7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Visiting Cambodia

TSgaeria84
post Jul 5 2014, 06:16 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Jul 5 2014, 06:11 PM)
oops, i lost track of the season there. didn't realize it's wet season now sweat.gif things change when you are no longer there, huh?
Try to avoid all water transport during rainy seasons. Pretty extreme season there. Dry until sand everywhere by the road, and when it rains....
the photo should show. and trust me when i say the rivers roar 75% of the time when it rains
and i agree with duckhole. taxi is the best over there if u do not know how to speak their language or dun look like them. they love to chop us off. Luckily for us, i had a stepcousin who looks like a local (coz she's half Cambodian) and a stepmum who really can argue and speak their language. somewhat well-known around the tuk tuk drivers there alredi sweat.gif
Taxi cheaper than tuktuk? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 5 2014, 06:16 PM
TheDuckster
post Jul 5 2014, 06:26 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 5 2014, 06:16 PM)
Taxi cheaper than tuktuk?  shocking.gif
look at it this way la: local taxi here, some chop tourists off, some are really honest
over there: chop = tuk tuks, honest: taxi's
SUSvmammoth
post Jul 5 2014, 06:37 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(duckhole @ Jul 5 2014, 01:03 PM)
raining season now....

this was yesterday. rain 1 hour already like that... rain continue for another 3 hour, whole town was flooded.

i am living in cambodia for the past 5 years already, some of the things people tell you here are over exaggerated but yes there are shitty times.

taxi is cheaper than tuk tuks for sure, they go on meters, all of them.

tuk tuk will chop you at every opportunity possible.

if in phnom penh can take taxi to the places of interest, not expensive and 24 hours.

some hotels are shitty and some are cheap and good, depend on which hotel you stay.

how many days will you be in phnom penh? if i am free might be able to bring you to some places to eat.
Any good place to cheong?
TSgaeria84
post Jul 5 2014, 06:59 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Jul 5 2014, 06:26 PM)
look at it this way la: local taxi here, some chop tourists off, some are really honest
over there: chop = tuk tuks, honest: taxi's
Oh ok... but if short distance, taxi cheaper or tuktuk cheaper? hmm.gif

QUOTE(vmammoth @ Jul 5 2014, 06:37 PM)
Where indeed? brows.gif
TheDuckster
post Jul 5 2014, 08:44 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 5 2014, 06:59 PM)
Oh ok... but if short distance, taxi cheaper or tuktuk cheaper?  hmm.gif
Where indeed?  brows.gif
depends....some tuk tuks will chop u off still coz u r a tourist, some will just charge cheap coz it's so near.
i still recommend tuk tuks tho. The taxi use US dollars for meter.
TSgaeria84
post Jul 6 2014, 02:07 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(TheDuckster @ Jul 5 2014, 08:44 PM)
depends....some tuk tuks will chop u off still coz u r a tourist, some will just charge cheap coz it's so near.
i still recommend tuk tuks tho. The taxi use US dollars for meter.
Wait, so I can bring riel also?
TheDuckster
post Jul 6 2014, 02:11 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 6 2014, 02:07 AM)
Wait, so I can bring riel also?
tuk tuk drivers like any other taxi driver appreciate exact change.
but since u r tourist, they will probably say in USD anyways.
but just bring the riel together with u. not like it burdens ur wallet by 200%~
SUSskater_noob922
post Jul 6 2014, 03:27 AM

108 posts

The weather is very hot. Don't eat the food at the hawker or stalls.
Couldn't also trust their bottled water, because it might have contaminated.
Last time I went there, I had diarrhea. But maybe it was just me because the other people in that group seems ok.

If you're muslim, there are few halal restaurant operated by the malay.
But still their food taste weird. I almost havent got the appetite to eat anything there.
duckhole
post Jul 6 2014, 07:58 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(vmammoth @ Jul 5 2014, 06:37 PM)
QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 5 2014, 06:59 PM)
Oh ok... but if short distance, taxi cheaper or tuktuk cheaper?  hmm.gif
Where indeed?  brows.gif
short distance taxi also cheaper, taxi charge $1 -2 only for short distance.

tuk tuk see you tourist, they want at least $5

got many places to cheong lo, several places i usually bring my friends go when they do come visit tongue.gif
TSgaeria84
post Jul 6 2014, 01:27 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(duckhole @ Jul 6 2014, 07:58 AM)
short distance taxi also cheaper, taxi charge $1 -2 only for short distance.

tuk tuk see you tourist, they want at least $5

got many places to cheong lo, several places i usually bring my friends go when they do come visit tongue.gif
Meh, I will just rent a scooter then, but I heard they don't provide helmet cry.gif
duckhole
post Jul 6 2014, 01:47 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 6 2014, 01:27 PM)
Meh, I will just rent a scooter then, but I heard they don't provide helmet  cry.gif
have la. but can buy own for $2-5 also have,
TSgaeria84
post Jul 6 2014, 03:11 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(skater_noob922 @ Jul 6 2014, 03:27 AM)
The weather is very hot. Don't eat the food at the hawker or stalls.
Couldn't also trust their bottled water, because it might have contaminated.
Last time I went there, I had diarrhea. But maybe it was just me because the other people in that group seems ok.

