.
tungfunglaw
post Jul 15 2014, 11:22 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 14 2014, 08:48 PM)
I suggest you go back and find your dusty dictionary that you don't know where you have put them and look for the word "as fast as". doh.gif

I am done with you. Clearly you are clouded by your own ego.
Dude, you're the one who refuses to swallow back your own words.

I'm merely replying based on the 1st question of TS, even a forummer has provided a dyno figures which indicating a pickup can achieve 280ps without the need of almost 300k.

You just came out with 6.5s century sprint & then condemn pickups to eternity. I'm talking abt HP yet you are the one who refuses to accept the fact that pickups like Dmax, Triton, Navara are able to produce >200HP by using the amount less than the cost of a WRX.

Learn to debate healthy dude instead of just knowing how to name calling & making stupid remarks.

TSxuzen
post Jul 15 2014, 01:58 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 14 2014, 11:38 AM)
i think it's not darn hard to get a good car... it is just very hard to get a car that satisfies everything that you can possibly expect / want....

you either end up with a car that can do most of what you expect it to do and cost way too much or you end up with something that is easy on the wallet but does only maybe half of what you expected to get....  buying a car is very seldom just what you see on paper or what the salesman tries to sell you.. you might need to look further into things like can you afford to maintain it? road going resale value should you 2 years down the road decided you want to go full uncle or full track junkie on the car? and etc....

you just need to understand what can you sacrifice to balance out between your needs and what you are willing to pay for...

as for how every person values a car's worthiness... it is very different... for a track junkie... maybe he would think paying 260k for an impreza is much more worth than paying 220k for a GTi or Beemer 335i with M Sport pack and a stylistic young exec who wants to be a chic magnet might consider the GTi for it being the classier hot hatch with more luxurious amenities..  there is no saying which is wrong... just what is right for you..

so, the best is to now dig around your phonebook and re-engage your petrol head friends who might possibly have any possible cars in your target list and see if they can give you a ride and even better... if they can let you drive it... and if they are willing to share, the quips of owning the cars they have..

from there on, make up your mind...

for me, no car is the right car as there are different cars for different situation.. there will be days i would want to be in a less bone rattling ride but still be fast.. there will be days i want to let out my teenage side and go on a rampage zig-zagging in the traffic like i am trying to run away from loan sharks... there will never be such a car that can satisfy myself....
I did what you advised and dug out an old contact and invited him for some yumcha over kaya bread and half boiled egg during today's breakfast. He is a track enthusiast.

He told me to forget about buying new GTI/WRX etc. Get the EvoX recon at around RM 170K. He said more outside workshop are familiar with servicing the EvoX than GTI or WRX. Meaning mods are also easier with EvoX. Anything above 2010 model will be good.

GTI / WRX servicing is expensive and not many outside mechanic can do them. What are your guys opinion?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 15 2014, 02:01 PM
dtna7
post Jul 15 2014, 05:36 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 10 2014, 05:03 PM)

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 15 2014, 11:22 AM)
Dude, you're the one who refuses to swallow back your own words.

I'm merely replying based on the 1st question of TS, even a forummer has provided a dyno figures which indicating a pickup can achieve 280ps without the need of almost 300k.

You just came out with 6.5s century sprint & then condemn pickups to eternity. I'm talking abt HP yet you are the one who refuses to accept the fact that pickups like Dmax, Triton, Navara are able to produce >200HP by using the amount less than the cost of a WRX.

Learn to debate healthy dude instead of just knowing how to name calling & making stupid remarks.
Now go dig a hole for yourself and stop quoting me. You are not worth my time at all. I am not condemning pickups, and i know you drive a Hilux yourself, but don't get defensive and start accusing me things. Enough of making yourself look like a clown here.
darenot
post Jul 15 2014, 06:18 PM

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
My answer to you is simple. Try driving those Isuzu Triton at 240kmh and them slam on the brakes, and watch the world turn around you. No wait, it is you who is turning. round and round and round. And oh wait again, I dont think you can even reach those speeds. Now this is the difference between a performance car and those examples you mentioned.

