QUOTE(OTRoad @ Nov 17 2014, 07:26 PM)
Oh I see. Thank you. If you don't mind, did you apply there as well? I recall you getting into UM and USM but don't remember you saying anything about S'pore.
No, I didn't apply, for personal reasons. STPM 2014/2015
Nov 17 2014, 07:27 PM
1,846 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Nov 17 2014, 07:28 PM
158 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Nov 17 2014, 08:34 PM
3,864 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 17 2014, 04:38 PM) Thanks maximR for your advice. And yes, even my MUET teacher often complains that most of the ''low-frequency'' words that I insert in my essays were all out of place, AND some are redundant too. With time you'll be splendid! Everybody starts from somewhere. Thanks once again, I'm gonna need all the luck that I can get in the world. UQueenslandX Writing English Watch all the videos if you have the time. It's an indispensable resource. |
Nov 17 2014, 09:16 PM
Nov 18 2014, 01:26 AM
3,713 posts Joined: Nov 2011 From: Torino |
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 17 2014, 04:58 PM) This is by far the most toughest paper that I did so far in my first term exams. I worry that it might send the wrong idea to other math-loving students. It is true that you don't have the luxury of time to think deeply about every question in the exam. Therefore, if you practice enough, solving math problems becomes second nature. Good intuitively problem-solving skill comes from many hours of practice. |
Nov 19 2014, 11:54 AM
581 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: Selangor |
Finished my Sem 1. wohoo economics was a little hard.....
Nov 19 2014, 12:53 PM
158 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Nov 19 2014, 02:31 PM
654 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Planet Earth |
QUOTE(maximR @ Nov 17 2014, 08:34 PM) With time you'll be splendid! Everybody starts from somewhere. Thank you once again, maximR.UQueenslandX Writing English Watch all the videos if you have the time. It's an indispensable resource. I'll be sure to check them out during my school holidays. Besides, I think I'm going to resit for my MUET exams, and I will need all the help that I can get if I were to do that. |
Nov 19 2014, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Nov 18 2014, 01:26 AM) I worry that it might send the wrong idea to other math-loving students. I'm truly sorry for my misleading post. That was my thoughts, personally, so I don't think it will be of any difference to any other students out there who took the Maths T exam. Most of my friends were able to complete said paper albeit with some difficulties. It is true that you don't have the luxury of time to think deeply about every question in the exam. Therefore, if you practice enough, solving math problems becomes second nature. Good intuitively problem-solving skill comes from many hours of practice. So, if I were to find any reasons and blame it for my horrendous performance in my first term exam, the only blame I can put at is on myself. I didn't work hard before my exams, I did most exercises in a particular book and keep on rehashing it over and over again without truly master the equations and learn on how to apply them to other complex problems. Most of my practices were monotonous and I didn't think out of the box. And that goes the same to my other subjects too. Frankly, I was regretting it. I learned a harsh lesson, and I will never ever forget this lesson for years to come. This is my biggest failure ever, and I regret that I didn't pour lots of effort in my studies. I won't promise that I will get a good result in my next exams, but, I will try to work harder for every single exam that I'm about to face in the future. Let this academic setback be a lesson for me so that I will never, ever make this same mistake anymore. I was, and I still regret about it. P/S: Thank you for the Polya's 4 Steps Problem Solving process, and if it weren't for that, I'll kiss my 6 marks goodbye. This post has been edited by RED-HAIR-SHANKS: Nov 19 2014, 03:01 PM |
Nov 19 2014, 04:46 PM
846 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: Reality-escaping 2D world |
I just finished my STPM exam.
