Are you an Airbnb user?, General discussion about the website

winnie619
post Jul 12 2016, 10:57 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(wwlew @ Jul 9 2016, 05:07 PM)
that's really bad experience but luckily you are safe!
wink.gif

This post has been edited by winnie619: Jul 12 2016, 10:58 PM
chosenlc
post Jul 29 2016, 04:43 PM

143 posts

anyone got promo code for use?
ccschua
post Sep 19 2016, 01:04 PM

1,630 posts

i have aprtment in BB area too, but not sure how to pick up a reliable cleaning agent that keeps inventory of my items. how does airbnb integrates that.

HomestayHero
post Sep 26 2016, 06:07 PM

Just started hosting on Airbnb recently and I find that many users are not familiar with the system. They keep asking us how to submit payment and deposit etc.
vibey
post Oct 3 2016, 03:31 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Sep 19 2016, 01:04 PM)
i have aprtment in BB area too, but not sure how to pick up a reliable cleaning agent that keeps inventory of my items. how does airbnb integrates that.
Perhaps you could check out Guest Ready or Lazy Host. They are management agencies that can handle everything for you and helps you to market your unit as well. I discussed about some considerations you should be looking into when investing in a property for the purpose of doing airbnb here http://chrisseahrealestate.blogspot.my/201...purchasing.html
greyshadow
post Nov 4 2016, 10:53 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

it seems there are quite a few of fake accommodations in airbnb

always make sure the places you book have at least a few genuine reviews
avoid those with no reviews or limited reviews that looks suspicious

Few months ago, one of my airbnb account that I don't use frequently was hacked, I only found out when I received an email stating someone placed a booking on a place I hosted in HongKong!
Tried login, password was changed, luckily still can reset using the email
login, saw there was a hosting added to my account, and a new paypal account added as well.
I immediately suspend the hosting, (couldn't delete it), informed the other user that book the place not to transfer any money, informed the airbnb about the fraud, yet no reply or any action from them till now... doh.gif

Eisenmeteor
post Nov 14 2016, 08:28 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Whats the payout method u guys choose?
ch1ng
post Dec 28 2016, 09:37 PM

*Delete duplication*

This post has been edited by ch1ng: Dec 28 2016, 09:45 PM
ParkBoGum
post Feb 16 2017, 09:38 PM

50 posts

Used to book an Airbnb room at PDfor a trip with friends in Aug '15. There weren't many rooms to choose for but i got one that is a little bit further from the beach with good rates. The house was very clean and comfortable but the surrounding units are all empty and feel spooky.. sweat.gif. The unit owner is however very friendly and it was quite a good experience.

This post has been edited by ParkBoGum: Feb 16 2017, 09:38 PM
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 17 2017, 03:13 PM

967 posts

niamah so angry with airbnb now, my credit card company say the transaction shown is not final, there are this international transaction fees involved.... about 0.8% per transaction, good thing is this time the CC company willing to absorb it and refund me

niahmah nvr know airbnb is this lousy, nvr encounter this problem with other merchant transaction before , airbnb is the first time i kena .....

anyone else kena before ?

munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2017, 03:34 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 17 2017, 03:13 PM)
niamah so angry with airbnb now, my credit card company say the transaction shown is not final, there are this international transaction fees involved.... about 0.8% per transaction, good thing is this time the CC company willing to absorb it and refund me

niahmah nvr know airbnb is this lousy, nvr encounter this problem with other merchant transaction before , airbnb is the first time i kena .....

anyone else kena before ?
This one has something to do with the bank your credit card was issued from too.

I notice with CIMB bank, there usually is this transaction fee charged. Sometimes I pay RM2.00 at some online shop and get charge RM2.xx on my card. Doubt it's an airbnb thing. My airbnb all payment made in euro, of course the final RM amount is an estimate, it's based on the current exchange rate your bank decides to charge you plus whatever extra fees that they wanna impose on you.

This is something that most cc users know though. You can check in the cc threads on the cc subforum.
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 23 2017, 04:18 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 23 2017, 03:34 PM)
This one has something to do with the bank your credit card was issued from too.

I notice with CIMB bank, there usually is this transaction fee charged. Sometimes I pay RM2.00 at some online shop and get charge RM2.xx on my card. Doubt it's an airbnb thing. My airbnb all payment made in euro, of course the final RM amount is an estimate, it's based on the current exchange rate your bank decides to charge you plus whatever extra fees that they wanna impose on you.

