QUOTE(hafizhans @ Dec 5 2014, 03:31 PM)
Visit whole Kyushu.Try Hakata ramen
Got time then go S.Korea Busan by ferry.
Fukuoka morning market which is my most fav.
Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here
Dec 5 2014, 05:52 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
Dec 5 2014, 10:39 PM
431 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 5 2014, 04:24 PM) Shower was not a primary thing for Japanese. Japanese avg 1 week bath 1 to 3 times only. When you at Japan you can follow them. Bath 3 times a week only. That like when you go their Country also follow their culture apart from cooler weather, is it caused by tap water is costly there? |
Dec 5 2014, 10:54 PM
Dec 5 2014, 11:14 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(wyen @ Dec 5 2014, 03:12 PM) So which one is your favorite place then? I spent 3 weeks in in japan covering Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima and Tokyo. I would say Tokyo is my least favorite place maybe it's a city taking subways all the time made me sick cos it's no difference with KL Favourite place? It's hard to say, every place does have it's own charm. I prefer countryside type of place so far I like Kyoto the most...very clean and ride bike everywhere I like. If u ask me to go japan again I will definitely put kyoto in my list. Next May wanna go there again perhaps least touristy place, more outskirt so need your recommendations. Thanks But for me so far, I would have say that I like Nikko (near Tokyo) the most. It's a charming mountain town with multiple UNSECO sites, hot springs close by, a national park and even a lake up top. To finish it all up, there's TWO theme parks located close by. First is Nikko Edomura, a theme park that re-creates life in the olden Edo times, with costumed staff and period buildings. The second is Tobu World Square, a theme park with scaled miniatures of famous buildings and sites around the world. And the town that both these attractions are located at (Kinugawa-Onsen) is really fun to walk around in on its own too. Plus the local speciality Soba shop serves a mean Tenzaru Soba with handmade soba (that's not even *that* expensive). I'm actually quite sad I wasn't able to fit a few days in Nikko into this year's trip. It's a wonderful place - even now that I've had the chance to see a bit of what else Japan has got to offer. It's also quite outskirt-y and even though it's a popular tourist spot, it's not really crowded like Kyoto is tourist-wise so it's sounds perfect - if you haven't gone already. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 5 2014, 11:30 PM |
Dec 6 2014, 12:08 AM
Page 1 Takamatsu info been sightly update with adding Honetsukidori.
Dec 6 2014, 12:19 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Berlin |
guys just wondering
how much did you pay for your return tickets? a friend of mine managed to get RM1k for a return ticket for mas :/ sounds to good to be true |
Dec 6 2014, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(adix4 @ Dec 5 2014, 11:19 PM) guys just wondering I usually go Japan was free because working.how much did you pay for your return tickets? a friend of mine managed to get RM1k for a return ticket for mas :/ sounds to good to be true If On leave going personal then Rm900 for AirAsia X during super sales. Or usually I take Eva Air. Around RM2500 ++ RM1k plus for MAS was great deal This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 6 2014, 12:47 AM |
Dec 6 2014, 01:28 AM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(adix4 @ Dec 6 2014, 12:19 AM) guys just wondering Rm1k for Mas is a very good deal becoz usually mas around rm1.5k. I went to Tokyo last year with Air Asia only rm700 only.how much did you pay for your return tickets? a friend of mine managed to get RM1k for a return ticket for mas :/ sounds to good to be true |
Dec 6 2014, 06:40 AM
175 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(adix4 @ Dec 6 2014, 12:19 AM) guys just wondering RM1K for a return trip, and MAS somemore is really a good deal! When did your friend book? Mine is RM600++ with AirAsiahow much did you pay for your return tickets? a friend of mine managed to get RM1k for a return ticket for mas :/ sounds to good to be true |
Dec 6 2014, 07:46 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Berlin |
during promotion thats what he said lah
btw the cheapest i've gotten is RM1.3k during my last trip Jan 2014 which is KUL- KIX NRT - KUL and now return ticket from KUL- KIX NRT - KUL cost RM2.2k for MAS, RM1.2k for AAX (without food and all those extra charges obviously) thinking of going again next year or 2016, just waiting for the right time and promo to buy no rush anyways, am i the only one who thinks going to Kyoto (Temples area) is quite boring for my next trip thinking of going to Nikko after this, but after going to Kyoto I might be bored with temples/shrines Lol so i think of proceeding to Yokohama and Saitama for museum and sightseeing most likely because I don't share the same sentiment and religion as the Japanese |
Dec 6 2014, 11:11 AM
Dec 6 2014, 12:40 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,521 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The museum of housing and living at Osaka, the locker at the counter level is Y100 but refundable while the locker for the yukata counter is free.
Dec 6 2014, 04:28 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Pluto |
Dec 6 2014, 04:59 PM
Dec 7 2014, 01:45 PM
3,028 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: 梅田,大阪 //Sabah |
Throughout my trip so far, Osaka is my favourite. For food and long shopping street.
2nd would be Hakodate. |
Dec 7 2014, 02:41 PM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
I have just returned from Japan yesterday evening in one piece, although limping due to a pulled ligament in my knee from all the stair-climbing in the subway stations.
