35 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Case Modding FAQ

SUSAcey
post Nov 8 2005, 05:17 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

thanks for the info... just bought it this afternoon RM19... still need to work on my cutting skill hehehe some i cut until my hand lari and scratched the acrylic doh.gif
iZuDeeN
post Nov 8 2005, 07:21 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 8 2005, 05:17 PM)
thanks for the info... just bought it this afternoon RM19... still need to work on my cutting skill hehehe some i cut until my hand lari and scratched the acrylic doh.gif
post some pix of the cutter will yah.... and where did u get it ??

bombman
post Nov 9 2005, 02:52 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 8 2005, 05:17 PM)
U r most wc. Hehe...dats biasa lah. Try a few times & u can master it ready.

* Tips: Use the front point to draw a line 1st. Only then use the rear one 2 drag it.

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Nov 8 2005, 07:21 PM)
post some pix of the cutter will yah.... and where did u get it ??
Can get @ most hardware shops dude. Just ask for 'Plastic Cutter'. smile.gif
iZuDeeN
post Nov 9 2005, 09:29 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(bombman @ Nov 9 2005, 02:52 AM)

Can get @ most hardware shops dude. Just ask for 'Plastic Cutter'. smile.gif
Since it can cut acrylic.... can it also cut round shape (albeit difficult)?

MacDaNife
post Nov 9 2005, 10:19 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

For thin acrylic (2mm) you can use the cutter. For thicker acrylic it's difficult to get a neat cut without power tools - jig or rotary saw. For circular cuts: you need a rotary tool or a drill/jig combination - drill a hole to insert the jig and with the jig on a slow speed ( to prevent the acrylic from excessive vibration) run the jigsaw around your pencilled circle.

A steady hand is also required.
iZuDeeN
post Nov 9 2005, 10:41 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Nov 9 2005, 10:19 AM)
For thin acrylic (2mm) you can use the cutter. For thicker acrylic it's difficult to get a neat cut without power tools - jig or rotary saw. For circular cuts: you need a rotary tool or a drill/jig combination - drill a hole to insert the jig and with the jig on a slow speed ( to prevent the acrylic from excessive vibration) run the jigsaw around your pencilled circle.

thanx for the reply...

that are the 2 things I dont have...

1. rotary saw and

2. steady hands.... ( always have problem drawing a straight line freehand )

Anyway, since I only need to cut a hole for the acrylic, and a hole does not need to be circular, I might cut to pix below using the cutter... that means getting a 2mm acrylic for the sidepanel....

Well, not really into doing it right now although I certainly have the time...

bombman
post Nov 10 2005, 01:38 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Nov 9 2005, 09:29 AM)
Since it can cut acrylic.... can it also cut round shape (albeit difficult)?
Yeah biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Nov 9 2005, 10:19 AM)

A vry gd xplanation indeed thumbup.gif
SUSAcey
post Nov 10 2005, 11:37 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

mine i dont know can cut round or not cost it seems to have weird angles of blades stickin out... Tajima brand... yellow color, with extra opening at the back of the handle for 2 extra blades.

Btw, can i post my hamster's big-a$$ 70cm acrylic case on Case Mod when i finished it? its in progress, approximately another 2-3 days to finish...
bombman
post Nov 11 2005, 01:42 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 10 2005, 11:37 PM)
mine i dont know can cut round or not cost it seems to have weird angles of blades stickin out... Tajima brand... yellow color, with extra opening at the back of the handle for 2 extra blades.

Btw, can i post my hamster's big-a$$ 70cm acrylic case on Case Mod when i finished it? its in progress, approximately another 2-3 days to finish...
Sure can lah wink.gif

And yeah...post it so dat others can also knw wht u've done. Hehe
SUSAcey
post Nov 11 2005, 11:20 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

well cant really post the progress cos i don have a digicam, and my phone's cam really sux0r...

btw... any idea how to remove extra silicone glue on the acrylic? looks hideous with those rough semi transparent patches... yuck
bombman
post Nov 12 2005, 12:43 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 11 2005, 11:20 AM)
well cant really post the progress cos i don have a digicam, and my phone's cam really sux0r...

btw... any idea how to remove extra silicone glue on the acrylic? looks hideous with those rough semi transparent patches... yuck
Try alcohol or thinner. Hope can do da work 4 u.
SUSAcey
post Nov 12 2005, 03:48 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

can use thinner on acrylic?

the tank's almost done, hopefully tmr all can go in and then just wiat for it to dry... thanks to ppl who teach me stuff about acrylic.. when the pix is up in Pets Wonderland (Hamster thread) you'll see a lot of "frosted" acrylic cos i sandpapered the edges it biggrin.gif
bombman
post Nov 13 2005, 01:06 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 12 2005, 03:48 AM)
can use thinner on acrylic?

the tank's almost done, hopefully tmr all can go in and then just wiat for it to dry... thanks to ppl who teach me stuff about acrylic.. when the pix is up in Pets Wonderland (Hamster thread) you'll see a lot of "frosted" acrylic cos i sandpapered the edges it biggrin.gif
Can lah'...used myself b4.

Hehe...besalah need sanding. wink.gif

And u r always wc. Wht's da point if v dont share wht v knw w/ others rite?
SUSAcey
post Nov 14 2005, 11:03 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

good la bombman, unlike some forumers stingy one... hahaha.. i post the pix (the plastic cutter here n the tank in Pets Wonderland > Hamster thread) after i find a digicam.. need 2 more days to dry..
bombman
post Nov 14 2005, 02:44 PM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Nov 14 2005, 11:03 AM)
good la bombman, unlike some forumers stingy one... hahaha.. i post the pix (the plastic cutter here n the tank in Pets Wonderland > Hamster thread) after i find a digicam.. need 2 more days to dry..
Haha...let 'em b stingy lah. Who cares rite?
Btw, try usin' Sellery brand blades for ur cutter if da stock one is not gd (usually the tip breaks easily)
SUSAcey
post Nov 14 2005, 05:35 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

mine the tip never breaks, one blade lasts me thru out the whole tank building process
tong1774
post Nov 14 2005, 05:44 PM

1,065 posts

Link

This is the link to a list of 120mm DC fans from different manufacturers. Hope this can help those looking for 120mm fan.
Torniquet
post Nov 14 2005, 06:08 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

nice post there......wat about 8cm fans...
tong1774
post Nov 14 2005, 06:13 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(Torniquet @ Nov 14 2005, 06:08 PM)
nice post there......wat about 8cm fans...
I think there is a link for 80mm in that post. Check it out...
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2005, 06:16 PM

23,414 posts

Merged with FAQ

35 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0253sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:42 PM