This is something that most cc users know though. You can check in the cc threads on the cc subforum.
The CC bank say is because international transaction fee, which I doubt so, I done lots of online transaction too , while this first time encounter such thing

I knw wat u wanna say, maybe the price in EURO OR USD , we pay in RM Credit card, so additional cherges from there due to conversion etc

My case is different, I use airbnb in SGD dollar rate and pay in SGD . It is aldy a confirmed rate from AIRBNB website.

munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2017, 05:08 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 23 2017, 04:18 PM)
The CC bank say is because international transaction fee, which I doubt so, I done lots of online transaction too , while this first time encounter such thing

I knw wat u wanna say, maybe the price in EURO OR USD , we pay in RM Credit card, so additional cherges from there due to conversion etc

My case is different, I use airbnb in SGD dollar rate and pay in SGD . It is aldy a confirmed rate from AIRBNB website.
Ya exchange rate is one thing. But there's another transaction fee also. From my experience, it happens when I use my CIMB card for online purchases. Even if the website shows the fixed price in RM2.00 and I approve the transaction for RM2.00 on the website, my statement will show RM2.xx when the transaction shows on the bank statement.

Airbnb is all billed in Euro, as far as I'm concern.
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 23 2017, 05:12 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 23 2017, 05:08 PM)
Ya exchange rate is one thing. But there's another transaction fee also. From my experience, it happens when I use my CIMB card for online purchases. Even if the website shows the fixed price in RM2.00 and I approve the transaction for RM2.00 on the website, my statement will show RM2.xx when the transaction shows on the bank statement.

Airbnb is all billed in Euro, as far as I'm concern.
u think Tis is normal for the extra charge ? Did you check with the merchant or the bank ?

So far Agoda, booking.com, airlines, for all my transaction don't have this extra charges, as long as the agreed amount are tally with my credit card currency.

Suddenly this airbnb gv me headache..... so r u saying as long as we r using airbnb , the agreed amount is not final, and still subject to additional charges coz they based on euro dollar ? Then this is one shit hole of trap , not dealing with them anymore in future.

munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2017, 06:35 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 23 2017, 05:12 PM)
u think Tis is normal for the extra charge ? Did you check with the merchant or the bank ?

So far Agoda, booking.com, airlines, for all my transaction don't have this extra charges, as long as the agreed amount are tally with my credit card currency.

Suddenly this airbnb gv me headache..... so r u saying as long as we r using airbnb , the agreed amount is not final, and still subject to additional charges coz they based on euro dollar ? Then this is one shit hole of trap , not dealing with them anymore in future.
Cross Border Fee: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2519936&hl (Even charged in RM, still will have cross border fee, bank has confirmed this)
Foreign Exchange Transaction: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

On your statement, was it a SGD transaction or foreign currency transaction?

And yes, as far as I know, Airbnb transactions are all charged in Euro. They have different currency on their website just for your reference but the final charges are all in Euro. I thought this was clearly stated on their payment page. My latest Airbnb transaction was few months ago la.

Okay my latest transactions with Airbnb, the receipts were in the credit card currency. But as usual, my cc statement is higher than their billed receipt.
My previous previous Airbnb transactions done is January 2016 was billed and charged in Euro. I guess they changed that.

Well, it's not much difference for me. Plus RM30-50 or so.
SUShuaweie5830
post Feb 23 2017, 11:37 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 23 2017, 06:35 PM)
Cross Border Fee: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2519936&hl (Even charged in RM, still will have cross border fee, bank has confirmed this)
Foreign Exchange Transaction: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

On your statement, was it a SGD transaction or foreign currency transaction?

And yes, as far as I know, Airbnb transactions are all charged in Euro. They have different currency on their website just for your reference but the final charges are all in Euro. I thought this was clearly stated on their payment page. My latest Airbnb transaction was few months ago la.

Okay my latest transactions with Airbnb, the receipts were in the credit card currency. But as usual, my cc statement is higher than their billed receipt.
My previous previous Airbnb transactions done is January 2016 was billed and charged in Euro. I guess they changed that.

Well, it's not much difference for me. Plus RM30-50 or so.
damn SCB high on the list

Now I suspect is the bank problem coz I did use SCB on my airbnb booking

Fuk them
munkeyflo
post Feb 24 2017, 10:22 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 23 2017, 11:37 PM)
damn SCB high on the list

Now I suspect is the bank problem coz I did use SCB on my airbnb booking

Fuk them
But at least they refunded you the fee when you complained. laugh.gif

But yea, basically be aware of this cross border fee that the bank charges for online transactions.
whirlwind
post Feb 25 2017, 06:10 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

I have a problem. I've booked 2 bed rooms in Sapporo coming Monday and tried calling or messaging the host but no answer. Spend almost 4K for this booking as it is a long stay.
Called Airbnb Malaysia 1800-88-9814, but no answer. 😔
shian_god_0
post Apr 16 2017, 05:20 PM

13 posts

I would like to know that how does Airbnb calculate the host service fee? From Airbnb website, it is 3% charges. I found from my listings, it is from 3%-4% charge.

For example,
1. MYR874, host service charge = MYR29 = 3.3%
2. MYR290, host service charge = MYR9 = 3.0%
3. MYR330, host service charge = MYR13 = 4%

Kindly please advise as I would like to know the formula to calculate the tax in my Excel sheet, thanks in advanced!
rotloi
post Apr 25 2017, 12:53 AM

878 posts

Hey airbnb. I am using it on 2017. I am leaving to Ipoh perak

Airbnb first time user

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0271sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:54 PM