This post has been edited by darenot: Jul 15 2014, 06:19 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post Jul 15 2014, 06:24 PM

Peace :D
3,930 posts

Dei..even though numbers same..the weight of pickups more..
kadajawi
post Jul 15 2014, 07:48 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(darenot @ Jul 15 2014, 06:18 PM)
My answer to you is simple. Try driving those Isuzu Triton at 240kmh and them slam on the brakes, and watch the world turn around you. No wait, it is you who is turning. round and round and round. And oh wait again, I dont think you can even reach those speeds. Now this is the difference between a performance car and those examples you mentioned.
Actually I doubt you'd be spinning, you'd be rolling so much you'd embarrass the team that shot Casino Royale.

Pickup trucks are used for racing, though it's usually the offroad sort. They can also be used to do long distance jumps etc.

In any case, the TS is just looking for something fun to drive that doesn't break the bank. It doesn't need to be super fast. Fun to drive? That's something conti B segment hatches can easily do. If it's enough fun for the TS, I don't know. He'll have to try it out himself. That way he could get a new car for way under 100k.
tungfunglaw
post Jul 15 2014, 08:36 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 15 2014, 05:36 PM)
Now go dig a hole for yourself and stop quoting me. You are not worth my time at all. I am not condemning pickups, and i know you drive a Hilux yourself, but don't get defensive and start accusing me things. Enough of making yourself look like a clown here.
I start to like you. You never failed to amuse me. I dont drive a hilux & not all pickups are called hilux lol.. I doubt u even know what's a RB, 2jz lol..

Nvm it's internet anyway, even your gti can fly.

[ r u g a ]
post Jul 15 2014, 08:42 PM

662 posts

i'm amaze the thread can reach 5 pages. means there's alot kind ppl in lyn.

anyway, when u decide to buy any vehicle, the first question comes is,

what u want to do with the vehicle?
what do you expect from the vehicle?

get some purpose and test drive and you will be able to decide which to look for.
dtna7
post Jul 15 2014, 08:45 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 15 2014, 08:36 PM)
I start to like you. You never failed to amuse me. I dont drive a hilux & not all pickups are called hilux lol.. I doubt u even know what's a RB, 2jz lol..

Nvm it's internet anyway, even your gti can fly.
QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ May 15 2014, 11:29 AM)
Business ethic in msia is getting ridiculous.

I was charged rm120 at UMW for an 'advance check' w/o being informed & it's for a bloody Single cab Hilux. The cashier even said it's a must.

The enforcement in msia is really suck balls.
doh.gif

Btw, a clown is supposed to like everyone.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 15 2014, 08:46 PM
darenot
post Jul 15 2014, 09:06 PM

QUOTE( r u g a @ Jul 15 2014, 08:42 PM)
i'm amaze the thread can reach 5 pages. means there's alot kind ppl in lyn.

anyway, when u decide to buy any vehicle, the first question comes is,

what u want to do with the vehicle?
what do you expect from the vehicle?

get some purpose and test drive and you will be able to decide which to look for.
wait, the TS is looking for car buying advise? I thought he was asking why ppl still buy sports cars when trucks have better torque and horsepower? oh nevermind then
tungfunglaw
post Jul 15 2014, 10:13 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 15 2014, 08:45 PM)
doh.gif

Muahahahaa... Do u think I will use a single cab to make a 200hp claim? That's my company work horse btw.

You're so funny man.. Rb20det can fit into a hilux? Omg..wakakaka... Let me give u some hints, A31.

If my examples are wrong, I've been shot to pieces? If I'm embarrassing myself, why do u need prove so much?

Man..you can be stand up comedian.

Cheers.
dtna7
post Jul 15 2014, 10:28 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Jul 15 2014, 10:13 PM)
Muahahahaa... Do u think I will use a single cab to make a 200hp claim? That's my company work horse btw.

