Visiting Cambodia

TSgaeria84
post Jul 9 2014, 02:38 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(arsengal @ Jul 9 2014, 06:24 AM)
Been to Cambodia last year. It's a great place to visit if you want to learn the history of the nation there, how the Khmer fell by Communists cruelty. I recommend you visit the Killing Field in PP.

Siem Reap is a beautiful place, away from the hassle of the big city. It's peaceful and I travel by bicycle only to discover the whole town. I guess you have planned all the place of interest over there to be visited so I won't talk into detail about that. If you want to take the tuk tuk, let the hotel you're staying arrange it for you. The price should be cheaper if you do it like that. There's a Malaysian owned curry house in Siem Reap (I forgot the name), visit it if you have the time to.

Safety in Cambodia is one thing that you should be concerned about. Beware, really beware of pickpockets. Like any other traveller would do, keep your cash in few places, don't bulk it all into your wallet. People there will look into any opportunity to dig out your cash from your pocket, be it by buying their souvenirs to even selling you marijuana by the side of the road. Just be extra careful.

And if you plan to cheong, I suggest just keep that little brother inside the pants and forget about it. Unless you have someone over there that really knows a good place to Cheong and you cannot tahan sangat dah, then only take the risk. Personal experience, Cheong price 20$(wah wah good price), I walked back home realizing 100 Ringgit (I have MYR still at that time just in case) was stolen, while my friend lost 200$ off his wallet. The trick is they put a cloth hanger just beside the door, the girl will hang your clothes for you over there, and when you syiok banging the girl (which they won't change position so that you won't be facing your clothes), someone from outside the room will sneak in and take your money. It sucks bad(both the sex & the loss) and I stopped cheonging ever since.

There's a Muslim village you might be interested to check out in Siem Reap. Muslims there can talk Malay very well (they say their religious teachers usually comes from Malaysia) and they're very helpful to show you around the places. Since Khmer people don't speak English much, and ppl at this village are the ones that I could talk to easily, I was very grateful for their assistance during my stay over there.
Where can I find this delicious curry house? drool.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 08:50 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(arsengal @ Jul 10 2014, 12:50 AM)
Here you go sir

http://www.tripadvisor.com.my/Restaurant_R...p_Province.html

There's a triple Gandhi face mural on one of the walls in the restaurant

If you have the chance, chat with the owner. He loves it when Malaysians come over
Ok, will do drool.gif

QUOTE(kryew @ Jul 10 2014, 08:35 AM)
If you have some time to spare, stop over at battambang. You can enjoy bamboo train over there. It's something that you can't find anywhere else. And the scenery is super gooding. I was awed by it. Besides bamboo train, visit Phnom sampeu. At night, enjoy the circus show. Theirs circus show is performed by students and the proceed from the show goes to them as well. Besides the show, you may opt to have buffet dinner at the circus compound. Food is nothing to shout about, but the little $$ we give them goes a long way.
I memang stopping over in Battambang, and plan to do all 3, plus gonna try the coffee at Kinyei biggrin.gif

TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 12:05 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jul 9 2014, 10:06 PM)
Hi..please do share your experience after the travel smile.gif

next years Jan I going solo backpacker style smile.gif from siem reap > phnom penh > viet smile.gif
Not going Luang Prabang and Vientiane in Laos? hmm.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 05:17 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 10 2014, 09:20 AM)
torch light, checked.

thanks for reminding me, i think i need to bring extra battery as well.  biggrin.gif
Let me know how's the weather there ya wink.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 08:29 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jul 10 2014, 08:27 PM)
nope..from Siem reap > Phonm Penh > Ho chi minh all the way up to Hanoi..Duration 1 month +-  laugh.gif
I going Hanoi end of this year, maybe can meet up? brows.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 11:04 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jul 10 2014, 08:40 PM)
already reach hanoi why not continue to ho chi minh?
He mentioned HCM d mar

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jul 10 2014, 08:59 PM)
hmm.gif

I go Ho chi minh first then travel by bus all the way up to Hanoi  laugh.gif the bus will stop at few destination (the more stop the more expensive) choose the place you like to stop and backpack few days

For example; The route with the most segments takes you from Ho Chi Minh City (A) -> Mui Ne (B) -> Da Lat © -> Nha Trang (D) -> Hoi An (E) -> Hue (F) -> Hanoi (G). You can stop by at all of these locations
Fuh, you got so much time, so jelly sad.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 10 2014, 11:29 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Jul 10 2014, 11:08 PM)
Do it when you have time  whistling.gif once start work can't do such long travel  laugh.gif
When got time, no money. When got money, no time. laugh.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 08:45 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jul 11 2014, 12:19 AM)
dunwan to take the train? anyway have a good time . you will love the experience. I took sleeper bus from seam reap to phnom Penh took me 13 hrs.
ya Kah? didn't noticed.
SR to PP 13 hours so long? ohmy.gif
Btw, they got night bus in Cambodia? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 11 2014, 08:46 AM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 10:29 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(afaidhi88 @ Jul 11 2014, 08:49 AM)
try to learn speak khmer u might can nego alot.
Arkun brows.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 12:30 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(afaidhi88 @ Jul 11 2014, 10:42 AM)
arun suasedey.. lol
I want to buy toys/gifts for the children there, any suggestions?