Except for Maths T, others was fine to me. Please, I would not want to retake any papers |
Nov 19 2014, 07:44 PM
283 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 19 2014, 02:46 PM) I'm truly sorry for my misleading post. That was my thoughts, personally, so I don't think it will be of any difference to any other students out there who took the Maths T exam. Most of my friends were able to complete said paper albeit with some difficulties. There is no need to regret on what you have done. The water is already spilled so no point feeling sad for it. At least you learn from your mistake. Its okay to make mistake as long as you learn from it. Some people learn in easy ways and some learn in hard ways. Perhaps you should think positively more often. Your mistake shall not ruin your interests XD having interest in certain subject doesn't means you are naturally very good in it.So, if I were to find any reasons and blame it for my horrendous performance in my first term exam, the only blame I can put at is on myself. I didn't work hard before my exams, I did most exercises in a particular book and keep on rehashing it over and over again without truly master the equations and learn on how to apply them to other complex problems. Most of my practices were monotonous and I didn't think out of the box. And that goes the same to my other subjects too. Frankly, I was regretting it. I learned a harsh lesson, and I will never ever forget this lesson for years to come. This is my biggest failure ever, and I regret that I didn't pour lots of effort in my studies. I won't promise that I will get a good result in my next exams, but, I will try to work harder for every single exam that I'm about to face in the future. Let this academic setback be a lesson for me so that I will never, ever make this same mistake anymore. I was, and I still regret about it. P/S: Thank you for the Polya's 4 Steps Problem Solving process, and if it weren't for that, I'll kiss my 6 marks goodbye. I would say the concepts are very important in maths so it would be better if you truly understand the concepts before tackling on the questions. And yes the questions can varies very differently so its good to do practice with some variety of different questions on the same topic. Those are some of my advice and hope you can do better next time XD |
Nov 19 2014, 07:46 PM
283 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Nov 19 2014, 04:46 PM) I just finished my STPM exam. Retaking papers is your choice and it is highly depending on how you perceive your grades. So choose wisely whether or not to retake any papers.Except for Maths T, others was fine to me. Please, I would not want to retake any papers |
Nov 19 2014, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Nov 19 2014, 04:46 PM) I just finished my STPM exam. I think you'll do just fine. You've worked hard since day one, and I think you won't need to retake any subjects at all.Except for Maths T, others was fine to me. Please, I would not want to retake any papers I planned to resit all 4 subjects for my first term next year. |
Nov 19 2014, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 19 2014, 02:46 PM) P/S: Thank you for the Polya's 4 Steps Problem Solving process, and if it weren't for that, I'll kiss my 6 marks goodbye. As a tactician by nature, I'm sure you can plan your strategy well to solve almost any math problems at STPM level. I suspect that the problem you are facing is that you don't have enough time to complete the paper that requires deep thinking. |
Nov 19 2014, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 17 2014, 05:12 PM) Damn, is it coincidence? Out of 34 students in my class, I'm the only one who picked question 8. The moment when I saw question 7 that involves trigonometry, I skipped that part and chose question 8. What kind of questions do you frequently get stuck at? |
Nov 19 2014, 11:41 PM
359 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 19 2014, 02:31 PM) Thank you once again, maximR. I dun think u'll nid 2 retake yr MUET. U hav vast vocab, and since u hav a better grasp of English than most M'sians, I dun think u'll lose to others when competing 4 courses of yr choice.I'll be sure to check them out during my school holidays. Besides, I think I'm going to resit for my MUET exams, and I will need all the help that I can get if I were to do that. |
Nov 19 2014, 11:50 PM
359 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(RED-HAIR-SHANKS @ Nov 19 2014, 09:28 PM) I think you'll do just fine. You've worked hard since day one, and I think you won't need to retake any subjects at all. Seriously?? I planned to resit all 4 subjects for my first term next year. P.S. Yr sentence shud begin wif "I plan". My English isnt' impeccable, but I know a mistake in a sentence when I see one~ Juz an effort to improve yr English~ |
Nov 19 2014, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(stickmanchong17 @ Nov 19 2014, 11:41 PM) I dun think u'll nid 2 retake yr MUET. U hav vast vocab, and since u hav a better grasp of English than most M'sians, I dun think u'll lose to others when competing 4 courses of yr choice. By the way, MUET does not give you much advantage when it comes to competitive courses. As long as you have met the requirement, a Band 4 or Band 5 does not really matter.And with your English, you can easily get a Band 4, and perhaps a Band 5. Most likely a band 5, I guess. STPM CGPA, co-curricular marks, entrance exams (UM) and interviews matter more. The interview, especially. This post has been edited by Just Visiting By: Nov 19 2014, 11:54 PM |
Nov 20 2014, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Nov 19 2014, 09:36 PM) As a tactician by nature, I'm sure you can plan your strategy well to solve almost any math problems at STPM level. If that's the case, then what must I do starting from now so that I'll be able to solve any/most given question under the allocated time?I suspect that the problem you are facing is that you don't have enough time to complete the paper that requires deep thinking. Most of the questions that are tougher generally requires lesser steps or workings, while on the other hand, easier questions usually require a more longer working, hence they are time consuming. For instance, when I'm doing ERO, I require at least 5-7 minutes to complete the working although it is easy and not too complex. And again, just like another question that I faced during my Chemistry test yesterday, I was coerced to pick a question which requires us to draw a graph. Drawing that graph didn't require much complex thinking, but it consumed time. But, my above statement is just a generalization, so I might be wrong too. |
Nov 20 2014, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Nov 19 2014, 09:45 PM) I can't say for sure, it all based on the nature of the question I'd say. I'm quite weak in topics concerning 3D-Vectors and Trigonometry, though I might have other more weak spots. And sometimes, the way the questions posed are so foreign and different that I'm unable to fathom and solve the questions. I think I'm lacking exposure when it comes to solving a variety types of questions available out there. Most of the times, I'm able to grasp the concepts and information that my teachers conveyed to me, I understand a lot after reading those notes that are in any books out there, but, when it comes to attempting questions that I'm unfamiliar with, I'll easily lose my composure and get stuck in that tight spot. |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:21 PM |