You're so funny man.. Rb20det can fit into a hilux? Omg..wakakaka... Let me give u some hints, A31.

If my examples are wrong, I've been shot to pieces? If I'm embarrassing myself, why do u need prove so much?

Man..you can be stand up comedian.

Cheers.
grow up pls. doh.gif

I told you already. I am not interested in your Cefiro. Now shoo~
Go play somewhere else.
Quazacolt
post Jul 16 2014, 03:52 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 15 2014, 01:58 PM)
I did what you advised and dug out an old contact and invited him for some yumcha over kaya bread and half boiled egg during today's breakfast. He is a track enthusiast.

He told me to forget about buying new GTI/WRX etc. Get the EvoX recon at around RM 170K. He said more outside workshop are familiar with servicing the EvoX than GTI or WRX. Meaning mods are also easier with EvoX. Anything above 2010 model will be good.

GTI / WRX servicing is expensive and not many outside mechanic can do them. What are your guys opinion?
he isn't wrong.

evo x/lancers has been around since the 2006-2008 ish...
look up wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_4B1_engine

and of course, there's the inspiras around.

but see, i had some hints/mentions on the inspira, especially when you have concerns of getting speed tickets.
if you've checked out my youtube videos of the inspira (or hell the iswara rofl) you can see that all of them videos are way over the speed limit. so... unsure.gif
dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 08:50 AM

456 posts

EvoX is a different animal altogether. Is outright speed+traction+track days what you want ONLY? If it is EvoX is a good choice. You'd have to accept the enormously high FC, Saga like interior (maybe a little tiny bit better tongue.gif), harshest ride even when you are cruising along or stucked in traffic jam. If you are OK with all of that, go ahead. blush.gif

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 16 2014, 08:51 AM
dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 08:55 AM

456 posts

Oh i forgot to add, no one would want to be your passengers. If they do, they'll probably curse you or your car during the journey blush.gif
darenot
post Jul 16 2014, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 16 2014, 08:50 AM)
EvoX is a different animal altogether. Is outright speed+traction+track days what you want ONLY? If it is EvoX is a good choice. You'd have to accept the enormously high FC, Saga like interior (maybe a little tiny bit better tongue.gif), harshest ride even when you are cruising along or stucked in traffic jam. If you are OK with all of that, go ahead.  blush.gif
its not as bad as described. its a subjective matter. i find thr ride pleasant. perhaps a little firm for ppl used to passenger cars, thats all.
Quazacolt
post Jul 16 2014, 09:29 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 16 2014, 08:50 AM)
EvoX is a different animal altogether. Is outright speed+traction+track days what you want ONLY? If it is EvoX is a good choice. You'd have to accept the enormously high FC, Saga like interior (maybe a little tiny bit better tongue.gif), harshest ride even when you are cruising along or stucked in traffic jam. If you are OK with all of that, go ahead.  blush.gif
considering i have my inspira, it's not as bad as most people put it to be.

granted, it won't be as good as VW's offering, but hey, an evo x is an evo x smile.gif
dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 09:36 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 16 2014, 09:29 AM)
considering i have my inspira, it's not as bad as most people put it to be.

granted, it won't be as good as VW's offering, but hey, an evo x is an evo x smile.gif
Bro, Evo's suspension and Lancer's is a hell of a difference. blush.gif
dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 09:37 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(darenot @ Jul 16 2014, 09:23 AM)
its not as bad as described. its a subjective matter. i find thr ride pleasant. perhaps a little firm for ppl used to passenger cars, thats all.
Sat in one before and the noise itself is already hard to take for me. Oh well, it's subjective. Best would be to test drive and all questions would be answered.
Quazacolt
post Jul 16 2014, 09:39 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 16 2014, 09:36 AM)
Bro, Evo's suspension and Lancer's is a hell of a difference.  blush.gif
you're referring to suspension harshness or just cabin noise now? laugh.gif
EyraYus
post Jul 16 2014, 10:43 AM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