If you're muslim, there are few halal restaurant operated by the malay.
But still their food taste weird. I almost havent got the appetite to eat anything there.
Ni dah macam India ni.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(duckhole @ Jul 6 2014, 01:47 PM)
have la. but can buy own for $2-5 also have,
Ok. I think renting scooter is a cheaper option in Phnom Penh.

Cannot ride scooter in Siem Reap though sad.gif
mousqy
post Jul 7 2014, 09:50 AM

758 posts

its hot ... do wear goretex material
dont forget to try cambodian pizza yo
Leong Dei Prince
post Jul 7 2014, 12:54 PM

517 posts

i will visit siem reap this coming sunday wif gf. i hire a local tour guide to bring us around. hopefully things turn up alright >.<
crayzee
post Jul 7 2014, 04:45 PM

901 posts

I just back from Siem Reap last saturday. Trip was awesome but the weather very hot in the afternoon. Sky was clear in the mornings and usually showers/cloudy in the evening. Managed to catch nice sunrise on all 5 days when i was there.

Oh if you're planning to go to The Haven, please make booking ahead. It was fully booked 2days when i went there. Food there was awesome thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by crayzee: Jul 7 2014, 04:48 PM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 7 2014, 08:57 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Jul 7 2014, 09:50 AM)
its hot ... do wear goretex material
dont forget to try cambodian pizza yo
What's goretex? hmm.gif

Where can I find this delicious cambodian pizza? drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Jul 7 2014, 12:07 PM)
get ur hotel to hire the taxi for u...usually the hotel will make sure u won't get cheated.

these "taxis" don't have the taxi sign on them.
Hotels got 'surcharge' one.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Leong Dei Prince @ Jul 7 2014, 12:54 PM)
i will visit siem reap this coming sunday wif gf. i hire a local tour guide to bring us around. hopefully things turn up alright >.<
How many days?

QUOTE(crayzee @ Jul 7 2014, 04:45 PM)
I just back from Siem Reap last saturday. Trip was awesome but the weather very hot in the afternoon. Sky was clear in the mornings and usually showers/cloudy in the evening. Managed to catch nice sunrise on all 5 days when i was there.

Oh if you're planning to go to The Haven, please make booking ahead. It was fully booked 2days when i went there. Food there was awesome  thumbup.gif
Not going there for fine dining, but could check it out when I am there unsure.gif

Guys, will anyone be in Battambang on 31st? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Jul 7 2014, 09:10 PM
crayzee
post Jul 8 2014, 11:53 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 7 2014, 08:57 PM)
Not going there for fine dining, but could check it out when I am there   unsure.gif
It's not fine dining, just a restaurant. Foods are at reasonable prices. Try the Amok, it was very good. The pumpkin burger is damn good as well smile.gif

You can check out the price here http://www.havencambodia.com/en/menu/our-menu/

This post has been edited by crayzee: Jul 8 2014, 11:56 AM
Leong Dei Prince
post Jul 8 2014, 12:07 PM

517 posts

How many days?
4 days 3 nites smile.gif
just worry bout foods though as my gf tummy is very sensitive

This post has been edited by Leong Dei Prince: Jul 8 2014, 12:08 PM
TSgaeria84
post Jul 8 2014, 01:05 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Jul 8 2014, 11:07 AM)
i rather hv surcharge than to hire those taxis outside..who knows, after ward they kidnap you to somewhere.
Cambodia is a safe country, right? sweat.gif

QUOTE(crayzee @ Jul 8 2014, 11:53 AM)
It's not fine dining, just a restaurant. Foods are at reasonable prices. Try the Amok, it was very good. The pumpkin burger is damn good as well  smile.gif

You can check out the price here http://www.havencambodia.com/en/menu/our-menu/

Ok i am tempted drool.gif
Got free apsara dance performance like temple bar?

QUOTE(Leong Dei Prince @ Jul 8 2014, 12:07 PM)
4 days 3 nites smile.gif
just worry bout foods though as my gf tummy is very sensitive
Oh, i am just there for 3d 2n. Planning to do 3 day angkor tour?
duckhole
post Jul 8 2014, 02:03 PM

379 posts

What's goretex?  hmm.gif

Where can I find this delicious cambodian pizza?  drool.gif  drool.gif
Hotels got 'surcharge' one..  laugh.gif
How many days?
Not going there for fine dining, but could check it out when I am there  unsure.gif

Guys, will anyone be in Battambang on 31st?  unsure.gif
no surcharge for taxi, they just help you call only.

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 8 2014, 01:05 PM)
Cambodia is a safe country, right? sweat.gif
Ok i am tempted drool.gif
Got free apsara dance performance like temple bar?
Oh, i am just there for 3d 2n. Planning to do 3 day angkor tour?
cambodia is safe for non mat sallehs, cainis, melei, yindian all look like the locals here.

seldom get targeted unless you show off your shinies tongue.gif

you will need 1 full day from morning to night to visit majority of the temples in siem reap, around the angkor wat still got many temples and the old capitol city.

spend 1 more day in the cultural village and other places of interest there lo. cultural village got many shows, big one is before dinner time.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:40 AM