Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V11, Strictly on technical discussion ONLY!

miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 11:43 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 17 2014, 11:35 AM)
Well, you can install launcher to Mi3. So its same as AOSP + launcher. So I'm not sure what you're getting at?  rclxub.gif
I didn't say we can't doh.gif

I said about Custom Romlah not launcher tongue.gif

Launcher is a launcher (main screen interface and etc), ROM is a ROM (AOKP/AOSP/MIUI/TW/etc..)

Both are 2 diff things.

As for IOS interface, most android phone can install IOS launcher or theme and make it like ios brows.gif

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jul 17 2014, 11:44 AM
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 11:45 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jul 17 2014, 11:43 AM)
May i know what is AOSP?
check here:
http://highonandroid.com/android-roms/what-is-aosp/

How to tell an AOSP ROM from TouchWiz/Sense/MotoBlur ROM?
AOSP ROMs usually ship with its own “vanilla” launcher that looks like Android original launcher.  This may include launchers like Trebuchet (for CyanogenMod) or just Android Jelly Bean launcher.

Of course, some non-AOSP ROMs also ship with Nova launcher, which may fool you into thinking that its an AOSP ROM since Nova launcher mimics the Android “vanilla” launcher.

Another way to tell an AOSP ROM from TouchWiz/Sense/MotoBlur ROM is by the size of the custom ROM zip file.

Most AOSP ROMs such as CM10.1, AOKP, or ParanoidAndroid are less than 200MB on average in size (size of ROM zip file).

TouchWiz, Sense, or MotoBlur ROMs are usually bigger than 500MB on average and most near 1GB.

Why the big difference in size?

Well, that’s how much bloatware Samsung, HTC, and Motorola adds on to the existing AOSP code.  Everything including UI, features, sounds, and carrier-dependent apps add up to more file size.

That doesn’t necessarily mean non-AOSP ROMs run slower but in most cases, AOSP ROMs do run faster than non-AOSP ROMs since they don’t include the extra stuff.

Is AOSP ROMs better than non-AOSP ROMs?
AOSP ROMs may be better than non-AOSP ROMs but that all depends on your preference.

For example, if I installed an AOSP ROM like AOKP on a Galaxy Note 2, my phone would probably run faster.  But the downside is that I would lose all Samsung features like Multi-window, Smart Stay, Smart Rotation, TouchWiz, and anything that was added by Samsung.

If you enjoy some of the Samsung features, AOSP might not be the best for you as it will not let you use some of the features your phone came out of the box with.  On the other hand, you might enjoy AOSP more if you decide that you don’t need any of those Samsung features.

So, it all depends on the user, you.  Whatever feature you want, either AOSP or non-AOSP ROMs will have it,  you just have to decide what you want.

Personally, I enjoy both AOSP and TouchWiz.  There’s always advantages to running AOSP or non-AOSP and it just depends on the situation.

My advice?  Try both AOSP and non-AOSP for a week and decide for yourself.

And if you don’t have time to root and install custom ROMs on your phone but you want AOSP, you can get a Google non-branded phone like the Nexus 4.

miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 11:48 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ Jul 17 2014, 11:46 AM)
android open source project. It's the base for android ROM. correct me if im wrong.  biggrin.gif
Yup the close thing nearing to Nexus level. brows.gif

And the best thing most AOSP update are wayyyyyyyyy faster then those skin rom brows.gif

Android L XD

Example for mi2

http://en.miui.com/thread-14115-1-1.html

miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 11:58 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jul 17 2014, 11:54 AM)
Are ASOP similar with IOS?
AOSP (final/stable/optimize version) should be comparable with IOS. In term of lag.

While Non AOSP without Good Hardware backing in most cases will lag sweat.gif

While AOSP lower spec phone can run smoothly.

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jul 17 2014, 11:59 AM
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 03:34 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Jul 17 2014, 01:01 PM)
For Mi3 or MIUI, nothing much to learn about ROMs, most likely no custom ROMs for Mi3 in the near future  cry.gif

might have but very slow one. so aka stuck with miui for now. sad.gif

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 17 2014, 01:21 PM)
With S4 one definitely needs to petty in monitoring ever drop of battery juice..lol

Been using MiKey for 2 weeks, seriously can't see any differences in battery life.
on Stock rom is it, your s4?

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 17 2014, 01:54 PM)
3050mha vs 2600mha battery mah..
but s4 can upgrade to 7.5k battery. which some people ok with the size, no diff with carrying power bank here and there.

based on heavy usage, (I do have 3k and 4.2k battery), 4.2k will be only finish 7am (morning) till 12am (midnight) SOT 6-8 hours.

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 17 2014, 02:46 PM)
I always remove mikey from active program and keep the option running in background (in Mikey app) off. I understand the process MUST run if mikey, that's expected.

As for battery optimization, I think MI3 screen whack a lot more juice off when compared with S4, thus if no use phone screen, MI3 will have more juice but if use it at same screen time as S4, its gonna go down way faster (I attribute that to AMOLED black pixel no use power).

So having a 3K mah battery is not a major advantage over S4 if both uses same amt of display time, that's my 2 cents.
Greenify it nod.gif

On heavy usage:-

2.1k battery 3-4 hours SOT, 3k battery max SOT is 5-6 hours, while 4.2k around 6-8 hours sweat.gif

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jul 17 2014, 03:36 PM
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 03:45 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 17 2014, 03:42 PM)
Don't want to root. Prefer stock coz no want to mess with system. Too many data in my phone now, even stayed with 4.3 coz 4.4 kitkat need factory reset to run smoothly.

Greenify need roots although non-root version working but still only in early stage. Wonder tho, whether my batt is degraded.
Not sure about 4.3 rom miui.

But my wife Note 2 4.1.2 rom using unroot version seems ok have using it for 2 month plus.

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jul 17 2014, 03:46 PM
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 04:24 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ Jul 17 2014, 03:59 PM)
actually the purpose of root is to access the system files?
backup and restore game data for offline games, greenify unwanted apps <-in most cases will make your battery last longer. biggrin.gif
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 04:32 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ Jul 17 2014, 04:27 PM)
greenify unwanted apps? like??
Facebook/twitter and etc when not using it smile.gif
miloy2k
post Jul 17 2014, 06:27 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Jul 17 2014, 05:41 PM)
i am amazed by some of his followers who propose him to be TS shocking.gif ....someone who flouted the rules? doh.gif

I have been working so hard and diligently to protect this thread from being move back to kopitiam. I have also contributed so much since the beginning of this thread...is ok some of you dont appreciate my efforts. Nevertheless all these nasty remarks from you will become my positive energy for me to provide a better thread here and more improvement coming along....stay tuned guys! tongue.gif
some people forget that mi3 previously very fast one like pasar malam tread vs other phone tread.. now much better..

QUOTE(jay2you @ Jul 17 2014, 04:33 PM)
not understand. when not using it then? remove from memory?
sleeping it. it will make ur battery life last longer in most cases. provided u doesn't bother about notification.

check here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2155737

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0449sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:13 AM