Huawei MediaPad X1 - Official Thread V2, Kitkat is here !! R002C234B007 Taiwan

benny888
post Sep 11 2014, 09:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(behrouz2014 @ Sep 11 2014, 08:41 PM)
i read a review indicates that B007 ram managments developed and free ram increased to 1 gig.
which improvments did you seen in device performance after upgrading to B102 ?
I would say ram is an unnecessary worry. It doesn't matter how much free ram you have. The android os will auto manage it. In Google words " unused ram is wasted ram". This phone has more than enough ram at 2gb n at anytime my free ram is hovering around 1gb. This will differ among users as depends on type of app you are running. So I am unable to say whether there is an improvement as I never bother to really monitor it
My phone till today had never hung or crashed despite running many app at same time
Guys who tried to tinker with such stuffs will only bring unexpected issues. I have tried these stunts before in my early years using Android. After getting to understand how Android works I have stayed away from task killers, memory management/booster app etc
I only spend couple of hours on kitkat n phone back to my missus. Can't say much except it seems be slightly smoother n slicker. My missus has zero complains on kitkat. She uses it more as a mini tablet for browsing, facebook, reading news, email etc
Anyway my habit is always to upgrade all my gadgets to their latest versions. Not so concerned good or bad. If unhappy just downgrade it back.

benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 12:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Sep 12 2014, 12:17 AM)
My experience on kitkat is the ram used is less about 1 gig free compare to 700 to 800M free. Kitkat is also very much smoother and less lag.  My only complaint is the text wrapping or text reflow after zooming is gone making my reading a bit messy. Also when miracasting to TV there is less lag in the mirroring function. All in all better experience although one has to watch the internal memory as writing to external SD card is somewhat restricted.
Writing to ext sdcard is kitkat restriction n affect all kitkat phones. At least the internal files manager can write onto it. For app did you try nextapp sdfix ( need root) to overcome it?
This wrap failed text is in which app?
benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 08:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Sep 12 2014, 08:05 AM)
Sorry my phone is not rooted. The text reflow is applicable to Web browser and many apps that has a text box. After zoom the text in kitkat so not readjust in the new zoom area n one has to move the page left and right to read.
Can you give some example of the apps?
benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 11:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Sep 12 2014, 10:54 AM)
Say I am using Boat Browser as an, example..... . After zoom to larger text the text don't rearrange itself but have to scroll right to read the rest of the sentence.
I always try to use mobile version of most of the websites I used
For Boat - I rarely faced such issues as I had set the fonts to a very easy readable size at Text Scaling 140% : even on desktop mode I can easily read it without any zooming
You need to experiment yourself to find the best text size
For this X1 - I find Dolphin browser is best if you are concerned about such zooming issues

benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 11:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I read on forum XDA several users commented fonts too big as is 400dpi on KitKat. Google Now launcher cannot be installed because of this. I was unable to find the parameter ro.sf.lcd density in the build.prop file for this dpi setting
Seriously I don't notice the icons/font sizes are any substantially noticeably bigger than JB ( B007)
I tested and Google Now launcher can be easily installed and run without any issues
Strange that some users faces such problems on their kitkat

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 12 2014, 11:59 AM
benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 05:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Sep 12 2014, 04:00 PM)
Opera browser has the text wrapping or reflow function but when I install my x1 suddenly freezes for 1or 2 minutes .......anyone installed opera experience the same problem?
Just tested installing n no such issues
Since already installed will test this browser
Had never like it previously
benny888
post Sep 12 2014, 11:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(raja.bersiong @ Sep 12 2014, 11:00 PM)
How bout the 400 DPI?
You using Google Launcher?
Will all the Apps workable?
Please read my earlier comments #758
So far no problem w app. What app are you concerned about
benny888
post Sep 15 2014, 10:43 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 15 2014, 09:54 AM)
This or secondhand Tab S 8.4?
Tab S is really too big to be used as a phone. It is unpocketable. More suitable as a tablet
The X1 is a phablet
Decision will be based on one's needs of getting these gadgets.
Overall the Tab S 8.4 has higher hardware specs vs this X1
benny888
post Sep 15 2014, 10:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 15 2014, 10:46 AM)
Will hands on both this weekend. Is this display almost on par with Tab S 8.4 despite it's SAMOLED?
Display depends on individual preferences
I had compared before both and I still find the Tab colors oversaturated n fake. I prefer the X1 display anytime over it.
benny888
post Sep 15 2014, 05:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Sandisk 128gb class 10 working well on this X1
Now I can keep my favorite audio n movie files ( totalling close to 50gb) plus audible n ebook collections.

benny888
post Sep 15 2014, 07:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 15 2014, 06:52 PM)
But need to for manas FAT32 as well?