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 11 2014, 12:24 PM)
weather forecast, everyday rain rain rain!!!  rclxub.gif
Bring umbrella laugh.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 12:34 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jul 11 2014, 12:33 PM)
yup. I took the night bus.left about 8.00pm.reach PP at 9am. sleeper bus seat very keras one.lol. you will also get to smell macam2 "aroma" especially if you are at the lower level.
Can tell me what bus company? Is it Capitol or Sorya?
Would like to give this a try

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 11 2014, 12:35 PM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 12:46 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 11 2014, 12:41 PM)
if like that

umbrella, raincoat also no use  laugh.gif
Won't rain whole day la, go enjoy your trip icon_rolleyes.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 03:22 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jul 11 2014, 01:14 PM)
sorry I can't remember how much and what company  rclxub.gif I booked it through my hotel - Tanei Guesthouse
Ah I see. I heard you can't choose your bus company if you book through the hotel. hmm.gif
I'm trying to avoid Sorya cause got many bad reviews laugh.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 11 2014, 04:37 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Jul 11 2014, 04:15 PM)
actually you can. mine has a list of bus company with its listed availability (pickup time). I went for the most expensive one. but then looking at the condition, i dunno which part is worth the price I pay.

Those that charge cheaper; I cannot imagine how the bus condition is gonna be  rclxub.gif
That's good to hear rclxm9.gif

Heard Cambodia bus service is very bad, I thought Thai buses were terrible, I can't imagine how bad Cambodia buses must be..

Gonna book Capitol bus, they seem a bit better laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 11 2014, 04:39 PM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 13 2014, 11:03 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 13 2014, 06:05 PM)
Second day here, still survive.  rclxm9.gif

Yesterday arrived around 8am local time, siem reap welcome me with a very nice weather. But after a while, it getting very very hot. After my brunch around 11am, it suddenly rain! But....only for 1mins  blink.gif

So got a bike and proceed to the temples. After angkor wat i proceed to bayon, it suddenly pour....raining cats n dogs....  shocking.gif  luckily there's hut right beside, so i just turn in and wait there.
After 5 mins, rain stop.... So continue go in bayon, and it start to rain again.....  rclxub.gif
So i just walk walk look look inside while waiting for the rain to stop again....  sweat.gif
After 10 min rain stop, and i continua the rest of my visit until 4pm+.... No more rain after that.  rclxms.gif

Second day, this morning.... Rush to the temple at 4:30am, sunrise and do the grand circle.... Damn kau hot i tell u, i feel my arms got sun burn by... 10am.... rclxub.gif
I finish my big circle by 1pm.....and thought i can visit some temples in small circle.... But really cannot.... Too hot, exhausted.... Arms burning...Watson's sunscreen fail...  vmad.gif
On my way back, i see the road is wet....i think it rain along the way to angkor wat.

Tomorrow? Hopefully sunny weather lo...and also nice sunrise, pls....

One thing to take note, it's very dusty here......even after rain.... Bring ur mask with u  laugh.gif

[attachmentid=4052569]
Ok, nice to know got some sunny days smile.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 17 2014, 08:19 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 13 2014, 06:05 PM)
Second day here, still survive.  rclxm9.gif

Yesterday arrived around 8am local time, siem reap welcome me with a very nice weather. But after a while, it getting very very hot. After my brunch around 11am, it suddenly rain! But....only for 1mins  blink.gif

So got a bike and proceed to the temples. After angkor wat i proceed to bayon, it suddenly pour....raining cats n dogs....  shocking.gif  luckily there's hut right beside, so i just turn in and wait there.
After 5 mins, rain stop.... So continue go in bayon, and it start to rain again.....  rclxub.gif
So i just walk walk look look inside while waiting for the rain to stop again....  sweat.gif
After 10 min rain stop, and i continua the rest of my visit until 4pm+.... No more rain after that.  rclxms.gif

Second day, this morning.... Rush to the temple at 4:30am, sunrise and do the grand circle.... Damn kau hot i tell u, i feel my arms got sun burn by... 10am.... rclxub.gif
I finish my big circle by 1pm.....and thought i can visit some temples in small circle.... But really cannot.... Too hot, exhausted.... Arms burning...Watson's sunscreen fail...   vmad.gif
On my way back, i see the road is wet....i think it rain along the way to angkor wat.

Tomorrow? Hopefully sunny weather lo...and also nice sunrise, pls....  whistling.gif

One thing to take note, it's very dusty here......even after rain.... Bring ur mask with u

[attachmentid=4052569]
Btw, just ask.

That welcome to angkor sign, how far is it from town? Is it before the angkor entrance checkpoint or after? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 17 2014, 08:20 PM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 18 2014, 09:09 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 18 2014, 09:06 AM)
it's after the check point, 4-5km from town kua... i cycle for about 20mins
Adus, thought can go snap photo there on the last day
TSgaeria84
post Jul 18 2014, 08:36 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jul 18 2014, 09:38 AM)
u'll pass by there 2 times a day, sure have chance. i took this photo when im on my way back to town.
Okies unsure.gif

QUOTE(hellojune @ Jul 18 2014, 11:15 AM)
hiii  rclxms.gif  anyone itinerary might share for 4D3N? where should I go? and what MUST try in Siem Reap?? anyone trustable ground tour that can suggest for me?

We will be staying in Boutique Indochine Hotel & Spa..
thank you soooooooooo much  smile.gif
When you go? hmm.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 21 2014, 05:28 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(hellojune @ Jul 21 2014, 02:35 PM)
I'm going at Nov  tongue.gif
Ceh. dry.gif

QUOTE(ThekidZ @ Jul 21 2014, 04:22 PM)
Any particular good massage to recommend in siem reap? Clean as i really wanted to get my bone loosen up! haha im going this week
Why this week? Go la next week cry.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 27 2014, 05:30 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jul 26 2014, 06:52 PM)
Woot! Forgot which day here tongue.gif

Fun with the occasional rain but the people here are friendly!

Oh ya the FOS in pub street in Siem Reap. Real FOS? Saw some round neck tees but don't know about the authenticity.  Lol.
You there now? I will be there this week

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0222sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:17 PM