To TS, in the end all depends on you deciding WHAT you really want with your car.. you have been viewing all type of car from all segment.. which mean you are still not confident on which type of car you want..
SUSnm7
post Jul 16 2014, 11:55 AM

192 posts

Uh... EVO X with SST? unless you really want to have an option for automatic shifting in the car... i'd say go with something like an EVO X GSR or RS from the grey market as outside mechs will also have problems with fixing the SST unit i believe... or even better, an EVO VII, VIII or IX... i prefer the IX for it's better looks compared to VI or VIII or even X (but, tats personal preference)....

mods are similarly easier with the WRX or Evo as there are more JDM tuners in KL than euro tuners... going to shops like ABT for the Golf GTi is bound to burn a huge hole in your wallet..

anyways.. either of this car is not going to be cheap to maintain (not like maintaining a camry anyways) if that is what you think it is... the EVOs and Imprezas will have loads of other fluids to change on top of the standard engine and transmission oil like diff oils and s-awc (evo) oils which might be a bit killing in the long run... the VW will just go according to what the manufacturer suggests and it will be the same wherever VW service center you go to....that, providing the car does not land into trouble as blown motors can often result into 5 figure repair bills if catastrophic enough....

the other good thing is that with JDMs... chop shop if often your good friend.. tuner brands are always an abundant and if new parts are not friendly with your wallet... the chop shop is always an option.... engine management can be sorted out with something a little more flexible like an hks f-con v pro instead of re-chipping or going towards standalone units if you are aiming for a motor that can run more reliably after upping the boost and the other SOP with gaining more power... so, the choices are a little more compared to euro models (that or i might not be as exposed to euro mods as i thought)...even things like suspension are more widely available without having to go to bilstein and you have more gadgetry toys like Tein's EDFC or EDFC Active to play with on JDM models (although Tein also releases it for the golf)

i am not sure what sort of mods your friend has in mind for the EVO X... but something as simple as titanium exhaust from tomei or fujitsubo can set you back quite a bit already while a steel unit from akrapovic for the gti is something in the range of RM7k i heard (in excess of RM10k for the EVO X for akrapovic Ti)...the only thing limiting the EVO X MR is actually the SST transmission as it can only take up to a certain amount of power output and it will require further strengthening to prevent it being torn apart which mostly means a lot of money to be spent once you reach that stage..

overall, JDMs are much more of a favorite between the tweakers and tinkerers because the amount of modifications that can be done is endless and widely available providing you have enough money of it...

it's a very complex topic this one... it is basically if you would like to be a repulsive teenager with loud blow off and wastegate sounds on the JDMs or the more sensible, stylish and mature man on the euro hot hatches... (not saying that the euro hot hatch can't be repulsive or the JDMs can't be stylish and mature but it is just what it is based on what you see on the streets)
darenot
post Jul 16 2014, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 16 2014, 09:37 AM)
Sat in one before and the noise itself is already hard to take for me. Oh well, it's subjective. Best would be to test drive and all questions would be answered.
the one u sat in before was standard or modified? dont use modified cars as comparison because samsengs will always change to noisy stupid exhausts without caring about power. stock evo X is not that noisy. in fact i hv driven much noisier stock cars

This post has been edited by darenot: Jul 16 2014, 11:56 AM
EyraYus
post Jul 16 2014, 12:04 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 15 2014, 08:45 PM)
doh.gif

seriously, you even dug out others posting from a month back simply to find some point to debate them??
Mavik
post Jul 16 2014, 12:28 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Yes he is absolutely correct on that, the EvoX can set a very fast time as well around Sepang and the parts are indeed cheaper.

