bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 10:39 AM

cerato
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 12:06 PM

Look at these reviewers trying to be the local version of Mr Nasty (TopGear's you know who)
See if you can view to the end of the video clip. Winner is Cerato, beating the Civic (which is a class higher than City)
Cerato is compared against the Honda Civic, not City. Which is more accurate, at least.

This post has been edited by bananadriver: Jun 12 2014, 12:08 PM
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 12 2014, 12:18 PM)
I am quiet sure that is not the Cerato 1.6l version.
If 2.0L Cerato...why even compare to the City? Price and performance not in the same range.
of course it is not. These cars used for comparisons comes in 2.0L versions.
but the furnishing inside are similar to the 1.6L variants. and they probably drives the same.
Look at how poorly the Civic 2.0 fared, now lets make a new forum thread in LYN asking Civic VS City...
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 12 2014, 12:25 PM)
doh.gif
hahaha exactly, right??? sweat.gif
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 12 2014, 12:31 PM)
Start thread Kancil vs Cerato 2.0L. Vote!!! tongue.gif
u start la. i just started one. later moderator say i flooding.
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Jun 12 2014, 12:47 PM)
So u suggesting me to go with cerato 1.6 or city?
back to the age-old question. What do you want in a car? The Cerato is furnished in a way that when you sit inside, you feel pampered. Even the 1.6L is pleasantly furnished with "premium" items (yea most imported local cars removed many things). What I liked are things like rear-seat aircond blowers, powerized driver seats with memory function (presets). these small small details make the car feels really nice. City isnt a bad car at all. In fact if this thread was about City VS some other popular B-segment cars, I would vote for City, but then you asked that Cerato be compared and so personally I would get a Cerato. Did you watch the youtube clip I shared above? Even the Civic cant compare to the Cerato (although they using 2.0L for review).

Malaysians mentality has always been to compare car based on price range, and I dont blame them. But try to look beyond the pricetag factor sometimes.

Make sure you properly test-drive both cars. Imagine yourself still using that car in 5 years.
bananadriver
post Jun 12 2014, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jun 12 2014, 04:46 PM)
The thread starter clearly started the poll for both of this car la. doh.gif
Hence the difference in the slight bump in price shouldn't be the decisive factor here anymore.

Do drop by mudah.my though, the V Spec City is selling at 89k+ while the Cerato 1.6 is selling at 89k(after discount) as well. It's a no brainer to get the Cerato la.  doh.gif  (Mind you, both 2014 models)

In Driven video by Paultan.org, the Cerato was a clear FC champion in comparison with other C Segments (Focus/Civic), so i would reserve myself to label this "another korean fuel guzzler". Should be fair ma.  laugh.gif

Dual zone climate control, 10 Way adjustable power seats, leather wrapped steering, 6AT with paddleshifts, all round disc brake, 17" alloys, auto dimming rear mirror, aluminium sport pedals

These are the things i noticed in the Cerato that didn't include in the highest spec City. And they are priced the same now! doh.gif
And some of them only exist in much pricier cars! People who have been driving B/C Segment all their life won't even see this kit before. I am truly impressed with Kia in this area.

If i am considering a 90k car, i seriously can't stomach going for the CIty instead of the Cerato. Paultan's review mentioned the Cerato's 1.6 performance adequate. I suggest those labelling them underpower should give it a test drive.

Ok i better stop. New City owners is gonna flame me real hard after this.  unsure.gif
+1... especially the rear aircond blowers (i love this a lot) and the memory preset for the driver's seat (so those who share the car with a spouse would appreciate this feature a lot). To me, pricetags aside, the Cerato is one class above the City. The Cerato is from the Corolla, Civic segment, and even then in the Drive review, the Cerato is the winner compared to Civic. If this thread has been about City VS other B-segment cars, then I would have likely picked the City for the abundance of features, but then TS is putting the City against contenders like Cerato, its changes everything. But in the end, it's always about what the buyer needs. To some, that extra feeling of performance means a lot, but to the rest, it may mean no difference.
bananadriver
post Jun 13 2014, 08:18 AM

many people keep saying get the city because its a Honda and is "supposed" to be reliable.
sorry to tell you there are no guarantees that it will be reliable. My brother's HONDA Accord has been plague by problems (serious ones, like brakes warping) since he bought it. Ended up he no longer has the patience and time to visit the SC and leave the car there, so it was sold in less than a year for a loss. He drives an "unreliable" Subaru now, and never been happier. This is why I no longer believed in statements that claims certain brands x, y or z are reliable. Its utter BS. There are simply NO GUARANTEES.

bananadriver
post Jun 13 2014, 10:22 AM

Kinda fed-up with the word reliable. How is this term defined?
Reliable means the car wont make you miss an appointment?
Or reliable because cigarette lighter port doesnt work?
If reliable means car always starts and able to bring you from A to B, then actually almost ALL cars are reliable. what an overused term!
bananadriver
post Jun 16 2014, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(Erictdl @ Jun 16 2014, 02:27 AM)
9) rv wise i choose enjoying the cars daily rather than suffer with a car with high rv for the next 5-7 years. Or choose not to think about rv at all, who knows what the world will become in coming few years maybe electric car become common in 5 years and no one want a petrol car.
i like this statement. nobody knows how the used car market will be in the next 5 years. electric cars are gaining popularity, korean cars too and improving at a fast rate. heck even the chinese cars. japanese entry grade cars already showing they arent worth the reputation of the old generation golden japanese cars, and most importantly newer, younger generation of car buyers are more informed n educated, no longer stuck to verbal opinion passed down by outdated minded, aging mechanics or their parents. so to sacrifice a car u liked just for the sake of unpredictable RV is kinda stupid n naive.

This post has been edited by bananadriver: Jun 16 2014, 10:51 AM

0.0449sec    0.78    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:51 AM