CELgames 2006 returns!, It's back!

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 01:09 PM, updated 19y ago

277 posts

GameAxis' CELgames 2006 is back and this time, we're bigger and better than before!

Here are the details of the CElgames this year.

Games: Need for Speed: Most Wanted, FIFA 2006
Entry fees: RM20 per person

Games: Battlefield 2
Entry fees: RM15 per person

Prelims dates: October to November 2006
Prelims venues: Over 10 cybercafes in Klang Valley and a few outstation (Ipoh, Penang, JB, etc). Click here for full list

Grand Final Date: 20 to 26 Nov
Grand Final Venue: Plaza Low Yat
Prizes: Click here for full list

*Note that only NFS and FIFA will be played at the cybercafe prelims. BF2 players will battle it out at Plaza Low Yat on 25 & 26 Nov.

*Competition days for the Grand Final will start from 24 Nov.
- 24 Nov: Plaza Low Yat prelims
- 25 Nov: Grand Final starts
- 26 Nov: Semis & Final

That's all for now. Keep an eye out for the Sept and Oct issue of GameAxis for more details.

If you guys have questions about CELgames 2006, post them here and I'll try my best to answer them.

In the mean time, check out www.gamers.com.my/celgames06

Majulah e-Sukan Untuk Negara

This post has been edited by thurtin: Oct 3 2006, 12:12 PM
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 01:12 PM

277 posts

woops. i just noticed that there is a sub-forum for tourneys. Can one of the mods move it to the proper place?

kthxbai.
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 02:34 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Flizzardo @ Aug 15 2006, 02:30 PM)
how to maju e-sukan if u dont even have DoTA

come on... Every cc you go almost everyone playing dota and yet there is no dota very sad..
bro, dota got enuff tourneys la with your all SMM, WCG and what nots.

spare a thought for the other gamers. e-sukan is not just about dota you know.

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 04:02 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(chapree @ Aug 15 2006, 03:37 PM)
Wheeeeeeeeeeeee, CELgames are back!!  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif
Will the format same with last year e.g winner of CC/Outstation qualifier will go to grand final etc.? How about the game rules?

Meanwhile, "how to maju e-sukan if u dont even have DoTA" sounded very selfish. All the games share the same "electronic sports/E-Sukan" term. Electronic sports are not exclusive term for DoTA only.
hihi chapree

Yup, the format is pretty similar to last year. Champions (and maybe runner-up as well) of the cybercafe prelims get to go to Low Yat for the Grand Final.

we're also thinking whether to have one final prelim at Low Yat before the Grand Final so that those that couldn't make it for the earlier prelims can have one last chance. Still thinking about it though. biggrin.gif

Game rules at the mo will be similar to WCG.

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 04:04 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(winternight @ Aug 15 2006, 03:55 PM)
but if u include dota, it will be nice since dota is the major game that exist in every single cafe... "unless that cc dont have warcraft III then different story"
yes, it sure would be nice if we can include dota but we're not going to.

end of story.

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 05:15 PM

277 posts

í'm in a good mood today, so i wont comment on questions like why dont have dota or cs in CELgames. everyone knows what is CELgames about.

again, i will repeat,

if you want to play dota, pls join the SMM or WCG tournament.

if you want to play cs, pls join the WCG or ESWC tournament.

for ppl who want to play FIFA, NFS or BF2, pls do join the CELgames.

TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 05:41 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(winternight @ Aug 15 2006, 05:30 PM)
Hope your Tournament have big success !!! but ur attitude need to change if you remain this ego attitude to oraganize tournament... sweat.gif no eye see smile.gif
Save it la. we dont need your "good luck" because this is our SECOND year holding the CELgames.

Look, every year we get ppl like you asking why dont have game X or game Y. If we could, we would have added it from the beginning ok?

The fact now is CELgames only has FIFA, NFS and BF2. Live with it.

And if you have nothing constructive to add here, save it too.
TSthurtin
post Aug 15 2006, 06:35 PM

277 posts

i've already answered why there is no dota in CELgames. In case u missed it or too lazy to scroll up, here is the link. enjoy.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=8132967

This post has been edited by thurtin: Aug 15 2006, 06:35 PM
TSthurtin
post Sep 5 2006, 12:40 PM

277 posts

Hi guys

sorry for the lack of updates but the long weekend last week was a productivity killer i tell you.

anyways, here's some of the the latest updates i can share with you guys.

participating cybercafes for the preliminaries

1. Cybertime, Setapak
2. Starcom, Ampang
3. TBun, Wangsa Maju
4. Dotcom9, Taman Connaught
5. Pro Extreme, DJ
6. Clutch Gamer, SS2
7. Point Extreme, Bandar Sunway
8. Autosurf, Subang Jaya
9. Infinity, Ipoh
10. Infinity, Penang
11. Kingsurf, JB

the dates of the preliminaries have not been finalised yet, but they will start in late september/early october so you guys will have a bit more time to train.

only NFS:MW and FIFA 06 will be played at the cybercafes. The winner (only one) of each game will qualify for the Grand Final in Plaza Low Yat. If you do the math, only 11 players for each game will qualify directly for the Grand Final.