The GTI really requires a lot of expensive mods in order to set a good laptime at Sepang.
Mavik
post Jul 16 2014, 12:31 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 16 2014, 11:55 AM)
i am not sure what sort of mods your friend has in mind for the EVO X... but something as simple as titanium exhaust from tomei or fujitsubo can set you back quite a bit already while a steel unit from akrapovic for the gti is something in the range of RM7k i heard (in excess of RM10k for the EVO X for akrapovic Ti)...the only thing limiting the EVO X MR is actually the SST transmission as it can only take up to a certain amount of power output and it will require further strengthening to prevent it being torn apart which mostly means a lot of money to be spent once you reach that stage..
The Akrapovic for the Golf GTI costs RM7k just for the back box. IINM, it is RM12k for the full downpipe + backbox for the Golf GTI. The problem with modding the Golf GTI is the expensive parts which all needs to be brought in from Europe and Australia. If no jalan, then usually the full tax is imposed. Otherwise some folks head down to Singapore to mod to get a cheaper alternative.
SUSnm7
post Jul 16 2014, 12:38 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 16 2014, 12:31 PM)
The Akrapovic for the Golf GTI costs RM7k just for the back box. IINM, it is RM12k for the full downpipe + backbox for the Golf GTI. The problem with modding the Golf GTI is the expensive parts which all needs to be brought in from Europe and Australia. If no jalan, then usually the full tax is imposed. Otherwise some folks head down to Singapore to mod to get a cheaper alternative.
and that's the steel version...

but people like akrapovic for it's signature exhaust note...
Mavik
post Jul 16 2014, 12:39 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 16 2014, 12:38 PM)
and that's the steel version...

but people like akrapovic for it's signature exhaust note...
More like the nice carbon bits at the tail end hahaha
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 16 2014, 12:41 PM

121 posts

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
but i am sure you're not that blind to see that they're totally different type or category of cars right?
Bus or Lorry also have massive power & torque way over than standard passenger cars, funny u didnt ask abt that too.... tongue.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SWIZZ: Jul 16 2014, 12:42 PM
zikre2003
post Jul 16 2014, 12:45 PM

285 posts

ini dah kenapa TS ni..haha
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 16 2014, 12:46 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Jul 8 2014, 01:33 PM)
Performance is not about just that number....
BTW, did you sit in a performance car before?
do one necessarily to sit in a performance car in order to know it is a performance car?

seriously bro, stop behaving like a retard lor, u've just made yourself a laughing stock here. close thread la

This post has been edited by SWIZZ: Jul 16 2014, 12:47 PM
^pomen_GTR^
post Jul 16 2014, 12:51 PM

1,077 posts

Car Noob
notworthy.gif
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

weight bro...u forgot weight...

handling oso...those pickup handling like bus....
winkiedilwy
post Jul 16 2014, 01:16 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

my dear...

GTI's 0-100 is 6.5s
Triton VGT??? years.
TSxuzen
post Jul 16 2014, 01:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jul 16 2014, 12:46 PM)
do one necessarily to sit in a performance car in order to know it is a performance car?

seriously bro, stop behaving like a retard lor, u've just made yourself a laughing stock here. close thread la
I am the TS, I tak nak close thread.

There are good stuff that I can learn here and of course three are also juvenile childish comments. I will not throw the baby out with the bath water nor cut of the nose to spite the face.

Keep them on coming, you guys are slowly turning me from a noob to an eager enthusiast!

dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 01:28 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 16 2014, 01:26 PM)

There are good stuff that I can learn here and of course three are also juvenile childish comments. I will not throw the baby out with the bath water nor cut of the nose to spite the face.

Keep them on coming, you guys are slowly turning me from a noob to an eager enthusiast!
A valid point nonetheless. But the stupid argument of pickups vs performance cars have gotta stop. It's starting to get on my nerves.
darenot
post Jul 16 2014, 01:29 PM

trolling and stirring up shit on internet forums is fun to TS

dtna7
post Jul 16 2014, 01:31 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(darenot @ Jul 16 2014, 11:56 AM)
the one u sat in before was standard or modified? dont use modified cars as comparison because samsengs will always change to noisy stupid exhausts without caring about power. stock evo X is not that noisy. in fact i hv driven much noisier stock cars
Indeed. I am unsure if it is modified or not.