Japan is very seductive and addictive. Belum pergi belum tahu, sudah pergi lagi mahu. Initially, after booking our flight tickets and hotel through Expedia, I was very apprehensive about the trip, especially because of the different train operators and lines which are very confusing. I had thought of seeking advice through this thread, but was wary of RegentCid’s admonishments - “Do your Homework! No spoon-feeding!”. So, I read through ALL the 5 versions of the Japan threads (starting from this one, V5, and working backwards). Then, I checked out all the places in our itinerary through Hyperdia, printed out the schedules/stations which are relevant as well as print out the Google maps for the routes where we need to walk. So, RegentCid, I did my homework and I’m really grateful to you for being such a strict sensei because it really helped to make our trip easier. All in, it cost slightly over RM18,000 for our family of four. This includes: - Return air tickets from Penang to Narita via Cathay Pacific transiting through Hongkong - 6 nights in Chisun Hotel in Ueno (2 rooms, a bit small but comfy and clean, won’t hesitate to stay there again if we go to Tokyo) - 4 Keisei Skyliner (return) + 3-day subway pass combo tickets (¥5,400 each). We maximised use of the subway pass for the first 3 days - 2 tickets to Disneysea (bought from JTB before our departure) for my children - 4 tickets to Ghibli museum - 3 tickets to Sanrio Puroland - 1 return Willer bus ticket from Tokyo to Kyoto (for my son) - 1-day Kyoto bus pass - Pasmo cards (used after the third day when the subway pass has expired) - entrance fees to museums etc. - 63 (yes, you read right) packets of Kitkat (different flavours). What to do, my children want 5 flavours each for some of their friends - 6 packets of Tokyo Banana - 6 packets of Shiroi Koibito - umpteen Hello Kitty stuff (for daughter) - loads and loads of other stuff (souvenirs, jeans, shoes etc.) We had to buy a new 28-inch luggage bag there to carry all our shopping stuff back. Now resting my leg and waiting for cheap tickets before going to Japan again. |
Dec 7 2014, 02:41 PM
Places we visited:
1st day - Harajuku (Takeshita-dori, Meiji Jingu, Yoyogi Park, Kiddyland, Oriental Bazaar, Omote-sando), Shibuya (Hachiko, Shibuya crossing, Tokyu Hands, Loft, Parco). Ate Ichiran ramen in Shibuya, waited for more than half-an-hour in the queue and the ramen was worth the wait. The broth was really full of flavour. 2nd day - My children went to Disneysea while my spouse and I wandered around Ameyoko area (visited Takeya and Don Quijote) as well as went to Asakusa (Nakamise shopping street) 3rd day - Tsukiji Fish Market, Ginza, Imperial Palace, Akihabara (Tokyo Animation Centre), Shinjuku (Tokyo Metropolitan Government Centre, Kabukicho, Golden Gai). At night, my son took the Willer night bus to Kyoto for a day visit. 4th day - Sanrio Puroland. On the way back, stopped at Shinjuku for dinner. 5th day - Jiyugaoka (we had the most amazing baked cheese tart here. We saw a long line of people queuing up outside the shop, and being the kiasu people we are, we joined the queue. Each person is only allowed to buy a maximum of 12 cheese tarts.), Shimokitazawa, Ghibli Museum, Roppongi (Mori Museum). 6th day - Around Ueno (Tokyo National Museum, Yanaka Ginza), Ryogoku (Edo-Tokyo Museum), Odaiba (Rainbow Bridge, Venus Fort, Toyota Megaweb). 7th day - Flight back via Hongkong at 9am from Narita. This post has been edited by jernih: Dec 7 2014, 03:08 PM |
Dec 7 2014, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(jernih @ Dec 7 2014, 01:41 PM) Japan is very seductive and addictive. Belum pergi belum tahu, sudah pergi lagi mahu. Initially, after booking our flight tickets and hotel through Expedia, I was very apprehensive about the trip, especially because of the different train operators and lines which are very confusing. I had thought of seeking advice through this thread, but was wary of RegentCid’s admonishments - “Do your Homework! No spoon-feeding!”. So, I read through ALL the 5 versions of the Japan threads (starting from this one, V5, and working backwards). Then, I checked out all the places in our itinerary through Hyperdia, printed out the schedules/stations which are relevant as well as print out the Google maps for the routes where we need to walk. So, RegentCid, I did my homework and I’m really grateful to you for being such a strict sensei because it really helped to make our trip easier. Ini orang kaya. The way you spent really 63 packed of Kitkat. RM18,000 |
Dec 7 2014, 05:37 PM
Bukan orang kaya. Like you said, most visitors to Japan are wowed by the shopping. Everything we see, must buy!
Also, just finished all the unpacking. Latest stock-check, correction, 70 packets of Kitkat. |
Dec 7 2014, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(jernih @ Dec 7 2014, 05:37 PM) Bukan orang kaya. Like you said, most visitors to Japan are wowed by the shopping. Everything we see, must buy! You remember what is the price for 1 box of 10 pcs? I removed all price tags and forgotten how much it was. I got myself 5 boxes too Also, just finished all the unpacking. Latest stock-check, correction, 70 packets of Kitkat. |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:57 PM |