To make up the numbers, there will be a last chance to qualify at Plaza Low Yat. For this last qualifier, the top 5 will move on to the Last 16.

11 cybercafe winners + top 5 of Plaza Low Yat preliminary = Last 16

So whats the point of joining the cybercafe preliminaries then? Well, the top 3 finishers for the cybercafe preliminaries get a medal and a prize. The winner will also go straight into the Last 16 without having to go through the early rounds.

More details will be up on the official website, www.gamers.com.my/celgames06, in two days time.

kthxbai.

TSthurtin
post Sep 5 2006, 02:20 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(chapree @ Sep 5 2006, 01:07 PM)
Only Top 1 qualify to the finals? Wah lau, very tough la like this... brows.gif

In the last paragraph, what do you mean by early rounds? Isn't the early rounds = the qualifiers?  smile.gif

Meanwhile, how about qualifiers in East Malaysia and details about Battlefield 2?
Yup, only the winners (1st place) of all 11 cybercafe prelims will qualify to the Grand Final.

But dont worry, like i said, there will be a last chance for everyone to qualify during the last prelim at Plaza Low Yat. At this prelim, the top 5 finishers will join the 11 winners to make up the last 16.

what i mean about the early rounds is the last Low Yat prelims. Say there are 32 NFS players during the LY prelims. They will fight each other until the best 5 is determined. For the 11 winners, they just have to lepak until then. Thats what i meant by that.

Sorry, this year no qualifiers in East Malaysia due to budget and technical reasons.

as for BF2, it will be a bit special. it will be only held at Plaza Low Yat since there arent many teams around. Also, we're working on inviting some Singaporean BF2 teams down to make it something like a Malaysia vs. Singapore tourney.

FYI, at this time of writing, the cybercafe prelims will be a straight best-of-3-games knock-out format.

For the Low Yat prelim, it will be a best-of-3 knock out until the top 8. During the top 8, it will be a league format and the top 5 will move on to the Grand Final

For the Grand Final, it will be double elim all the way.

note that the tournament format is subject to change depending on number of participants ya.

TSthurtin
post Sep 5 2006, 07:39 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(wiLL*lianG @ Sep 5 2006, 07:35 PM)
hope this time got voucher (*from gamers.com.my mayb) instead free game ^^  =P
else hav the same copy of game at home for those winner ... laugh.gif
*coughcoughnfscarboncoughcough*
TSthurtin
post Sep 6 2006, 12:20 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ Sep 5 2006, 05:24 PM)
how about qualifying prizes...?
Not confirmed yet, but it will be worthwhile i promise you.

Here's a hint:

_ve_g_i_e stuff

TSthurtin
post Sep 6 2006, 12:23 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Sep 5 2006, 09:15 PM)
seriously this is not helping to promote bf2. i bet if u do include bf2 in those prelims. ppl will stil send in teams. subject to change depending on number of players. what if lots of team interested to join? we have clan in sabah n sarawak also. hope u can take this into consideration. btw cant we make it stricly a malaysian event for once? thkbye
gestapo, i understand your concerns. Although you believe that there will be teams joining all 11 cybercafe preliminaries, i have doubts myself. Thus, i've come up with a solution for this.

Check out the BF2 subforum and there is a pre-registration thread in there. Get your team and everyone you know that might join to put their names down. I think it will be very helpful for me.

TSthurtin
post Sep 6 2006, 04:15 PM

277 posts

oh btw guys, if you already won a cybercafe prelim, you cannot take part in other prelims. this way its fair for everyone.

TSthurtin
post Sep 8 2006, 05:52 PM

277 posts

luige sux at FIFA! 90th min kai goal!

TSthurtin
post Sep 11 2006, 12:11 PM

277 posts

thx to all that showed up at the kick-off week.

next up, the prelims!

check the website for more details. the cafe dates should be up progressively by the end of the week.

www.gamers.com.my/celgames06
TSthurtin
post Sep 15 2006, 06:42 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(accelerator7 @ Sep 15 2006, 05:40 PM)
It seems that the official CELgames website is down for the last couple of days right?  huh.gif
for this issue, please shoot chow from gamers dotcom. tongue.gif
TSthurtin
post Sep 20 2006, 11:40 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(h3av3n @ Sep 19 2006, 08:39 PM)
WHY?GRAND FINAL IS 6 DAYS??
Competition starts from 24 to 26 Nov.

24 Nov is the Low Yat prelims.

25 to 26 is the Grand Final.

TSthurtin
post Sep 20 2006, 03:28 PM

277 posts

peoples, the cybercafe dates have been finally updated... except for Penang and Ipoh. oh well...

oh, the prizes list has been updated as well.

BF2 kakis, the rules are also up already.

go check it out now.
TSthurtin
post Sep 22 2006, 10:10 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(h3av3n @ Sep 22 2006, 09:39 PM)
4 Nov - Kingsurf, Taman Pelangi, JB.

at there got two kingsurf doh.gif  doh.gif
there is a reason why we got a website you know...

0.0290sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:56 PM