But i stand by my point, where someone who is considering a GTi wouldn't pit it against an EvoX or a scooby, or vice versa. They are made for different people in the first place.
darenot
post Jul 16 2014, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 16 2014, 01:31 PM)
Indeed. I am unsure if it is modified or not.

But i stand by my point, where someone who is considering a GTi wouldn't pit it against an EvoX or a scooby, or vice versa. They are made for different people in the first place.
true to that, man.
Vervain
post Jul 17 2014, 12:18 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

OC4/3
post Jul 17 2014, 04:30 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 16 2014, 12:39 PM)
More like the nice carbon bits at the tail end hahaha
E-Penis very long if got Akrapovic badge on exhaust tips brows.gif

bigmac999
post Jul 17 2014, 04:53 AM

685 posts

lol
what track days that u see vw sharan and exora bolds? laugh.gif laugh.gif wanna kacau2
too bad i never seen those in sepang when i go there for track days sweat.gif
Mavik
post Jul 17 2014, 01:38 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(bigmac999 @ Jul 17 2014, 04:53 AM)
lol
what track days that u see vw sharan and exora bolds?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif wanna kacau2
too bad i never seen those in sepang when i go there for track days sweat.gif
The VW Sharan was there during VW Club Malaysia's trackday and the Exora Bold was there during the April ZTH's TimeToAttack open track day. The Exora Bold was donned with RaceChip stickers around if I can recall it correctly biggrin.gif

The VW Sharan had a baby seat in it so it was quite cool tongue.gif
bigmac999
post Jul 17 2014, 03:08 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 17 2014, 01:38 PM)
The VW Sharan was there during VW Club Malaysia's trackday and the Exora Bold was there during the April ZTH's TimeToAttack open track day. The Exora Bold was donned with RaceChip stickers around if I can recall it correctly biggrin.gif

The VW Sharan had a baby seat in it so it was quite cool tongue.gif
Nice nice
Those drivers have cojones driving mpvs on track days
Dont worry or afraid gonna flip hahaha
The baby seat = soccer moms car thumbup.gif
SUSnm7
post Jul 17 2014, 03:26 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(bigmac999 @ Jul 17 2014, 03:08 PM)
Dont worry or afraid gonna flip hahaha
if the tire has that much grip in the first place or the driver slides and hits both outside wheels on the curb.. else, rolling the car is not as easy as everyone thinks it will happen...

those cars ain't the reliant robin anyways...
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2014, 03:33 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 17 2014, 03:26 PM)
if the tire has that much grip in the first place or the driver slides and hits both outside wheels on the curb.. else, rolling the car is not as easy as everyone thinks it will happen...

need someone to post that dude at sepang with his hands touching the track during a corner that almost turtle his car
SUSnm7
post Jul 17 2014, 03:34 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2014, 03:33 PM)
need someone to post that dude at sepang with his hands touching the track during a corner that almost turtle his car
that one is stunt driving is it?
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2014, 03:41 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 17 2014, 03:34 PM)
that one is stunt driving is it?
nope, car almost turtle and the driver dunno why reached his hand out, and some photog captured that perfect moment
SUSSWIZZ
post Jul 17 2014, 03:58 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 16 2014, 01:26 PM)

close this 1 and restart another one with the right question bro.
like i've said. you're comparing a different category of vehicles.
at least get your question right.
bigmac999
post Jul 17 2014, 06:40 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jul 17 2014, 03:26 PM)

yeah need a super grippy tyre
and a moose test like corner
then the high gravity center causes the car to flip
OC4/3
post Jul 20 2014, 03:47 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2014, 03:33 PM)
Eh you serious??WTF is this?? shakehead.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2014, 05:22 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 20 2014, 03:47 AM)
Eh you serious??WTF is this?? shakehead.gif
Hmm don't got the link /picture saved... Maybe Nightstalker1993 can help XD

0.0472sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:28 PM