Btw, what app you used to view the SDcard pproperties as in the attached picture?
Yes in Fat 32
The app is Solid Explorer

benny888
post Sep 16 2014, 08:00 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Ip6+ can never be a replacement for this. If i get the ip6+ it would be only my spare phone. And it'd be an expensive toy as would be mainly unused. No idea how much better ios8 will be but till ios7 I am still unhappy with it. I had used all the iphone series till ip5 ( skipped ip5s) n yet to be fully impressed other than its smoothness. Its closed system needing itunes n its poorer browser, email ( vs Android) is a turn off. Must say most of iphone apps are good n i wont say is top of the world as expounded by its fans.
Had read several user comments on XDA about kitkat on X1. Strange some cannot install Google launcher ( claiming incompatible), google+, agoda, foursquare etc
I have zero problems on these app. They claimed is the 400dpi issue of which personally i dont see any significant differences
Only issue with Kitkat is I need to edit some system r/w files ( see post 4) before installing xposed mod, titanium backup ( so that can write onto ext sdcard), nextapp sdfix ( to enabled some app only to write onto ext sdcard). Is just a one off task only.
benny888
post Sep 16 2014, 08:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zack8654 @ Sep 16 2014, 08:42 AM)
I'm new in this forum. Just update to kitkat, but mis out tablet look on this X1. Are there any reason in need downgread beside tablet fell look? Uncle benny,  It's b006 stable beside b002?
Yes no issues w B006 n B007
Why dont you test out kitkat b102 instead?
This is meant to be a phone first tablet second.
Get a nexus7 instead if you prefer a tablet

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 16 2014, 08:56 AM
benny888
post Sep 16 2014, 03:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(amincom @ Sep 16 2014, 02:41 PM)
Be ware,More than 32g can be used for storage only but not for update install as I have tried with 64g with no success.
I don't understand your comment
My previous 64gb I used until left 8gb space left only
This 128gb as of now only 30+ gb space left only
And I last install B102 firmware from the ext sdcard ( 64gb) with only 9 gb space left
Could it be some of partition is already spoil in your ext sdcard??

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 16 2014, 03:12 PM
benny888
post Sep 17 2014, 07:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(saerdryl @ Sep 17 2014, 02:11 AM)
hi
i have update my 7D 501 L in 4.4.2 B102, i have used Vroot 1.7.8. i have installet S U and busybox, granted root access to roo browser but i can change the property of build.prop in rwxrwxrwx.

operation failedmessage: operation failed. Message : cmod: /system/build.prop : operation not permited

So i need some help :)
What app did you use to do that ? Try using solid exlorer or root explorer
benny888
post Sep 19 2014, 03:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Guys - anyone knows how to disabled such annoying Consumption Reminder notifications. I am very happy with the X1 battery life and I find this just a nuisance

benny888
post Sep 19 2014, 04:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Sep 19 2014, 03:51 PM)
Phone manager , power saving , setting , power-intensive prompt
Thanks a lot. Will check it up when I am back home

benny888
post Sep 19 2014, 08:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(amincom @ Sep 19 2014, 08:40 PM)
New firm release for 501L (7D-501L V100R001 C129 B111)
Direct download link http://huaweidevices.ru/64wsdf572355dfsdf/...Android_4.4.rar

Site: http://huaweidevices.ru/huawei-mediapad-x1-7d-501u501l503l/
Thanks for the headsup... will go n download it now
Russian based ??
benny888
post Sep 19 2014, 09:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Sep 19 2014, 09:23 PM)
hope it fix annoying bugs. or else I might can't tahan and let go the phone sooner than expected tongue.gif
Seriously what type of bugs are you facing.. I don't seem to find any ??
If certain apps incompatibility easily solved by editing the system R/W files and follow it by installing the app
benny888
post Sep 19 2014, 09:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Sep 19 2014, 09:26 PM)
Anyone know when will MediaPad X2 coming out?? smile.gif
Is there even a X2 in planning stage ??

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:59 AM